Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite sexy, suspensful, provocative!!!
I sincerely found this movie provocative, sexy, and quite entertaining. Madonna was more than acceptable and convincing in her role as a manipulating, calculating gold digging sultress. I find the problem so many have w/ her acting, is just her mere presence. Right from the first scene shes in, the director blatantly was trying not to show her face to keep the suspense...
Published on Feb. 12 2004 by JK

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans Basic Instinct
Firstly, I didn't think this was a bad film at all.
Its has an interesting storyline (see above), the acting is acceptable (its a shame we have to mention this when talking about Madonna's movies), and the sex scenes are definately raunchy (actually, more explicit than I would have expected - however this was during Madonna's SEX / rebellious period).
The...
Published on March 17 2004 by H. R. Trigg


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A poor mans Basic Instinct, March 17 2004
By 
H. R. Trigg "howietUK" (Swindon, Wilts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Firstly, I didn't think this was a bad film at all.
Its has an interesting storyline (see above), the acting is acceptable (its a shame we have to mention this when talking about Madonna's movies), and the sex scenes are definately raunchy (actually, more explicit than I would have expected - however this was during Madonna's SEX / rebellious period).
The problem is that it came AFTER Basic Instinct which is a far superior film, more stylish, more dramatic and more enjoyable. The script let the film down at times too, giving Madonna some silly one-liners "Have you ever seen animals make love Frank? Its brutal".
Enjoyable and definately worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite sexy, suspensful, provocative!!!, Feb. 12 2004
By 
JK (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
I sincerely found this movie provocative, sexy, and quite entertaining. Madonna was more than acceptable and convincing in her role as a manipulating, calculating gold digging sultress. I find the problem so many have w/ her acting, is just her mere presence. Right from the first scene shes in, the director blatantly was trying not to show her face to keep the suspense cause you "knew" it was Madonna, but waits until a sudden close up of her face. Once you see its her, here mere presence seems to cause more of a distraction cause its "Madonna". Therefore, once she speaks her 1st line she probably loses credability from most viewers. But I thought the dialogue, plot, sex/ nude scenes were extremely hot, climatic and natural. Some say there was no chemistry between Madonna and Defoe, I totally disagree, they were blended VERY well together, and Madonna clearly "taught" him a thing or two ;). Madonnas high point in the movie was the court scene where she really display some amazing acting chops!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna At Her Best, Aug. 10 2003
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Madonna has shown us that she is a true DIVA in the music field. She then showed us that she is a true DIVA in her acting-in-a-movie field by starring in her 1985 film debut: Desperatley Seeking Susan. Body Of Evidence tells us that Madonna's Diva Hood in acting is etched in stone. She was DELIGHTFUL in Desperatley Seeking Susan. She was TASTEFUL in Shanghai Surprise. She was AWESOMELY HILARIOUS in Who's That Girl. She was WONDERFUL in The Bloodhounds Of Broadway. She was BREATHLESS in Dick Tracy. She was BITCHIN in A League Of Their Own. But none of those roles even compare 2 her role in Body Of Evidence. The movie itself is N outstanding piece of work.
Madonna plays the stunningly beautiful, but seductive and dominating, Rebecca Carlson. Rebecca is discovered 2 B charged with the murder of her much older lover, Andrew Marsh. Andrew Marsh is a 50, 60 year old man with a bad heart condition. On the night of his untimely death, Rebecca had been invited over 2 his house and the 2 have downright porn sex. The next morning, Andrew is found dead.
Willem Dafoe is in the role of Frank DeLaney, Rebecca's lawyer. Frank is sort of insecure and vulnerable and that is what makes Rebecca attracted 2 Frank and then it makes her want him. 4 Frank, from the second he had met Rebecca, he was instantly attracted 2 her. Of course, Rebecca begins 2 seduce Frank. After their first court session which seemed 2 have gone really well 4 Frank and Rebecca, the two N'joy a harmless business dinner. After giving her a ride home, she finishes off the seduction by saying this, "There's nothing wrong in admitting that U want me". He tries 2 kiss her but it doesn't work. She pushes him away and tells him 2 go home. He walks back 2 his car. After seeing her come out on 2 her terrist, he rushes in 2 her house and the two have raunchy animal sex. After sleeping with her, Frank begins 2 C the true curves of this so-called innocent woman.
Joe Montegna is in the role of Mr. Garrett, the lawyer is up against Rebecca and will stop at nothing 2 prove that she is guilty.
Co-stars include Anne Archer as Joanne, Andrew Marshe's secretary. Julianne Moore as Sharon, Frank's wife.
If U R looking 4 a Madonna flick, do not miss this one. It is a film that will have U'R immediate attention and it will have U watching it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An outstandingly brilliant movie, Aug. 5 2003
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is definitely first class thriller. Body Of Evidence takes U 2 a world where no other movie has taken U B4.
Madonna is in the lead role of Rebecca Carlson, a beautiful woman charged 4 the murder of her much older, but wealthy boyfriend, with a bad heart condition. Willem DaFoe plays Frank DeLaney, the lawyer who must defend Rebecca. But Frank is suddenly drawn 2 Rebecca and after a steamy seduction, Frank becomes another one of Rebecca's dominated puppets.
Other stars include Joe Montegna who plays Garrett, the Lawyer who is up against Rebecca. Anne Archer, who playes Joanne, the wealthy guy's secretary, and Julianne Moore who plays Sharon, Frank's attractive, but naive wife.
Madonna may have been great in films like Desperatey Seeking Susan, Shanghai Surprise, Who's That Girl, The Bloodhounds Of Broadway, Dick Tracy, and A League Of Their Own but Madonna delivers N outstanding, steamy performance in this classic thriller. I urge all of U 2 buy this movie. U will all B deeply surprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Sham-Erotic Puppet-Show., July 25 2003
By 
B. Erickson "boycorrupted" (Overland Park, KS United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Wow, they released this on DVD? Who'd have thought. Objectively speaking, "Body of Evidence" HAS to be among the top five worst movies ever made. The only sort of person who could ever tolerate sitting through it is the rabid Madonna fan. I mean, I've seen it and yeah, I'm a fan of sorts, I'll admit it - but I can only take so much. This flick is simply inexplicable as anything other than a bizarre mistake on the part of most everybody involved.*
(*Then again, while Madonna as a rule is not a huge box-office draw, I'm sure anything with her name attached winds up selling big on video and DVD eventually, no matter how awful.)
Poor Madonna. It's not that we don't want her to do well. It's not that we can't see how hard she's trying - it's that we CAN. The girl never had an un-self-conscious moment in front of the camera in her life. By the way, that's exactly why she is so magnetic in her proper medium, music video - that instant rapport is what made her a star. "Evita" worked for her because it's basically a 2-hour highbrow music video. But "Body of Evidence," which is obviously Madonna's attempt at "Basic Instinct," just makes her look foolish. AGAIN. At that point she was already a veteran of looking foolish on the silver screen. And you know, good for her, she does what she wants, she takes risks, but her choices are so consistently, amazingly terrible that it's impossible to take her seriously as an actress.
Who wrote this script? I'm not hitting the back button to see if it says, I don't really care, but I mean, good night! - it's bad. She kills the rich old guy by having-relations-with-him to death. She's like a much leaner and supposedly much more savvy version of Anna-Nicole Smith. Deviant S&M behavior may have been involved, as well as cocaine - "Basic Instinct" motifs; except in this case the killer blond can't quite pull it off. The dialogue's a mess; e.g. at one point somebody actually has Madonna tell her lawyer "There's nothing wrong with admitting that you want me." Groan. Nor does the ending make any sense, but by then who really gives a damn. The kicker is that Madonna read the script and thought "This sounds like a real gem."
But we can't blame it all on the script or her choice of it either. If Madonna were a "real actress" - and it is more than evident that she is not - she would be able to breathe some sort of creative life into even such an abject piece of trash as this. Sharon Stone did it for the otherwise ridiculous "Basic Instinct;" Linda Fiorentino for the otherwise laughable "Last Seduction." "Body of Evidence" attempts to fit into this same neo-Noir spider-woman genre, but it fails quite miserably. Not only that, but you have to watch Willem DaFoe having sex.
SPOILER: She doesn't even get away with it in the end. The good guys burn the witch. What kind of Film Noir is that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Madonna hots up the screen...., July 19 2003
By 
Dave Beards (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
After achieving reluctant critical acclaim as a supporting actress in such commercially successfully films as 'League Of Their Own' and 'Dick Tracy', Madonna once again stepped into the leading lady role for this erotic thriller. Released in 1993, Body Of Evidence capped off the Erotica CD/Sex book era of Madonna's career.
Madonna portrays Rebecca Carson, gallery owner and s&m/bondage fetishist. Her latest lover, a wealthy older man, dies suddenly of a heart attack and the prime suspect is Rebecca who is touted as being the 'murder weapon' herself.
Body Of Evidence certainly contains many erotic moments - we have never seen Madonna so explicit as we do in this movie. Whilst her sexual prowess is above reproach, her acting here is also noteworthy. Madonna underplays the role here for character subtly. Only in the final few scenes do we see the true Rebecca. Madonna becomes better with every movie she makes and with Body Of Evidence we see a developing actress - her characterisation is believable and holds ones' interest.
Is it a good movie??? That depends on personal opinion, but I believe it is. Definitely in the 'b-grade' category, but I found it to be enjoyable, thrilling, and interesting from the viewpoint of seeing Madonna once again develop her on-screen prowess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Filmed ...fest, April 19 2003
By 
Stephen Kaczmarek "Educator, Writer, Consultant" (Columbus, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
Well, it won't take 1,000 words to sum up this movie: junk. It's hard to view "Body of Evidence" even as a guilty pleasure--there's just way too much guilt. Madonna plays a scheming, Betty Davis-esque golddigger (surprise) who destroys men by oversexing them with her body! Willem Dafoe, the lawyer hired to defend her against charges of murdering her elderly, rich husband, may be her next target. The story is so purile it makes "The Days of Our Lives" look like Shakespeare, and the film wastes just about every likable performer in it (including Joe Mantegna, Ann Archer and Dafoe). Perhaps the biggest mistake is letting Madonna do more than be filmed without clothes--she delivers her lines about a beat too slow and often looks uncomfortable in her own skin. (It doesn't help that Madonna often is made up to appear ten years older than she is--she looks hotter now in her music videos). Pick anything at random starring Amazonian Shannon Tweed from the bargain basement video bin, and you'll probably be more entertained than you will from watching this waste of celluloid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad, but not THAT bad!, Feb. 1 2003
By 
Michael J. Chrush (Kent, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
First of all I am going to disagree with many that Madonna actually gives a surprisingly good performance as the seductress on trial. What gave me the heebie-jeebies about seeing this movie isn't so much to controversial sex scenes, but the fact that it was released shortly after BASIC INSTINCT, and the script worked seemlessly as a companion piece for it. What made it work though, was the courtroom scenes, as corny as they were.
As a hard-headed lawyer Willem Dafoe's Frank Dulaney is the character who gets more personal taking your case than if you were the witness. It is demonstrated very effectively in the moments where Anne Archer is in the witness stand. Critique: Madonna's on trial for the murder of her wealthy older lover. After an evening's entertainment, he is found dead apparently had a bad heart. Seeing Madonna naked probably did the trick.....LOL! Dafoe inevitably falls for her, and the case twists and turns. Thus the screenplay ties the film together as a kaleidoscope with very little brilliant colors. Who's the blame? Director Uli Edel? Or the cameraman? There is one scene during Dafoe's opening deliberation where we notice a very attractive young girl in the jury. Are we supposed to believe, this gal will turn into a hero of the juries to help turn Madonna loose? Nope, she's just another citizen just trying to earn the extra dough.
For Madonna fans this is a sure winner. Her character is the perfect vamp. Anybody would feel right at home in Portland. I know because I have been there myself and it is a beautiful city. As Madonna memorably points out while being interrogated by Joe Mantegna as the opposing attorney, "Portland is a small city. I even dated a man who dated a woman you dated." Clearly Dafoe has feelings for her when watching her pose naked beneath the balustrade. It probably made the fishermen in the area a little eerie as well. Her character and all the other characters have seemingly no morals or values. What does she dedicate her life to? She answers that in one of the funniest lines in the entire movie, which unfortunately cannot be printed here.
True, Madonna is a very beautiful, very talented woman. So much so, she must have been offered a heck of a salary to take the part. Had she been any wiser, she would have refused it, and Sharon Stone or Meryl Streep may have gotten the role. Who knows. Maybe they refused it too. Think about it. The entire movie looks like it was filmed in a very short amount of time, on a very low budget, and written by a High School play director. It's been a while since I've seen Uli Edel direct anything else after this, or his crew. They are probably bagging groceries at Trader Joe's right now as I speak.
Buy if you're a Madonna fan. Anyone else....you've been warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lay Off The Queen, Jan. 27 2003
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
I just want to start out by saying i don't know why this movie gets so much flack...well actually i do.....in response to claims that Madonna can't act...i will admit that while none of her performances with the exception of "Evita" have been Oscar worthy...they really haven't been that bad.
As for this movie i thought it was one of her best as far as acting goes...and the other complaint about it that i hear alot is theres too much sex..well you hypocrits need to stop acting like assuming thats what it was mainly about isn't the reason you picked it up in the first place...get over yourselves and just admit the "shameful" truth that you WANTED to see alot of sex!!
And one more thing you all need to get off Madonna's back cause in no interview has she ever claimed to be a good actress anyway...Madonna in movies is just another example of her doing something she wants and loves to do without caring if anyone else likes it cause she knows that when all is said and done you'll feel better if you do what you want rather than playing it safe...plus whos got the balls to get back up and do it again like she does.
And the last reason people dog not only this one but almost all of her movies is because they're not actually giving her a chance cause once they pop in that movie they're still seeing Madonna the singer not Madonna the actress and as long as thats happening you will never truly be able to appreciate her acting talent.
So watch the damn movie with an open mind and a non-critical manner and see how much you like it then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars RIDICULOUS POTBOILER...., Nov. 24 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body of Evidence (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a really bad movie. It might've been upped to an OK movie had it not been for the biggest problem: Madonna. The woman just cannot act. This is basically a rip-off of "Basic Instinct" without the benefit of anything that movie had to offer. The supporting actors here are wasted--- particularly Anne Archer who just re-hashes her role in "Instinct". Pity, because she CAN act. One gets the feeling that Madonna relishes the opportunities to exploit herself in the trashiest ways possible. Here, she plays a woman who literally kills her elderly husband with sex as a weapon. When asked what she does for a living on the witness stand, she tells them and it cannot be repeated here. That's probably the most convincing line she utters in the whole film. The sex scenes are played up with lighting and ambience but Madonna doesn't even do THEM very well and William Dafoe is just plain unattractive. There's not a convincing shred of "Evidence" in this exploitation vehicle that even remotely resembles a good movie. And if you need more proof of Madonnas' lack of acting ability look at what happened to "Swept Away". As for "Body", getting naked does not mean you can act.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body of Evidence (Widescreen)
Body of Evidence (Widescreen) by Uli Edel (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 78.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews