Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good
For a person who does not exactly fit into the demographic for this movie nor likes that many kid flicks, I must say I thouroughly enjoyed this movie. The story is well-written and, taking into account the fact that this is a family movie, it is extremely well-acted. It tells the story of Emily and her neighborhood business of secret-keeper and her relization that keeping...
Published on July 13 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Call it "Lawn Cats"
Sorry, folks who loved it, this movie did not engage me on any level. How it can be considered good or wholesome family fare is beyond me. I am a huge fan of Evan Rachel Wood's, whose exit from kid roles this surely was, but she deserved a better script and story, and worse, she photographed so painfully thin (we daren't use the a-word) it was distracting.
If...
Published on Feb. 24 2003 by Allen McQuaid


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly good, July 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
For a person who does not exactly fit into the demographic for this movie nor likes that many kid flicks, I must say I thouroughly enjoyed this movie. The story is well-written and, taking into account the fact that this is a family movie, it is extremely well-acted. It tells the story of Emily and her neighborhood business of secret-keeper and her relization that keeping others' secrets (and hiding your own) is complicated. It also has charming subplots about first love, a new baby and determination, as well as the sorted secrets of all the kids in Emily's neighborhood Anyone who has seen either of the three principal actors in anything else will in my opinion be pleased with the movie and also find themselves feeling good after seeing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits all the right notes- great family viewing!, June 18 2003
This review is from: Liitle Secrets (VHS Tape)
If you're looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your kids, check out this one...it tells a very believable story with heart and integrity. Although it is probably geared towards females ages 7-12, it kept this adult riveted.
At the heart of the film is fourteen year old Emily (played by Rachel Wood) who is the neighborhood "secret keeper", charging a small fee so that the neighborhood children can unload their guilty consciences (and sometimes a broken item or two) with her. Unbeknownst to her young clients, however, Emily has her own secret, a huge one, which she has been hiding for years.
Meanwhile, complications ensue as Emily finds that secrets and lie have a way of growing more difficult to hide.
All of this unfolds in a very believable way. How refreshing to find a film that teaches solid values without heavy moralizing or preaching to its audience. I'm buying several copies to give as gifts because I think films like this deserve support..and, hopefully, more like this will be made. Highest recommendation for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits all the right notes- great family viewing!, June 18 2003
This review is from: Liitle Secrets (VHS Tape)
If you're looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your kids, check out this one...it tells a very believable story with heart and integrity. Although it is probably geared towards females ages 7-12, it kept this adult riveted.
At the heart of the film is fourteen year old Emily (played by Rachel Wood) who is the neighborhood "secret keeper", charging a small fee so that the neighborhood children can unload their guilty consciences (and sometimes a broken item or two) with her. Unbeknownst to her young clients, however, Emily has her own secret, a huge one, which she has been hiding for years.
Meanwhile, complications ensue as Emily finds that secrets and lie have a way of growing more difficult to hide.
All of this unfolds in a very believable way. How refreshing to find a film that teaches solid values without heavy moralizing or preaching to its audience. I'm buying several copies to give as gifts because I think films like this deserve support..and, hopefully, more like this will be made. Highest recommendation for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits all the right notes- great family viewing!, June 18 2003
This review is from: Liitle Secrets (VHS Tape)
If you're looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your kids, check out this one...it tells a very believable story with heart and integrity. Although it is probably geared towards females ages 7-12, it kept this adult riveted.
At the heart of the film is fourteen year old Emily (played by Rachel Wood) who is the neighborhood "secret keeper", charging a small fee so that the neighborhood children can unload their guilty consciences (and sometimes a broken item or two) with her. Unbeknownst to her young clients, however, Emily has her own secret, a huge one, which she has been hiding for years.
Meanwhile, complications ensue as Emily finds that secrets and lie have a way of growing more difficult to hide.
All of this unfolds in a very believable way. How refreshing to find a film that teaches solid values without heavy moralizing or preaching to its audience. I'm buying several copies to give as gifts because I think films like this deserve support..and, hopefully, more like this will be made. Highest recommendation for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hits all the right notes- great family viewing!, June 18 2003
This review is from: Liitle Secrets (VHS Tape)
If you're looking for a wonderful movie to watch with your kids, check out this one...it tells a very believable story with heart and integrity. Although it is probably geared towards females ages 7-12, it kept this adult riveted.
At the heart of the film is fourteen year old Emily (played by Rachel Wood) who is the neighborhood "secret keeper", charging a small fee so that the neighborhood children can unload their guilty consciences (and sometimes a broken item or two) with her. Unbeknownst to her young clients, however, Emily has her own secret, a huge one, which she has been hiding for years.
Meanwhile, complications ensue as Emily finds that secrets and lie have a way of growing more difficult to hide.
All of this unfolds in a very believable way. How refreshing to find a film that teaches solid values without heavy moralizing or preaching to its audience. I'm buying several copies to give as gifts because I think films like this deserve support..and, hopefully, more like this will be made. Highest recommendation for this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The "Little Secrets" Introducing Evan Rachael Wood, April 19 2003
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Little secrets is one of my faves. It gave me tears, laughter, and knowledge. It begins with A 14-year-old girl named Emily (Evan RachealWood). Enjoying her summer filled with practicing for a symphony audition with her violin and a lil help from her violin teacher, Pauline (Vivica A. Fox). During her free time, Emily has a secret keeping business which is 50 cents a secret.Her customers are the children in her neighborhood. There's Issabelle, her best friend jennie's lil sis who wants to grow up too fast.Greg, a chubby shoplifter who takes anything or everything,and many others.Then David Lenox,15 and Phil Lenox,12(David Gallagher and Mike Angarano(total hottie)) move into the house next door. When Emily lets a secret about Phil telling Emily A secret about David slip,it causes a giant mess.And on top of that, Emily's Mom is having her first ever child (Emily's adopted)and Emily's upset that people will find out she's adopted. Will the stress cause Emily to not get into the symphony Or will her friends play a little "wwap the o wit wa" and pull her out of the sinkhole she get's into. Watch the movie and find out.This is a movie the whole family will love. It is rated PG for mild language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's A Secret!, March 26 2003
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Little Secrets" stars Evan Rachel Wood from the television series "Once And Again" as Emily, a young teenage violinist who hopes to have a successful music career. While her friends are away at summer camp, Emily becomes a secret keeper. Children who are several years younger than her pay her to listen to their secrets and Emily is very good at keeping a secret. She knew she could do it when she was very young and decided it would be a very marketable skill. Emily also offers advice about maintaining the secret to the children. When a new family arrive, Emily finds a very close friend and a potential love interest. Of course with friendships and potential relationships come complications, and Emily eventually learns that "to be close to someone you can't keep secrets from them". Throughout the story, Emily is very good at keeping other people's secrets, but underneath it all she is hiding a big secret all of her own, and that secret is... sorry- it's a secret!
When I first put on this DVD I had high expectations. I was expecting something very special like the movie "A Little Princess". However what I got seemed a lot more like "The Babysitter's Club". In saying that though, although not being a masterpiece, "Little Secrets" was not a bad movie. I have since watched it several more times and the movie is now growing on me. In fact I rented the movie first before buying it. And also, I'm definitely sure we're gonna be hearing more great things about Evan Rachel Wood.
The DVD features a Commentary by writer and director, a short Making-of featurette and a Blooper reel that is actually quite funny. The real bonus here though is an Exclusive soundtrack CD, which you'd be very surprised to find on a fairly minor release such as this.
"Little Secrets" is a nice little discovery. Now here's the dilemma: do you tell your friends? Or do you keep it a secret?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!!, March 24 2003
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I actually went into this movie with some trepidation. I expected it to be kind of cheesy and lame, but I wanted something different, so I decided to rent it. I did it mainly because I am a big fan of Once and Again's Evan Rachel Wood (Emily) and she did not disappoint me. Emily is a girl who gets paid to keep secrets and she's also an aspiring violinist preparing for a big audition. Her mother is very pregnant and Emily is not too thrilled. Then, a new family moves in next door and she becomes friends with their son, Phillip. Eventually, the weight of secrets -- her own, the ones she's keeping for her job, and one that Phillip tells her -- becomes too much for her to bear alone. I really liked the ending as it allowed a cathartic release of Emily's big secret and it leaves the viewer with a positive message -- secrets are destructive and encouraging people to keep them is even worse. This movie is funny, uplifting, and refreshing. For anyone who doesn't normally like family movies, this one is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Call it "Lawn Cats", Feb. 24 2003
By 
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Sorry, folks who loved it, this movie did not engage me on any level. How it can be considered good or wholesome family fare is beyond me. I am a huge fan of Evan Rachel Wood's, whose exit from kid roles this surely was, but she deserved a better script and story, and worse, she photographed so painfully thin (we daren't use the a-word) it was distracting.
If satire is what closes on Saturday night, failed whimsy can't even get a tryout in Des Moines. Played seriously or for laughs, or even as tragicomedy, this might have been a winner of a film. As it was--too grim to be cute, and too un-kid-savvy to be of interest to any but the youngest children and the most sentimental adults--it's a mishmash that taxes every degree of suspension of disbelief. The female filmmakers know their homages and toss them around like confetti, lifting a little from this big-screen movie here and that TV sitcom there, but in-jokes do not a coherent film produce all by themselves.
True, no dogs were killed or toys chewed up by power mowers as in Lawn Dogs, but the spoofed exurban setting and wacky kids were there, as were the little paper bags that Mischa Barton pulled around in her little red wagon in the other movie, which was outright whimsy and therefore more successful even when it turned not only serious, but tragic. One of the wacky kids in Little Secrets catches cats in a butterfly net. Riding bikes with those silly helmets was better filmed in My Girl, That Night and any number of other kid films of recent years. There is even a grimy little boy Digging To China in his backyard (his secret, I suppose), but guess what, everybody? Evan Rachel Wood made her movie debut in a very good movie of the same name when she was ten! How hip a homage is THAT?
I could only wish, watching Evan's mostly unconvincing moves as a violinist, that she had been ten again, and could get a legitimate laugh with setting up a lemonade stand-like "doctor's office," like Lucy in Peanuts, by interacting with other ten-year-olds that were supposed to be her "clients" and paid 50 cents each for her "services," part of which was hiding broken and stolen stuff in these little brown lunch bags. But playing a 14-year-old going on 30, and looking as well turned out and coiffed as any sophisticated high school senior, E.R. reminded me that teenagers and little kids of today simply do not interact, no matter how much we might wish that they did, or that they did when we were younger, but don't any more. This meant, when things turned serious in the movie, as they did all too quickly, the descent into bathos rather than pathos was accelerated, the skids greased by making Evan Rachel Wood the youngest movie protagonist ever to have her very own Inner Child.
In terms of child stars with speaking parts, Little Secrets is the Movie Of The Year. Even the kids who were seen but not heard, and there were far more of them throughout, will be able to look back fondly, along with their agents, and say they were part of it. But as entertainment today, one star--with or without your kids in tow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars depth , sensitivity & humor in a family movie, Feb. 13 2003
This review is from: Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie delighted even my husband - who does not do the kid flick thing. My children all loved it - age 6-10, though only the eight and up crowd understood all of the elements. What amazed the adults is that here was a charming movie of an unusual but believable over-achiever who simply profits by keeping secrets for other children. The characters we follow through the movie are entirely entertaining, although there were a few minor lapses in acting believability in some of the younger children in supporting roles.
The movie keeps the audience interested and entertained from one element to another as the secret keeper's own secrets sensitively unfold. We considered this worth watching several times and that is not something we usually do.
The drama of the story is not quite Oscar Material, maybe a 4.5 stars, but for a family movie, Mom and Dad will be pleasantly surprised and satisfied that it was money - and time - well spent. If you are looking for a stirring and entertaining movie for children age 8-100, this one should please everyone. I strongly recommend this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Secrets (with Limited Edition CD premium) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 38.99 CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews