Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done
This is a great remake of this title. I have not seen it , because it was a gift to my sister. She enjoyed it.
Published 2 months ago by David Snow

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of mice and men
of mice and men is a great movie and book. its about two guys george and lenny how is locking for a jobb, but lenny is a retard he mess things up all the time.they want to earn money so they can buy a litle place.candy how is a old guy he will help them to buy the place.but lenny killed curlys wife and he ran away in to the wood, george find him first and killed lenny...i...
Published on May 12 2004


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars of mice and men, May 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Of Mice & Men [Import] (VHS Tape)
of mice and men is a great movie and book. its about two guys george and lenny how is locking for a jobb, but lenny is a retard he mess things up all the time.they want to earn money so they can buy a litle place.candy how is a old guy he will help them to buy the place.but lenny killed curlys wife and he ran away in to the wood, george find him first and killed lenny...i think that it was best that george killed him insted of curly because lenny dident now that george killed him, if curly had found him first he would now that he was going to be shoot.....
this story about friendship
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done, May 13 2014
By 
David Snow - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great remake of this title. I have not seen it , because it was a gift to my sister. She enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good classic to add to your library, Jan. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Remember this one from years ago, glad I was able to find it here.this is a good movie for the young and old . John Malkovich and Gary Sinise really come through in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was just what my daughter wanted, Jan. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My daughter has wanted a copy of this film for years, and has been unable to find one. I helped make her Christmas a little better by finding this and giving it to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You can't beat Steinbeck for the story, and Malkovich for the leading roll., Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Most are shy to watch 'the movie' after reading the book. Go for it. It is well worth the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gary Sinise Great, March 2 2006
By 
Peanut (British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Of Mice & Men [Import] (VHS Tape)
I have watched this movie twice now and would buy it. It is a very good movie. I like Gary Sinise. I would enjoy seeing the first one, classics are usually the best, but would have to say that Gary Sinise probably would not ruin this classic in any way compared to the ruination of the ones they are trying to do now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Of Mice and Men (1992), April 8 2009
By 
R. Pellettier - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is okay as far as entertainment goes. But the original version of this movie is FAR better, especially lon Chaney jr.'s performeance. (Remember him? - he played the classic werewolf.) Also good was Burgess Meredith in the original, muc better than Gary Sinese in th 1992 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended!!, July 8 2004
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
This Steinbeck classic comes to life with the brilliant acting of Gary Sinise and John Malkovich. This is one time when I can truly say the movie was almost as good as the book!
Malkovich plays main character Lenny to a "T."
All high school English students should see and evaluate this one. It is powerful human drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Malkovich and Gary Sinise Play Roles to Perfection, June 29 2004
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
If you have read the book but haven't seen the movie, you are making a (as Donald Trump would say) "HUGE" mistake. Acting was created so Gary Sinise and John Malkovich could play these roles! And I really mean that.
I have read John Steinbeck's novel a few times. I am seriously bothered by the constant "using the Lord's name in vain" in all of Steinbeck's novel, but that doesn't discount the fact that he is a great writer - one of the best of all time. When I finally got to watch the movie, I was blown away by what a great job Malkovich and Sinise did playing their characters. But I was even more blown away by the rest of the actors ability to step up to the plate too. Every character was just as I pictured them in my head.
There are a few scenes that are not exactly as they were in the book: Curley's wife confronts George while he is alone in the barn...that's not in the book. Candy walks in on Lennie and Crook in Crook's room which is not in the movie. But these little changes matter not...the soul of each character is captured perfectly by this amazing movie!
Lennie and George are partners in their walk through life, and they couldn't be more opposite: Lennie (Malkovich) is a child in a big man's body, and George (Sinise) is the quick thinking (though never quite quick enough) sidekick determined to watch after his friend. The two actors are amazing on screen; I could almost swear they were having a contest to see who could actually (really) change in to their character. I think it was a tie!
I wish I could give it six stars - not an option though.
See ya next review!
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just About Perfect, May 24 2004
This review is from: Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import] (DVD)
Having read Of Mice & Men several times, I can't imagine a better adaptation of Steinbeck's masterpiece. Malkovich is perfect as Lenny. A tour-de-force. Sinese is equally compelling as George. In a way, Sinese has the harder task. He has to play a normal man who's attachment to a retarded travelling companion is understandable and sympathetic. Themes of loneliness dominate this movie, as they do the book and much of American literature. It's not a feel good movie but it is a brilliant character study and exploration of the human heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Of Mice and Men (Widescreen Special Edition) [Import]
CDN$ 102.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews