Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift
I bought this DVD as a gift for a martial-arts-fanatic friend. He seemed to be very pleased to receive the movie as apparently Bloodsport is one of his fave martial arts films.
Published on Jan. 3 2012 by csm

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Now, I break you! Like I break your friend!"
During the martial-arts craze of the mid-90's, there were few bigger stars than Jean-Claude Van Damme. Though it wasn't a box-office hit during its enitial theatrical run, "Bloodsport", Van Damme's first starring vehicle certainly found its audience on cable and video. "Bloodsport" follows American fighter Frank Dux (Van Damme) as he enters a brutal...
Published on July 6 2004 by Crazy Jim


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, Jan. 3 2012
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a gift for a martial-arts-fanatic friend. He seemed to be very pleased to receive the movie as apparently Bloodsport is one of his fave martial arts films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chong Li is Amazing!, Sept. 8 2011
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
Van Damme may be the "star" of the film, but it is Bolo Yeung (Chong Li) that really makes the movie great! He is by far the best martial artist I have ever seen on film! Paulo Tocha is amazing as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good service, March 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
good service 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Van Damme's first starring role, Aug. 25 2007
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
Bloodsport marks Jean-Claude van Damme first starring role.it is
possibly his best movie to date,as far as martial arts action goes.the
fights in this scene are spectacular and very violent.Van Damme stars
as Frank Dux,who (for reasons i won't give away here)decides to enter a
secret and brutal full contact fighting competition held in Hong Kong
only once every 5 years.the best of the best from all around the world
come to the event in hopes of becoming champion.Dux hopes to become the
1st westerner to win it all.but before the tournament even begins,Dux
has a complication to contend with.i won't say what that complication
is,but let's just say it provides some comic relief in the film.if you
haven't seen the movie i won't give any more of the plot away.this
movie is very entertaining,fast paced and even has some comedy(see
above)the violence as i mentioned is very graphic and there one
particularly gruesome scene,so be warned.this movie is not about the
acting,although it is actually not bad.it is all about the action.for a
martial arts movie,this is easily in the top 10.a very strong 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Now, I break you! Like I break your friend!", July 6 2004
By 
Crazy Jim (Massachusetts) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (VHS Tape)
During the martial-arts craze of the mid-90's, there were few bigger stars than Jean-Claude Van Damme. Though it wasn't a box-office hit during its enitial theatrical run, "Bloodsport", Van Damme's first starring vehicle certainly found its audience on cable and video. "Bloodsport" follows American fighter Frank Dux (Van Damme) as he enters a brutal full-contact tournament known as the Kumatai. Looking back at the movie that I once watched religously with all my friends almost a decade ago, it's probably to safe to say that if you didn't pick up on this one during its time then you probably won't understand it now. It had all the great things you'd expect from a Van Damme movie: Minimal story, cheesy overacting, and tons of random splits. The musical score from Stan Bush and a rather silly perfomance from Donald Gibb are the icing on the cake. Anytime I'm looking to take a trip down memory lane, I toss in this and "Kickboxer" and have my own little JCVD double-feature. Now, if only they could put together a special edition DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Frank Dux story is a hoax, May 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
That was proven amongst the martial arts community years ago. Being a martial artist myself, I always get a laugh when I read the description of this movie on websites. However, I am giving this movie 4 stars only because of Van Damme and the great fight scenes in this movie. This is Van Damme at a young age and doing all the kicks and moves that he seems to have lost with age. Bloodsport is basically an imitation of "Enter The Dragon" (the greatest martial arts movie ever made) where a lone guy enters a tournament. The theme has been repeated countless times but Bloodsport is one of the better clones. Also be sure to check out Kickboxer, which is even better than Bloodsport!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jean-claude van damme this movie was good, April 29 2004
By 
J. Caceres "ihatecars" (Seattle ,Wa USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
pretty good movie old though, but its alright the acting was kind of cheap ,but what do you expect from an old movie right? its a van damme classic .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A martial arts masterpiece, March 18 2004
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is an excellent martial arts movie, even by the standards of a long-time Asian kung fu cinema fan like myself. The premise is simple and hardly new: an international no-holds-barred martial arts invitational featuring the various fighting styles of the world. What makes this movie special is the excellent choreography, such as Van Damme's trademark flying roundhouse face-slap.
A movie like this makes you want to jump up, pump your fist in the air and shout. It is exhilarating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic!, Jan. 15 2004
By 
Rei Hino (Ann Arbor, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
In an attempt to represent the female population, I'm here to say that this movie is great for both genders. It has some of the best fight scenes out of any van damme movie, with my favorite being (of course) the end. Not to mention, there's a great shot of van damme working out above the hong kong skyline...Girls, don't let boys have all the fun! WATCH THIS MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER VAN DAMME CLASSIC, Dec 26 2003
This review is from: Bloodsport (Widescreen) (DVD)
THIS MOVIE, WHICH IS BASED ON SOME REAL LIFE EVENTS, IS ABOUT FRANK DUX [VAN DAMME], AN AMERICAN MARTIAL ARTIST WHO DECIDES TO ENTER A BRUTAL JAPANESE TOURNAMENT KNOWN AS THE KUMITE. THIS MAY'VE BE ONE OF THE BEST MARTIAL ARTS FILMS FROM THE 80S. CRITICS MAY HAVE CALLED THIS A POOR MAN'S ''ENTER THE DRAGON'', BUT IT IS MORE THAN THAT. IT'S ACTUALLY A GOOD, FUN MARTIAL ARTS MOVIE THAT FEATURES SOME VERY WELL CHOREOGRAPHED FIGHT SEQUENCES. THIS WAS VAN DAMME'S BREAKTHROUGH MOVIE. BOLO YEUNG [WHOM YOU MAY REMEMBER AS ONE OF JOHN SAXON'S OPPONENTS IN ''ENTER THE DRAGON] PLAYS A VERY MEMORABLE VILLAIN IN THIS MOVIE. THE FINAL FIGHT IN WHICH VAN DAMME FACES BOLO YEUNG IS A MUST SEE FIGHT. I WISH A LOT OF TODAY'S MARTIAL ARTS FILMS COULD BE LIKE THIS. SCREW THE BORING-A** ULTIMATE FIGHTING CHAMPIONSHIP [WELL, ACTUALLY UFC WAS GOOD IN THEIR EARLIER DAYS, BUT THEY SUCK NOW!], GET THIS MOVIE NOW! BELIEVE IT OR NOT, BOLO YEUNG ALSO PLAYED THE VILLAIN FOR ''BLOODFIGHT'', WHICH IS PRETTY MUCH A RIP-OFF OF THIS MOVIE. FOLLOWED BY THREE DIRECT-TO-VIDEO SEQUELS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbcfe9590)

This product

Bloodsport (Widescreen)
Bloodsport (Widescreen) by Newt Arnold (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 9.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews