Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling: Season 1
Loved it every bit as much this time as when I saw it on telly! Much prefer it to Sex in the City.
Published 14 months ago by Rosie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Friends Gone Bad
Imagine what Friends would be like if they never deviated from sexual conversation to talk about oddities or each other. That's right, every last line in this show is, or is leading to, a sexual reference, joke, or discussion. Aside from limitimg themsleves to sexual conatations and humor... it still manages to be amusing. Not on Friends calliber, but still worth a try
Published on July 27 2003 by JL


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling: Season 1, May 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
Loved it every bit as much this time as when I saw it on telly! Much prefer it to Sex in the City.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coupling: Season 1, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
This series is deliciously funny. The episodes are uncomfortably true and the situation comedy expertly performed by an assemble cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raunchy, sweet, and hilarious, Jan. 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
"Coupling--The Complete First Season" is a collection of six episodes of this very funny British comedy. The show follows the experiences of 6 young adults (3 male, 3 female) as they navigate the waters of romance and friendship. "Coupling" struck me as a sort of British blend of "Friends," "Seinfeld," and "Sex in the City." But in the end the show has its own very delightful identity.
In "Coupling" a very likeable cast does an outstanding job with some very witty scripts. The subject matter is often quite spicy--pornography, penis size, bisexuality, etc. are all mined for humor. The six episode arc culminates in "the Cupboard of Patrick's Love," an outrageous story about home-made erotic videotapes that brings the whole ensemble together in a very satisfying and typically hysterical fashion. The DVD contains some good bonus features, most notably a series of behind-the-scenes interviews with all six cast members, writer Steven Moffat, and producer Sue Vertue.
The strong sexual content of "Coupling" never seems gratuitous or tasteless--the topics seem to flow naturally from the characters and their life situations. The cast members have a wonderful onscreen chemistry, and the scripts are cleverly constructed. In the end, this show is often screamingly funny and always highly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So funny, it had me in tears, Sept. 22 2003
By 
Rachel Lovinger "mirka23" (NY, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
The basic plot of this sitcom may seem familiar - 6 young unmarried people hanging out, trying to meet people, and sometimes dating each other. But it's done in such a brilliant and fresh way, it's anything but stale. The humor is sexy and sharp, with small jokes building up to a hilarious finish as the absurd actions of these 6 friends all play on each other. You might cringe at the awkward situations they get themselves into, but it's never mean-spirited, and before you know you'll be laughing uncontrollably.
I'm not sure what's going to happen to this British original after the U.S. version comes out, so make sure to check it out while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Laughing after the third episode, Sept. 3 2003
By 
AZ (Roujan, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
If you've missed this series, you've missed a gem indeed. Never mind the awkward US 'equivalents' of this baby. 'Sex in the City," "Friends," forget them. This is real, irreverant, truly funny stuff. I love the ease and subtlety that this series really addresses potentially horrific material with such style. I'm still giggling after watching the third episode in this series. Totally irreverant and tasteless in such a tasteful way. Think "Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Sex" as narrated by Mr. Rogers after a stiff drink. Twisted, clever, and dirty in the same fell swoop. Easily 5 stars, 6 if it went that high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than Friends, Aug. 30 2003
By 
Kenneth Lee (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
I used to be an avid viewer of Friends, but eventually, I grew to find some of the characters really annoying. The Ross-Rachael thing got old and both have become kinda annoying and whiny.
Compared to that, Coupling is a relief. It's unashamed to cut to the chase -- sex, and while wacky and sometimes confusing, manages to touch upon issues that we've all faced, but other shows have been afraid to joke about. Must be an English thing.
Anyway, catch this original BBC series -- I'm afraid that the US remake will come up well short...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest, sexiest BBC sitcom, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
You probably heard about this show from friends. There probably is no need for introduction of what this show is about. With the many good reviews on Amazon, I will discuss the casual viewer who wants to try something new or have a curiousity of purchasing the "Coupling" series 1 DVD. Friends who have enjoyed American shows like "Friends" and "Sex and the City" have asked if they should buy this DVD. Let's just say that for each party that I go to, I bring this DVD along and show people who have never been exposed to a BBC show and guess...these people go out and buy the DVD. That's right...it's that good! The American version will be coming out soon (and I have screened the pilot alrady) but the BBC is way more funnier and sexier. Are you and your friends always discussing sex, oh...this show is going to be a blast for you. Where people can have something in common with the American show "Friends", I think many people and friends can find a lot in common with the characters of "Coupling". The stories are well written, trust me...once you pop this DVD in, I don't think you will able to stop it. There are six episodes in series one and there are behind the scene interviews and a photo shoot and the DVD is just simply worth owning. The only thing is that people not familiar with British culture may not understand certain words and there is no English subtitles available. But fortunately, for this series, you can understand what they are saying and there are not many words thrown out that make you scratch your head and say "huh?". Trust me on this one... this is a definite "party" DVD to show people. A DVD that they will just love. They will be hooked as you will be as well! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously Addictive, June 14 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
Don't buy this DVD unless you are prepared to buy the entire series. You will fall in love with the characters and will need to know how their story lines continue to develop.
And don't even think about lending your DVDs to a friend. It will be impossible to get you friend to give them back.
This stuff is laugh out loud funny...and mini-marathons watching the DVDs make for great girls nights in.
Enjoy!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A true BBC classic., June 2 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
I first began watching "Coupling" two years ago when I caught a showing mid-episode on BBC America. The network had a "Coupling" marathon the following week with all of the episodes from Season Two. I taped all 9 episodes as I watched and become hooked very quickly. Shortly afterward, I picked up the Season One DVD and I loved it as well. This is one of the best TV sitcoms in recent years, not just for the BBC but any network anywhere in the world. "Coupling" is very well-written and directed, and all 6 of the cast regulars are outstanding in their respective roles, especially Richard Coyle (Jeff), Gina Bellman (Jane) & Jack Davenport (Steve). My favorite Season One episodes include "Flushed," "Inferno" & "The Girl With Two Breasts." "Coupling" is truly a modern television comedy classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, recognisable, and extremely clever, April 20 2004
This review is from: Coupling: Season 1 (DVD)
Coupling is without a doubt one of the funniest series from the last few years. Rivaling and actually exceeding the cleverness of other hits in comedy such as Friends.
Coupling, too, is about a group of 6 close friends, and deals with their every day problems and relationships.
In the first series, we are introduced to Steve, who is determined to break up with his girlfriend Jane and discusses this with his best friend Jeff. In their regular pub Steve runs into Susan (a colleague of Jeff), and sets a date with her. All this happens while he is having sex with Jane in the ladies' room.
Susan breaks up with her boyfriend Patrick, and her best friend Sally decides Patrick is fair game. More so after hearing Patrick is well endowed in the nether region section.
After the introduction episode, we get to see how Susan and Steve hook up together, and the crazy adventures the friends roll into. There's Jane's aunt dying, a discussion about Lesbian porn (the spanking kind), Jeff running into a stunner of a woman who doesn't immediately mace him, and Patrick's personal porn pile (starring Patrick).
While each of the actors is equally brilliant, the genius and probably the reason Coupling is such a success is Jeff (Richard Coyle). His absurd experiences in life have caused him to come up with names for situations. You'll laugh your ass off while he explains the "The Zone", "Unflushables", "The Sock Gap" and most brilliantly, "The Giggle Loop".
But you're not ready for that ;)
A definite recommendation. And for those who cannot get enough of Coupling, season 2 and 3 have also been brought out on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coupling: Season 1
Coupling: Season 1 by Martin Dennis (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews