Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transformers Season 2 part 1
Ok, first off, its a collection worth having. All the originals are here, and everything you remembered about them is present. I've broken down my review into quick snibits to make it short and sweet.
SOUND: I don't know why Rhino decided to put 5.1 audio on a cartoon that was barely suitable for stereo. The sound is good, however the decision to replace sounds...
Published on Jan. 10 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay But Lacking
This is where the Transformers cartoon started getting good. The season started in 1985. I'm not too familiar with all of the aspects of the series, but I do know that the Season 1 commercial bumpers were used, rather than the Season 2 bumpers, which makes no sense, unless the bumpers were changed in mid-season. There are numerous white spots on the picture, but this is...
Published on April 3 2003 by Mark Moore


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transformers Season 2 part 1, Jan. 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
Ok, first off, its a collection worth having. All the originals are here, and everything you remembered about them is present. I've broken down my review into quick snibits to make it short and sweet.
SOUND: I don't know why Rhino decided to put 5.1 audio on a cartoon that was barely suitable for stereo. The sound is good, however the decision to replace sounds with new snd fx was a horrible idea. Why? Why!! Also, because of this "forced" 5.1 audio, it is painfully obvious and straining to the ear to hear the audio switch back and forth between your center spkr and your surrounds. It was a nice try, but really doesn't snd too good.
IMAGE: The restoration is good, and I don't think can get any better. Crisp and clean. Though, I don't understand why Rhino decided to keep the commercial tag lines in. It seems those should have been taken out.
EXTRAS: Horrible. They are actually pretty boring, and having almost nothing to do with the old series. These are guys who are doing the new Armada series, and you don't get anything, zippo, from hardly anyone who did anything on the original broadcast. They are not well done either, and did I say they were rather boring?? No concept designs, sketches, storyboards, commentaries. . . nothing.
That's it. Besides all that, it is worth having to simply relive the nostalgia of it. But I think Rhino has made some pretty wierd and poor decisions on the quality. It's as if no one really tested the product. Or, these are people who didn't even grow up with the series, and are simply pumping out another DVD to put on the market. who knows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transformers Season Two Boxed Set, Part 1, Jan. 6 2004
By 
Mike Smith (Independence, MO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
It's amazing how classic these cartoons are. Being a father now, my own sons enjoy watching them, the cartoons today are pale in comparison to the series that launched in the 80's and 90's.
Everything of the quality is excellent, I don't think you could ask any more as far as sound and picture. These were old, and I don't think anyone had DVD's in mind back then. The only thing that is seriously lacking is really good extras. It begs the question: "Does anyone from the original series even care, or are they even alive still?" Where are the directors/writers and original artists for these things? I would have loved to hear some audio commentary too by some of the former directors. Yet you find none of it on any of the collector editions. It's unfortunate, and I would really like to know why. Model sheets, concept designs would have been neat to look at, even the Transformers: The Movie DVD had little to nothing to offer. I guess no one saved anything???
However, this is the DVD to get, simply for the episodes. It's worth the money, and it has definately been worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transform and Roll Out!, April 22 2003
By 
Philip Gipson (Dayton, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
My mom got me the "Transformers - Season 2: Part 1" DVD box for Christmas last year. The set contains the first 24 episodes of season 2 (each one has remastered video and audio). The first three discs contain seven episodes each, while the fourth disc has three episodes and special features. The strangest thing about the second season is that the second year characters appear on our home planet without any explanation. I blame the animators at Sunbow Productions for this indecency. Among the new batch of Transformers are:
New Autobot cars Smokescreen, Tracks, Hoist, Inferno, Red Alert, and Grapple
New Decepticon jets Dirge, Ramjet, and Thrust
Autobot scientist Perceptor
Autobot mini-vehicles Cosmos, Powerglide, Beachcomber, Warpath, and Seaspray
Autobot defense base Omega Supreme
And...
Decepticon triple changers Astrotrain and Blitzwing
I already know that the rest of the '85 Transformers had been seen first in season 1 before season 2. My mom's favorite Transformer from the "Generation One" world is Optimus Prime. As for me, I like all the '84 and '85 TFs because they are very awesome. I don't really care much about the Transformers that appear in seasons 3 and 4 of the cartoon. I'm glad I got it, because I wanted it very badly. That's my mom -- she's always willing to help her family out, no matter how difficult it may seem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TF Season 2...More bots, more plots..., April 8 2003
By 
M. A Hutter "mahutter" (Upland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
TF Season 1 was a great trip down memory lane, but right around Episode 6 or 7, you realize that every plot has been about the same...Megatron finds a "new, unlimited energy source", goes after it, Autobots find out, intercept, mayhem ensues, good guys win. They managed to clone this plot 16 times to make a full season once, they must have known they couldn't have done it twice. While Season 2 certainly has Megatron's energy lust as a key component of many episodes, there is much more character development (and many more characters) and more involved plots. In addition to this, the animation, art work, and voice editing is much better than Season 1 which was full of production errors. On a down note, the extra footage (of Botcon, Again!) is badly produced, irrelevant to the series and depressing (there are TransFans and then there are obsessive, overgrown, unwashed manchildren TRANS FANS!)Equally irrelevant are the voice actor interviews, which have very little to do with the original series and go on and on and on... I would have given this collection 5 stars if Rhino had simply omitted the extras and given us Season 2 and only Season 2. Overall, Season 2 Part 1 is full of great artwork, better plots, and more characters which makes for a great series, still enjoyable today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is Transformers and that is never a bad thing., April 7 2003
By 
William Stenson III "Big Willy" (Round Lake Beach, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
Okay anyone that grew up watching this show knows it was ahead of its time and we loved it!! This box set is very nicely done by Rhino and has enough extras to satisfy everyone I believe. I will not list all the episodes out, but lets just say this season is where the show started to introduce many new characters and reveal a little more about the old ones. The animation is much better than the first year and it shows a very nice transition. People have complained about the animation int the first season, but Rhino explains the process they used to restore the show and gives you a side by side comparision. Lets just say that what you are getting with the dvds looks much sharper than the original show ever did!!! We all love this show but over time the original reels wore out and I credit Rhino for doing the best job they could, when you read the process it took you realize they were given a mess and made the best of it. Very nice job and I will get part 2 of the second, all of the third and off course the 45 episode 4th season. Bottom line, if you like transformers you will like this set, even with a few things that were done wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay But Lacking, April 3 2003
By 
Mark Moore (Homosassa, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
This is where the Transformers cartoon started getting good. The season started in 1985. I'm not too familiar with all of the aspects of the series, but I do know that the Season 1 commercial bumpers were used, rather than the Season 2 bumpers, which makes no sense, unless the bumpers were changed in mid-season. There are numerous white spots on the picture, but this is understandable considering the age of the original master tapes. The extras are nice, but there's not enough focus on the original series. There was one G1 voice actor interview and one G1 writer interview. I wanted more interviews. I wanted the scripts. I wanted Year 2 toy commercials. Now onto the actual story. 24 of the 49 episodes of Season 2 are in this set. They're presented in original air order, not production order. There is less continuity in this season than the previous. There are three 2-part episodes in this set. Year 2 characters start appearing with no explanation. They either came to Earth as reinforcements from Cybertron, or they were in stasis on the Ark and the Decepticon ship. Most of the characters aren't developed beyond stereotypes. Carly is introduced, bringing a much-needed female presence to the series. Carly is strong and intelligent - a great role-model for girls. Also, even though this story is about a war, none of the robots are ever destroyed, and none of the humans are ever killed. Still, this is an entertaining cartoon series and worth the purchase, even though it'll probably be cheesier than you remember from childhood. For those of you that missed it when it was on TV, this is your chance to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect, April 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
I must say that Rhino did a MUCH better job with this set than the previous season, there were no "Heavy Metal War" incidents on this set as far as I could tell, and there were no annoying sound effects added in the stories and the intro theme, even though they are still present in the commercial bumpers, but I've almost gotten used to them by now. However, there were still some slightly annoying changes made with some of the episode titles. "The Master Builders" now becomes "The Master Builder", and "A Deceptacon Raider in King Arthur's Court" now has the word "Deceptacon" changed to the correct spelling of "Decepticon." I know these are minor things to complain about, and Rhino probably thought that they were making improvements to the set, but we old-time fans like things left the way they were in the original series, unaltered. Also, as some reviewers have already stated, the extras are beyond pointless, do fans of the original series really care about interviews with the people who do the voices for the terrible new "Pokemon-Clone" series? They could have used things related to the original series, like old toy commercials, interviews with people involved with the original series, etc. Other than these few flaws, the dvds are great this time around and definitely worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay But Lacking, March 30 2003
By 
Mark Moore (Homosassa, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
This is where the Transformers cartoon started getting good. The season started in 1985. I'm not too familiar with all of the aspects of the series, but I do know that the Season 1 commercial bumpers were used, rather than the Season 2 bumpers, which makes no sense, unless the bumpers were changed in mid-season. There are numerous white spots on the picture, but this is understandable considering the age of the original master tapes. The extras are nice, but there's not enough focus on the original series. There was one G1 voice actor interview and one G1 writer interview. I wanted more interviews. I wanted the scripts. I wanted Year 2 toy commercials. Now onto the actual story. 24 of the 49 episodes of Season 2 are in this set. They're presented in original air order, not production order. There is less continuity in this season than the previous. There are three 2-part episodes in this set. Year 2 characters start appearing with no explanation. They either came to Earth as reinforcements from Cybertron, or they were in stasis on the Ark and the Decepticon ship. Most of the characters aren't developed beyond stereotypes. Carly is introduced, bringing a much-needed female presence to the series. Carly is strong and intelligent - a great role-model for girls. Also, even though this story is about a war, none of the robots are ever destroyed, and none of the humans are ever killed. Still, this is an entertaining cartoon series and worth the purchase, even though it'll probably be cheesier than you remember from childhood. For those of you that missed it when it was on TV, this is your chance to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Collection, Feb. 28 2003
By 
Garrett Aja (North Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
After the mistakes with the first season set (which was still a spectacular restoration, flaws and all), Rhino went to work on the Season 2 set, and produced a box set that's nearly flawless. The episodes are near flawless (the only mistake due to the 35mm source being the original take that I noticed was a double image of Prime in "Atlantis, Arise!"), and the video is perfect in all but a few scenes (most of it located in "Autobot Spike", and all due to the need to take footage from the crusty broadcast master). The extras, however, continue to be lacking, as the Botcon footage again focused on new product, and one of the interviews was from a voice actor on the "Robots in Disguise" series from a couple of years ago. However, the interviews with Earl Kress (writer of a number of great Season 1 and Season 2 episodes) and Michael McConnohie (voice actor for Cosmos and Tracks) are great, and show not only great knowledge of stuff they did some 18 years ago, but a genuine love for the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Prime Decision, Jan. 19 2003
By 
Bruce Aguilar (Hollywood, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 (DVD)
Well it looks like all us Trans-fans came out in force for Transformers season 1 on DVD cause now we've got Season 2 as well! Well most of it anyway. Part two that will finish out the season will be released later this year. The presentation quality of the first season DVD is repeated here, so depending on if you liked that set this is either a good thing or a bad one. I find the transfers to be top notch. Expecially considering that this was shows longevity wasn't taken seriously enough to warrent proper care for the negatives over the past 19 years.
I was surprised at how much better the writing an animation is with this season compared to the first. Where the first was somewhat sketchy and a bit rough around the edges (I'm being kind) this season is much more polished. Evidence: Enter the Nightbird, the Dinobot Island duo and Blaster Blues episodes.
Bonus wise the DVD is lacking. Watching a 30 minute commercial for BotCon isn't my idea of fun. Neither is lstening to people who are working on current Transformers shows. This is a G1 set right? Why aren't there bonus' for this series?!? I'd like to see original commercials, character designs, interviews with people who actually worked on the shows. But all that really doesn't detract from the thrill of owning these classics on DVD.
One more thing, this set comes with the same kind of booklet and animatin cels that appeared in the first season set. I haven't figured out what to do with them, but they are cool. Trans-fans shouldn't miss out on this mostly terrific DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1
Original Transformers: Season 2, Part 1 by Norm McCabe (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 109.99 CDN$ 54.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews