Customer Reviews


194 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie were some of the other reviewers watching?
OK, the movie has a lot of sex in it, and the characters talk about sex a lot. If that bothers you, I suggest you don't watch it.

But to say the movie is the Mexican equivalent of "American Pie" or "Porky's" is absurd. I'm pretty sure the director's goals were to produce something a bit more artistic than that. And to call the movie "pedophilistic", as one...
Published on June 2 2006 by Barbara J. Chaplin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wait for a better release
Stay away from this blu-ray version, it is 1080i NOT 1080p and the transfer quality sucks. It's a great, great movie but wait until Criterion releases it...there is a rumour that they will.
Published 17 months ago by Filmfan


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What movie were some of the other reviewers watching?, June 2 2006
By 
Barbara J. Chaplin (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, the movie has a lot of sex in it, and the characters talk about sex a lot. If that bothers you, I suggest you don't watch it.

But to say the movie is the Mexican equivalent of "American Pie" or "Porky's" is absurd. I'm pretty sure the director's goals were to produce something a bit more artistic than that. And to call the movie "pedophilistic", as one reviewer did! - the boys in question have graduated from high school and appear in fact to be men. And the woman they're travelling with is 29, hardly the pathetic older woman of one review. Plus it is Mexico, not Spain.

The movie is set in Mexico and is a meditation about and/or indictment of the huge class disparities of the country, and an examination of how Mexico is modernizing. It's about sex, too, of course - I got out of it that behind the macho posturing of many men, there is a yearning for closeness and connection with other men, which they cannot acknowledge. Except sometimes, when they're drunk, for example, as in the scene in this movie that so bothered some reviewers.

The movie is well-made, the dialogue is interesting - the characters actually talk, not just give enough info to move the plot along, as in so many action films - the acting is excellent, and you get to see a lot of Mexico, both the city and the country, the rich, the poor, and the middle-class.

On the technical side, the DVD transfer seems fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wait for a better release, Feb. 1 2013
By 
Filmfan - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Stay away from this blu-ray version, it is 1080i NOT 1080p and the transfer quality sucks. It's a great, great movie but wait until Criterion releases it...there is a rumour that they will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie with feeling, March 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Y Tu Mama Tambien (Unrated Version) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This is a good coming of age movie and I have watched it several times. The story says as much as the teens lives as it does the society of Mexico
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars IT COULDN'T BE ANY WORSE!, May 30 2003
By A Customer
I was so dissapointed with this movie. I would like to know why they decided to promote this piece of junk. So much hype. There is no drama, no point of interest in the movie. A long road to the beach? I could grag a camera and go to the beach and make it better than this.

Don't be deceived with the title, it does not have anything to do with the movie. It is so unfortunate, I mean the best part of the movie is just watching the pigs running next to the beach. I could have seen that somewhere else!. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars hahahahahaha, May 1 2003
By A Customer
Wow. You think people would learn after the horrendous Great Expectations (Gweneth Paltrow emotes like an anoerexic Valley Girl), Hollywood would have learned to not let this director near another project. But no such luck---and once again, he decided that a good story wasn;t worth it, so he manipulates it to a degree unheard of before this.
Working with only the brainlessness Hollywood joke can, he decides to insult us by claiming uniqueness and making the story set in Mexico. Then he adds two boys for one girl so we can watch a feminist version of a good time--sleeping around.
There is the only thing that garners praise in hollywood---sex. As long as you call it beautiful, they'll love you. Not surprising from a group of people so empty they decided to make American Pie and Can't hardly Wait.
Hilariously bad. Can't wait for the sequel--And Your Little Dog, Too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars deeply disappointed....juvenile trash, April 17 2003
By A Customer
I was sucked into all the hype about this movie which is perhaps one reason I was so disappointed. I enjoy foreign art movies. This wasn't one of them. Maybe I'm just too uptight for such juvenile stuff....maybe I missed too much in translation....maybe guys find this type of movie more entertaining...whatever. I ended up donating my copy to the local public library because I knew I'd never watch it again. Big on farting jokes....jerk-off jokes....boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So what?, April 6 2003
By 
This movie was a pointless waste of film stock. I had heard many great things about this movie, and expected to rent it and be faced with an intelligent, provocative portrait of humanity. I got soft-core Mexican porn with no story.
Every character in this movie irritated me. Both the boys were immature, hypocritical and annoying. I hated them both. Also, that is not how seventeen year old boys act, no matter what their nationality. Luisa was a sad degenerate who was just as pathetic as anybody else in the film. Well, that's just my opinion.
I didn't mind the sex, but after a while it got incredibly predictable, and very annoying. For a film, the sex was very natural, but it never added anything to develop characters or bring the story along.
What bothered me most about this mess of a movie was the lack of plot. Nothing really happened. The film skips from sex scene to sex scene on a web of juvenile jokes and mindless exposition. These are occasionally mixed with totally pointless gross-out scenes, like when both boys "help themselves" on diving boards over a pool. Character developement? Not here. When a revelation finally comes, you already guessed it twenty minutes ago and you don't care.
By far the best part of this movie was the narrator. The crystal-clear lucidity he brought to moments in the film was beautiful, especially in the end. His omniscient commentary almost makes the movie worth watching, but there just isn't enough of it. Before the narrator speaks, the sound cuts out abruptly, jarring the viewer out of the flow of the film. The first time it happened I thought there was something wrong with my DVD player.
Overall, a very bad and over-hyped movie. Don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mother's worst nightmare... and mine too!, March 30 2003
By A Customer
There is a lot of hype and rave reviews about this film, but alas, if you look at all the mixed reviews here at Amazon, you will quickly see that this is not the film it's cracked up to be. If it were an amazing film, you would not see nearly as many 1 star ratings as I did skimming through these reviews. Simply put, an excellent movie does not get this many bad reviews.
Here is why it's so bad: First and foremost, I was a lad not very long ago and I can safely say that neither myself, nor anyone I could have ever imagined or seen around my age would ever have acted like these two boys do. Unless this is normal parts of growing up in Mexico, they way they act is simply not believable for someone who was once a 17-year-old US born teenage boy (and one who was very much into women, sex, and getting into trouble--but in nowhere near the fashion these two do).
Secondly, not a lot happens in this film, and it is very hard to wade through it all, to reach a rather unfulfilling end. Not very exciting through the entire film, and while the actors do give believable performances, unfortunately as I just stated, the characters are just not believable.
Third, it's about time that directors start learning that sexy movies do not have to show sex and nudity to be erotic to the audience. This film goes over the top with sex scenes that really don't have a place in any film. They do nothing to enhance the plot, and leaving them out, would certainly not have left the viewer missing anything. The only thing this viewer missed was a good film, because it just isn't there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Silly Mexican soft porn, March 12 2003
By A Customer
After reading a few reviews, I went off to see Y Tu Mama Tambien with high expectations. What a let-down! The film delivered very little save the dying sexual desires of a Spanish woman with cancer accompanied by two brain-dead Mexican boys bent on attempting to become over-sexed any way they can. Great movie if you enjoy degenerate Mexican soft porn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yet another reason never to go to a public pool., March 5 2003
Oh my god, what a disaster. Yes this pic has a lot of complex themes and issues and such, but they're thrown in the mix like unsorted dirty clothes into a hamper. The whole film is narrated POORLY by some guy who's voice was slowly but surely putting me to sleep. We could win any war if we just broadcast this film to the enemy prior to invasion. Besides that, the two guys were just annoying, and clearly not very loyal to each other. What the hell kind of friendship do they really have? They both sleep with a woman, perform TERRIBLY, and then get mad at each other for it? Thats what the fools wanted! Ok, yes, they did bad things with each other's girlrfiend's... but that could be worked out easily enough. These guys must have hated each other from the beginning of theirfriendship. And the woman they both left unfulfilled? Oy. The ending of this film is worse than the ending of AI. I was waiting for someone to just burst in and kill all of them. It would have been far more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Y Tu Mama Tambien (Unrated Version) (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 13.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews