Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific twosome battle across beautiful blu ray
Olive Films restoration of this terrific paring of John May e and Maureen O'Hara in John Ford's romantic recreation of his beloved Ireland is a gem and amazing when compared to earlier and very disappointing DVD transfers. Thank you very much Olive Films for giving me this perennial favourite back in such great condition. This film has t been seen looking this good in the...
Published 20 months ago by Michael Ratcliffe

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie - Horrible DVD transfer
Simply put, this is my favorite movie of all time, and I am sad to say I have to agree with others that the digital transfer to DVD of this film is horrible, let the buyer beware. I have the 40th Anniversary VHS and with all of the limitation of that medium, they started with a far better print of the film and it is actually still far more presentable than the current...
Published on Dec 15 2003 by Douglas Herring


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie - Horrible DVD transfer, Dec 15 2003
By 
Douglas Herring (Redmond, WA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
Simply put, this is my favorite movie of all time, and I am sad to say I have to agree with others that the digital transfer to DVD of this film is horrible, let the buyer beware. I have the 40th Anniversary VHS and with all of the limitation of that medium, they started with a far better print of the film and it is actually still far more presentable than the current DVD. I am being vocal on this both to warn fans and potential fans of the film of the lackluster transfer, and to let the powers that be know that this is one beloved film and that I would happily purchase it again when a digitally enhanced high quality transfer struck from the original negative is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A crime to charge money for this DVD, May 3 2004
By 
T. Whelan (Regina, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
There is a tendency when you really like a movie to gloss over any problems with its transfer to DVD. After all, this is a very good movie by the best director that ever lived - John Ford.
STAY AWAY FROM THIS VERSION. If it were a car it would be recalled. Do not let your affection for the material convince you it is acceptable.
On my TV, using component video imputes, it has the worst color of any DVD I've seen - with the possible exception of $4.99 bargins. The color saturation varies, going up and down at intervals. The detail is lousy. This looks like a third generation video copy. While the problem gets a little better towards the end, it is still very bad. This kind of treatment for a film that won an Oscar for cinematography? Ah, the profit motive.
If you would like to see a great John Ford film on DVD where some care has been spent on restoration, try "My Darling Clementine," "The Searchers" or "The Grapes of Wrath."
Leonard Maltin hosts a "making of" short on the DVD. Is his presence a tacit endorsement of the transfer? And if so, does he not carry some responsibility?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Film, Disappointing DVD, Sept. 9 2003
By 
Ave Orois Fernandez (Pontedeume, Coruna, Spain.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
The Quiet Man is a delightful film, one of these cases where everything clicks -the cast, the music, the cinematography...- resulting in a truly breathtaking masterpiece. But that's a widely known statement, and there are lots of well written reviews around already. What a prospective buyer of this DVD most probably wants to know is: how good the DVD transfer is?
Well, I would answer this using a single word which would accurately express what you will find if you buy this one -in fact, I *UTTERED* that very word shortly after I slipped this DVD inside the player and pressed the play button- but I'm afraid this review would be banned if I did so. So, to make a short story long, I'll say that the DVD transfer is pitiful. Terrible. It looks like if they had used some (poor) VHS tape as a master and fiddled with the color sliders, so what you finally have is a blurry picture with annoying, garish colours which results in a completely disappointing and shameful viewing experience, to say the least. I'll have to treasure my VHS copy which -sad but true- has got far more decent colour and definition.
It's a pity that a classic of this calibre had been mistreated this way -they even packed it lavishly with a nice carton frame with an engraved "Collector's Edition DVD" silver badge which completes the mockery. I expected far more from Artisan, as I had previously bought their excellent DVD edition of "High Noon", with razor sharp picture, THX certification and all the bells and whistles. So I feel completely cheated and worried, not just because of the 17'99 bucks down the drain, but, most of all, for the fact that once a film has been released on DVD, chances that it'd be released again soon, in a *PROPER* condition, become scarcer.
By the way, permit me a brief remark about the fact of how surprisingly poor are DVD versions of John Ford pictures: exception made for three excellent DVDs -The Searchers (Warner), The Man who Shot Liberty Valance (Paramount), and How Green was My Valley(Fox)- the rest of John Ford's filmography on DVD has been, as far as I know, released in dreadful condition regarding image and sound. Which is hard to believe, when it comes to one of the most relevant directors in the History of Filmmaking. Let's hope things begin to change soon and we could enjoy his films, for once and all, in their full glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely dreadful DVD of a major classic., March 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
Trust me; The innumerable complaining reviews of this "Special Collector's Edition" of one of John Ford's greatest films are not exaggerating. This is a disgrace of a DVD. I could go on in detail, but just check the previous reviews; There's no point in my repeating their remarks (except to comment that the reviewer who's furious because it isn't in widescreen needed to check the facts before throwing a fit: It wasn't filmed in widescreen, so a widescreen DVD is unlikely). The video quality is mediocre at best (and this is one of the half-dozen most beautiful movies ever shot, which just makes it worse), the audio is lousy, edgy and shrill...Well, you get the idea. It's awful, just plain awful. Whoever the hack was at Artisan who authorized this trashy product needs to be transferred to the unemployment line ASAP. All I can say is, pray for another, genuinely restored DVD somewhere in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Restored ? Huh !, June 26 2004
By 
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
I'm going to keep this short. The Quiet Man is a classic, so why treat it like crap. I have VHS copies of old Disney Afternoon cartoons that are a million times better than this. The transfer is so bad I finally just messed with the color on my set and decided it would be better in black and white.
Theatrical Trailers? That's what the box says, but there are only three "trailers" on the disc, and none are theatrical. they are all commercials for other Artisan discs, which makes no sense as anyone who sees what a terrible job they did to this classic will be very wary before they ever pick up another Artisan disc. Can you imagine the outcry if they did this to Wizard of Oz or any ohter film classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific twosome battle across beautiful blu ray, March 30 2013
By 
Michael Ratcliffe "sentimentalist" (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Olive Films restoration of this terrific paring of John May e and Maureen O'Hara in John Ford's romantic recreation of his beloved Ireland is a gem and amazing when compared to earlier and very disappointing DVD transfers. Thank you very much Olive Films for giving me this perennial favourite back in such great condition. This film has t been seen looking this good in the 60 years I have been watching it. If you love this classic or want to discover what the John and Maureen screen chemistry was all about this is the film and blue day to see. Great fun, love and joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great transfer, Jan. 25 2013
By 
J. Maendel (Edmonton, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Quiet Man [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been anticipating a blu-ray of The Quiet Man for years and it's finally here. Sure, there's no subtitles, commentary, or other significant extras you would find on a Criterion release; but the film itself looks and sounds great. Movie: 5 stars, Blu-ray: 4.5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Man, March 13 2004
This review is from: Quiet Man (DVD)
John Ford's real name was Sean O'Feeney and this film set in Ireland is one of his best. Sean Thornton (John Wayne) returns to Ireland to live after living most of his life in the states. He sees Mary Kate (Maureen O'Hara) from a distance and is instantly smitten. Later they marry and trouble brews when her brother refuses to pay the dowry. Sean doesn't care, but to Mary Kate it is a point of honor. While in the states Sean was known as Trooper Thornton a boxer who accidently killed a man in the ring. He would rather not fight the brother over the dowry ,but you guessed it, he does and it is one of the greatest fist fights on film. This film has great comedy scenes like the priest trying to land his great fish, Sean walking Mary Kate home from the train station, and the old man,(Ford's brother), on his death bed leaping up when he hears the fight.
Maureen O'Hara had family in Ireland and John Wayne brought his with him, in fact there were family all over the set with a few making it into the film as extras. Most of the actors had worked together a year earlier making "Rio Grande" with Ford because the studio wouldn't make "The Quiet Man" without a western that would make money first. All the film Studio executives felt "The Quiet Man" would never make money.
The film won two oscars including best director and needless to say was a box office success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Story of a quiet peace-loving man, Sept. 12 2003
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quiet Man (VHS Tape)
Sean Thornton has returned to the ancestral seat of the Thorntons of old after living in Pittsburgh as a boxer. His being named after his grandfather, a well-respected man in the parts despite his later going to Australia as a convict, aids him in being well-liked in Inisfree. He is made most welcome by elderly and impish Michaleen Flynn, the local matchmaker and pub regular. Actually, they all are, but Flynn seems out of place without a whisky or beer in his hand.
Soon, Thornton meets the fiery-spirited and -haired Mary Kate Danaher, a spinster living with her bullheaded bully of a brother Will. He initially refuses permission for Thornton to court Mary Kate, mostly out of spite. Seems that he wanted the old Thornton cottage for himself, but his abrasiveness peeves the owner, the Widow Tillane so much that she sells it to Thornton.
However, conspiracies lead to the courtship and eventually the wedding. The pivotal point comes when Will becomes aware of the conspiracy during the wedding banquet and refuses the dowry of 350 pounds. Thornton thinks that it's just money, but he doesn't understand that the dowry also represents Mary Kate's honour and dignity.
Nowadays, a dowry is virtually nonexistent, but back then, it was a big deal. It's datedness and lack of female emancipation may not go well with women today. What is the thrust of this movie is Thornton realizing the difference between American and Irish culture, such as the courting and matchmaking functions, taken so seriously in Inisfree. And in a place like Inisfree, secrets are hard to keep in this small village, plus it's that group mentality that can be helpful or not to a person. For instance, Flynn, Father Lonigan, and the other vicar conspire against the bullying Danaher because he is not well-liked and has a point of putting people who speak out against him in his book to get back at them later, yet they become disappointed with Thornton because of his refusal to fight.
This was done during the last decade of Victor McLaglen's life--he would be dead in six years, but he does well as Will with that rough voice and craggy face. He starred in John Ford's three cavalry movies with John Ford opposite Wayne, of which the last had Maureen O'Hara. And O'Hara (Mary Kate) would star opposite Wayne in Wings of Eagles and McLintock, where she would be just as mistreated by Wayne in the finale. But Barry Fitzgerald steals the movie as the rascally tippler Flynn.
Given my politics, this is one of the few John Wayne movies I'll consider watching over and over. It isn't just John Ford's direction (Best Director) or the refreshing Irish scenery, which won Best Cinematography but Wayne's mostly understated performance compared to that swaggering "Well, pilgrim" attitude. There's something comforting about him wearing tweeds and cap compared to a ten-gallon hat, boots, and a Winchester, or a World War II military uniform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Terrific, April 3 2003
This review is from: The Quiet Man (VHS Tape)
If you're like me, once you view "The Quiet Man", you will want to take it out each year on St. Patrick's Day and laugh, cry, and revel in it's genius! This may be the best non-western movie that John Ford ever directed, as this is truly a masterpiece. Filmed on location in Ireland, Ford used the beautiful green countryside to frame his story of a former boxer, Shawn Thornton (John Wayne) who leaves America for Ireland after he accidently kills another fighter in the ring. In Ireland, he quickly falls for the bewitching beauty of Mary Kate Dannaher (Maureen O'Hara). Unfortunately for Thornton, he is not aware of the courtship rituals of Ireland! After a plot is hatched by members of the local clergy, Shawn and Mary Kate are finally married. However, there is one more problem, Mary Kate's brother refuses to deliver her dowry and Shawn, disgusted with money in general, refuses to press the issue. Thinking her husband does not care for her and is a coward, Mary Kate decides to leave her husband to shame him. This is the last straw for Shawn and the end of his "quiet-man" ways. The last 30 minutes of the film is a hillarious romp through the contryside, first to retrieve his wife, and second, to fight Mary Kate's brother for the dowry. A marvelous finish it is.
The movie's score is wonderfullly Irish (of course), and I guarantee you will be humming this ditty long after the movie is over.
The main character casting is excellent and unforgettable. Wayne is superb as the American Yank Shawn Thornton, and O'Hara matches him scene for scene as the fiery and fiesty Mary Kate. Their on-screen chemistry is obvious, and it is apparent both actors truly enjoy each others company and work. The supporting cast is superb as well, with Ford gathering his "family" of actors around him to make "The Quiet Man" a movie you will want to own in your film library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quiet Man
Quiet Man by John Ford (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 36.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews