Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific twosome battle across beautiful blu ray
Olive Films restoration of this terrific paring of John May e and Maureen O'Hara in John Ford's romantic recreation of his beloved Ireland is a gem and amazing when compared to earlier and very disappointing DVD transfers. Thank you very much Olive Films for giving me this perennial favourite back in such great condition. This film has t been seen looking this good in the...
Published 16 months ago by Michael Ratcliffe

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie - Horrible DVD transfer
Simply put, this is my favorite movie of all time, and I am sad to say I have to agree with others that the digital transfer to DVD of this film is horrible, let the buyer beware. I have the 40th Anniversary VHS and with all of the limitation of that medium, they started with a far better print of the film and it is actually still far more presentable than the current...
Published on Dec 15 2003 by Douglas Herring


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie - Horrible DVD transfer, Dec 15 2003
By 
Douglas Herring (Redmond, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Man [Import] (DVD)
Simply put, this is my favorite movie of all time, and I am sad to say I have to agree with others that the digital transfer to DVD of this film is horrible, let the buyer beware. I have the 40th Anniversary VHS and with all of the limitation of that medium, they started with a far better print of the film and it is actually still far more presentable than the current DVD. I am being vocal on this both to warn fans and potential fans of the film of the lackluster transfer, and to let the powers that be know that this is one beloved film and that I would happily purchase it again when a digitally enhanced high quality transfer struck from the original negative is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific twosome battle across beautiful blu ray, March 30 2013
By 
Michael Ratcliffe "sentimentalist" (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Olive Films restoration of this terrific paring of John May e and Maureen O'Hara in John Ford's romantic recreation of his beloved Ireland is a gem and amazing when compared to earlier and very disappointing DVD transfers. Thank you very much Olive Films for giving me this perennial favourite back in such great condition. This film has t been seen looking this good in the 60 years I have been watching it. If you love this classic or want to discover what the John and Maureen screen chemistry was all about this is the film and blue day to see. Great fun, love and joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great transfer, Jan. 25 2013
By 
J. Maendel (Edmonton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been anticipating a blu-ray of The Quiet Man for years and it's finally here. Sure, there's no subtitles, commentary, or other significant extras you would find on a Criterion release; but the film itself looks and sounds great. Movie: 5 stars, Blu-ray: 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie...Worst DVD, Dec 21 2004
This review is from: Quiet Man [Import] (DVD)
The Quiet Man has always been my favourite movie. The DVD transfer is the worst I've ever seen. My VHS version is of better quality. My suggestion ...E-mail Artisan and express your dismay....I did .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied, June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man (DVD)
At first I thought it was a bit expensive but after viewing it I find it to be of very good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great movie., June 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like Jogn Wayne, you need to get this disc. The cinematography is amazing. The quality of this film, compared to the lackluster DVD version is astounding. Like the origional True Grit Bluray, this is a must have for anyone who likes the duke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Quiet Man, June 22 2014
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of my favourite Irish movies of all time. Love the Irish scenery. John Wayne and Maureen O' Hara are superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic movie, June 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man (DVD)
Got to love John Wayne. This is the best John Wayne movie, and it has the making of the the movie included which is very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite John Wayne movie., May 17 2014
By 
B. L. Trivers "Books Worth Reading" (N.Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [DVD] (DVD)
Have watched this several times over the years. They don't make movies this good anymore. Loved the scenery, the people, the humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A family classic with restrictive copy protection, Feb. 6 2014
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This family classic remains as a good memory and unfortunately, the Blue-ray copy protection prevents it from playing on a computer. It's amazing that a 60 year old classic requires copy protection and Olive Films ignored both of my e-mail(s) about the product. Only wanted to watch the movie with Blue-ray player on the Macintosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet Man [Import]
Quiet Man [Import] by John Ford (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 42.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews