Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Quit the bashing...
I am so tired of seeing the horrible reviews this movie recieved. I am 20, so no, I didn't grow up in the 60's and 70's watching this show. However, I DID grow up in the 80's and 90's watching this show, so maybe I just have a different take. Okay, so Freddy Prinze, Jr. was not the most perfect choice for Fred. A lot of reviews resent his representation as an...
Published on April 19 2004 by sonnetinkinston

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay at best, but it doesn't beat the original series
"Scooby-Doo" is okay. It's not that great of a film and it's not that bad. As much as I despise him, I have to say that Matthew Lillard does an excellent job as Shaggy. He's the best character in this flick. Linda Cardellini is good as Velma, but she has a couple of lines(ex. "Let's get jinky with it") that are just atrocious. Freddie Prinze, Jr...
Published on July 7 2004 by K. Fontenot


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Okay at best, but it doesn't beat the original series, July 7 2004
"Scooby-Doo" is okay. It's not that great of a film and it's not that bad. As much as I despise him, I have to say that Matthew Lillard does an excellent job as Shaggy. He's the best character in this flick. Linda Cardellini is good as Velma, but she has a couple of lines(ex. "Let's get jinky with it") that are just atrocious. Freddie Prinze, Jr. wasn't necessarily miscast as Fred, but the character was portrayed in a way that doesn't really reflect the character from the original show. Sarah Michelle Gellar was annoying as Daphne. Nevermind the fact that she pulled out the old kung-fu ala "Buffy," she's just not convincing enough in this role. The CGI Scooby was just that, a CGI Scooby. He looks fake, but dogs can't talk either, so I'm okay with that. His character is actually pretty good.
The best part of this film is the opening scene with the Luna ghost. It looked as if it were straight out of the old series. Everything heads south from there. The characters, excepting Shaggy and Scooby, are weightless. The nasties are just plain silly and the jokes resort to sophomoric humor. I'm sure every thirteen year-old boy in the crowd got a laugh from the farting contest between Shaggy and Scooby. A few cuss words were thrown around, and Daphne puts a whipping on a wrestler-type baddie.
Overall, this film works well with kids between the ages of eleven and sixteen. Younger kids MIGHT get scared by the bad guys, and the language can get a little rough for the really young'uns. For us older folks who grew up with the series, it's nice to see Scooby and the gang in a live-action format. However, I feel that this movie tries too hard to make itself appeal to all age groups. I also think that the director should have decided on whether he was making a nostalgic flick, a spoof, or an updated version using potty humor.
It's watchable and somewhat funny, but you might want to rent this one before laying any money down for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scooby Dooby Doooooo!, July 1 2004
By 
Robin M Goffinet (Richmond, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Scooby-Doo (VHS Tape)
After a classic Scooby Doo mystery being solved, Velma gets tired of Fred always taking the credit for her work and quits the gang. Fred and Daphne follow suite and the now lonely duo of Shaggy and Scooby go off on their own.
About a year or so later, they meet up again at the airport where, unbeknownst to them, they are all invited to the newly opened Spooky Island theme park to solve a mystery. Each person vows to solve the mystery on their own, but once they get to their destination, they realize that they must work together once again to solve the mystery of what is changing the vacationing college students from normal teenagers into zombie type strangers.
Shaggy meets a girl who becomes a sort of love interest and sort of casts Scooby off for his new interest. When Scooby realizes there is more to Shaggy's new friend than meets the eye, Shaggy refuses to listen and causes Scooby to become a willing, but unknown participant in the evil doer's plan to take over the world.
Loaded with great special effects, computer animation and a great cameo starring the puppy everyone loves to hate, Scrappy Doo, this movie is great. The characters all kept the same aspects that made the cartoon great. However, there are some things that kept me from giving this movie 5 stars. In the cartoon, Velma never seemed resentful of Fred always taking the credit, Daphne was more than a spoiled selfish brat, Fred did not act stupid even in the least.
If you enjoyed the old cartoon series, you will surly like this live action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Failure, June 8 2004
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
First of all, my apologies, as this review is based entirely on my personal hopes of what this movie was going to deliver. Other viewers may have found lots of their expectations realised on the screen, but sadly, mine weren't.
The makers of the Scooby Doo movie didn't really have to get a lot of things right to make this film a real laugh, yet they managed to do everything wrong. I was really looking forward to seeing my favourite cartoon come to life, but they messed up on all the basic rules of this classic show. First off, the main characters all only have one set of clothes, but the costume designers for the film couldn't even stick to the simple designs of the cartoon, instead they went for hopeless approximations that just look ill-fitting and careless. Worst offender is Daphne, done up in all sorts of lurid fashions and hairdos, looking nothing like the animated original. Same goes for poor Velma with that odd long lanky brown wig and shapeless sweater. Even Fred had several changes of costume and the wrong hairdo. Only Shaggy came across as the real deal, which is probably more of a tribute to Matthew Lillard's dedication rather than the designers.
Next rule: There must always be a chase down a never-ending hallway with the same scenery going past over and over again. I think there were some chases in the movie, but nothing that brought this much loved (and much lampooned in the past) feature to the forefront where it should have been (Unless it was during a sequence when I dozed off).
Next rule: The monsters must be dumb and easily fooled. Most monsters in the cartoon just went "Graaagghh!" and swiped their arms in thin air as Scooby and co. slipped away from them just in time. The movie monsters are actually quite frightening demons that fly through the air, taking possession of innocent holidaymakers. Frightening is good, but it doesn't belong in this context.
Another thing that spoils the mood is surrounding the characters with hundreds of extras and other actors. It just shows up the implausibility of the whole gang ever passing for real people. This could have worked hilariously as a parody (a device that worked beautifully for the Brady Bunch Movie), but here it just makes the characters look thoroughly underdeveloped. They can't possibly interact with naturalistic "real-life" characters, only with similarly 2-dimensional ciphers like cackling crones, disgruntled sherrifs or sinister butlers.
Next up, the characterisation. Again, Matthew Lillard steals the show as Shaggy, and truly breathes life into the part. Fred and Velma are boring and under developed, but that kind of reflects the cartoon, so no big deal there, although Velma could have been given more to get her teeth into. Worst of all, again, is Daphne, demonstrated by the insertion of the blatantly inappropriate "Daphne does martial arts" sequence. If Sarah Michelle Gellar can't stay away from playing Buffy, she shouldn't be considered for other movies. She certainly shouldn't bring the character with her. A huge mistake. Finally, Scooby Doo himself. Considering the possible options for bringing a talking dog to life, the movie version is actually quite successful. I thought the interplay between Scooby and the human mambers of the gang worked pretty well, and his character really came through. Shame that the animators decided to give him those bizarre big, bright, human style eyes which the cartoon version never sported. Weird and a bit creepy.
As the the plot, its just far too busy. Anything and everything is thrown in making it clear that the makers could not decide what angle they were going for. They dabble in playing it true to the cartoon (very, very briefly), playing it for modern (Animal House-type) laughs, playing it as a parody, and playing it as a "what if the characters went in this direction?" kind of update. Too many styles, no substance and no chance for the audience to engage with any one mood. A real mess.
As I said at the start, this is only my personal disappointment. I can't tell if other moviegoers had a similar experience, and lots of people seem to have found the film to be a riot. But as far as I'm concerned, it's a serious letdown and a huge wasted opportunity. I'm now waiting to see the second one to see if any of this gets put right...I really hope it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Only Caligula is Worse, May 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scooby-Doo (VHS Tape)
This is THE dreadful TV adaptation. It makes Flintstones look like Drugstore Cowboy. It makes Addams Family look like Great Expectations (David Lean).
Freddie Prinze neither looks nor sounds like Fred. Linda Cardellini is perfect in matching the appearance and voice of Velma, but not the personality, no! Same for Shaggy and Scooby. And as for Daphne, Jean Vander Pyl must be turning in her grave! Gellar must have thought this to be a double lenght episode of Buffy.
A bunch got lost in the translation:
1. They break up. What are these people, stupid or something?
2. Shaggy and Scooby have a farting/belching contest.
3. In a flashback, Scrappy marks his territory by peeing on Daphne.
4. The movie does not come close to being the bad film it is until the end. Scrappy-Doo is the villain, and he tries to suffocate "Uncle Scooby" and curses at the shot where he is taken into the helicopter. I came out of the theater crying, filled with anger and sadness. I was hoping that when it came out on video, they would have a deleted scene where Scrappy clones himself and comes up with an evil twin. But alas, no. Wait till the sequel comes out on video. THAT'S your family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RUT ROW RAGGY..., May 3 2004
By 
S. Prince "unilover36" (Varnell, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mystery Inc. is on the move... they moved from bad scripts and very dated personalities on celuloid, to the big screen. All I can say, is ... ITS ABOUT TIME! Personally I grew up with the scooby cartoons, and really disliked them emensly. When the film came out, I avoided it like the plegue... Who wants to pay too much for a ticket, sit in a chilled movie theater where your shoes stick to the floor, in a room full of people you don't know and watch something you aren't going to like? I guess the answer would be me, a friend was visiting that was an emense scooby fan, and it was on Pay-Per-View, so we watched it. I was surprised, at the movie, at my actually enjoying the movie, at me finally going out and buying the DVD. As for the story line, Mystery Inc is breaking up, all but Shaggy and Scooby want more fame and noteriety... They divide to go out and solve their own cases, but all get summoned individually to an island retreat for college spring break clientell... college students turn into zombies (ooh there's a surprise), and the gang is forced to work together to solve the mystery. Watch it, take it at face value, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Why is everyone giving this bad reviews?, April 22 2004
To be honest, I was never the biggest fan of Scooby Doo. I used to watch it as a kid - and liked Daphne's whole look to be honest! (I like purple) But then they brought Scrappy Doo into the whole equasion, and almost booted Scooby out. Scooby or Scrappy? Scooby every time, there's really no contest.
Then this comes out. Some people are never really sure of original cartoon character being put into a computer, and coming out nothing like how they were - for instance, the Garfield movie that is coming out this summer. He TALKS. But I'll still want to see it.
There wasn't that much action in this, so that was quite disappointing. The humour was quite good, especially from the fabulous Matthew Lilliard as Shaggy. How good a choice was he for Shaggy?! Pure genius. The rest of the cast were great for Daphne, Fred & a relatively unknown Linda Cardellini for Velma - who looks totally different!
Maybe I wasn't getting some of this movie, but when all their inner spirits came out and swapped bodies etc, was it just me, or did Velma totally change?! Or was that supposed to be part of the story? Cos suddenly, she was still wearing that orange top, but it changed from a poloneck, into a V-neck, very low cut, and she had a pair to rival Daphne's! And then it changes back. Zoinks indeed!
And Sarah Michelle Gellar is just a tad too old to be playing Daphne. If you look closely in a couple of scenes, she is wearing way too much concealer under her eyes, to cover up any possible bags, which seems almost too light for the rest of her skin, and makes her look really gaunt in the process.
This is a good movie if you're a fan of Scooby Doo. The DVD has lots of extras, if you could work out how to get into them, without getting distracted by Scooby Doo messing about, and if you can get past the fact that Scooby's mouth doesn't match what he's saying (which some reviewers obviously can't), then you can sit back, relax, and enjoy. And maybe get drunk to understand it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quit the bashing..., April 19 2004
By 
I am so tired of seeing the horrible reviews this movie recieved. I am 20, so no, I didn't grow up in the 60's and 70's watching this show. However, I DID grow up in the 80's and 90's watching this show, so maybe I just have a different take. Okay, so Freddy Prinze, Jr. was not the most perfect choice for Fred. A lot of reviews resent his representation as an attention starved and fame hogging character, but I have to say that while the movie took it to the extreme, it by no means pulled it out of thin air. And Daphne was always getting captured and lost in the spooky old dungeons and mansions, and it was normally Velma or (Duh duh duh!) good ol' Freddy to the rescue. And the romantic connection everyone is claiming came from nowhere at the end of the movie? Were ya'll even watching?!? While Gellar and Prinze may only have been chosen for their star power and not for their excellent casting as the characters, they DO portray the relationship that we all know existed between Daphne and Fred rather well. And NO ONE can tell me Velma and Shaggy weren't brilliantly casted!
The plot, while not in the "Scooby Doo, Where are you?" fashion, is more along the lines of "The Thirteen Ghosts of Scooby Doo" minus Vincent Price. The monsters are real, not masked men. And for all the Christians bashing the movie for that reason, be forewarned, if you deny the existence of evil in the world, regardless of your religion, then you open yourself to it. Being unaware doesn't exclude. Besides, this was a FUN, FAMILY ORIENTED movie, remember. The occult elements were in Scooby Doo fashion, discovering new legends associated with the area in which they are investigating the mystery.
In essence, if you enjoy this movie for what it was intended to be, which was a fresh representation of fantastic characters, which remains true to the ideas implied in the series, as well as a fun film, then you'll get the point. If not, then "Zoinks" you take things way too seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Matthew Lillard IS Shaggy, Feb. 29 2004
I was seriously dreading this film. What was conceivably a very, very bad idea turned out to be a surprisingly good film with a fair amount of comedy. Originally a Mike Myers vehicle (thank God THAT didn't work out), but then recast with I Know What You Did Last Summer and Scream actors, the realization of Scooby Doo as a CGI character interacting with live action actually works. I'd say it was a one in a million chance but Raja Gosnell managed to pull it off.
The most impressive transformation tho is not cartoon Scooby to CGI Scooby but Matthew Lillard's performance as Shaggy. No way would I have believed he could possibly take on the role of one of my most fave characters ever but he just seems to completely disappear and the spirit of Shaggy takes him over. He brings some real integrity to what is widely regarded as an artless family movie. Even Freddy Prinze Jr. (!) seems to nail the voice and narcissism of Fred and Sarah Michele Gellar is quite good as Daphne. Tho I was always more attracted to Velma for some reason and Linda Cardellini brings some true sex appeal to the role. It was cool to hear Shaggy's often unmentioned real name (Norville Rogers) near the beginning, tho I'm not sure everybody will entirely get it.
Of course the plot is the usual baloney but there is constant action and invention to keep even the most impatient viewer stuck on till the end. The gang go to a theme park resort called Spooky Island (actually an Australian resort) to solve the mystery of why the wild spring break kids are turning into well-mannered nerds. But not only are there guys in masks but there are some REAL spooks too. I would have liked Rowan Atkinson to have a bigger role as Emile Mondavarious but considering the twist (which comes as an amusing surprise) at the end, the plot doesn't really give room for it. It's good to have him in there though instead of a cast full of 20-somethings. But 99% of the comic genius comes Matthew Lillard.
Now that audiences have warmed to a live-action Scooby I'm eagerly awaiting the more sophisticated looking sequel. I'm sure it will be a massive hit just like this.
For the REALLY observant try to spot a member of the 'Neighbours' cast from a several years ago among the partying college kids.
The DVD is in 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen (stay away from the useless Pan and Scan version) with Dolby 5.1 sound. The extras are decent enough but I would liked to have seen the cut lesbian kiss between Velma and Daphne in the 'never before seen' footage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing and very messy., Feb. 16 2004
Let me get started that I never was and still am not a fan of the whole Scooby Doo franchise, even when I was younger so I kept my expectations relatively low but even then, this big screen adaptation completely comes crashing down to the ground in a lot of ways.
The plot is decent enough, telling about the gang who has gone their separate ways but reunite after they all get an invitation to Spooky Island where they discover an amusement park but strange things happen and endanger all of them and they all have to work together to find out what's going on to the tourists. Too bad the bumbling acting and miscast actors and actresses just ruin it from here.
What really kills this film in my opinion is the grossly miscast actors that played the characters. No offense against any of them but this glaringly shows that where they stand, they were completely unsuitable for their roles. The most glaring of all were the actor who played Norville 'Shaggy' Rogers and especially Sarah Michelle Gellar who I feel really dropped the ball on this one. They all act completely out of character and hardly even act like real heroes at all. Instead they just look like they were all just going for some Jurassic Park style joyride through caverns and acting like fools.
In many ways, this feels more like watching a bad episode of TRL (Total Request Live) on MTV) with the worst of behavior of the characters. The music from Suger Ray is not bad and it's kind of funny watching the band members chase around the characters but they make up the bulk of what's good about this movie and even then, even they could not save this movie. The other redeeming quality is the ending which I must say isn't all that bad either but then again it was great just because the movie was over and that I could finally go and see something else instead. These things prevent this movie from being a one star but just barely a two star.
I really tried to like this movie but even when the brain is turned off, there's nothing that was on here that was enough to persuade me to ever see this movie again. It's this kind of stupidity and dumb acting that has turned me away from comedies and made me shift into much darker more dramatic movies as of recently. It's not the worst movie in the world by any means but this "Scooby Doo" movie just fails in so many ways that it wouldn't kill me if I were to never see it again nor it being taken out of print. There is nothing that a "Special Edition", Expanded Edition, or truckloads of extras could rescue this waste of film from the dumpster.
A complete waste of film. I can't even believe that they are even making a sequel. This isn't the worst movie in the world by any stretch of the imagination but it wouldn't kill me if this were to vanish from existence. There are some redeeming qualities in this film but they are few and aren't enough to make this movie worthy of killing time.
If you're in the mood to see something that isn't necessarily thought-provoking and want some brainless comedy, then I would suggest "Eight Legged Freaks" which I feel was much better.
Don't bother too much with the much hyped sequel in the works. For all we know, it will flop big time when it's released to theaters. On the other hand, with a more positive note, I hope they learned the mistakes made in this first "Scooby Doo" movie and try harder on the sequel but I have my doubts on that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, Dec 23 2003
By 
Debbie Lee Wesselmann (the Lehigh Valley, PA) - See all my reviews
Although I wasn't a fan of the original Scooby-Doo cartoon, I decided to watch this movie because I remember reading that the movie was actually better than the cartoon. Wrong! Although the casting director made some perfect choices (wait until you see and hear Matthew Lillard as Scaggy - he's perfect), nothing can help the script. Yes, it pokes fun at the original characters and premise, with lots of references to the pot-smoking, free love, horribly dressed seventies. Yes, the plot is classic Scooby, with its hauntings arranged by villains - and hints of real ghosts. And yes, it tries to appeal to this generation of kids, particularly boys, with the elementary school playground humor of bodily functions. But even with some genuinely funny moments, nothing gels. It just comes across as an asinine attempt at nostalgia.
This movie was a complete waste of my time. I still can't believe I watched the whole thing. If you loved Scooby-Doo, you're much better off parking in front of the television with the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scooby-Doo: The Movie (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
Scooby-Doo: The Movie (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Sarah Michelle Gellar (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 18.74 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews