Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begs the question: When is a movie too long?
I became aware of the existence of over 50 minutes of additional scenes in this film in the past two years. The original, pruned version received the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 1990. I have owned the video for a decade. Then, last summer, the "new version" was shown in limited release, and a DVD was promised. With the addition of the deleted scenes,...
Published on Feb. 24 2003 by D. Movahedpour

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the director's cut was a great disappointment
Most director's cuts of movies have novelty values. Some such as Blade Runner or the Extended Version of The Fellowship of the Ring not only enhance the experience but also made one wonder why the original versions were released at all. Sadly, the director's cut of Cinema Paradiso was a major disappointment. The addional footage in the first half, such as Toto losing his...
Published on Nov. 26 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begs the question: When is a movie too long?, Feb. 24 2003
By 
D. Movahedpour "doeadear" (CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
I became aware of the existence of over 50 minutes of additional scenes in this film in the past two years. The original, pruned version received the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film in 1990. I have owned the video for a decade. Then, last summer, the "new version" was shown in limited release, and a DVD was promised. With the addition of the deleted scenes, an entirely different film is created. Owning this DVD is owning a brand new version of the film's events.
Initially, the film was considered too long, and massive scenes were cut, removing any and all references to whatever happened to Salvatore's great love, Lina. The original version of the film focused mainly on the young boy, fatherless in post-WWII Sicily, bonding with the childless cinema projectionist, Alfredo. The young Toto grows into the teen-aged Salvatore, who falls in love with the beautiful and unattainable Lina. They are parted. That is the last we see. Salvatore returns to his village many years later to attend the funeral of Alfredo, and the film is told nearly entirely in flashback.
In this version, Salvatore is reunited with his lost love when he returns for the funeral. To think that this entire plot was removed from the film initially is almost unthinkable. There are other parts of the film that could have been edited to keep these additional scenes in. I don't know what the producers, directors or the studio were thinking when they edited a huge part of the movie out.
Well, now the film is complete. Whereas the original version focused mainly on the relationship of Toto and Alfredo, we now see a conclusion to Toto and Lina as well. And, we understand the ending of the film in an entirely, much less sentimental light. Salvatore has spent the bulk of his life mourning his lost love, not returning to his village, and not knowing of Alfredo's hand in the matter. He is facing life-changing decisions, and must ultimately dip into a pool of acceptance and forgiveness. Without the addition of these scenes, the point is lost.
This was an excellent film to begin with, now it is nearly perfect. It is bittersweet and touching, and all the more realistic with the deleted scenes returned. If you own the original version, you must own this version. You will see this film in a completely different light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Both versions in one box!, May 24 2004
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso (Bilingual) (DVD)
I loed this film in its theatrical release in 1989. I certainly felt it deserved the Academy Award (for best foreign language film). I also loved seeing the full version that lays out all the details of the relationships, and their resolution.
I also enjoyed reading everyone's opinion as to whether the original version or the longer one is better. I can't decide myself. But a critical point to make is that THIS DVD contrains both versions (on either side of the DVD). So regardless of which you prefer (and here is the perfect opportunity to find out), it is on this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As great as movies can get. Period., April 16 2003
By 
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
First of all, there are two versions of the film on DVD, and everyone has their own opinion on which one they like.
I had only seen the 2 hour version once, so while I loved the movie, I had no real sentimental attachment to that version. In my own personal opinion, once you see the "new" version, you can't go back. It answers the questions left open in the edited version - it's like seeing the original and the perfect sequel all in one.
Anyhow, as one who normally enjoys action films and comedies, this film is a real change of pace for me. But anyone who doesn't love it is completely out of their minds. It sucks you in and makes you an emotional part of it. The story, coupled with an incredible score, takes you away.
It will also take your date away if you choose a special someone to watch it with. The ending montage is fantastic.
I have a DVD collection of about 100 movies, and this one, by far, gets the most playtime. Get it. Best money ever spent on a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the director's cut was a great disappointment, Nov. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso - The New Version (DVD)
Most director's cuts of movies have novelty values. Some such as Blade Runner or the Extended Version of The Fellowship of the Ring not only enhance the experience but also made one wonder why the original versions were released at all. Sadly, the director's cut of Cinema Paradiso was a major disappointment. The addional footage in the first half, such as Toto losing his virginity were inconsequential, however the addition of a major sequence in the second half, when after the funeral, Toto met and rekindled his relationship with the now older Elena altered the trajectory of the movie and worst of all, diminished the emotionally charged ending.
The original version of Cinema Paradiso is one of my favourite films of all time. There is also little doubt that Tornatore is a wonderful film maker, however, in this case, the original editor(s) deserved praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of those great movies from Europe., Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've seen this movie years ago and it's one of my favorite. The music in the movie is so wonderful that I brought a audio CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie plot, July 4 2014
received the abridged version (120 mins) instead of the uncut version. i thought i was geting the 2-disc item containing both versions as described by other reviews. great movie plot, cinematography and most specially the music. quite similar to "the chorus" for the opening/beginning scenes (present time then flashback); actor might have been the same (i failed to check credits). great addition to my foreign films collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best films i've ever watched.A Great love story and great relationship between a Fatherless child and and an adult that replaced his father. Great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real Wonderful movie!, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie exceeds expectations. It's a great movie experience. Wonderful story Worth watching more than once! I Truly Loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but the disc does not work in my DVD player, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Nuovo Cinema Paradiso (DVD)
This review is not about the film which is great no doubt (I have seen it many times before).

However, it is an original version (Italian) and my DVD does not play this format (Zone 2) which my spouse informs me is European generally.

I did not check this seeing it is sold on amazon.ca, and will unfortunately have to return it.

Product arrived a day earlier and very well packaged, no complaints there.

C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cinema Paradiso (Import), June 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cinema Paradiso [Import] (DVD)
It was everything I expected and more. Such a beautiful movie about real life and not about a fantasy life. The music was superb, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cinema Paradiso - The New Version
CDN$ 53.81
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews