Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite sexy, suspensful, provocative!!!
I sincerely found this movie provocative, sexy, and quite entertaining. Madonna was more than acceptable and convincing in her role as a manipulating, calculating gold digging sultress. I find the problem so many have w/ her acting, is just her mere presence. Right from the first scene shes in, the director blatantly was trying not to show her face to keep the suspense...
Published on Feb. 13 2004 by JK

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD didn't work.
We were really pleased with your delivery as we received all the other five DVD's we purchased within only a couple of days and we were waiting for Body Of Evidence to arrive so we would watch them all. We were truly surprised that this one came all the way from Italy. No wonder it took three weeks to arrive!! Our surprise turned to annoyance when we loaded it in and the...
Published 9 months ago by Gary Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars DVD didn't work., July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Body Of Evidence (DVD)
We were really pleased with your delivery as we received all the other five DVD's we purchased within only a couple of days and we were waiting for Body Of Evidence to arrive so we would watch them all. We were truly surprised that this one came all the way from Italy. No wonder it took three weeks to arrive!! Our surprise turned to annoyance when we loaded it in and the signage came up on screen.. REGION ERROR.......Please eject the disc.......Playback is not authorized in your region.
What the heck was that!!!!!
Needless to say, even giving it one star is too much since we never got to see it. When I first saw this movie on screen I rated it a 3++. I would appreciate any advice from you on where do we go from here.
We still want to get the movie, Any suggestions?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans Basic Instinct, March 17 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Firstly, I didn't think this was a bad film at all.
Its has an interesting storyline (see above), the acting is acceptable (its a shame we have to mention this when talking about Madonna's movies), and the sex scenes are definately raunchy (actually, more explicit than I would have expected - however this was during Madonna's SEX / rebellious period).
The problem is that it came AFTER Basic Instinct which is a far superior film, more stylish, more dramatic and more enjoyable. The script let the film down at times too, giving Madonna some silly one-liners "Have you ever seen animals make love Frank? Its brutal".
Enjoyable and definately worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite sexy, suspensful, provocative!!!, Feb. 13 2004
By 
JK (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
I sincerely found this movie provocative, sexy, and quite entertaining. Madonna was more than acceptable and convincing in her role as a manipulating, calculating gold digging sultress. I find the problem so many have w/ her acting, is just her mere presence. Right from the first scene shes in, the director blatantly was trying not to show her face to keep the suspense cause you "knew" it was Madonna, but waits until a sudden close up of her face. Once you see its her, here mere presence seems to cause more of a distraction cause its "Madonna". Therefore, once she speaks her 1st line she probably loses credability from most viewers. But I thought the dialogue, plot, sex/ nude scenes were extremely hot, climatic and natural. Some say there was no chemistry between Madonna and Defoe, I totally disagree, they were blended VERY well together, and Madonna clearly "taught" him a thing or two ;). Madonnas high point in the movie was the court scene where she really display some amazing acting chops!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Oh my God, Jan. 8 2004
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Oh dear. this is an abysmal movie. So abysmal that after twenty minutes I found myself fast-forwarding through the movie, admittedly pausing to view the dirty bits involving Madonna and Defoe. The trouble is that Defoe is just about the most unnattractive actor in Hollywood, and Madonna, whilst both beautiful AND sexy, is somehow portrayed in this movie as an utterly sexless thing, almost like one of those blow-up dolls with '3 working orifices'. Or is that orifi? Anyway, the whole film sucked. Mind you, that Willen Defoe is a lucky S.O.B. The muff-munching scene in the carpark was obviously real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Madonna, you are not Monroe, Nov. 8 2003
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Madonna, you are not, was never, and never will be Marilyn Monroe. This is a BAD movie, but the best scene is when Madonna is put on trial. When she is on the stand, she gives the movie's best line. You'll know when you see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow! I'm speechless., Nov. 2 2003
By 
Evelyn O. Simon "webstore owner" (South Florida. U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie was really very good, but it was the stollen
version of "Basic instinct." It starts out with a young blonde woman
getting off, on top of an older man. The sex scene will remind
you of Basic instinct. Then the next scene is another
Basic instinct scene, where the police stood beside the bed of
which the man had died, and the police detectives poke fun
at the murder scene.
The movie was very sexual. Madonna was an ok actress, but
she seemed to use more of her own personality then anything.
The scene where they were in the parking garage, was my favorite.
That scene was very erotic. And Frank, the young lawyer who represented Madonna, and also became her sex toy, couldn't fake that scene, it was too real.
Rent the movie to see this scene for yourself, and you'll see
what I mean. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Madonna Once Again...Sucks, Oct. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
...The plot was a cheap rip off of Basic Instinct. Sorry Madonna but you are NO Sharon Stone. The plot was plotless ( for lack of a better word ). Madonna is not at all sexy in films. She maybe able to smoke up a video screen from time to time but in movies she is as wooden as a plank. Wilem Devoe sucked as usual. His lifetime of boring roles somehow had Hollywood addicted to him in the late 80's. Thankfully those days are over.
I don't believe hardcore Madonna fans would even want to see this mess. The director and writers should be shot. Madonna should be sued for her nonexistent acting ability and Wilem Devoe...well he's suffered enough wouldn't you say? I loved Madonna in 93 so I supported her. But I can't honestly recommend this crap to anyone. Times are hard so save your money on a film that won't make you laugh during the sex scenes.
Instead of turning the audience on and making them beg for more, Wilem and Madonna were the most disgusting non-chemistry having duo ever. All of the scenes looked like downgraded, old fashioned porno. If you weren't turned off by the acting you'd definitely get sick watching Madonna's pale, saggy, weakily thin body doing god knows what to a less than gorgeous Wilem Devoe.
This review may seem shallow, but for the life of me I'm trying to save you. Don't go near this movie! For the love of the world save yourself! Strap garlic around your neck, hold up a cross! Do anything to stop you from even coming close to this film. People have often referred to Madonna as a " little girl " acting out. Well someone needed to.
Man I can't wait until we're allowed to give ZERO stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dumb movie!, Sept. 2 2003
By 
"boyjamm34" (Houston, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's face it! Madonna cannot act! Music is her thing. Not acting. It was a disgrace to see Madonna make such a fool of herself in this movie and others. Saying that Madonna can act is like saying that Britney spears can truly sing. When it comes to acting I do give her some credit in Dick Tracy and Desperately Seeking Susan. Save your money and buy one of her cds instead,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna At Her Best, Aug. 10 2003
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Madonna has shown us that she is a true DIVA in the music field. She then showed us that she is a true DIVA in her acting-in-a-movie field by starring in her 1985 film debut: Desperatley Seeking Susan. Body Of Evidence tells us that Madonna's Diva Hood in acting is etched in stone. She was DELIGHTFUL in Desperatley Seeking Susan. She was TASTEFUL in Shanghai Surprise. She was AWESOMELY HILARIOUS in Who's That Girl. She was WONDERFUL in The Bloodhounds Of Broadway. She was BREATHLESS in Dick Tracy. She was BITCHIN in A League Of Their Own. But none of those roles even compare 2 her role in Body Of Evidence. The movie itself is N outstanding piece of work.
Madonna plays the stunningly beautiful, but seductive and dominating, Rebecca Carlson. Rebecca is discovered 2 B charged with the murder of her much older lover, Andrew Marsh. Andrew Marsh is a 50, 60 year old man with a bad heart condition. On the night of his untimely death, Rebecca had been invited over 2 his house and the 2 have downright porn sex. The next morning, Andrew is found dead.
Willem Dafoe is in the role of Frank DeLaney, Rebecca's lawyer. Frank is sort of insecure and vulnerable and that is what makes Rebecca attracted 2 Frank and then it makes her want him. 4 Frank, from the second he had met Rebecca, he was instantly attracted 2 her. Of course, Rebecca begins 2 seduce Frank. After their first court session which seemed 2 have gone really well 4 Frank and Rebecca, the two N'joy a harmless business dinner. After giving her a ride home, she finishes off the seduction by saying this, "There's nothing wrong in admitting that U want me". He tries 2 kiss her but it doesn't work. She pushes him away and tells him 2 go home. He walks back 2 his car. After seeing her come out on 2 her terrist, he rushes in 2 her house and the two have raunchy animal sex. After sleeping with her, Frank begins 2 C the true curves of this so-called innocent woman.
Joe Montegna is in the role of Mr. Garrett, the lawyer is up against Rebecca and will stop at nothing 2 prove that she is guilty.
Co-stars include Anne Archer as Joanne, Andrew Marshe's secretary. Julianne Moore as Sharon, Frank's wife.
If U R looking 4 a Madonna flick, do not miss this one. It is a film that will have U'R immediate attention and it will have U watching it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstandingly brilliant movie, Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is definitely first class thriller. Body Of Evidence takes U 2 a world where no other movie has taken U B4.
Madonna is in the lead role of Rebecca Carlson, a beautiful woman charged 4 the murder of her much older, but wealthy boyfriend, with a bad heart condition. Willem DaFoe plays Frank DeLaney, the lawyer who must defend Rebecca. But Frank is suddenly drawn 2 Rebecca and after a steamy seduction, Frank becomes another one of Rebecca's dominated puppets.
Other stars include Joe Montegna who plays Garrett, the Lawyer who is up against Rebecca. Anne Archer, who playes Joanne, the wealthy guy's secretary, and Julianne Moore who plays Sharon, Frank's attractive, but naive wife.
Madonna may have been great in films like Desperatey Seeking Susan, Shanghai Surprise, Who's That Girl, The Bloodhounds Of Broadway, Dick Tracy, and A League Of Their Own but Madonna delivers N outstanding, steamy performance in this classic thriller. I urge all of U 2 buy this movie. U will all B deeply surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb209c438)

This product

Body of Evidence (Widescreen)
Body of Evidence (Widescreen) by Uli Edel (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 49.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews