Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Songs From One CD
Stevie Wonder has had lots of "Greatest Hits" albums, but none for a single disc from start (in 1962) to finish. If you only want one CD of Stevie Wonder, then this is your best option. However, if you already purchased his "4 CD compilation", then you don't need this. Highly recommended for just the casual fan.
Published on Jan. 28 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stevie deserves better
I suppose it is my own fault if I disagree with the material selection...it is a highly subjective matter. Personally I think there is too much of the earliest stuff on it that was made before he hit his mature genius. However, it is inexcusable that the recording quality is so dreadful! There are remastered versions of this material available that sound wonderful, and...
Published on Nov. 15 2002 by Tom Sanders


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Songs From One CD, Jan. 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Stevie Wonder has had lots of "Greatest Hits" albums, but none for a single disc from start (in 1962) to finish. If you only want one CD of Stevie Wonder, then this is your best option. However, if you already purchased his "4 CD compilation", then you don't need this. Highly recommended for just the casual fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stevie deserves better, Nov. 15 2002
By 
Tom Sanders "Tom Sanders" (Lansing, Mi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I suppose it is my own fault if I disagree with the material selection...it is a highly subjective matter. Personally I think there is too much of the earliest stuff on it that was made before he hit his mature genius. However, it is inexcusable that the recording quality is so dreadful! There are remastered versions of this material available that sound wonderful, and much of this sounds like a transistor radio. Another rip-off by a record label on us. One wonders if the engineers who put this stuff together have any pride at all in their work. I see no evidence of it here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonder Full, May 19 2013
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
The ideal collection at an excellent price. The gamut of a stellar career that everyone can hum to. Soul, sort of rock, R&B, and more soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, Nov. 27 2012
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
What can ya say about Stevie? Man is freakin' prolific. This collection goes WAY back, showing how this performer was doing his thing long ago. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Wonder - The Definitive Collection, June 29 2004
By 
B. Viberg "Alex Rodriguez" (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Stevie Wonder - The Definitive Collection~ Stevie Wonder is an amazing collection from a very tallented songwriter and musician. He is intelligent yet not prententious and seems to have great time making his music. A must have...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 21 Songs To Adjust Your Mood, May 30 2004
By 
powwowhappy "powwowhappy" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This collection is awesome!! Stevie Wonder's music remains timeless. 15 number 1 hits!! Plus 6 more that reigned at the top of the charts! Stevie Wonder's genius cannot be squashed into one CD but they did a GREAT job trying. We all may have our favorites, some have been left out BUT 21 Stevie songs is nothing to complain about. If you grew up with his music, this CD will transport you right back to that time, and leave you overjoyed. A time when EVERYBODY knew all the words to EVERY song, because EVERY cut on the album was great. If you were too young, you still won't be able to keep from groovin' to this CD. Invite some friends & family over. Through the burgers on the grill. Pop in this CD. Feet can't help but move, heads will be boppin', as everyone relaxes to Stevie Wonder's heart and soul he put into his music.
Also, the CD insert is worth reading. A good bit of trivia that they included was how each song rated on the R&B, Pop and Adult Contemporary charts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars finally, Feb. 25 2010
By 
? - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
efinitive Collection by Stevie Wonder
really this is the only sw album you need if you only want his top 40 hits. great collection from his early years to later years. sound quality is a little shaky on a few songs, but over all it's fair to good. this guy influenced many stars of today in the r&b world. check him out, you will be surprised how many hits you will recognize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars left out a small number of good songs, but the rest is tight, April 22 2004
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Love this album, nearly every song is a gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, March 21 2004
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Although this collection doesn't have all of Stevie's best songs, it does a pretty good job for a single disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite complete, Feb. 29 2004
By 
Anadora (Mississippi, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Great collection of all my favorite Stevie Wonder songs EXCEPT "Isn't She Lovely". Totally bummed out because I bought this cd without looking at the song titles on it (knowing I'd love it anyway) and upset that his most precious song ever was not included. So now I need to go buy another Stevie Wonder cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf6fff18)

This product

Definitive Collection
Definitive Collection by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews