Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Good Mickey Rourke Movie!
The last great performance by Mickey Rourke (check out the original bad boy pimp in The Pope of Greenwich Village, Angel Heart, Diner & Barfly)...Couple of observations though, the film has the production values of "Family Ties"...don't expect an operatic "Scarface" type Gangster film. The oddball casting and stylistic touches win you over in the...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by Fernandinho

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bullet
It's kind of a weak movie but I'm forced to buy the DVD because I'm a 2pac fan and I need to complete the collection.
Published on Dec 2 2002 by cristobal gutierrez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last Good Mickey Rourke Movie!, Dec 6 2003
By 
Fernandinho (Jackson Heights, New York United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The last great performance by Mickey Rourke (check out the original bad boy pimp in The Pope of Greenwich Village, Angel Heart, Diner & Barfly)...Couple of observations though, the film has the production values of "Family Ties"...don't expect an operatic "Scarface" type Gangster film. The oddball casting and stylistic touches win you over in the end, from the soundtrack to some of Julien Temple's wierd angles. This film must have been written when Mickey was high on heroin, some of it is straight on Mickey Rourke Bad Ass, some of it like the dysfunctional jewish melodrama is out of place. Still everybody should check it out, for a couple of reasons, #1)Its the second film Julien Temple works with a major music star who ends up dying just a year later (Temple directed Sid Vicious in "Great Rock and Roll Swindle")#2 Adrien Brody in a really wierd role, Brody actually worked with Mickey on "Thin Red Line" but Rourke had his scenes cut from the film, its amazing that Brody has gone on to become an Oscar winner and Rourke has since become a character actor. #3 Tupac's Slick Rick impersonation is hillarious...I think also Pudgey guy worked with Tupac on Juice...don't quote me on that one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not A Cookie Cutter Action Flick, July 27 2003
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is a straight to video classic that I rented several years ago. It's good to rediscover it on DVD. If you're not a big fan of Hip Hop, don't let Tupac's presence in the film scare you off. There's plenty of dark humor and macho fight scenes to appeal to a broader demographic than just rap enthusiasts. Most of the dark humor is supplied by Ted Levine who portrays one of film's craziest Vietnam War veterans since Robert Deniro's Travis Bickle from Taxi Driver. Fans of Silence of the Lambs will remember Ted Levine's performance as that loveable genital tucking women suit making serial killer who was always making people rub the lotion on the skin. Ted is equally crazy in this film and will have you laughing at his lunacy. When you throw in a midget, a character named Franky Eyelashes, and some great Barry White tunes, you got yourself a great original guy flick to watch with your buddies. The DVD is lean on extras but includes wide/full screen and unrated/rated R versions of the film. There are some behind the scenes interviews with Mickey Rourke, Tupac, and recent oscar winner Adrien Brody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Thug Life films ever made, but misunderstood, April 8 2003
By 
Marcel McGuire (Massillon, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This has to bee one the tightiest hood movies I ever saw in my day. When I first saw it by when it was released on video back in 1997 (when 2pac was pursumed dead or alive)personalily I was moved by it than my cusins who disliked it rationaly. It was reminding my of the environment I was living when I was only in sixth grade at the time when the east and west coast war was unfolding. The story of the movies main character "Bullet" is something I can relate to emotionaly.
"MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD"
Butch "Bullet" Stein (Mickey Rourke)gets released from prison after a eight year sentince he took for a close ally from the neighborhood and hooks up with his little brother Ruby who is a highly talented piantist,and childhood friend Lestor who is a big male gigalo. When Bullets Prison nemmenis Tank (2pac) who wants revenge one him for shanking his eye out when they in prison finds his back in the neighborhood all hell breaks loose. Bullets back to shooting smack and has a death wish. Bullet and his thugish homeboy paddy are at war with Tank and his crew and are in a power struggle that they can resolve by an ultimate sacrifice.
BULLET is one of the most underrated films on thug life ever made and nerver made the theaters. It has a handful of supporting actors in including Bullets schizofrinic vietnam vet brother Louis who defenitly stills the show and 2Pac who has the best lines throuhout the movie. One of Mickey Rourke's best performances since YEAR OF THE DRAGON and is cooler than cool.
The DVD has a R-rated and UNRATED versions of the movie. The unrated has extended footage of a guy getting stabed in the eye with blood swirting out and a extra footage of a sex at a nightclub. If your from a prilvidged background you wouldn't understand the moral values of the story being told. I recommed this film along with JUICE,TAXI DRIVER,STATE OF GRACE AND TRUE ROMMACE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars criterion quality, all priceless, Jan. 29 2003
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
An important and contemporary film about street life to be sure, but there's something magical about Bullet. First of all, you'll never see anything like this again, Tupac: gone, Mickey: just different these days, and Wahlberg played "Big Balls". You can tell, that things just came together to make an incredible film. Little details of realism and humble, masterful performances. For example, even character interaction with "Big Balls" is given careful attention. Bullet says in a caring way "how you doin Big Balls?". He treats Balls with respect because Balls says exactly what he feels (and is not afraid - hence "Big Balls"). Even after Balls says "none of this ...happened until this crazy ... showed up" Bullet is calm and doesn't take it as a personal attack, he just sits there and let's them yell it out. Bullet is afraid of no-one. Neither is "Tank" (Tupac), and "men love to hate". So the story goes. It's not just drama, (I hate drama) it's priceless nuance and good filmaking. If you enjoyed New Jack, Menace2 or Sugar Hill, Bullet will blow em away. You'll be touched, but don't let that stop you. Don't miss Bullet.
As for the storyline: Bullet (Mickey Rourke) gets out of prison and the very same day, exacts revenge on Tank (Tupac) by robbing some of his smack customers and stabbing one his dealers in the eye. From there, we go through family and interpersonal dysfunctions of Bullet and his foemen. There is more tragedy than optimism, so be warned. One thing fer sure, you'll never shoot smack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Piece of 20th Century Cinema Ever, Dec 20 2002
By 
Cookie Stein (Kennedy Fried Chicken) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
To describe it in one word....Brilliance. One of the greatest travesties ever bestowed upon this world was the absence of "Bullet" from theatrical viewing. Mickey Rourke is a Jewish hoolum who doesn't play by the rules, and he's in the fight of his life against the man he scarred many years ago. Also starring John Enos III as his flamboyant yet loyal confidant Lester. Together, these two modern day poets reek havoc on the streets of Brooklyn, eye stabbing, shooting, and searching for the ever elusive final hit. If you want action, sex, comedy, all wrapped up into a story of a family overcoming addiction...then Bullet is not for you. Words can't even describe this movie's viewing power. You all should thank Christ for Mickey Rourke, John Enos III, and whoever played Bernard and the midget in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a EXCLUUUUUUUUUUSIVE DVD!!!!!!, Dec 9 2002
By 
Don Jewels (Staten Island, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
My Whole Crew Has been waiting for this day to come for 4 years now. Bullet Is One Of The All Time greatest movies up there. From the Soundtrack to the direction to the stars I recommend this film Immensly. It's a story that anyone on some level can relate to and that everyone should see at least once. This is what DVD was created for and I just need to add that "IT'S C.. you know Soc"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bullet, Dec 2 2002
By 
cristobal gutierrez (Ceres, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
It's kind of a weak movie but I'm forced to buy the DVD because I'm a 2pac fan and I need to complete the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more than meets the eye, Nov. 22 2002
By 
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
At first glance of the cast, one may think this is just another bad "rap" movie that glorifies street life and crime. In fact, this movie has a positive message that is conveyed through the poor choices one man has made in his life. Mickey Rourke is excellent in the film and shows the talent that made his name in the eighties. Tupac also plays his role well, even though it is not too much of a stretch for him. The supporting cast and characters are very good as well. This is not a high budget film, but it is extremely entertaining. I have been waiting for the release of this film on DVD for quite some time, and finally it is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Nov. 9 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is a great film if you like Mickey Rourke. Tupac Shakur plays a great role. One of the highlights is Ted Levine(the killer from "Silence of the Lambs") as Mickey Rourke's brother, another psycho-ish role for him. Action packed and suspenseful. Music used throughout the movie is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You can learn a bit from this movie, Jan. 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bullet [Import] (VHS Tape)
This movie would be great to show in any high school or college sociology class. Bullet gives a graphic portrayal of how life in a "normal" middle-class family can go very sour when even one family member turns to a life of drugs. Unfortunately I think that Mickey Rourke plays the role of Bullet too well and acts a little too smooth suggesting that a life of drugs will make you smooth as well. Immature high schoolers and even college students might even feel encouraged to engage in drugs because of his role. While some people would feel that a movie of this type would discourage young people from experimenting with and turning to a life of crime and drugs, it usually has the opposite effect. Especially when they make the drug addict look "cool". Middle-class youths from suburbia often have a need of some sort of danger or excitement in their lives. The instructor showing this movie should point out that Bullet travels to the projects to engage in his criminal activities. Bullet's family is not poor, he has a loving mother and father, but yet he feel's that he must travel to the dangerous parts of town. Most people living in the poor parts of the city can only dream of living in a safe suburban town. The instructor should focus on the irony of this whole scenario. While people living in the mud hole would do anything to get out, people on the beach willingly dive into the mud hole. Overall, I like this movie very much and feel that it was very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc3b3ae40)

This product

Bullet (Widescreen) [Import]
Bullet (Widescreen) [Import] by Julien Temple (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews