Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd - Unplugged
Firstly I will say that I am a Pink Floyd fan of all eras and had the pleasure to see Roger Waters - In The Flesh concert when he was in Australia.
I was disaponted when I bought the Roger Waters - In The Flesh DVD because I felt it failed to capture the atmosphere as when I saw him live in concert.
So I was a bit hesitant in buying this DVD when I first heard...
Published on Jan. 16 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a discouraging word
Well, I was disappointed. On paper, it sounded like a great idea; acoustic/alternate versions of Floyd tunes in an intimate solo/small-band setting. A chance to hear the tunes and DG's legendary guitar work stripped of ornament, so we could "examine the bones" as it were. Unfortunately, imo, neither holds up well under such a treatment. Many of the tunes,...
Published on Nov. 14 2003 by overend


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pink Floyd - Unplugged, Jan. 16 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
Firstly I will say that I am a Pink Floyd fan of all eras and had the pleasure to see Roger Waters - In The Flesh concert when he was in Australia.
I was disaponted when I bought the Roger Waters - In The Flesh DVD because I felt it failed to capture the atmosphere as when I saw him live in concert.
So I was a bit hesitant in buying this DVD when I first heard about it. After reading several reviews I was intrigued - David playing Pink Floyd songs unplugged as well as Syd Barrett songs and one song from Rick Wrights album Broken China.
A few warnings to people considering buying this DVD:
. Don't expect lasers, floating pigs, fireworks. This is David playing in small scale venue in some cases entirely on his own.
. This is David Gilmour in concert not Pink Floyd so the selection of Pink Floyd songs he has selected to play mostly are from the album The Division Bell and some PF classics such as Wish You Were Here, Comfortably Numb, Shine On You Crazy Diamond 1-4 and 5-8.
I love this DVD and have watched it over and over and over. David proves what a phenominal guitar player he is and that his voice and guitar were the musical strength of Pink Floyd. To hear
songs like Fat Old Sun, Dominoes and Terrapin played live are
a treat to the ears.
Davids interpretation of playing PF songs and the songs of other artists accoustically is very creative and works very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good piece of art!, June 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
A good way to get the some of the best of Guilmor's music. Excellent concert. Do not hesitate on puchasing it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Pink Floyd fan, Jan. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
This was a gift for my husband since he is a Pink Floyd fan and likes David Gilmour. He said it was a good DVD. Not as good as some he has of other artists but he was not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, July 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
Gilmour at his best. Not only a master guitar player and singer, but a brillinat producer and arranger. The musicians he selected for this performance were all at the very top of their class which made for one of the best musical performances ever put together. A must see for all Pink Floyd and music fans alike!! Shine on you Crazy Diamond!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent concert DVD from David Gilmour, July 2 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
David Gilmour of Pink Floyd released his David Gilmour in Concert DVD in November of 2002. The video was taken from the performance he gave at The Royal Festival Hall in London in June of 2001. This show was part of Robert Wyatt's Meltdown concert series. For this performance, Dave decided to go in an semi-unplugged fashion. The song list were obvious Floyd favorites(Shine on You Crazy Diamond(parts 1-5 at the beginning with just him and his guitar plus Dick Parry's sax and parts 6 and 7 at the end of the regular set), High Hopes, Wish You Were Here and Comfortably Numb(with Robert Wyatt on duet vocal)), some forgotten Floyd pieces(Fat Old Sun(a song not performed since 1971), Coming Back to Life, A Great Day for Freedom), a piece from fallen Floyd Syd Barrett's solo career(Terrapin), a part of a French opera(Je Crois Entendre Encore (which was a chore to sing because Gilmour had not sung in French before)), a new song(Smile(in which Dave told bootleggers to start their machines now)), a Richard Thompson song(Dimming of the Day) and a song from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang(Hushabye Mountain). For those who said Roger is Pink, think again after watching this DVD as Dave was the musical brains behind the band. Also, the DVD has more footage from Dave's Royal Festival Hall shows from January of 2002 where he does another Syd song Dominoes. Plus, fellow Floyd keyboardist Rick Wright joined Dave on a song from Rick's Broken China album called Breakthrough with a great solo from Dave and Comfortably Numb with Rick on Fender Rhodes and Bob Geldof singing Roger's parts. When I first got this DVD on the day of its release, I knew I was in for a treat. The extras on this DVD are great like The Spare Digits section which shows guitar fiends how to play some of Dave's solos. Plus, the hilarious home movies are a hoot to watch. Also, three bonus tracks of his collaboration with Mica Paris from 1992, his cover of Elvis' Don't from 2001 and his vocal delivery of the late Michael Kamen and Shakespeare piece Sonnet 18. This DVD is highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gilmour still rules, July 19 2003
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
Just to see Mr. Pinkfloyd performing live is priceless!
Loved the live version of "Wish you were here" with chello, very alive version of "Coming back to live", very Gilmouric version of "Dominos" and a very new song from Gilmour -"smile".
"Dimming of the Day" delivery is certainly memorable!
The DVD has some rare extras as added bonus such as, Gilmour singing sonnet of Wlliam Shakespeare, multiple live version of "Wall" tracks with guest stars, home movie, lyrics etc.
This one is a gem in live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some people....., March 29 2009
By 
G. Dalziel "bullydl" (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
And they say their Floyd fans....hurts to read...Guess its a free world.
This may be the finest DVD ever..PURE PASSION..the joy of music..and making it..!!!!
Richard and choir in breaktrough...Beautiful...No tears here ya got no heart...Goodbye Richard....peace..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A MASTER AT WORK, July 12 2004
By 
Dianne McCallum (SANS SOUCI, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
No whistles or bells here - just pure talent. To watch and more importantly hear David Gilmour is absolute pleasure. I wish I was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In a word, "Beautiful.", June 13 2004
By 
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
The appreciation of music is a highly subjective matter; what I might love, you can feel free to hate. But, in the age of "American Idol" (and the "mega-stars" who are the inspiration for those who seek the title), it's nice to see that real art has a staying power. This music is all about touch, from the craftsmanship of its performance to its grip on the heart strings of the listener. Ratings are meaningless, especially (I checked) when so many releases accrue 4.5 stars as an average. All I can say is that if you were ever a fan of David Gilmour's playing, there is absolutely nothing here to turn you away (gorgeous tone, as always) and he is accompanied by a BRILLIANT ensemble. This is simply one of the finest performances I have ever heard/seen (let's not forget the video production which is first rate). This is not Pink Floyd; this is a mature musician baring his soul (no Wall here) and, apparently, loving every second of it (as did I). I highly recommend this DVD and I am deeply grateful for its release. I shall never tire of it. Thanks Dave!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IGNORE THE ONE STAR REVIEWS THIS IS A CLASSIC, May 16 2004
By 
terrific guy (somewhere on this planet) - See all my reviews
This review is from: David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) (DVD)
THIS IS A GREATDVD FROM DAVID GILMOUR AND IS VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.DISREGARD THE ONE STAR REVIEWS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Gilmour - In Concert (2002)
David Gilmour - In Concert (2002) by David Mallet (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 22.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews