Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie
Of Mice and Men is a wonderfully done movie that is faithful to the book in every way. Gary Sinise, the director, did a fantastic job transforming the book into the movie. While reading the novel, a movie of images that the book created was played out in my mind. What I saw in my mind while reading the novel was exactly what I saw on the screen of Gary Sinise's film...
Published on March 19 2004 by Clayton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of mice and men
of mice and men is a great movie and book. its about two guys george and lenny how is locking for a jobb, but lenny is a retard he mess things up all the time.they want to earn money so they can buy a litle place.candy how is a old guy he will help them to buy the place.but lenny killed curlys wife and he ran away in to the wood, george find him first and killed lenny...i...
Published on May 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, March 19 2004
By 
Clayton (Thomasville, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Of Mice and Men is a wonderfully done movie that is faithful to the book in every way. Gary Sinise, the director, did a fantastic job transforming the book into the movie. While reading the novel, a movie of images that the book created was played out in my mind. What I saw in my mind while reading the novel was exactly what I saw on the screen of Gary Sinise's film. Sinise took the book word for word and even made several parts into a comedic scene. Sinise as George and John Malkovich as Lenny, make a brilliant on screen duo. Malkovich had a superb performance as mentally retarded Lenny. He fit in perfectly into character and made me believe that he had the mental capacity that Lenny had. Ray Walston, who played the role of candy, portrayed an old man with almost nothing left. He was extremely attached to his dog, which was shot to be put out of his misery. That left him with nothing but the dream of George and Lenny. This was a great movie that was done to perfection and I recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of mice and men, May 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Of Mice & Men [Import] (VHS Tape)
of mice and men is a great movie and book. its about two guys george and lenny how is locking for a jobb, but lenny is a retard he mess things up all the time.they want to earn money so they can buy a litle place.candy how is a old guy he will help them to buy the place.but lenny killed curlys wife and he ran away in to the wood, george find him first and killed lenny...i think that it was best that george killed him insted of curly because lenny dident now that george killed him, if curly had found him first he would now that he was going to be shoot.....
this story about friendship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Film-like transfer for the Special Edition, May 19 2004
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Fans of this movie version of John Steinbeck's "Of Mice and Men" will be happy to find that its Special Edition transfer is quite good, on par with major DVD releases of the most recent films. The picture quality is first-rate: color and contrast are superb, edge halos are rarely visible, and the picture depth gives the video a very film-like appearance. The golden-hued depictions of Central California are really brought to life. The excellent transfer will be greatly appreciated on larger screens. The audio itself is nothing special, owing to its lower budget origins, but it is clear.
The Special Edition was made as a "flipper" disc (presumably DVD-14, which is rarely used these days): one side has the movie, and other side is devoted to special features.
"Of Mice and Men" was mostly overlooked when it was released in 1992, but Gary Sinise made a very capable adaptation (from Horton Foote's screenplay). The highlight is an excellent performance by John Malkovich -- playing against type -- as Lennie. The movie is very straightforward, which allows for Steinbeck's grounded observations on humanity to come to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, March 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Review of Of Mice and Men
The Film Of Mice and Men is based on a novel by John Steinbeck. It is a very compelling story about two entirely different men who depend on each other in many ways. The two main characters in the novel are played by Gary Sinise as George, and John Malkovich as Lennie. Sinise who is also the director of the film, does a wonderful job following the novel and showing us a clear illustration of the story. George and Lennie are two farm workers who travel around looking for work. Lennie Small who is a very large man, suffers from a mental disorder, and depends on a much smaller man in George to take care of him. This story truly shows how two men can be the best of friends and worst of enemies at the same time. George sacrifices so much for Lennie, he not only takes care of himself and his own problems, but also those of Lennie. After reading the novel and watching the movie, I would highly recommend this novel and film to anyone who enjoys great stories about friendship and sacrifice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Of Mice and Men, March 19 2004
This review is from: Of Mice & Men [Import] (VHS Tape)
Today's films which are mass produced by Hollywood high rollers are filled with high-action expensive stunts that simply aim to bring in a profit. And though there are some touching stories still filtering through the nation's theatres, Of Mice and Men, is a highly entertaining film that challenges ones ideas about friendship and loyalty. It is noticeably made on a low budget, and amazingly it will keep your eyes locked on the screen. I can honestly say that it is the only movie made from a high-school text that was effortless to stay awake during. The controversial ending coupled with the brilliant acting of Gary Sinise, John Malkovich, and Ray Walston, will make this movie endurable for many years to come. After reading the novel, it is clear that Malkovich does the finest job of accurately capturing his character, Linny. He does an unbelievable job of portraying himself as a giant-sized man, with a child-sized brain. If you are considering watching the movie, you should read the book beforehand and then view the film and see how closely related the two are. As for the ending, prepare yourself for an emotional scene that will leave you questioning your own ideas on friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get more perfect than this..., Oct. 25 2003
This review is from: Of Mice & Men [Import] (VHS Tape)
As an enthusiastic fan of John Steinbeck, I cannot think of a more perfect package than a Steinbeck novel adapted to film and starring John Malkovich and Gary Sinise, with the added bonus of Gary Sinise directing. This has to be one of Steinbecks most loved tales and the casting of Gary Sinise (George) and John Malkovich (Lennie) is pure genius. No one could possibly have captured the gentle giant, Lennie, any better than John Malkovich. Furthermore, if you love the book, it loses nothing in translation to film. A moving tale of two men travelling for work, Lennie continually gets into trouble purely because of his childlike innocence which is misunderstood by other adults who only see a big man who should know better. George does his best to protect Lennie but unfortunately, all of George's efforts to keep Lennie out of trouble by promising his dream of tending rabbits is just one more job away if he behaves himself come to the tragic finale that makes this such an enchanting tale. Sinise & Malkovich are so convincing as these wonderful characters, it could not fail to touch even the hardest heart. I love John Malkovich - but this, to me, is his best performance ever. Steinbeck movies attract the greats, John Garfield and Spencer Tracy in Tortilla Flat for example, but of all the adaptations I've seen, this is by far the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MASTERFUL ADAPTATION OF CLASSIC STEINBECK NOVEL, Oct. 14 2003
By 
Shashank Tripathi (Gadabout) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
What a masterful and faithful portrayal of Steinbeck's classic (eponymous) novel. The screenplay brings to life the tragic yet uplifting story of loyalty and the kind of bond that can grow between men that we are often reluctant to acknowledge, much less show.
Aside from the story, the cast is what really makes this film. I have always held a soft spot for Gary Sinise after his role in Forrest Gump, wherein his character portrayed another facet of the bonding between men made brothers by cruel circumstance, yet can grow and flourish as the years and other circumstances come to pass. Here, as Lenny's friend and protector against a world that baffles and confuses him, he shows the kind of rough-edged tenderness and affection that both endears us to his plight, and fills us with the dread of what we know must come between the men.
John Malkovich shows his range as an actor by bringing to life the dull-witted but pure-hearted Lenny, in a way that will tug at your heartstrings. I found myself both laughing (in a sad way) at Lenny's ineptness in dealing with a world clearly more confusing than his limited wits can manage, and crying over his being targeted for taunting and abuse by cruel and crude men, and ultimately done in by his brute strength when it was lacking the direction and temper given by his friend George.
A pleasant surprise was Ray Walston as the aged but gentle and good-hearted ranch hand Candy, who has no one in life to love but his old sheepdog, who, like him, he knows, must ultimately be "put down" because of age and the wear and tear that a life of hard labor has worn down. The scene of his finally surrendering his faithful canine companion to be euthanized by a gunshot to the back of the head by another well-meaning field hand is very heartbreaking. Having grown up with the "Uncle Martin" of "My Favorite Martian" Walston, seeing his adept performance in a dramatic role gave me a new appreciation for his versatility as a character actor.
Those who watch this film should allow plenty of time alone to view it straight through with no interruptions. Swallow your pride and keep a box of tissues handy, and some time afterwards for quiet contemplation and "recovery."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies!, Aug. 10 2003
By 
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Of Mice and Men is mainly about friendship. George is always there for Lenny and Lenny is always there for George. Sadly, this movie's also about shattered dreams. But hey that's reality.
I don't understand why anyone would hate this movie. The acting is flawless...it's not overdone or underdone! The directing was awesome, they got the full meaning of the book out...the music even fit perfectly!! You'll fall in love with George and Lenny. I've seen this movie a few times now..and I've cried everytime. It's the only depressing movie I love (and probably the only one I'll love). This movie also made me love Gary Sinise!! He's such a wonderul actor...and director..and producer...but of course John Malckovich did a great job as well ^_^ It's very sad how this didn't win any oscars...but then again, Lord Of the Rings didn't get best picture...so maybe I don't like the Academy Awards! :P This movie...left me speechless afterwards. Of Mice and Men is for anyone with a heart! I simply love everything about it and can't find anything bad to say. (Which is rare for me ^_^)So...if you haven't seen it, SEE IT NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine adaptation of what is most likely Steinbeck's best book, May 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
"Of Mice and Men" is an adaptation of the famous John Steinbeck book. The director of the film, Gary Sinise, also stars as George. His performance is commanding and really makes the audience empathize with his feeling that Lennie, played by John Malkovich, is kind of ruining his life. George often wondered what it would have been like if he didn't have to take care of Lennie, but he never let Lennie know that.
The film follows the story of two men just trying to get by. Set during the Depression in the hometown of writer Steinbeck's hometown of Salinas, California, it adds a little bit extra to the film, instead of just shooting it all in the Midwest or on soundstages. There are farmlands out in California, its not just Los Angeles, but many people don't think so. The film is essentially an ensemble piece but the ensemble is much smaller in comparison to that of a film like "Traffic", in which there are 147 speaking parts.
Given the sensitivity of the material, John Malkovich's performance as Lennie, the gentle but intimidating giant companion to George, is the best in the film. If this film were a ship, Malkovich is the captain and Sinise is first mate. Malkovich's portrayal of Lennie shines stays good throughout the duration of the film, but in the scenes where he asks George to tell him about the little place of their own, he seems so childlike its like you're watching a five-year-old on screen. He holds your eyes to the screen.
The best scenes in the movie are when Lennie and George are talking alone and unfortunately, there are hardly enough of them. When you see the chemistry these two actors have together, its incredible.
The slight downfall to this movie is the completely annoying and overbearing performance by Casey Siemaszko as Curley. I really wanted to slap him through every scene where he was shown. This movie could've easily gotten four or five stars but he had to ruin it. Sherilyn Fenn more than made up for his faults to deliver a good, strong performance. She was said to have a "wandering eye" in the book and she pulled it off perfectly in the film. She was very flirtatious in her mannerisms and in the way she spoke to George.
Since it was set in the farmlands, the rustic look of everything was very fitting. The music worked well for the film, even though composer Mark Isham missed out on two wasted musical sequences, one being the fight between Curley and Lennie, the other being the end of the film where George shoots Lennie in the back of the head. Usually these types of scenes call for some seriously sad music, but he used his skill sparingly.
All in all, the film was very faithful to the book. The performances were good, despite one way-too-over-the-top one, and everything worked really well to bring the book to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent non-romantic movie, April 3 2003
By 
zonaras (Jimbo's House of Pie) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
This is one of the most fascinating movies that I have seen. It is radically different from most that people watch and are marketed as well. I have not read the book, so I lack the primary source inspration for the film.
What I liked about it was that there was no win for anybody. No happy ending, no romance. The main character, George, is the guy who has to deal with it all and put up with all of the nonsense, but still remains relativly intact and in control of the situation. George's friend Lennie was a mentally retarded man who meant no harm but accidentally hurt people and animals with his brute strength. The ranch owner's son Curley was a trouble maker who picked fights and was hated by his wife, who tried to seduce other men. The wife, the only female character, was jaded because she married Curley and didn't go on to Hollywood. There's no romance surrounding her, though. Lennie breaks her neck by accident and the other men on the ranch go to chase him down. George finds Lennie and shoots him in the head so that the other men led by Curley won't have the satisfaction of killing Lennie themselves. At the beginning of the movie Lennie and George share a dream of having a small farm with Lennie taking care of the rabbits. This never happens, and George flees the scene. Overall, this is a great antidote to all the happy go lucky, action packed stuff out there. It's profoundly pessimistic, and all the non-deluded of the world recognize that life and existence are the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import]
CDN$ 78.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews