biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage vd2016beauty Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars194
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2015
A bit difficult to figure out at first but makes great rice, of desired consistency, consistently! Well designed and executed. Cleaning has been easy so far.
Why one star less, then?
Cord is a bit shorter than desired. Another foot longer and I would have to rearrange the kitchen counter a bit less!
A bigger beef is about the need to send the entire machine for changing the battery for the timer and memory. Even though it is a once in a 4-5 year hassle, shipping costs, replacement costs etc could and should have been avoided! Possibly easily!!
Replacement items are expensive, at least the inner pan which costs ~50-60 dollars (Canadian); the inner lid and spatula etc are not expensive (not sure about shipping charges for those).
The Canadian service and parts link is not clearly indicated in the manual. Writing to Zojirushi resulted in the following links:
http://www.zojirushi.com/app/spare_parts/category/rice-cookers/NS-ZAC10/18,%20NS-ZCC10/18
http://www.zojirushi.com/app/service_centers (Canadian ones towards the bottom of the list of addresses)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
We love this product. The rice comes out beautifully, as do the steel cut oats (that's all we've used it for so far). We love the timer, which itself works fine. It plays a tune for you when it's ready: so nice to wake up to that smell. The only drawback we can identify so far is the fact that it takes about 45 minutes to cook rice, which is longer than some of the basic, cheaper cookers. To be fair though, we feel that the rice comes out much nicer in the Zojirushi, so if you can generally wait 45 minutes to eat, you will have a more enjoyable meal.

We can't say we saw much of a difference between the "hard" and "soft" rice settings, but both were quite nice.

As for shipping, we were very happy. The cooker came in 2 days I think (might have been three, but we ordered on Sunday). Well packaged, came in perfect condition.

Very good Made in Japan quality. I have confidence there is no lead, cadmium, or BPA leeching into my food.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
It's a fine machine and all, I'm just not sure if it's worth the price. I haven't personally found it making rice better than my previous $70 Tiger or just a $30 machine from any retailer. Being Chinese we grew up with a rule of thumb of how much water to add and it's served us just fine. Will keep the machine but I'd recommend those who are considering this to evaluate your bang for the buck before buying.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2010
A great rice cooker. Not sure if lesser priced fuzzy rice cookers are of same quality, but I'm happy with it. Very versatile...

Made white rice, sushi rice, mixed rice with chicken/soya sauce, steel cut oats for breakfast and congee so far. And cleanup was a snap! Love it. Was making rice on a stove for last 14 years and thought nothing can beat it for quality and taste. Rice is a preference thing, but I can tell you that with the same rice, stove cooked rice and the rice from this cooker is not the same taste and texture. I was impressed with that fact alone. I love the timer function! Stove rice cooking doesn't have that feature!

The only negative to this rice cooker is rice takes nearly twice as long as compared to stove top, so, planning must be thought out a bit more!
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
I like it because it has more features. Also the 'pot' inside is better than what I used to have, not aluminum.
The only thing I noticed is that with regular white rice I have to add an additional cup of water to make it soft. For example for 3 cups of rice I put 5 cups of water. Maybe it is the type of rice.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
Very easy to use, great results for brown rice. Haven't tried other types yet. Very clean to cook, not like the cheap ones with the glass lid and the hole in it. Easy to clean. And it plays a melody when it starts and finishes!!!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
We used to have a 1 button simple rice cooker by National, that thing still works fine but we just thought it would be nice to have an upgrade. After researching for awhile we decided to get this model from Zojirushi. I think the operating instructions are simple, there are presets for different kinds of rice. We made congee a couple of times, the first time was alright since we weren't sure of how much water to add. I think the water indicators inside the pot for the congee level needs to be increased. After we increased the water amount for the 2nd time, the congee was perfect!! I found the price on Amazon.ca to be the best and shipping during the holiday season only took 1 week. The rice cooker was packaged well and there were no signs of damage on the box. So far we are very happy with the purchase!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2014
I've cooked rice in a regular pot a lot and do well. This made better rice on my first try.
White, brown, and glutinous rice cooked in this unit and all came out perfectly.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
C'est très bien, par rapport d'autres cuiseurs électrique
surtout venant de Chine, le durée de vie est trop courte ( 1 ans max )
Le + le ris reste au chaud sans être mouillé ou trop dur !
Je suis d'origine Vietnamienne, et les cuiseurs de riz, j'ai dû acheté pas mal depuis mon arrivé en France en 1968.
Conseil aux amateurs de riz, à ce prix il y a pas à hésiter.
Mme HO - France -
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2012
Our 20year old Salton rice cooker/steamer died so we were looking for something to replace it. We always wondered if the "fancy" rice cookers were worth it. This one definitely is! Perfect jasmine, basmati and brown rice! The best feature is waking up every morning to hot steal-cut oatmeal. We've even made polenta in it. No more molten cornmeal burns! This gets used every day in our home.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions