Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars106
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 1, 2015
This is a review for the new 2015 re-release of Kino`s Nosferatu(released March/22)starring,among others, Max Schreck,Gustav von Wangenheim,Greta Schröder and Alexander Granach.This is Murnau's film piece that he is most remembered for today.This film would be closer to Stoker's book than the Hollywood remake starring Lugosi(but still not right on,because Murnau and company didn`t even ask permission from the Stoker estate!).
The story starts in a fictional German town called Wisborg.A real estate agent called Knock calls on one of his employees,Thomas.He wants him to go to Transylvania to seal a deal with a Count Orlock to buy a home right across the way from Thomas's.It's an old,creepy and run down looking place,but a sale is a sale.His wife Eillen is filled with fear upon hearing the news.Assuaging her feelings as best he can,he is soon off.
It is a long trek to Transylvania and he is forced to stay overnight at a local inn before continuing his journey the next day.While there he comes across a small tome on Vampires,which explains their habits and what one must watch out for.Thomas thinks nothing of it and next day he is off to the castle in a coach.The coach only goes part way as its' drivers will not go any farther.Thomas is forced to hoof it to the Count's castle,but a strange coach soon arrives at break neck speed to pick him up and get him to the castle toute suite.He arrives just before midnight.After supper the mysterious Count pleads with Thomas to stay up with him until morning.
The camera fades out and when it fades back in Thomas awakes the next morning in his chair,with his head tilted to one side.He soon discovers two small punctures in his throat,which in a letter later to his wife he explains as two mosquito bites.Thomas has to spend another day and night at the castle,during which time the Count signs the deal for the old house in Wisborg.However later that night,much to Thomas's horror,the Count pays an unwelcome visit to Thomas' room.Later,upon awakening from a strange sleep,he makes a makeshift rope out of bed sheets and climbs down the castle tower.But the sheets only go so far and he is forced to jump,injuring himself.The following day the Count is up early and fills a wagon with several coffins,which he drives to the docks to be shipped to Wisborg.
Thomas is taken to a local hospital to recover.He is delirious for a time, but eventually regains enough self control to head back home as quick as he can get there,sensing a terrible unknown danger.The Count meanwhile has had his coffins loaded aboard ship and is already sailing to Wisborg.Along the way mysterious "plagues" erupt at various ports wherever the ship docks.On the last leg of the journey the ship itself becomes the Count's "playground", and the crew dies one by one,until he is the only one"alive".Thomas arrives home on the same morning as the Count reaches Wisborg,in the early morning hours carrying his own coffin to his new home.It is not too long after that the town starts experiencing a "plague" of its own.People start falling like flies.Thomas' wife reads parts of the small book he had picked up at the inn.One passage states that only an innocent's blood that keeps a vampire from resisting the call of the morning crow, will be able to kill it.One night Thomas's wife awakens from a sound sleep,while the Count across the way beckons to her.She manages to awaken Thomas to go get the local doctor.She falls back down on the bed and the Count comes a-calling,gorging himself on her blood.However the call of the crow echoes later through the town and the Count is caught out in the sunlight with no place to go.As the rays surround him he disappears into a puff of smoke.Thomas arrives with the doctor just as Eillen dies in his arms,but knowing she has freed the world from the Counts spell.
I have seen many,MANY versions of this film over the years.All truncated forms of what I saw on this disc.This is the most complete,comprehensive and very best print of this film I have ever seen.In fact it looks better than Kino`s recently re-released Phantom of the Opera,filmed three years later.The orchestral score is the original 1922 score from its premiere and it is spectacular.
Technically the film is in its fulls screen version and it`s clear and crisp.It has many artifacts of its age but it has been cleaned up beautifully.Disc one has the English title version,along with the extras which include a featurette on the film and its making,an image gallery and excerpts from many of Murnau`s early 20`s films.
All in all a wonderful addition to any film buff`s collection.Remastered in Hi-Def,this print is arguably the best ever presented for this film.The story is much fuller,thus creepier and scarier.Fully tinted,this is the one to own.Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2015
one of the greatest silent classics of horror films ever!...and is remastered with the utmost care along with the amazing music (no tacky goth metal here!!!)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Nothing wrong to say about the movie. Good sound and images. But, when I received it, I knew it was a copy. Cheap case, the cover of the case is printed on some regular sheet of paper and the image on the DVD is also printed on a sticker.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 4, 2014
Disappointed by this classic. Picture is horrible at times. The acting is terrible as well. And the music just doesn't fit. I think the big fuss about it is more sentimental than anything else. Either way if you want to see this movie this is apparently the best picture version of it (but not the soundtrack). Movies have come a long way since then
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 15, 2014
Besides the excellent transfer, this Kino version contains a nice documentary on Murnau and then traces the shooting locations, some of which still exist.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
One star for the lousy job Kino did with this Blu-ray, not the movie itself which is a classic.The frames were messed up in the conversion to 1080P. The picture exhibits a jittery-ness that it shouldn't and it's very distracting and annoying. If you're B region friendly then get the UK disc from Masters of Cinema. It looks great! Otherwise stay away from this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 50 REVIEWERon January 20, 2014
I still find this one of the creepiest Vampire movies ever. I had what I thought was a pretty good copy on DVD. I was wrong. For a film approaching it's 100th anniversary it looks stunning. The full 90 minute film has never looked so good. It has a beautiful 5.1 music score to accompany the film (also plays back in stereo). Uses colour too enhance the film. This is NOT colorized it uses colour to tint the whole frame. So it gives you a feel of being day or night, indoor or outdoor. I did not know if I would like this but I do think it works very well without destroying the black and white experience.
At around $30 it is a little pricey but this was done by Kino. They are a studio that has put out some great classic films as well as excellent documentaries (Levon Helm, I Ain't In It For My Health). I usually hold off if a title seems pricey but Kino seems to throw the money at their next project. I really look forward to their next release!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 28, 2013
Bet your bottom dollar
That tomorrow
There'll be sun!

This is a Chronicle of the great Death in Wishborg 1838

The original story is as old as the Carpathian Mountains. A real estate agent Knock (Alexander Granach) gets a mysterious request from a far-off land; Count Graf Orlok (Max Schreck) is in need of a new abode. He sends his best man Hutter (Gustav v. Wangenheim) to seal the deal. The mysterious being, Nosferatu, has nefarious purposes that will seal more than the deal and in the process is attracted to a tasty Mrs. Hutter (Greta Schroeder).

This is the 1922 F.W. Murnau's silent German classic adaption of Brahm Stoker's Dracula. The movie follows the book little closer than today's movies do. There were a few necessary changes. I believe that was the nature of movies around 1922. Max Schreck did an excellent job of playing the deviant snacker.

Although no variations can come close to this original film, many people think of Werner Herzog's 1978 film "Nosferatu the Vampyre" as a good variation, This also being my personal favorite as I am a fan of Klaus Kinski. I suggest that you look at some of the others and see what you think and who you consider the real Dracula.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 27, 2013
Ordered by the court to be destroyed (Murnau was sued by Stoker's widow for the similarities with Dracula), luckily Nosferatu survived to this day.

The remastering of this important film is beyond anything I could have hoped for. Sure it isn't perfection, but the image is stunningly beautiful and striking, complimented by the addition of a newly orchestrated composition of the original score. This is the best Nosferatu has ever looked so far and any vampire fan or film fan should give it a look to at least understand where much of the genre comes from.

In terms of special features, we are greeted by a 52 minute documentary on director FW Murnau recounting his life, successes and failures at fast pace, taking the time to delve into the production of Nosferatu. Many excerpts from Murnau's films, a trailer and a photo gallery complete the set of more than satisfying special features.

I never thought I'd ever get the chance to have such a good look at Schreck's portrayal of Nosferatu and this edition is definitely worth investing into.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on September 8, 2012
I've been interested in this movie since the 80s and 90s when I would see it in clips on tv or in music videos etc. then managed to grab a VHS copy sometime ago which I still have, but which is not near the video and audio quality of this DVD. I picked up the 'restored' version from KINO a few years back on DVD and thought it was pretty decent, but now just got this updated Ultimate Edition and can say it is by far the most complete and best looking version you can get, all with original music added back in and original intertitles etc. I love how KINO takes these old historic films like Nosferatu, Metropolis etc. and scoures the earth to find missing footage, info or original music and painstakingly treats it digitally frame-by-frame, cleans it up and pieces it all back together to present it as it was intended to be seen at its original premier, it's so interesting to me. You don't get that with movies today, everything is so cut-and-dry today. So yea, the picture is as clear as day and stable and the original music has been pieced back together and added back to the movie. But you have to consider the era of the film, it's not the most interesting or engaging film ever, the pace can be slow and can get boring, but it's worth it to see a historic film like this in near perfect form as it was intended to be seen, finally.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Silent)
Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Silent) by Conrad Veidt (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 6.98

Nosferatu (The Vampyre / Phantom der Nacht)
Nosferatu (The Vampyre / Phantom der Nacht) by Klaus Kinski (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 145.94