Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ray Harryhausen lends his talents to the Jules Verne story
There was a woefully bad 15-part serial version of Jules Verne's "Mysterious Island" released in 1951 that stupidly gave away the big surprise by listing Captain Nemo's name in the credits. Fortunately a decade later the release of this version of "Mysterious Island" replaced that one in the public's consciousness. The team that put together "Mysterious Island" consisted...
Published on July 8 2006 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars EN BEAU CRISSE...
C'est comme ça qu'on dit au Québec!
Voici un film que je "spotte" depuis longtemps: le hic c'est que j'aimerais bien le voir en français. Impossible! Essaie de trouver "L'Échelle de Jacob" (Jacob's ladder) en français: impossible! "Labyrinthe": impossible!
Et je suis un admirateur de Mr. Harryhausen depuis fort longtemps. Encore chanceux de...
Published on July 29 2010 by jack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars wonderful family adventure movie, June 24 2001
By 
hardly_b (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This is one of my kids' favorite adventure movies, along with "The Adventures of Robin Hood". It bears only a limited relationship to the book, but it's a great movie. It has those wonderful special effects and a great score, as other reviewers have mentioned, and it's a rousing rip-snorting adventure, too. There is no irony in this movie -- all of the performances are earnest (and I think that it's a good thing, since none of the cast have the panache to be heroic and self-mocking)-- but with a couple of minor exceptions the performances are solid. And watching this with my kids I forgot all about the shortcomings of the special effects, etc., and got caught up in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Colombia Tri/Star DVDs...., Oct. 25 2003
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Well I can't say that Colombia/Tri-Star make the best DVD's. Sometimes they put really boring bonus features on the DVD and a lot of forgetable film trailers added to make up for the lack of bonus features, but the DVD of Mysterious Island is an exception. The print of the movie is very good. Rather exceptionle picture and sound quality, including an informative making of featurette hosted by Ray Harryhausen on how the movie was made. And also a bonus, hardly any boring film trailers were put on it. One of the better Colombia/Tri-Star DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Science Fiction Movie., Sept. 15 2000
Michael Craig and Herbert Loom lead a cast of good actors in this 1961 classic about seven people (Five men and two women) who must survive on a strange island full of giant crabs, giant birds, and large bees. In the process they learn the fate of the mysterious Captain Nemo. A film that has a "sense of wonder" that will keep the attention of the viewers from start to finish.Based on the novel by Jules Verne.Directed by Cy Endfield.Produced by Charles H. Schneer.Special Effects by Ray Harryhausen.Music by Bernard Herrmann.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sounds like..., Sept. 26 2003
By 
J. Newton (Franklin, N.H. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
There's a number of differences of opinions regarding the audio portion of this DVD. I own both the DVD and VHS versions of Mysterious Island, and can tell you that sonically the tape is superior, with Bernard Herrmann's score in stereo (as it was recorded). This is also true for the VHS version of The 7th Voyage of Sinbad. If the DVD of Sinbad is not up to the quality of the remastered tape (as another reviewer noted), then I'll not be in a rush to replace mine anytime soon. Thanks to the previous reviewers who noted this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It may not be Verne, but it is Harryhausen, Sept. 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Another Stop-Motion tour de force by the undisputed master of the art form.If you have to write a book report, make sure you read the book , it's very loosely adapted. The creatures scenes of note include a fight with a giant crab, and a giant bee sealing people in a honeycomb.While giantism abounds on the Mysterious Island, Harryhausen does slip in a prehistoric bird, in context most people assume it's a giant chicken.It may not be Harryhausen's best, but he's never made a bad film.Collect them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one heck of a movie, Dec 15 2003
By 
robert pounders (astoria, oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
this is one of my favorite jules verne movie along with 20000 leagues...but my only complaint as with all columbia harryhausen movies on dvd is sound..my vhs tape is 4 times better sound than this dvd..i'm asking if ray reads any of these or someone from columbia dvd please do better a better job on sound...my dvd list on chapter and extras has better sound than the movie..it would mean so much to all fans if these were redone and done right with at least surround sound on all ray's movies on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So-so fantasy., June 1 2002
By 
F. Healy (Pinehurst, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an interesting fantasy movie about five men dropped on a desert island during the civil war. It very loosely based on Jules Vernes masterpiece, very loosely. Lots of monsters and women which were not in the book. You might enjoy the movie, but if you want to know the real story, you have to read the book - that will be well worth your time. I wish that someone would produce a movie that really tells the whole story as Verne wrote it; I'd buy that in an instant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So-so fantasy., June 1 2002
By 
F. Healy (Pinehurst, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an interesting fantasy movie about five men dropped on a desert island during the civil war. It very loosely based on Jules Vernes masterpiece, very loosely. Lots of monsters and women which were not in the book. You might enjoy the movie, but if you want to know the real story, you have to read the book - that will be well worth your time. I wish that someone would produce a movie that really tells the whole story as Verne wrote it; I'd buy that in an instant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mysterious Island, Oct. 30 2002
By 
phillmovie "phillmovie" (New Hampshire, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
One of the last Ray Harryhousen films to be released on DVD. Unfortunately a very grainy print. and the mono soundtrack is fair at best. Bernard Hermann's score in stereo is breathtaking but you won't here it on this DVD. That's unfortunate. Fair job of remastering on this one! However,
The wide screen format is excellent. And the picture to this day is as entertaining as it was in 1961. Story and special effects are a treat!!! Fun and exciting to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars solid family fun, March 1 2003
By 
hardly_b (Palo Alto, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I've reviewed the VHS version of this movie, and the DVD doesn't add much, but the picture and sound are definitely clearer, and you get a short documentary about the making of the movie. You also get some other documentaries that seem to appear on all of the DVD's of Harryhausen movies, which would interest you more if this was the first such movie you had.
It's a lot of fun, my kids especially like it, and they did a good job putting it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français)
Mysterious Island (Sous-titres français) by Richard Schickel (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 72.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews