Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great idea that somehow falls short (3.5 stars)
Whoever was inspired to get these two wonderful voices together, to sing the songs of Louis Armstrong, certainly had the right idea. Yet, disappointingly the execution comes out just a bit short of the great gem it could - or should - have been. I am not sure if it's the too-smooth sounding arrangements, or the impression (which, according to people who have seen these...
Published on June 14 2003 by Makiko Itoh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Couple
This is a case of an album being less than the sum of its parts. I'm a huge fan of kd Lang, and I've got a couple of Tony Bennett's CD's too. T-Bone Burnett's production and the arrangements are top notch, so the recording sounds lush and beautiful. But for me, the singers don't click. It sounds like kd is holding back something, maybe trying not to upstage Tony, and...
Published on Jan. 22 2003 by Bruce Baker


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great idea that somehow falls short (3.5 stars), June 14 2003
By 
Makiko Itoh "maki to all" (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
Whoever was inspired to get these two wonderful voices together, to sing the songs of Louis Armstrong, certainly had the right idea. Yet, disappointingly the execution comes out just a bit short of the great gem it could - or should - have been. I am not sure if it's the too-smooth sounding arrangements, or the impression (which, according to people who have seen these two on stage, is wrong) that somehow there is no real chemistry between the two. I had to force myself from flipping to another CD before making it all the way through this one. It simply lacks the sparkle and energy in say, Tony Bennett's Stepping Out CD, his MTV Unplugged, or even on k.d. lang's Unplugged outing.
Nevertheless there's no denying that both of them sound wonderful, so it's still a worthwhile addition to your Bennett/k.d.lang collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Odd Couple, Jan. 22 2003
By 
Bruce Baker (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
This is a case of an album being less than the sum of its parts. I'm a huge fan of kd Lang, and I've got a couple of Tony Bennett's CD's too. T-Bone Burnett's production and the arrangements are top notch, so the recording sounds lush and beautiful. But for me, the singers don't click. It sounds like kd is holding back something, maybe trying not to upstage Tony, and Tony's voice is obviously past its prime. Old Sachmo had a croaky voice too, but it was his trademark, not the effect of old age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pairing for any kind of meal or activity, Jan. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
Their voices twine and create music to soothe any heart. They do justice to the Louis Armstrong songbook and are a pleasure to listen to. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful World Tony Bennett and K.D. Lang, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
KD Lang is a favourite of mine makes Tony Bennett shine also. Love the arrangements certainly a worthwhile listen.
Love this type of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful World - Tony Bennett & kd lang, June 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
Some fine old tunes and some new 'oldies'. At times the blending of these two powerful and wonderful voices was magical. A good choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry in Song, May 20 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
These two have learnt to blend their styles together and they are in every collection that I put together. Harmony at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kd & Tony - the best of the best, June 3 2012
By 
Kate - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
kd Lang can sing me the phone book and Tony can croon his way though the yellow pages....and both come out top of the charts. This duet of just these two is a perfect combo for my liking. Tony's smooth free-flowing unique style mingled with kd's powerful yet controlled vocals gives me goosebumps. Their version of What a Wonderful World is now a new classic. No disappointments here if you love these two artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, excellent stocking stuffer, Nov. 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
I thought albums like this one would not be made anymore!
This is definately the best album Tony Bennett has ever made. k.d. lang is a more than equal partner for his singing talent, as her smooth and subtle renditions of popular classics all related to Louis Armstrong adds brilliance to hís still surprisingly dynamic voice.
All the songs are outstanding and T-Bone-Burnett's production underlines that. k.d. lang amazes me, she is even better than Tony. The warmth and the love both of these artists have for their material and for each other is obvious and can be heard in every track.
Not all of the tracks ae duetts - there are also solo songs on the CD. So there's no getting bored with this album. I am pleasantly siurprised. This is too good to be true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another exquisite release from Tony Bennett..., Nov. 6 2002
By 
Douglas J. Richardson (Western Tennessee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
Since his return to Columbia Records in the 1980s, Tony Bennett has released albums of the best quality...this is one of the best from his already awe-inspiring catalog.
To give equal credit, kd lang has one of the best voices in American music...the combination of their voices is magical.
There is almost no hint of the vocal decline in Bennett's voice that I had been noticing in his most recent albums, such as the Billie Holiday tribute. He sounds to me almost 15 years younger.
Louis Armstrong was a good friend of Tony Bennett's, and I'm confident that Armstrong would be most flattered by the tribute on this album.
This album proves that Tony Bennett, more than anybody else, is keeping the Great American songbook alive and relevant.
I only wish it were longer...it's just 43 minutes. If Sony and the other companies keep raising prices, the consumer deserves a longer product. But at least with a compact disc player you can hit repeat...which I guarantee you will do with this album.
I've listened to hundreds of discs this year, and I'd have to say that this is perhaps the best...a true recording highlight for 2002. This is what sound recording should be all about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bennet is class......., April 22 2004
By 
This review is from: A Wonderful World (Audio CD)
Thanks to another artist (Michael Bublé) I've learned a lot about the making of good music. Mr. Bennett makes beautiful music.
I really enjoyed this cd. I now know why he is so respected.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafc09f00)

This product

A Wonderful World
A Wonderful World by k.d. lang (Audio CD - 2002)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews