Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game. Don't let the controls scare you.
This game ise a follow up of the first Silent Hill and it will answer MOST of the burning questions you have about the game. The story is great and features plenty of plot twists. As for the game itself... it's scary... play this in the dark if you're brave. You'll be making your way through som truely disturbing moments, things that you might only see in a nightmare of...
Published on June 19 2005 by Seth Gates

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good - not as good as 1 and 2 though...
There's something missing from Silent Hill 3. Silent Hill 1 was ground breaking for it's time and a great game. Silent Hill 2 took things further with better graphics, it made the PS2 look like a very powerful console. Silent Hill 3 is the weakest of the 3 games. It's by no means bad, it simply fails to impress as much as the other 2. Silent Hill 3 the intro is not so...
Published on April 28 2004 by Kirt


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Good - not as good as 1 and 2 though..., April 28 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
There's something missing from Silent Hill 3. Silent Hill 1 was ground breaking for it's time and a great game. Silent Hill 2 took things further with better graphics, it made the PS2 look like a very powerful console. Silent Hill 3 is the weakest of the 3 games. It's by no means bad, it simply fails to impress as much as the other 2. Silent Hill 3 the intro is not so hot, the box art work isn't so hot either, once in the game it all feels very bity and un thought about.
From what I have seen of Silent Hill 4, I sense that Konami will be back on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ''No.1 In the survival horror genre'', April 23 2004
By 
Chaika (Trinidad & Tobago) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
Buy it,you won't regret it,OR MAYBE YOU WILL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stray from original formula but good enough to be called SH, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
First of all let me say that I am more than 21 years old, so I am not someone who shouldn't be writing this review in the first place. The term "Mature" doesn't just imply not being easily scared, but also being able to understand certain concepts. The world is sometimes difficult to understand even for adults, in case children ever wonder about that. The game is for adults, period.
This game is better than Silent Hill 2, which seemed too short. For those who are looking to face evil and be just as scared as in SH 1, forget it. There has not been a Silent Hill like SH 1 yet. The graphics are about the same as in SH 2, which is good but not enough to make up for the game's shortcomings. Enemy placement often contributes very little to make the game frightening. The radio's volume needs to be at maximum to give the proper anxiety level. It is too low by default, so by the time you realize it's a little late. I couldn't hear the voice actors well enough either, as there is no option to adjust their volume. This makes the sound effect too loud and the actors' voices too quiet. The map is not as good as before. The ink is pink, instead of blood red. Some of the markings are difficult to discern even with full zoom. A few parts of the game actually play like zombie-less Resident Evil, a very faded Silent Hill experience. It seems like getting the game over with is more important than the next scare. The actors do a good job. My only problem is the common lip sync errors. I first noticed a good size of lip sync errors in FF-X2, which was a first since FFX had done so well in voice acting.
For some reason Silent Hill 3 is just not as scary as the first one. I hope it wasn't because people who shouldn't be playing it were too scared! I heard SH 2 was made much less scary from what it was intended to be. This probably happened with SH 3 too. I simply feel like I'm not getting a Silent Hill game.
Silent Hill 3 is better than the second one but not as good as the original. It does however have enough quality to make it a good game. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Video Game Horror Fan Gives Their Opinion..., April 14 2004
By 
Tsukino Usagi (New Hampshire, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
I am a big fan of horror video games, especially the Silent Hill series, but I also love the Clock Tower series, and the Fatal Frame series. I have to admit Silent Hill 3 is one of the best I have ever played, even though I haven't finished the game yet. It is really challenging for me, and a little confusing, but yet it is still very fun. The graphics and music are awesome. I give this game 5 stars because it's so exciting, scary, and fun. If you liked this game I would recommend you play Clock Tower 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Oh my god...just shoot me already, April 1 2004
By 
Desiree' Rachal (Natchitoches, LA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
Silent Hill 3: I'm not sure maybe it's just me...but This game sucks. I'm glad I just rented it and didn't waste my money buying it. When I was playing it felt like all my controls where ass backward. I gave it 2stars because of the soundtrack and graphics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Game, March 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
First of all SH3 was short, But it was fun. Not too scary but entertaining. I like the fact that when you beat the game it opens new stuff up. I've beaten the game about 9 times, and opened up just about everything. you can unlock costumes, a lightsaber, flamethrower, sub-machine gun with unlimited ammo, and even cycloptic beams out of her eyes, and ect... Not the best SH game, but its worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game, But Didn't Live Up to the Silent Hill Name, March 8 2004
By 
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
To me, this seemed to be the shortest, easiest game up to this point in the Silent Hill series, which is kind of disappointing. 1 & 2 seemed to be more challenging in gameplay, and more in-depth in stories. SH3 just seemed to be loaded down with a bunch of extra stuff for AFTER you've already beaten the game. While it is FUN and kind of creepy (with great graphics and AWESOME music), I really don't think that it matched up to Silent Hill 2, or even 1 for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heather has just open a door way to Hell, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
Sillent hill is with out a doubt the scariest game ever made.
Resident Evil is mostly just action and gore. This game is
Disturbing and will scare the s**t out of you.
The story is a little confusing. It got a little religouse to me than horror. The 2nd one was with out a doubt a doubt the most brilliant smartest survival horror game ever made.
3 IS also brilliant and smart. The game is also kina depressing when heather finds her dad. The over all basis of this game is scary as hell. Im not very hyped up for the 4th one. The story seems kina crumy.
So if you love survival horror game and arnt afraid to play it than buy this game now. You wont be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars What just happened?, Feb. 24 2004
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
Great game! Scary game!Bla bla bla bla..... very boring. I am a huge fan of horror games. But, this was very dissapointing.(A waste of 50 bucks) .Many people saying that it would give you nightmares! Hell no! The reason, I gave it two stars was because of the story and graphics. The gameplay is horrible. Combat is very weak, so you just run away. Also, there's like a million freaken doors, that have broken handles, and that's very annonying.It forces you to explore. The monsters just look wierd, not at all scary! I reccommended Clock Tower 3 or Residnet Evil X Code Veronica better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Horror Lives Again, Feb. 17 2004
By 
Robert N. Kallister (Washington, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silent Hill 3 (Video Game)
Konami has done it once again. Silent Hill 3 pulls you once again into the world of survival horror with an all new cast, a new assortment of arms, and new puzzles to solve to find the answers to a troubled past.
You play as Heather, a teenager living in a small city, who is just enjoying a meager day at the shopping mall, when a detective approaches her to question her. Being the despondant young girl she is, she quickly eludes his questions, and tries to flee the mall, only to become caught up in the mysterious horrors of her past. Monsters begin to spawn around her, and she doesn't know why.
Silent Hill 3 flashes back to the original Silent Hill of when Harry Mason battled against the abomination created by Dahlia Gillespie. As you progress through the story, you learn about Heather's role, and how she's connected to the town of Silent Hill.
The grotesque atmospheres, creepy monsters, and unnerving sound effects are even better than those of the previous two Silent Hill games. Some of the bonus features include new weapons, such as a flamethrower, and a type of lightsaber. Plus, you unlock codes after completing it that allow you to get new costumes to wear as you go through the story. Hey, a girl has to look good when she's fighting evil, right?
So if you're into being completely terrified outside of your wits, Silent Hill 3 is definitely a must-buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb19696cc)

This product

Silent Hill 3
Silent Hill 3 by KONAMI AMERICA INC. (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews