countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$93.29+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 10, 2004
Ok, first off, its a collection worth having. All the originals are here, and everything you remembered about them is present. I've broken down my review into quick snibits to make it short and sweet.
SOUND: I don't know why Rhino decided to put 5.1 audio on a cartoon that was barely suitable for stereo. The sound is good, however the decision to replace sounds with new snd fx was a horrible idea. Why? Why!! Also, because of this "forced" 5.1 audio, it is painfully obvious and straining to the ear to hear the audio switch back and forth between your center spkr and your surrounds. It was a nice try, but really doesn't snd too good.
IMAGE: The restoration is good, and I don't think can get any better. Crisp and clean. Though, I don't understand why Rhino decided to keep the commercial tag lines in. It seems those should have been taken out.
EXTRAS: Horrible. They are actually pretty boring, and having almost nothing to do with the old series. These are guys who are doing the new Armada series, and you don't get anything, zippo, from hardly anyone who did anything on the original broadcast. They are not well done either, and did I say they were rather boring?? No concept designs, sketches, storyboards, commentaries. . . nothing.
That's it. Besides all that, it is worth having to simply relive the nostalgia of it. But I think Rhino has made some pretty wierd and poor decisions on the quality. It's as if no one really tested the product. Or, these are people who didn't even grow up with the series, and are simply pumping out another DVD to put on the market. who knows.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2004
It's amazing how classic these cartoons are. Being a father now, my own sons enjoy watching them, the cartoons today are pale in comparison to the series that launched in the 80's and 90's.
Everything of the quality is excellent, I don't think you could ask any more as far as sound and picture. These were old, and I don't think anyone had DVD's in mind back then. The only thing that is seriously lacking is really good extras. It begs the question: "Does anyone from the original series even care, or are they even alive still?" Where are the directors/writers and original artists for these things? I would have loved to hear some audio commentary too by some of the former directors. Yet you find none of it on any of the collector editions. It's unfortunate, and I would really like to know why. Model sheets, concept designs would have been neat to look at, even the Transformers: The Movie DVD had little to nothing to offer. I guess no one saved anything???
However, this is the DVD to get, simply for the episodes. It's worth the money, and it has definately been worth the wait.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2003
My mom got me the "Transformers - Season 2: Part 1" DVD box for Christmas last year. The set contains the first 24 episodes of season 2 (each one has remastered video and audio). The first three discs contain seven episodes each, while the fourth disc has three episodes and special features. The strangest thing about the second season is that the second year characters appear on our home planet without any explanation. I blame the animators at Sunbow Productions for this indecency. Among the new batch of Transformers are:
New Autobot cars Smokescreen, Tracks, Hoist, Inferno, Red Alert, and Grapple
New Decepticon jets Dirge, Ramjet, and Thrust
Autobot scientist Perceptor
Autobot mini-vehicles Cosmos, Powerglide, Beachcomber, Warpath, and Seaspray
Autobot defense base Omega Supreme
And...
Decepticon triple changers Astrotrain and Blitzwing
I already know that the rest of the '85 Transformers had been seen first in season 1 before season 2. My mom's favorite Transformer from the "Generation One" world is Optimus Prime. As for me, I like all the '84 and '85 TFs because they are very awesome. I don't really care much about the Transformers that appear in seasons 3 and 4 of the cartoon. I'm glad I got it, because I wanted it very badly. That's my mom -- she's always willing to help her family out, no matter how difficult it may seem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2003
TF Season 1 was a great trip down memory lane, but right around Episode 6 or 7, you realize that every plot has been about the same...Megatron finds a "new, unlimited energy source", goes after it, Autobots find out, intercept, mayhem ensues, good guys win. They managed to clone this plot 16 times to make a full season once, they must have known they couldn't have done it twice. While Season 2 certainly has Megatron's energy lust as a key component of many episodes, there is much more character development (and many more characters) and more involved plots. In addition to this, the animation, art work, and voice editing is much better than Season 1 which was full of production errors. On a down note, the extra footage (of Botcon, Again!) is badly produced, irrelevant to the series and depressing (there are TransFans and then there are obsessive, overgrown, unwashed manchildren TRANS FANS!)Equally irrelevant are the voice actor interviews, which have very little to do with the original series and go on and on and on... I would have given this collection 5 stars if Rhino had simply omitted the extras and given us Season 2 and only Season 2. Overall, Season 2 Part 1 is full of great artwork, better plots, and more characters which makes for a great series, still enjoyable today!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2003
This is where the Transformers cartoon started getting good. The season started in 1985. I'm not too familiar with all of the aspects of the series, but I do know that the Season 1 commercial bumpers were used, rather than the Season 2 bumpers, which makes no sense, unless the bumpers were changed in mid-season. There are numerous white spots on the picture, but this is understandable considering the age of the original master tapes. The extras are nice, but there's not enough focus on the original series. There was one G1 voice actor interview and one G1 writer interview. I wanted more interviews. I wanted the scripts. I wanted Year 2 toy commercials. Now onto the actual story. 24 of the 49 episodes of Season 2 are in this set. They're presented in original air order, not production order. There is less continuity in this season than the previous. There are three 2-part episodes in this set. Year 2 characters start appearing with no explanation. They either came to Earth as reinforcements from Cybertron, or they were in stasis on the Ark and the Decepticon ship. Most of the characters aren't developed beyond stereotypes. Carly is introduced, bringing a much-needed female presence to the series. Carly is strong and intelligent - a great role-model for girls. Also, even though this story is about a war, none of the robots are ever destroyed, and none of the humans are ever killed. Still, this is an entertaining cartoon series and worth the purchase, even though it'll probably be cheesier than you remember from childhood. For those of you that missed it when it was on TV, this is your chance to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2003
I must say that Rhino did a MUCH better job with this set than the previous season, there were no "Heavy Metal War" incidents on this set as far as I could tell, and there were no annoying sound effects added in the stories and the intro theme, even though they are still present in the commercial bumpers, but I've almost gotten used to them by now. However, there were still some slightly annoying changes made with some of the episode titles. "The Master Builders" now becomes "The Master Builder", and "A Deceptacon Raider in King Arthur's Court" now has the word "Deceptacon" changed to the correct spelling of "Decepticon." I know these are minor things to complain about, and Rhino probably thought that they were making improvements to the set, but we old-time fans like things left the way they were in the original series, unaltered. Also, as some reviewers have already stated, the extras are beyond pointless, do fans of the original series really care about interviews with the people who do the voices for the terrible new "Pokemon-Clone" series? They could have used things related to the original series, like old toy commercials, interviews with people involved with the original series, etc. Other than these few flaws, the dvds are great this time around and definitely worth the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2003
This is where the Transformers cartoon started getting good. The season started in 1985. I'm not too familiar with all of the aspects of the series, but I do know that the Season 1 commercial bumpers were used, rather than the Season 2 bumpers, which makes no sense, unless the bumpers were changed in mid-season. There are numerous white spots on the picture, but this is understandable considering the age of the original master tapes. The extras are nice, but there's not enough focus on the original series. There was one G1 voice actor interview and one G1 writer interview. I wanted more interviews. I wanted the scripts. I wanted Year 2 toy commercials. Now onto the actual story. 24 of the 49 episodes of Season 2 are in this set. They're presented in original air order, not production order. There is less continuity in this season than the previous. There are three 2-part episodes in this set. Year 2 characters start appearing with no explanation. They either came to Earth as reinforcements from Cybertron, or they were in stasis on the Ark and the Decepticon ship. Most of the characters aren't developed beyond stereotypes. Carly is introduced, bringing a much-needed female presence to the series. Carly is strong and intelligent - a great role-model for girls. Also, even though this story is about a war, none of the robots are ever destroyed, and none of the humans are ever killed. Still, this is an entertaining cartoon series and worth the purchase, even though it'll probably be cheesier than you remember from childhood. For those of you that missed it when it was on TV, this is your chance to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2003
After the mistakes with the first season set (which was still a spectacular restoration, flaws and all), Rhino went to work on the Season 2 set, and produced a box set that's nearly flawless. The episodes are near flawless (the only mistake due to the 35mm source being the original take that I noticed was a double image of Prime in "Atlantis, Arise!"), and the video is perfect in all but a few scenes (most of it located in "Autobot Spike", and all due to the need to take footage from the crusty broadcast master). The extras, however, continue to be lacking, as the Botcon footage again focused on new product, and one of the interviews was from a voice actor on the "Robots in Disguise" series from a couple of years ago. However, the interviews with Earl Kress (writer of a number of great Season 1 and Season 2 episodes) and Michael McConnohie (voice actor for Cosmos and Tracks) are great, and show not only great knowledge of stuff they did some 18 years ago, but a genuine love for the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2003
Well it looks like all us Trans-fans came out in force for Transformers season 1 on DVD cause now we've got Season 2 as well! Well most of it anyway. Part two that will finish out the season will be released later this year. The presentation quality of the first season DVD is repeated here, so depending on if you liked that set this is either a good thing or a bad one. I find the transfers to be top notch. Expecially considering that this was shows longevity wasn't taken seriously enough to warrent proper care for the negatives over the past 19 years.
I was surprised at how much better the writing an animation is with this season compared to the first. Where the first was somewhat sketchy and a bit rough around the edges (I'm being kind) this season is much more polished. Evidence: Enter the Nightbird, the Dinobot Island duo and Blaster Blues episodes.
Bonus wise the DVD is lacking. Watching a 30 minute commercial for BotCon isn't my idea of fun. Neither is lstening to people who are working on current Transformers shows. This is a G1 set right? Why aren't there bonus' for this series?!? I'd like to see original commercials, character designs, interviews with people who actually worked on the shows. But all that really doesn't detract from the thrill of owning these classics on DVD.
One more thing, this set comes with the same kind of booklet and animatin cels that appeared in the first season set. I haven't figured out what to do with them, but they are cool. Trans-fans shouldn't miss out on this mostly terrific DVD set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2002
The second season of the Transformers had some of the most memorable episodes, for me anyway. Unfortunately most of my favorites from the 2nd season like Cosmic Rust, the history of Omega Supreme or any episodes with the Stunticons, Combaticons and Aerialbots are NOT in this volume. That's not to say there aren't good ones here, because there's just so many episodes on these 4 discs you are bound to find a few classics.
The extras are rather lacking. Where are the classic commercials? Or how about a slide show of the boxes of all the toys released during the 2nd season? Or explain and possibly show how they made some of the great robot-esque voices like Soundwave and Shrapnel? There is a Botcon 2002 section, which is ok, but the interviews drag on way too long and I found them to be extremely boring. There just aren't enough Generation One references as I hoped. I like the mistake reels, but I think they could've pointed so many more errors; it was way too short.
Also a note on the quality of the DVD. Most of the episodes have this "dithered" effect. I'm not really an expert on restoration or DVD making so maybe that was the best quality they could get it but there is noticable dust spots quite often and everything has this dotted look to it. Hard to explain until you see it, but still years better than any VHS.
The menu's are petty nice, with a 3-D rendered Optimus Prime and a very cool transforming sequence. It would've been even better if each disc had a different transformer to present the menus.
Overall this is defintely a must own. Finally time to throw away those junky VHS's from 1985. I can't wait for the 2nd season Part 2, and hopefully top it off with Season 3. It's great watching every episode and bringing back such memories from years ago. Commercial Free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse