march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars97
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 74 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on August 10, 2003
Of Mice and Men is mainly about friendship. George is always there for Lenny and Lenny is always there for George. Sadly, this movie's also about shattered dreams. But hey that's reality.
I don't understand why anyone would hate this movie. The acting is flawless...it's not overdone or underdone! The directing was awesome, they got the full meaning of the book out...the music even fit perfectly!! You'll fall in love with George and Lenny. I've seen this movie a few times now..and I've cried everytime. It's the only depressing movie I love (and probably the only one I'll love). This movie also made me love Gary Sinise!! He's such a wonderul actor...and director..and producer...but of course John Malckovich did a great job as well ^_^ It's very sad how this didn't win any oscars...but then again, Lord Of the Rings didn't get best picture...so maybe I don't like the Academy Awards! :P This movie...left me speechless afterwards. Of Mice and Men is for anyone with a heart! I simply love everything about it and can't find anything bad to say. (Which is rare for me ^_^)So...if you haven't seen it, SEE IT NOW!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2003
This is one of the most fascinating movies that I have seen. It is radically different from most that people watch and are marketed as well. I have not read the book, so I lack the primary source inspration for the film.
What I liked about it was that there was no win for anybody. No happy ending, no romance. The main character, George, is the guy who has to deal with it all and put up with all of the nonsense, but still remains relativly intact and in control of the situation. George's friend Lennie was a mentally retarded man who meant no harm but accidentally hurt people and animals with his brute strength. The ranch owner's son Curley was a trouble maker who picked fights and was hated by his wife, who tried to seduce other men. The wife, the only female character, was jaded because she married Curley and didn't go on to Hollywood. There's no romance surrounding her, though. Lennie breaks her neck by accident and the other men on the ranch go to chase him down. George finds Lennie and shoots him in the head so that the other men led by Curley won't have the satisfaction of killing Lennie themselves. At the beginning of the movie Lennie and George share a dream of having a small farm with Lennie taking care of the rabbits. This never happens, and George flees the scene. Overall, this is a great antidote to all the happy go lucky, action packed stuff out there. It's profoundly pessimistic, and all the non-deluded of the world recognize that life and existence are the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2002
This isn't just a wonderful portrayal of John Steinbeck's Masterpiece; it's a wonderful film in general. "Of Mice and Men" is a marvelous picture that plays on all of our emotions.
The movie is about two men who travel together all the time, hoping to own an acre of land and a nice home they can call their own. George is a smart man who always seems to have things figured out. Lennie is a giant with a mind of a young child. George looks after him, but it is not easy. Lennie always seems to get himself in some kind of trouble, and George is always the one who has to help him out. The two eventually land jobs on a ranch, hoping to make enough money to make their dreams come true. But that might be difficult when Lennie once again gets the two in serious trouble.
The movie is directed by Gary Sinise, who does a spectacular job of bringing Steinbeck's wonderful novel to life. Just from seeing this movie alone, I think he has nothing but talent when it comes to sitting in the director's chair. He really should direct more. Also, he is a great actor, and plays the role of George flawlessly. He's everything I envisioned when reading the book.
John Malkovich plays Lennie, and does an outstanding job at doing so. I sort of had my doubts at first, because I thought of Lennie as a giant, and Malkovich didn't seem like a giant to me. Well, when I was watching the movie, that all changed. He did the part justice. It's a crime that he didn't win anything for his role (or at least nothing I am aware of.)
The movie stays very true to the book. Sure, as always, there are things removed or added. Mostly, there are things added because the novel is so short, they needed to add things to make the movie longer. Everything that was added worked and stayed true to the original story.
The picture and sound quality was really up to par. It is 16:9 widescreen; aspect ratio 1.85:1. It looked really good; very crystal clear. Unfortunately, the DVD doesn't have much to offer in the special features department, with the exception of a trailer for the movie.
"Of Mice and Men" is a spectacular movie that should've won a couple of Academy Awards. Everything about this film was outstanding. It is one I will watch over and over again. If you loved the book, chances are you will love the movie. And if you haven't read the book.....the more reason to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2002
John Steinback's classic novel "Of Mice and Men" has been made again for the big screen, but with direction by Gary Sinise. It's touching, gripping and powerful. The lavish scenery shows well and George and Lennie are running away to find work. Lennie (John Malkovich) is a tall, slow-minded fellow who means well, but causes trouble. George (Sinise) is his friend and looks out for him. The movie stays close to the novel and will definitely help any freshman in high school who doesn't want to read the book. Forget the Shakespeare garbage, this book really is good! The two men along with an older man have a dream to buy a nice little place to tend rabbits and it would be paradise. Unfortunately, Lennie gets himself into trouble with the boss' son and his girlfriend. I've learned that you should never try to punch a man twice as big as you, unless you're a genius because your hand will get smashed. Seriously, the movie is a tour de force and kudos to director Sinise for making a poignant picture of true friendship. John Malkovich is brilliant and the supporting cast is great. A must-own masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2002
This film is nearly ten years old now - and every time I watch it, one question springs to my mind: "Why doesn't Gary Sinise direct anymore?"
This is quite simply one of the most fantastic movie adaptations of a classic novel ever made. True to the content and spirit of the book, Sinise is a big fan of Steinbeck, and it shows. This is lovingly crafted and packs all the emotional punch of the beautiful novel.
The script, by Oscar-winning screen writer Horton Foote, is just esquisite, and as always, it will ultimately break your heart.
John Malkovich as Lenny, the brain-damaged lumbering farm-hand with more strength than he knows how to control, puts in one of the finest performances of his career, and it's been a pretty impressive career.
Gary Sinise - in a performance which brought him the attention he always deserved but Malkovich got - is faultless. He is a powerhouse performer, and a cinematic treasure. As a director, he has a clear vision of Depression era America which be evokes vividly and tells this powerful tale simply and elegantly.
All in all, if you haven't seen this movie, you should. If you like good story-telling and the retro-feel of a movie like The Shawshank Redemption, then see this. It's pure and simple, and simply terrific.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2004
This great John Steinbeck novel was recreated for the big screen wonderfully by director Gary Sinise. Sinise stars in the movie as well, portraying the character George. George is the smaller caretaker of Lenny who is depicted by John Malkovich. Malkovich does a magnificent job in illustrating Lenny, who is large and strong, but mentally-challenged. The two travel together, finding jobs at ranches across California. A rancher is a lonesome job, but the two have hope in buying their own place one day. This hope is what keeps the two persevering. The movie recreates the events in the book exactly. From the scenery of the desolate southern California plains, to the bunk houses of the ranch, Sinise portrays them just as you pictured them when reading the book. Even the expressions of the characters are perfectly done by every actor in the movie. If there ever was a perfect portrayal of a novel, Gary Sinise's Of Mice and Men is it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2003
Gary Sinise has done it again. One of the best movies in the world. Best friends Lennie (Malkovich) and George (Sinise) are looking for work. They go to a ranch to work so they can go to their dream which is have 10 acres and have rabbits and stuff like that. Lennie really wants to tend the rabbits. He loves soft and furry things. Lennie gets George in trouble all the time. They go to work and everything works out find until the mentally retarted Lennie kills a girl, by breaking her neck. Now he has gone to far. You can't kill a girl and get away with it. So it forces George to make a decision of his own.
Based on the book "Of Mice and Men" by John Stienback.
Rated: PG-13 For Language and Violence
Running Time: 110 Minutes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2002
John Malkovich hits the proverbial nail on the head with his sickengly accurate portrayal of one of literature's all-time intriguing characters, Lenny Small. At first I was a little skeptical since Malkovich isn't exactly the prototype big, strong guy I envisioned in the role of Lenny. Gary Sinise was perfect for the cynical and smug role of George, but I was pleasantly surprised by Malkovich - where was the Oscar nod?
Having read the book twice and thoroughly enjoyed it, the movie was hardly a disappointment as most movies based on classics turn out to be(Exhibit A:Mel Gibson's Hamlet). In fact, Sinise's directorial effort coupled with the genius of Malkovich makes this one movie that seemingly tops the book. And that's high praise. Kudos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2001
The acting in the original 1939 version is over done. This Sinise version is far superior to the orginial in every way. Sinise not only acts in this beautiful film, he directs and produces it as well. His father edited it, and his wife is "the woman in the red dress". After viewing this 1992 version, I immediately watched the 1939 version so I could make a good honest comparison....the 1992 version is absolutely the best, nobody "over acts", it's much more realistic. This 1992 version is now my very favorite film of all time....but I must admit that the presence of my favorite actor of all time (Gary Sinise) could be one reason why!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2001
This movie is one of the best movies I have had the pleasure of watching in years and I love the book. Gary Sinise does an exalent job making the film and keeping it as close to the book as possible which is something not many can and will do. This movie remindes me of me and my brother and how we were as younger kids. Its one of those movies that makes you appreciate your older or younger siblings no matter how much you may hate or love eachother. Anyone who has a heart and loves a good movie that will make you cry every once in a while this is it. I give it a 5 but Id give it a 10 if I could so dont pass this one up because its well worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse