march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars67
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 1, 2014
if there was a zero that would be my rating went to veiw movie and it would play dvd player said cannot read disc and my other portable player said error cannot read thank you very much now what do i do still have cardboard envelope it came in.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
BEWARE. This dvd cannot be played in North America, only Europe. They do not say this nor do you they say where the dvd is coming from. After I received it and could not play it, I contacted the seller and they refunded my money very fast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2001
This is one of my kids' favorite adventure movies, along with "The Adventures of Robin Hood". It bears only a limited relationship to the book, but it's a great movie. It has those wonderful special effects and a great score, as other reviewers have mentioned, and it's a rousing rip-snorting adventure, too. There is no irony in this movie -- all of the performances are earnest (and I think that it's a good thing, since none of the cast have the panache to be heroic and self-mocking)-- but with a couple of minor exceptions the performances are solid. And watching this with my kids I forgot all about the shortcomings of the special effects, etc., and got caught up in the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
'Mysterious Island' is a wonderfully hokey old movie made as a sequel of sorts to Disney's '20,000 Leagues Under The Sea'. This time round, though, Captain Nemo is played—and I think rather well—by Herbert Lom. The unchallenging plot is replete with such set-pieces as the American civil war, an unlikely balloon flight, a giant crab, refloating a shipwreck, pirates and the obligatory volcano disaster, with all the creature FX being handled by the ever-wonderful Ray Harryhausen. As a sequel to its predecessor it's really not that great, but as a movie in its own right it's pretty good. Give it a watch and enjoy it for what it is, but don't set your expectations too high. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
This movie was in a wrong format.....I think it was UK and I could not watch it....would not play on my Blue Ray Player.....so a rating is not possible.....but I have seen the move years ago and it was very good......
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2003
Well I can't say that Colombia/Tri-Star make the best DVD's. Sometimes they put really boring bonus features on the DVD and a lot of forgetable film trailers added to make up for the lack of bonus features, but the DVD of Mysterious Island is an exception. The print of the movie is very good. Rather exceptionle picture and sound quality, including an informative making of featurette hosted by Ray Harryhausen on how the movie was made. And also a bonus, hardly any boring film trailers were put on it. One of the better Colombia/Tri-Star DVDs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2000
Michael Craig and Herbert Loom lead a cast of good actors in this 1961 classic about seven people (Five men and two women) who must survive on a strange island full of giant crabs, giant birds, and large bees. In the process they learn the fate of the mysterious Captain Nemo. A film that has a "sense of wonder" that will keep the attention of the viewers from start to finish.Based on the novel by Jules Verne.Directed by Cy Endfield.Produced by Charles H. Schneer.Special Effects by Ray Harryhausen.Music by Bernard Herrmann.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2003
There's a number of differences of opinions regarding the audio portion of this DVD. I own both the DVD and VHS versions of Mysterious Island, and can tell you that sonically the tape is superior, with Bernard Herrmann's score in stereo (as it was recorded). This is also true for the VHS version of The 7th Voyage of Sinbad. If the DVD of Sinbad is not up to the quality of the remastered tape (as another reviewer noted), then I'll not be in a rush to replace mine anytime soon. Thanks to the previous reviewers who noted this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2002
Another Stop-Motion tour de force by the undisputed master of the art form.If you have to write a book report, make sure you read the book , it's very loosely adapted. The creatures scenes of note include a fight with a giant crab, and a giant bee sealing people in a honeycomb.While giantism abounds on the Mysterious Island, Harryhausen does slip in a prehistoric bird, in context most people assume it's a giant chicken.It may not be Harryhausen's best, but he's never made a bad film.Collect them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2014
Too expensive. Bought it from Wal-Mart for $ 9.95. Should check your partners more often as they sometimes increase prices for anyone who puts items on wish list.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse