Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begs the question: When is a movie too long?
I became aware of the existence of over 50 minutes of additional scenes in this film in the past two years. The original, pruned version received the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 1990. I have owned the video for a decade. Then, last summer, the "new version" was shown in limited release, and a DVD was promised. With the addition of the deleted scenes,...
Published on Feb. 24 2003 by D. Movahedpour

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the director's cut was a great disappointment
Most director's cuts of movies have novelty values. Some such as Blade Runner or the Extended Version of The Fellowship of the Ring not only enhance the experience but also made one wonder why the original versions were released at all. Sadly, the director's cut of Cinema Paradiso was a major disappointment. The addional footage in the first half, such as Toto losing his...
Published on Nov. 26 2002


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begs the question: When is a movie too long?, Feb. 24 2003
By 
D. Movahedpour "doeadear" (CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
I became aware of the existence of over 50 minutes of additional scenes in this film in the past two years. The original, pruned version received the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 1990. I have owned the video for a decade. Then, last summer, the "new version" was shown in limited release, and a DVD was promised. With the addition of the deleted scenes, an entirely different film is created. Owning this DVD is owning a brand new version of the film's events.
Initially, the film was considered too long, and massive scenes were cut, removing any and all references to whatever happened to Salvatore's great love, Lina. The original version of the film focused mainly on the young boy, fatherless in post-WWII Sicily, bonding with the childless cinema projectionist, Alfredo. The young Toto grows into the teen-aged Salvatore, who falls in love with the beautiful and unattainable Lina. They are parted. That is the last we see. Salvatore returns to his village many years later to attend the funeral of Alfredo, and the film is told nearly entirely in flashback.
In this version, Salvatore is reunited with his lost love when he returns for the funeral. To think that this entire plot was removed from the film initially is almost unthinkable. There are other parts of the film that could have been edited to keep these additional scenes in. I don't know what the producers, directors or the studio were thinking when they edited a huge part of the movie out.
Well, now the film is complete. Whereas the original version focused mainly on the relationship of Toto and Alfredo, we now see a conclusion to Toto and Lina as well. And, we understand the ending of the film in an entirely, much less sentimental light. Salvatore has spent the bulk of his life mourning his lost love, not returning to his village, and not knowing of Alfredo's hand in the matter. He is facing life-changing decisions, and must ultimately dip into a pool of acceptance and forgiveness. Without the addition of these scenes, the point is lost.
This was an excellent film to begin with, now it is nearly perfect. It is bittersweet and touching, and all the more realistic with the deleted scenes returned. If you own the original version, you must own this version. You will see this film in a completely different light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as movies can get. Period., April 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
First of all, there are two versions of the film on DVD, and everyone has their own opinion on which one they like.
I had only seen the 2 hour version once, so while I loved the movie, I had no real sentimental attachment to that version. In my own personal opinion, once you see the "new" version, you can't go back. It answers the questions left open in the edited version - it's like seeing the original and the perfect sequel all in one.
Anyhow, as one who normally enjoys action films and comedies, this film is a real change of pace for me. But anyone who doesn't love it is completely out of their minds. It sucks you in and makes you an emotional part of it. The story, coupled with an incredible score, takes you away.
It will also take your date away if you choose a special someone to watch it with. The ending montage is fantastic.
I have a DVD collection of about 100 movies, and this one, by far, gets the most playtime. Get it. Best money ever spent on a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Story, Great DVD, Feb. 25 2003
By 
Douglas Broehl "Delafield Doug" (Delafield, Wis.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
The New Version is great. The added scenes in which Toto meets his teenage love, Elena, are wonderful and add a soulful richness that was lacking in the US version. The resolution of their relationship completes the film as a whole and makes the final scene where Toto watches the missing kissing scenes even that more powerful. The film is filled with such a warmth and genuine feeling of nostalgia; like so many great Italien films, this movie is very moving and touching on many levels. Simply put, this is a great film watching experience. The DVD transfer is excellent; it is extremely sharp, and the color is rich and very natural. If you loved the US version released in 1989, I highly recommend getting this expanded version. You will not be disappointed at all; just make sure you have a box of Kleenex for the ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both versions in one box!, May 24 2004
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso (Bilingual) (DVD)
I loed this film in its theatrical release in 1989. I certainly felt it deserved the Academy Award (for best foreign language film). I also loved seeing the full version that lays out all the details of the relationships, and their resolution.
I also enjoyed reading everyone's opinion as to whether the original version or the longer one is better. I can't decide myself. But a critical point to make is that THIS DVD contrains both versions (on either side of the DVD). So regardless of which you prefer (and here is the perfect opportunity to find out), it is on this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CINEMA PARADISO [1997] [25th Anniversary Re-mastered Limited Edition] [Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 2 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
CINEMA PARADISO [1997] [25th Anniversary Re-mastered Limited Edition] [Blu-ray] [UK Release] A Celebration Of Youth, Friendship And The Everlasting Magic Of The Movies!

A winner of awards across the world including Best Foreign Language Film Oscar, 5 BAFTA Awards including Best Actor, Original Screenplay and Score, the Grand Prize of the Jury at the Cannes Film Festival and many more.

Giuseppe Tornatore's loving homage to the cinema tells the story of Salvatore, a successful film director, returning home for the funeral of Alfredo [Philippe Noiret], his old friend who was the projectionist at the local cinema throughout his childhood. Soon memories of his first love affair with the beautiful Elena and all the high and lows that shaped his life come flooding back, as Salvatore `Toto' Di Vita [Jacques Perrin] reconnects with the community he left 30 years earlier.

Presented in the newly restored original camera negative materials and presented in two versions, which are the expanded 174 minute Director's Cut, incorporating more of Salvatore's backstory, and 124 minute Cannes Festival theatrical version.

FILM FACT: Awards: 1989 Cannes Film Festival - Grand Prix du Jury. 1989: Golden Globe Awards - Best Foreign Language Film. 1989: Academy Awards® - Best Foreign Language Film. 1991: BAFTA Awards - Best Film (Not in the English Language). Best Actor: Philippe Noiret. Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Salvatore Cascio. Best Original Screenplay: Giuseppe Tornatore. Best Film Music: Ennio Morricone and Andrea Morricone.

Cast: Philippe Noiret, Salvatore Cascio (child), Marco Leonardi (adolescent), Jacques Perrin (adult), Antonella Attili (young), Enzo Cannavale, Isa Danieli, Pupella Maggio (old), Agnese Nano (adolescent), Leopoldo Trieste, Nino Terzo, Giovanni Giancono and Brigitte Fossey (Extended cut)

Director: Giuseppe Tornatore

Producers: Franco Cristaldi and Giovanna Romagnoli

Screenplay: Giuseppe Tornatore

Cinematographer: Blasco Giurato

Composers: Ennio Morricone and Andrea Morricone

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.66:1

Audio: Italian: 5.1 HD-DTS Master Audio and 2.0 PCM Linear Stereo

Subtitles: English

Region: Region B/2

Running Time: 174 minutes and 124 minutes

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Arrow Academy

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: The successful Italian film director, Salvatore `Toto' Di Vita [Jacques Perrin], returns to his home village of Giancaldo, Sicily for the funeral of his old friend, Alfredo [Philippe Noiret], who was the projectionist at the local cinema throughout his childhood. As he returns to the old haunts, and as his girlfriend begins to ask him who the mysterious `Alfredo' was, Salvatore `Toto' Di Vita flashes back to his childhood in a post-war Italy, and soon memories of his first love affair with the beautiful Elena and all the high, lows and passions that would shape his adult life come flooding back, as Salvatore Cascio reconnects with the community he left 30 years earlier.

For what forms almost the entire first hour of the film, the action concerns itself with Salvatore Cascio's childhood years, firmly establishing both his newly discovered love of the cinema and his growing relationship and deep friendship with the father-like Alfredo, whilst his relationship at home with his own mother grows increasingly more fraught in the wake of his father's absence at war, before a clever visual device instantly advances the film a decade and introduces us to the now adolescent "Toto."

Upon its original Italian release the film ran to a total of 155 minutes [2:35:00], however due to a poor box office performance in its native country the film was withdrawn and cut considerably, to a more manageable length of 123 minutes, for its international release which subsequently became an instant success, and it is this theatrical release which garnered the film's numerous awards and widespread acclaim.

In 2002, film audiences saw the release of a third cut of the film, the arguably superior extended "Director's Cut," which runs at a fairly lengthy 174 minutes and incorporates a good deal more of Salvatore's back-story, effectively expanding on his relationship with Elena and incorporating a moving scene in which the pair reunite after a lengthy separation, adding both a greater sense of dimension and thematic depth to the overall piece.

Not only does Giuseppe Tornatore proved himself as a director of great quality and vision, he also ascertains himself as a master storyteller and fine screenwriter, charting Salvatore Di Vita's coming of age tale with great skill and fine attention to detail, suitably evoking a strong emotional response from the audience and beautifully balancing moments of humour and pathos; Giuseppe Tornatore deservedly picked up the BAFTA film award for Best Original Screenplay for his work.

Of course in watching the film, one of the great joys for any true cinema aficionados is in both identifying all the films screened at the eponymous Cinema Paradiso, from Jean Renoir's `Les bas-fonds' ['The Lower Depths'] [1936] to Luchino Visconti's ground-breaking Neo-realist drama `La Terra Trema' [1948] and Mario Mattoli's now rarely-seen musical comedy `I pompieri di Viggiù' [`The Firemen of Viggiu'] [1949], and picking up on all the various quotes and subtle cinematic references weaved throughout the film.

Performances across the board are quite superb, from Philippe Noiret's impeccably judged, BAFTA Award-winning performance as Alfredo, to Salvatore Cascio, Marco Leonardi and Jacques Perrin's respective performances as the child, adolescent and adult incarnations of Salvatore, with the BAFTA Award-winning Salvatore Cascio (Best Actor in a Supporting Role) delivering one of the most memorable child performances in cinema as the wide-eyed young "Toto."

Lensed by cinematographer Blasco Giurato, `Cinema Paradiso' proves quite the visual treat, perfectly capturing the alluring quality of the tonal Sicilian vistas, carefully observing how life within the village has evolved over the course of the film and cleverly juxtaposing the magic-realist quality of the cinema with the Neo-realist tones of contemporary Italian society with his own beautifully composed original photography.

Ennio Morricone's beautifully orchestrated, string-heavy score is a work of both great beauty and emotional power, accompanying the visuals with stirring effect, and the fact that he was overlooked for an Academy Award-nomination for his composition is a great travesty; not to mention the fact that the film received only a single Academy Award® nomination, but then again, what do awards matter?

Shot on location in director Giuseppe Tornatore 's hometown of Bagheria, Sicily, as well as Cefalù on the Tyrrhenian Sea, `Cinema Paradiso' proves an incredibly personal, powerful and affecting examination of friendship, love and cinema, and often described as a work of `nostalgic postmodernism', beautifully combines sentimentality, humour and pathos with a reflective and profound, generation-spanning coming of age tale to deliver what is without doubt one of cinema's greatest and most passionate celebrations of film, perfectly capturing the true essence of cinema and the endearing magical quality of film-watching.

Blu-ray Video Quality - `Cinema Paradiso' was exclusively restored by Arrow Films for this release. The original 35mm camera negative elements were scanned in 2K resolution at Technicolor Rome, with all grading and restoration work completed at Deluxe Digital Cinema, EMEA in London. In comparison to the previously released and reviewed Miramax edition of `Cinema Paradiso' on Blu-ray in the USA, I would say, there is no comparison. This new edition from Arrow Academy wins hands down. It arrives in a beautiful 1080p image quality and while darks may have a little less detail extension, the result is an image that looks richer, and offers better contrast. The grain structure is also sharper, more textured, and detail extends farther into the background. In comparison to the Arrow Academy Blu-ray, the Miramax looks very soft and smooth.

Blu-ray Audio Quality - The sound is much improved too. There are two options for both films, there is the 2.0 LPCM Linear Stereo and 5.1 HD-DTS Master Audio mix. Now it's nice to have both, but I found the 5.1 audio mix front loaded and lacking coverage in the rears. Finally the subtitles are not flawless in their translation with sometimes literal choices overcoming more appropriate options e.g. does anyone say "cut your mouth out," surely it's the slip of the tongue!

Blu-ray 2-Disc Special Edition Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary with director Giuseppe Tornatore and Italian cinema expert critic Millicent Marcus: Millicent Marcus's commentary is fine if you are new to the film and want a companion who tells you the meaning of the action throughout with some biographical detail. She is supplemented by excerpts of Giuseppe Tornatore speaking in English, explaining things like Philippe Noiret's casting and the importance of certain producers. Her approach is not very critical though and for the cine-literate viewers her explanation of what film is showing in the cinema may seem obvious. The commentary is only available on the Theatrical cut.

More than once in the past I've remarked that I'm not always a fan of so-called 'expert' commentary tracks, though I usually say that to introduce one that is actually an enthralling listen. The one here is provided by Millicent Marcus, Professor of Italian at Yale University and author of a number of books on Italian cinema, and I'd love to tell you that this is just such a commentary, but frankly it's anything but. Most of the time Ms. Millicent Marcus simply describes what's happening on screen ("Here we have Don Ciccio, the proprietor of the `Cinema Paradiso,' arguing with his distributor") or observes the purpose of shots or edits, which should be obvious to even a half-aware viewer. At times it plays almost like an audio description for the visually impaired (an irony that will not be lost on those who've seen the film). Perhaps the most bemusing moment for non-Italian speakers comes when Millicent Marcus elects to stop talking for a while to allow us to listen to a story Alfredo is telling the teenage Salvatore Di Vita, which is delivered in Italian and without English subtitles (you can call them up with the pop-up menu, but they're not on by default for the commentary track). Just occasionally Marcus breaks with her descriptive approach to offer a snippet of useful cultural detail and at one point finds parallels between the adoration of cinema and religious belief, a frankly fascinating theory that deserves to explored in more depth that it is here. Best of all are some welcome contributions from director Giuseppe Tornatore himself, which while teasingly brief and sparsely located, are always interesting.

A Dream of Sicily [52:00] A 52-minute documentary profile of Giuseppe Tornatore featuring interviews with director and extracts from his early home movies as well as interviews with director Francesco Rosi and painter Peppino Ducato, set to music by the legendary Ennio Morricone.

The documentary produced for either an Italian TV screening or home video release in which Giuseppe Tornatore explores the influence on his work of the Sicily of his childhood, which is illustrated with extracts from his films, including early documentary material shot in his home town of Bagheria. Rather thrillingly, this includes the very first footage he ever filmed, done on a borrowed camera at the age of 13 and whose framing and eye for arresting imagery puts the work of the average first year UK media student to shame. He charts his development through the people, places, events and films of the time and place, not in the style of a linear documentary portrait but the fragmented manner with which we tend to remember our past. It's an intriguing piece, although a couple of name captions are not translated (it is useful to know, for example, just who Peppino Ducato is to better contextualise his contribution), and Burt Lancaster's English monologue from Visconti's The Leopard [Il gattopardo] is curiously also subtitled in English, subtitles that retain the meaning of the speech but do not accurately reproduce the words.

A Bear and Mouse in Paradise [27:00] A 27-minute documentary on the genesis of `Cinema Paradiso,' the characters of Toto and Alfredo, featuring interviews with the actors who play them, Philippe Noiret and Salvatore Cascio as well as Giuseppe Tornatore.

Giuseppe Tornatore recalls his first experiences of cinema and how the idea for the film came about, then focusses on the key roles of Alfredo and young "Toto" and the actors who play them, with actors Philippe Noiret and Salvatore Cascio (now an adult, of course) providing their own recollections. Philippe Noiret in particular has some engaging memories, describing Salvatore Cascio as "a real brat because he came to be ruler of the shoot," but quickly tempering this with "He knew to be an actor he had to be a creator and a performer. He always invented new things. He was always spot on." His story of Salvatore Cascio's hatred of his cigars is backed up by an extract from what looks like the Cannes press conference, and he describes the shoot itself as an exhausting experience. Giuseppe Tornatore also talks about the main square location and the difficulty of shooting two key scenes involving the cinema exterior. An illuminating extra.

The Kissing Sequence [7:00] Giuseppe Tornatore discusses the origins of the kissing scenes with full clips identifying each scene.

Giuseppe Tornatore outlines how the idea of a priest censoring the films being shown in a provincial cinema was drawn from real-life (albeit stories told to him rather than first-hand experience) and discusses one of the film's most fondly remembered sequences, for which we're also given a textual breakdown of the actors and films involved - I can't reveal more without delivering spoilers for first-timers.

Original Director's Cut Theatrical Trailer and 25th Anniversary Re-Release Trailer [1:42] Headed by a Guardian reader poll that proclaims this "The greatest foreign film of all time" (I won't even start with what's wrong with that technically impossible claim) and a "timeless classic" (classics are always timeless), this does play on the film's romanticism and sentimentality, but is still a reasonable sell. Director's Cut Trailer [1:22] "Experience the passion that spanned the years," the cheerfully warm narration for the 4:3 framed American trailer for the director cut assures us. Unsurprisingly, perhaps, the love story is pushed to the fore here.

Special Booklet: A beautiful 32 page booklet that features new writing on the film by Italian cinema expert Pasquale Iannone, illustrated with original archive stills. The only negative aspect of this beautiful booklet, is that the wording is very hard to read, as it is printed in silver grey typeface against a black colour background.

Finally, `Cinema Paradiso' is such a fantastic classic film with heart-warming performances from Philippe Noiret and Salvatore Cascio who is such a delightful little child that you can forgive his misbehaviour. The big question is: if you already own this on DVD, is it worth buying the Blu-ray? The Audio/Video quality is of such a high calibre standard that even the best looking DVD up-scaled looks poor by comparison. The inclusion of the isolated score is terrific as this is one of the very best scores that Ennio Morricone wrote in his long and illustrious career and makes up for the missing documentary. None of the previous releases have adequately produced a surround track to properly showcase the beautiful score and this is the first to do so. This is a classic film which has been given the presentation it deserves and, whether you own the DVD or not, this purchase is definitely highly recommended and a total honour to add this to my ever expanding Blu-ray Collection.

But as a final conclusion, as you know I sign off with the name of my home entitled "Le Cinema Paradiso," well the reason for this is because `Cinema Paradiso' is such an all-time magical experience and one of my all-time favourite film and that is why I named my home after this glorious intelligent film, but of course I suspect you asking yourself why did I add the word "Le," well I did it to make it sound something different and has worked, as I often get asked this particular question. Very Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect movie, Aug. 10 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
World War II has just ended and life in the Sicilian village of Giancaldo centers around the Cinema Paradiso where townsfolk gather to see the exciting and glamorous life outside. Young Toto spends all his free time sneaking into the theatre for the movies and most especially for the old projectionist, Alfredo, who loves him like a son. Toto wants to grow up and show movies just like Alfredo, but one night, there is a terrible fire in the projection box.

This movie is simply perfect. It's nostalgic and sentimental and quite touching. The actors are uniformly excellent, especially the beautiful and wide-eyed Salvatore Cascio who plays Toto as a child and Marco Leonardi who gives a sensitive performance as teenage Toto. Philippe Noiret is the wonderful old projectionist who teaches Toto about life. In some ways, this movie is similar to The Last Picture Show; it's about the passage of time with the one constant being the local theatre. We watch as Toto grows up and the town modernizes, but the villagers retain their close bond with one another.

The soundtrack alone is enough to send you running for tissues; it's simply beautiful and heartbreaking. The direction is outstanding, with nary a single wasted moment. In Italian with English subtitles, it's a universally-appealing story of a boy who falls in love with movies. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Homage To Cinema, May 31 2003
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
In spite of some extra scenes that I think are unnecessary, this extended new version of "Cinema Paradiso" stills makes a great impression on me. This Italian masterpiece about the growth of a Sicilian kid (Salvatore Cascio, in a brilliant debut) from childhood, adolescence (in the person of Marco Leonardi), to manhood (in the shape of French actor Jacques Perrin) through movies is marvelous, touching, and truly entertaining.
When I first saw "Cinema Paradiso" back in 1990, I fell in love instantly with it, thus becoming one of my favorite movies. The innocence of Toto as he wants to learn how to handle a projector, thanks to the help of Alfredo (French acting legend Philippe Noiret); the tough times in his adolescence, working as a projectionist, having an impossible romance with Elena, doing military service; and his loneliness as a movie producer in his adulthood. Everything caused me a great impact, and still does everytime I watch this film by Giuseppe Tornatore.
Now, in this extended version, I like the fact that Toto -as an adult -has the chance to see Elena again and discovers why they failed to meet at the Paradiso prior to his departure for Rome. In my opinion, that's the most important new scene of the movie. I really wanted to know that, and now I feel satisfied.
All in all, I still like this great work of love everytime I see it. A work of love towards life, innocence, romance and, above all else, movies. A great homage to cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost unbearably poignant, May 8 2003
By 
Paul S. Brewer "Paolo of USA" (Grand Rapids, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
This film should reach straight into the heart of every man who has loved his father or who has loved the man who stood in for his biological father who, for whatever reasons, couldn't be there. There have been many films about father-son relationships and some of those films have been great. Cinema Paradiso is one of those. It expresses in the most touching and beautiful images and with the most tender and powerfully moving music, the need of every man to find and cherish the love that lives in the deepest realms of his heart, of his soul. The final scene of this film expresses one man's discovery of this love.
Along with the final scene in Alan J. Pakula's film, "To Kill A Mockingbird", Cinema Paradsio's final scene is the most profoundly meaningful and touching visual metaphor found in any film I've ever seen. A treasure. Cinema Paradiso is a masterpiece of love and affection about - and for - the whole family of human souls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming..., Jan. 29 2003
By 
Amanda J. Sollenberger "amanda_sollenberger" (Curryville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
Last year, a good friend of mine, her boyfriend, and her best friend were in a terrible car crash. My friend along with her friend were killed and her boyfriend was seriously injured. Since both my friend and her boyfriend were in my film class, my professor showed this film.
At the time, I was impressed with it, the pain of what happened was all too real... but looking back, she made a good choice in showing the film. It showed me a little bit about dealing with loss as well as fulfilling your dreams... It's a wonderful movie about life, love, and passion... check it out for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the director's cut was a great disappointment, Nov. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
Most director's cuts of movies have novelty values. Some such as Blade Runner or the Extended Version of The Fellowship of the Ring not only enhance the experience but also made one wonder why the original versions were released at all. Sadly, the director's cut of Cinema Paradiso was a major disappointment. The addional footage in the first half, such as Toto losing his virginity were inconsequential, however the addition of a major sequence in the second half, when after the funeral, Toto met and rekindled his relationship with the now older Elena altered the trajectory of the movie and worst of all, diminished the emotionally charged ending.
The original version of Cinema Paradiso is one of my favourite films of all time. There is also little doubt that Tornatore is a wonderful film maker, however, in this case, the original editor(s) deserved praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cinema Paradiso - The New Version
CDN$ 97.39
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews