Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chinaman said: "OK USA!"
(Before i review, just want you fellow-Bloodsportians to know that i own Ray Jackson's bloody/sweaty bandana and am selling it on E-bay. or you can convineantly buy it at [...]) ...How do i review such a classic? umm, well van damme DOES do a split in it for one!!! he also challenged Paco to a "lets exchange armpit kicks" competition, and gets so into it that...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Michael Haircut

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Now, I break you! Like I break your friend!"
During the martial-arts craze of the mid-90's, there were few bigger stars than Jean-Claude Van Damme. Though it wasn't a box-office hit during its enitial theatrical run, "Bloodsport", Van Damme's first starring vehicle certainly found its audience on cable and video. "Bloodsport" follows American fighter Frank Dux (Van Damme) as he enters a brutal...
Published on July 6 2004 by Crazy Jim


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars "Now, I break you! Like I break your friend!", July 6 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (VHS Tape)
During the martial-arts craze of the mid-90's, there were few bigger stars than Jean-Claude Van Damme. Though it wasn't a box-office hit during its enitial theatrical run, "Bloodsport", Van Damme's first starring vehicle certainly found its audience on cable and video. "Bloodsport" follows American fighter Frank Dux (Van Damme) as he enters a brutal full-contact tournament known as the Kumatai. Looking back at the movie that I once watched religously with all my friends almost a decade ago, it's probably to safe to say that if you didn't pick up on this one during its time then you probably won't understand it now. It had all the great things you'd expect from a Van Damme movie: Minimal story, cheesy overacting, and tons of random splits. The musical score from Stan Bush and a rather silly perfomance from Donald Gibb are the icing on the cake. Anytime I'm looking to take a trip down memory lane, I toss in this and "Kickboxer" and have my own little JCVD double-feature. Now, if only they could put together a special edition DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER VAN DAMME CLASSIC, Dec 25 2003
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
THIS MOVIE, WHICH IS BASED ON SOME REAL LIFE EVENTS, IS ABOUT FRANK DUX [VAN DAMME], AN AMERICAN MARTIAL ARTIST WHO DECIDES TO ENTER A BRUTAL JAPANESE TOURNAMENT KNOWN AS THE KUMITE. THIS MAY'VE BE ONE OF THE BEST MARTIAL ARTS FILMS FROM THE 80S. CRITICS MAY HAVE CALLED THIS A POOR MAN'S ''ENTER THE DRAGON'', BUT IT IS MORE THAN THAT. IT'S ACTUALLY A GOOD, FUN MARTIAL ARTS MOVIE THAT FEATURES SOME VERY WELL CHOREOGRAPHED FIGHT SEQUENCES. THIS WAS VAN DAMME'S BREAKTHROUGH MOVIE. BOLO YEUNG [WHOM YOU MAY REMEMBER AS ONE OF JOHN SAXON'S OPPONENTS IN ''ENTER THE DRAGON] PLAYS A VERY MEMORABLE VILLAIN IN THIS MOVIE. THE FINAL FIGHT IN WHICH VAN DAMME FACES BOLO YEUNG IS A MUST SEE FIGHT. I WISH A LOT OF TODAY'S MARTIAL ARTS FILMS COULD BE LIKE THIS. SCREW THE BORING-A** ULTIMATE FIGHTING CHAMPIONSHIP [WELL, ACTUALLY UFC WAS GOOD IN THEIR EARLIER DAYS, BUT THEY SUCK NOW!], GET THIS MOVIE NOW! BELIEVE IT OR NOT, BOLO YEUNG ALSO PLAYED THE VILLAIN FOR ''BLOODFIGHT'', WHICH IS PRETTY MUCH A RIP-OFF OF THIS MOVIE. FOLLOWED BY THREE DIRECT-TO-VIDEO SEQUELS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chinaman said: "OK USA!", Dec 22 2003
By 
Michael Haircut (Bloodsport, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
(Before i review, just want you fellow-Bloodsportians to know that i own Ray Jackson's bloody/sweaty bandana and am selling it on E-bay. or you can convineantly buy it at [...]) ...How do i review such a classic? umm, well van damme DOES do a split in it for one!!! he also challenged Paco to a "lets exchange armpit kicks" competition, and gets so into it that randy savage saw it and it inspired him to record an album slamming Huk Hogan! there's a special feature on the dvd with interviews from the cast. the monkey man said "the only reason i lost is because the kumite had no ropes, therefore i couldnt execute my patented irish-whip maneauver that i have perfected. also, my scene was cut where i hit the fat asian dude in the balls, and his grundle grew a beard and shaved itself because it was in so much harcore barry windham pain! it disappointed me a little, but seeing the small pee pee of Chong Li's in the shower always cheered me up. me and the guys began calling him "Chong Wee". one time, he got so mad that he smiled and gritted his teeth together and shook his head "no" for 11 hours straight!!!(like when he steps on Ray Jackson's head)" wise words from the monkey man if you ask me. oh, you know how "Dark side of the moon" and "the wizard of oz" if played simultaniously go together? well if you play Macho Man Randy Savages album with Bloodsport, then you automatically become cooler than Uncle Jesse and you can actually see Chong Li's nipples blink! and for anyone curious, a few did you know's? in bloodsport...while playing the arcade game "kung fu", Frank Dux's hand-double was actually Patrick Duffy from step-by-step, and Ray Jackson's hand-double was the foreskin of Carl Winslow. also, forest whitaker's lazy-eye was digitally rendered to appear normal like the other eye. Mr. Whitaker took the role under one circumstance: he get to play and defeat Golga in ski-ball at putt-putt. Golga cooperated until he flipped out and totally did a "golga elbow drop" off the virtua fighter-2 arcade game. then, out of nowehere, hardcore barry windham ate re-fried beans and slipped a Rufi to anyone who wasnt hardcore barry windham or Yanni. it was quite a mess nonetheless to be blessed to see yanni undress and find a mustache on his guch as well as his la bouche. listen to the band MACK NORTH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Guilty Pleasure Movie, Nov. 10 2003
By 
K. Palmer (Illinois) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm not a fan of martial arts movies. I'm not a fan of Jean-Claude Van Damme. But if I see this movie playing on one of my cable channels, put a fork in me, because I'm cooked for the next 90 minutes.
After 30 minutes of attempted plot development, "Bloodsport" really gets going with some of the finest one-on-one fights I have seen as the Kumite competition begins. There are different fighters with all different types of styles, from brute strength, unorthodox defense methods such as hoping around like a kangaroo, and Van Damme's martial arts style. The Kumite makes up most of the remaining 60 minutes of the movie and is riveting.
Van Damme can't act to save his life (and I get a kick - no pun intended - out of his American accent), but he puts on a good show here. That's because he doesn't have much dialogue. Bolo Yeung, who plays arch-nemesis Chong Li is ripped and very convincing as the villian. Donald Gibb (Ogre from the "Revenge of the Nerds" movies) plays Van Damme's fellow Kumite participant who gets his clock cleaned by Chong Li, causing Van Damme an extra incentive for revenge.
It's cheesy, it's silly, it's poorly acted, but it is a lot of fun. A must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic in Every Way, July 23 2003
By 
Sinthetik Devil (Garden Grove, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
Bloodsport is a true martial arts classic. Any serious martial arts movie fan has seen this film at least once. I was 7 years old when it came out in theaters, and when I watch it today I get that nostalgic feeling that I love. The movie has a dash of everything: action, comedy, romance, and memorable one-liners...typical of 80's films.
The movie just oozes 80's. First of all, the music is AWESOME. Songs like "Fight to Survive" and "On My Own Alone" go down as true 80's classics. I love the scene where Van Damme is playing Karate Champ...a game that has been extinct longer than the dinosaurs.
The scenery and backdrop of the movie is great. You really get that "Hong Kong" feeling when watching this movie, and I love the scenes filmed within the dark, narrow corridors. The fight scenes are decently choreographed, and some of the fighters are pretty cool, especially Paco, the dirty kickboxer. Of course he is nothing compared to Chong Li, the main villain. He beats heads AND flexes his pecs.
Bottom line...if you watch this movie with a light heart you will enjoy it. Just don't expect anything too serious and it is entertaining as hell. I had been waiting for this DVD release for a long time, and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For better or worse, the movie that made Van Damme a star, July 5 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
While it may not have been a victory for the acting world, "Bloodsport" was more responsible than any other movie for launching the career of a certain high-kicking, strongly accented Belgian action hero. "Bloodsport" tells the (kind of) true story of Frank Dux, a Franco-American army officer who goes AWOL in order to honor his Japanese master by fighting in a secret full-contact tournament called the Kumite. Along the way, he gets busy with a leggy American reporter and befriends a hulking fellow competitor (played by Donald Gibb, best known as Ogre from the "Revenge Of The Nerds"). Of course, Van Damme movies are not known for their moral ambiguity, and this one is no exception. The bad guy role in this particular film goes to Chong Li (played by the very imposing Bolo Yeung), who is, in the grand tradition of Van Damme movie villains, PURE AND UNMITIGATED EVIL. He intentionally cripples (or kills) his opponents, taunts Van Damme after beating up his friend, and generally looks mean and scary. You just know Van Damme and Chong Li are going to meet in the finals (isn't it just a major coincidence that they're on opposite sides of the bracket?), so suspense goes pretty much out the window right away. However, things like plot and character devlopment aren't exactly requirements for a Van Damme movie anyway. What "Bloodsport" does offer is frequent fight montages where hard-bodied martial artists do the kinds of things that look really freaking cool even if you can't completely follow what they're doing. And of course, you get to watch Van Damme dispatch a variety of foes with impossibly fast and limber movements on his way to the championship. And what else are Van Damme movies for? Sure, the plot and acting are negligible, but "Bloodsport" stands as a milestone of the mindless action genre. So shut your brain down for ninety minutes and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most quotable movie I know, Dec 15 2002
By 
Bradley G. Brown (Nashville TN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
This receives 5 stars, not quite based on cinematic quality (lord knows!), but on stupid fun quotient and quotability. From gems like "What's it matter if Bruce Springsteen is his shidoshi?" to "Very good, but brick not hit back", this charmer of a screenplay delivers cheesy retors and threats like the UPS guy drinking a speed-and-skittles milkshake. The kung fu action is meritable, and the great Oscar clip of Van Damme (the Bruce Lee of 1987 kung fu biopics about Kumite fighting) holding his eyes from a dusting of poisonous enriched flour by the hands of D-cup Bolo Yeung is classic, right up there with Rocky's "ADRIAN!" and that movie with that guy in it about drugs or something. What was that movie? It's a classic, I think. Do you know? Wasn't it directed by David Keith? He's dreamy.
So, buy this classic. Today. Drop everything you're doing, even if it's breastfeeding your new born calf. Buy "Bloodsport," then sit back and enjoy with a Colt 45 and some yogurt-dipped almonds. You'll be glad you did. And remember, "OKAY, USA!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme's Best Movie, Oct. 6 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you are like me, you aren't much of a karate-movie fan. But out of all the martial arts films, I'd rank this one at the top of the genre. In my opinion, this film is much better than any of the Bruce Lee movies (bought myself an "Enter the Dragon" DVD because of all the hype, and threw it away the next few weeks). The acting is kind of dull and unprofessional at times, but this was Van Damme's first movie...he put heart into it and it shows. I wouln't recommend any other Van Damme movies, as he does karate in all of them for no good reason at all. For example, why in the world would you karate inside some Sci-Fi movie...that Cyborg film was dumb and I don't want to remember its title. You have waited over a decade for this movie to finally come out on DVD format, so go get it now. And for the soundtrack, what can I say? This film has one of the very best composed music, yet Warner Bros refuses to manufacture CD soundtracks for it. You will rarely find them offered for sale on Ebay, selling for big bucks even for USED copies. If Warner can make DVDs for this film, it can also crank out CDs for it. The company needs to seriously take a look at the Completed Items history on Ebay and check how many customers are waiting to purchase the soundtrack for this film, even after all these years. Forget all the hype people, this is The Martial Arts Movie, and we fans need that soundtrack CD please please please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme's first and best, Oct. 6 2002
By 
zo (Moon Township, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
Bloodsport is a movie that every Martial Arts fan has seen or at least heard of. This movie was Van Damme's first starring role in which he portrays real life martial artist Frank Dux, an American who was the undefeated heavyweight champion of the kumite from 1975 to 1980 (don't quote me though). The reason this movie was so great was that it showcased Jean-Claude's martial arts and gymnastic prowess rather than his sub-par acting ability. The story was simple but effective: a shady and brutal Martial Arts tournament is being held in Hong Kong and Dux (Van Damme) is going to participate to honor his shidoshi and surrogate father Senzou Tanaka. Leah Ayres and Donald Gibb did an average job of playing Van Damme's cohorts. But who really shines in this film is Bolo Yueng who did a great job in playing Chong Li, the film's key villain and kumite champ. Paul Hertzog did a great job with the soundtrack, which fuels the movie's many fight scenes. This is probably Van Damme's best film. ... Overall, Bloodsport delivers plenty of action with a decent story and is an enjoyable film. I would reccommend it to any Martial Arts fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Vandaminator's best.., Oct. 5 2002
By 
Reginald M. Lumagui "green_lantern_2814" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
I've always thought of Bloodsport as Van Damme's best movie with Kickboxer being his second. It even surpasses the similar but much bigger budget movie of his called The Quest. Surprisingly, his best movie was also one of the last that's been released on dvd. Kinda figuring out why that's so. Anyways, those who might worry about the quality of the movie after so long a wait need not be worried. The movie picture is pretty crisp and clear. Whatever video source they used, they did a pretty good job on the transfer. There is some weathering of the film in the darker scenes, but I'm going to assume that's because the original film was shot on a lower budget than his later flicks. Cause, overall, the rest of the movie looks fine. This is pretty much a no nonsense dvd in that there's are really no extras. It's just the movie, chapter selection, and cast bios. That's why it can be had in a pretty much inexpensive price. Still, it would have been nice to have had a biography on all the different martial artists and the arts they portrayed on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodsport (Widescreen)
Bloodsport (Widescreen) by Newt Arnold (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews