Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must MUST see for all.
One of the most magnificent films and most sensuous ever made. I rented "Women in Love" years ago over and over again, until I gave up and finally bought a copy. I have grown attached to this film. Glenda Jackson deservedly won oscar for her portrayal as Gudrun. Cinematographer should have won too for his elegant photography.
When discussing this film...
Published on Nov. 25 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'WOE! MAN IN LOVE"
Well, ISN'T it all about forbidden fruit?
Or as our beloved Cher would say "Snap out of it!" That's what Jennie Linden [Ursula} should say to Alan Bates [a comedic turn as the misguided DHL veiled as Birkin] regarding his comments about pure male love. Leading poor Gerald [Oliver Reeed - smouldering] on and on and on - and Gerald simply cannot commit to...
Published on June 19 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must MUST see for all., Nov. 25 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
One of the most magnificent films and most sensuous ever made. I rented "Women in Love" years ago over and over again, until I gave up and finally bought a copy. I have grown attached to this film. Glenda Jackson deservedly won oscar for her portrayal as Gudrun. Cinematographer should have won too for his elegant photography.
When discussing this film with other film buffs, they keep mentioning the "most" brilliant scene, the nude scene with Alan Bates and Oliver Reed. I agree it's brilliant and exotic, but there are others that are beautiful, graceful and unforgettable: 1) Jennie Linden's nude scene with Alan Bates, circling gracefully around one another in a field while a beautiful score of music plays in the background. 2) Jackson's dance and graceful movement while reaching for a tree branch and slowly descending to the ground and back again, while Linden sings "Pretty Bubbles". 3) Linden's reconciliation with Bates starting with "See what a flower I found you?" 4) Jackson's gorgeous elongated eyes behind a veil putting on a costume in Switzerland while having an affair and Stravinsky plays in the background.
No matter how many times I see this film, I find new beautiful discoveries. I pledge people to give this one a chance and I promise it will be worth while and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Russell's most enduring work...., March 8 2000
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
This has to be one of the most memorable treatments of Lawrence's work.
The film explores all three relationship possibilites (male-female, male-male, and female-female) revealing the true underlying drives of each sex. The performances of *all* cast in this film are exemplary. Not only do Bates, Reed, and Jackson turn in unforgettable performances, but other characters (Jennie Linden as Ursula, Vladek Sheybal, Eleanor Bron, to name a few) are inspired to excel equally.
Really this is a film which will haunt and force you to view it many many times. Each time you view it you will find more depth and more of Lawrence's insight into the life force behind men and women.
This is not a film for the faint-hearted, or for casual viewing. It is a heavy hitter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The movie that made Ken Russell known to the world, Aug. 7 2009
By 
Omnes - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Women in Love (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
If there is one British movie made in the sixties that people should see, it's definitely women in love. An adaptation of a great British novel by D H Lawrence, it is a story where two sisters, both with different personalities but with the same desire for love, live their respective relationships with the aristocrat Gerald Crich and Rupert Birkin, his best friend. Shot exactly like his documentaries for the BBC, Ken Russell shows his talent with the use of symbolism and, like a neo-realistic Italian movie, he manages to represent the life of the British society with an extremely seductive power. And with his excellent actors, who each gave some of the most incredible and passionate performances I ever saw in cinema, it is no wonder that Ken Russell became respected in mainstream cinema during the seventies. For if it hadn't been for this movie, none would have heard of his Music Lovers, of its amazing actors, and seen what is still considered controversial in a mainstream movie, which is full frontal male nudity, during a wrestling scene between Alan Bates and Oliver Reed.

Both a pioneer in the art of moviemaking and for british cinema, it was the beginning of Ken Russell's controversial, but fascinating career. And the first of his excellent adaptations of D H Lawrence's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent presentation of Lawrences warm blooded themes, Jan. 10 2002
By 
Doug Anderson (Miami Beach, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
Film versions of novels rarely get everything right but this comes pretty close. I especially like how effective the film is at conveying the importance of the body and physical sensation so vital in Lawrence's writing. I think a film can only attempt to show what the book more specifically says so to the mind the book will always be preferred but with a writer like Lawrence film makes perfect sense. In fact Lawrences flaw is perhaps that he at times uses too many words when an image would suffice. So I love that someone as visually audacious as Ken Russell made this film. I've seen it many times and always love different things about it. Russell is usually equated with excess but here everything exists in just the right amount, nothing is overdone, he finds just the right way to convey literary content without overly revering it and so framing it too neatly. Russell remains true to the book,and to his credit the way he injects the Lawrentian themes enlivens his characters, make them seem even more vital which is no small accomplishment and so the film never feels "literary" even though it is very literary in the best sense. To Lawrence love and any kind of relationship was always marked with struggle and restlessness because it could never be perfected. He was not interested in the bourgeoisie convention of marriage which domesticated love into something else but in its truest most uncompromised state. So in this film Ken Russell gives us that. Not every detail of the whole story but the essential feeling of love as experienced by four very different temperaments and all four main characters are very different types indeed, and all react differently to passion and interpret its meaning differently also. The most beautiful scenes are the wordless ones when the characters stop analyzing what their lives are about and allow themselves to simply inhabit their own passion and instincts. I think Russell is very true to Lawrence's concerns, perhaps shares them, but articulates them in his own visual way which really makes this a kind of collaboration with Lawrence as some of the scenes have no precedent in the book. The characters all remain complex and interesting and much remains unresolved because it is unresolvable. He also did a version of Women in Love's companion novel The Rainbow which is only about half as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'WOE! MAN IN LOVE", June 19 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
Well, ISN'T it all about forbidden fruit?
Or as our beloved Cher would say "Snap out of it!" That's what Jennie Linden [Ursula} should say to Alan Bates [a comedic turn as the misguided DHL veiled as Birkin] regarding his comments about pure male love. Leading poor Gerald [Oliver Reeed - smouldering] on and on and on - and Gerald simply cannot commit to anything - - fully! BUT, "Woe, Man in Love" would not have worked - not commercial, besides it was the era of emancipation from Victoriana Regina!
Frenetic fornication - suspenders, buttons, hose, undies, everything shreds. How could they remain so composed [err, controlled] while disrobing so violently? All that fumbling?? Magnificent period costumes by Shirley Russell.
This sad dirge is semi-autobiographical, inspired by DHL's experiences with the "Bloomsbury" intelligentsia - similar to the Byron/Polidori/Shelley "Gothic" set, but not quite as depraved.
Glenda Jackson devours the screen, and just about everything else as the Carnivorous Gudrun. Pandora's Box is unhinged and the demons are loose - she's Lillith [Adam's first wife/original dust] unleashed. Two, three Oscars can barely compensate her for this catharsis, and that voice! [One of the most sensual voice of the 20th Century - there's always Gielgud though......] The final sequence with Gerald at the sterile schloss devastates - it's pure vocal flagellation, the "whip of the soul". A prime acting lesson for the novice.
THE nude [male] wrestling scene? Observe Reed's face at the climax of the match - wrenching! Not forgetting Linden's close-up at the end of the movie - subtle, but Mr. Russell makes the point well-known.
Worthy of note : Catherine Wilmer as Gerald's Class conscious pre-prozac mother [or is she just having a bad day?] is this Gudrun in later years, all dried up? Still, tearing at the male?
Russell should not have bothered with "The Music Lovers" [brilliant though it is] the Tchaikovsky sequence says it all!
The work deserved five stars on the big screen - it impacts differently in this cropped version - 3 stars only.
A good companion piece ? "Sons and Lovers" [this time, Dean Stockwell as the younger DHL with Mary Ure], more about that later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if there isn't a woman (in love), then there's nothing..., July 23 2007
This review is from: Women in Love (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
i LOVE women in love.
probably one of my top movies of all time.
why?
it is just so satisfying.
watching this movie is like..."sitting with my beloved in a field with dasies growing all around us..."

so romantic!
and so chilling...
the drowning, the sex scenes, the ending...

it actually took me a couple watches before i really got into it.
now its on my tv all the time. while i get ready to go out, while i sit alone at home drinking a glass of wine after work...

this movie, i don't think, is for everyone.
its weird, to be sure. and not exactly action packed
(although i guess that depends on your definition)
but at least give it a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is also an everlasting remembrance of the great O.Reed!, May 3 1999
By 
lassi@swissonline.ch (ch 5466 Kaiserstuhl,Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
i loved him! i met him once on same filmsetting! and he said to me you are the only gentleman around here,as we said goodbye(both very drunk!)and kissed eachother(we would never meet again-what a pity!)i loved him as person and i loved his genius -his talent-i say: since my my adoration for beloved charles laughton i have never had the feeling of mystic("geheimnis") and anglosaxic-celtic beauty in spirit and body! morning for unic lover and artist! jon laxdal actor,author and theaterdirector in Kaiserstuhl;switzerland(e-mail:lassi@swissonline.ch)-(if you want to cry with me!)he left us only a few hours ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars COUNTRY MANNERS........., Dec 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Women in Love (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
STILL, very moving, erotic, devastating and rather frightening in its frank sexual portrayal! D.H. Lawrence veiled expose of the 'Bloomsbury' Set and 'other encounters' - today's imitations pale by comparison.
Masterful performances by Glenda Jackson, Alan Bates, and the late Oliver Reed. Lush direction - and adaptation by Ken Russell and superb costumes by Mrs Russell - all lovingly restored on the late but 'collector's item DVD. Quite true to the flamboyant novel and a veritable primer for the aspiring actor.
Now, how about more Russell Restorations??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, April 20 2001
By 
Sarah_Aliza (New England, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
Can you really do better that Alan Bates AND Oliver Reed? I love everthing about this movie. It is filmed so beautifully and Glenda Jackson's performance gives me the chills. Many people know about this film because of its treament of sexuality, but it is not raunchy or tasteless, it is perfect. This is one of my favorite movies to curl up and watch on a rainy afternoon. I suppose it is dated, but give it a chance and as crazy as it sounds, you too will start to fall in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This one really is a classic, Sept. 23 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Women in Love [Import] (VHS Tape)
If I had to list the 10 best films ever made, Women in Love would certainly make the grade. The acting is outstanding and the script intelligent. Add to that superb sets and costumes, a beautiful score, and some gorgeous cinematography (who can forget the image of Gerald in the snow?) .When I first saw this faithful adaptation of the Lawrence novel, it left me stunned for days. Few pictures ever achieve the rich dimension of Women in Love.
--A Guy in San Fran
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Women in Love (Widescreen) [Import]
Women in Love (Widescreen) [Import] by Ken Russell (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 74.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews