Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but a Goodie
This was purchased for a friend. It's one of his all time favs! Love they old time movies, Great Pick
Published 4 months ago by Tania

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars changing vhs to dvd
husband loves old old classics... got it for him...really enjoyed it, been awhile since he had seen it, now in his collection
Published 10 months ago by leona lapointe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A journey worth taking, July 16 2003
By 
Robert Cossaboon "devil doll" (The happy land of Walworth, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
The Mysterious Island, released two years before one of Harryhausen's most celebrated works, Jason and the Argonauts, still stands well enough by itself. Granted, a battle with a giant crab kind of pales alongside a battle with a skeleton army, but hey-tastes differ. My favorite effects sequence was with the giant bees-I'm still in awe over the attention to detail that was shown to the bee's movement and to the hive. Other highs: the prison escape sequence in the beginning and the balloon ride, the undersea battle with the shellback squid or whatever it was called, the inside of the Nautillus, which reflected more of a swinging sixties theme than a nautical one, and of course, the gigantic prehistoric chicken--I mean, come on! What more can you ask for? The special features are nice, you will get some insight into the making of MI. The transfer was okay to me, but I don't niggle very often about those things. Turn the volume up, turn the lights off and you have all the cinematic experience you could ever hope for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting sci-fi, July 5 2003
By 
T O'Brien (Chicago, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Mysterious Island is a very exciting movie that is even better because of the graphics done by Harry Hausen. Five Union prisoners and one Confederate soldier in a hot air balloon are caught up in a huge storm, blown off course and crash land on an unknown island full of plenty of secrets. The castaways meet two women whose ship was sunk forcing them to take cover on the island. All the survivors must deal with a huge crab, enormous bees, an oversized bird, and plenty of other surprises. The creatures made by Harry Hausen are very good and really ahead of his time. Without computer graphics, he was able to make excellent creatures that still look very good.
Michael Craig plays the heroic leader of the castaways and is pretty good in the role. The rest of the Union prisoners are also okay, but I didn't recognize any of them from other roles. The Confederate soldier I recognize from The Bridge on the River Kwai, but cannot remember his name. Herbert Lom appears late in the movie as Captain Nemo, the famous submarine commander who disappeared several years before the story takes place. The DVD is great with extras that show how Hausen created some of the creatures, a making of documentary, theatrical trailer and widescreen presentation. This is a very enjoyable movie that keeps you in your seat from beginning to end! Do not miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harryhausen Classic, June 24 2003
By 
Lucius (Ithaca NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
One of the best films to feature Ray Harryhausen's "Dynamation" stop-motion photography, with a well-handled story with interesting characters bolstering the excellent photography and effects. The giant crab is a standout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another Harryhausen DVD disappointment, April 27 2003
By 
Michael Scott "Sailfin Dragon" (San Antonio, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Finally got this DVD,and again I was disappointed with the less then great remaster of this movie. Just like the " 7th Voyage Of Sinbad" DVD, this one's soundtrack really let me down, especially when I had the vhs version where the picture and soundtrack was really remastered. The soundtrack on the vhs had a great surround sound quality, even though it never mentions it on the box cover,and this DVD sorely lacks this. Columbia Pictures really got sloppy with this like they did with "7th Voyage",and when they claim remastered in high definition sound and picture, and then its not,I think you should get your money back. The only reason I give it 2 stars is being in widescreen, and thats a shame as this is one of my favorite Harryhausen movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Captain Nemo returns!, March 30 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Barberton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
In the Civil War (I forget the year), union men escape from a Confederate camp via a balloon during a bad thunder storm. They crash-land on an island filled with giant animals, including a colony of bees! Captain Nemo makes his return in this movie. Great action/adventure flick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid family fun, March 1 2003
By 
hardly_b (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I've reviewed the VHS version of this movie, and the DVD doesn't add much, but the picture and sound are definitely clearer, and you get a short documentary about the making of the movie. You also get some other documentaries that seem to appear on all of the DVD's of Harryhausen movies, which would interest you more if this was the first such movie you had.
It's a lot of fun, my kids especially like it, and they did a good job putting it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the classics, Jan. 28 2003
By 
R. Love "primemaiden" (Desoto,Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This movie is good for a vintage flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MYSTERIOUS ISLAND, Jan. 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Highly enjoyable action yarn with great Harryhausen creations! Especially liked the giant bee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars JULES VERNES' CLASSIC TALE...., Nov. 20 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Entertaining fantasy-adventure based on Jules Vernes' story about escapees from a Civil War prison who hijack a hot air observation balloon during a thunderstorm and get blown off course. They crash land on a strange island and discover it's inhabited by giant creatures. They are joined by two female survivors of a British ship wreck and forge together for survival. They battle a giant crab, a giant bird and a giant honeybee before they encounter the islands' oddest inhabitant---the infamous Capt.Nemo who has invented a submarine and learned to move about underwater with special equipment fashioned from giant sea shells. They are soon set upon by pirates whom Nemo dispatches when he sinks their ship. Nemo agrees to help them escape before a huge local volcano erupts. Great score by Bernard Herrmann and imaginatively filmed with a spirited cast. Only problem is the DVD transfer---it's not very good. Kind of a disappointment since this is a very colorful and stylish film. But since this is the best we can do for now I'll have to recommend it for lovers of escapist fare and Ray Harryhausen fans. The creatures are wonderful and the individual set pieces involving them are great. There's a marvelous underwater encounter with a giant tentacled shell creature near the end of the film that's mostly done in silence to great effect. The film is grand entertainment even if it's not the best quality DVD it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious Island, Oct. 30 2002
By 
Philip Mayrand "phillmovie" (New Hampshire, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
One of the last Ray Harryhousen films to be released on DVD. Unfortunately a very grainy print. and the mono soundtrack is fair at best. Bernard Hermann's score in stereo is breathtaking but you won't here it on this DVD. That's unfortunate. Fair job of remastering on this one! However,
The wide screen format is excellent. And the picture to this day is as entertaining as it was in 1961. Story and special effects are a treat!!! Fun and exciting to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français)
Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) by Richard Schickel (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 51.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews