Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Rate Of Progress Continues
PIXAR is a truly innovative company that is literally redefining what can be accomplished with computer animation. The company has a much longer history than many are aware of, they were once part of George Lucas's empire before the company was sold and then taken public by Steve Jobs of Apple fame.
"Bug's Life", is my favorite full-length film from PIXAR although...
Published on Nov. 19 2002 by taking a rest

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could have been.
My Grandma taped this movie for our family a while ago, and I was excited to see it because I had heard so much about it. Needless to say, I was a little disappointed but not much. And I'll tell you why.
The animation is great, but Finding Nemo is so much better. The story line is good, but not as good as it could have been, I thought. The dialogue is wonderful in...
Published on March 23 2004 by Elisabeth


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Rate Of Progress Continues, Nov. 19 2002
PIXAR is a truly innovative company that is literally redefining what can be accomplished with computer animation. The company has a much longer history than many are aware of, they were once part of George Lucas's empire before the company was sold and then taken public by Steve Jobs of Apple fame.
"Bug's Life", is my favorite full-length film from PIXAR although there are individual character creations from other films like, "Monsters Inc.", that also rate amongst their best computer generated thespians. This film has a great story, and great performances from a host of players including Kevin Spacey, Kevin Foley as Flick, and Phyllis Diller as The Ant Queen. The list continues with Denis Leary, Madeline Kahn, and Roddy McDowall as Mr. Soil.
The extras that are included on the disc are almost worth the cost of the disc alone. Both sets of, "outtakes", are included, and these provide some of the best moments of humor in the film. They are so well done; you get a similar feeling of seeing an actor in a traditional film making an error as opposed to just a computerized character. The fact that these characters don't exist, either means that I get a bit too lost in these films, or PIXAR is that good. I tend to believe it's the latter.
One of the more notable experiences was watching the film short, "Geri's Game", once again. When this was first released in 1997 the realism that was presented was almost hard to believe. Now only 5 years later it not only shows its age, certain aspects look like nothing more than well drawn cartoons. The trees in, "A Bug's Life", can pass for the real item, in the short film, the idea of realism for the trees never occurs. This in no way is meant as criticism, quite the opposite, the folks at PIXAR have continued to push past barriers at an amazing rate so that each subsequent film exceeds the first. I believe you can watch the films and place them in order of release, even if this is the first time you have viewed them.
And PIXAR is showing no signs of slowing down much less pausing, as a look at the trailer for their next film demonstrates. Next Spring, "Finding Nemo", will open, and based on the trailers I have seen, they have once again raised the bar by a factor of 10. This time they will take you to a world created under the sea, and the bits I have viewed will leave your jaw a bit slack.
PIXAR has redefined animation, and are rapidly creating a genre that needs a description all its own, computer animation does not place these creations in their own category, and they deserve one. PIXAR is not the only company producing great computer products, but so far they are the best and most consistent. I don't believe any other studio can state that every single film they have made resides securely in the top 100 grossing films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It was really fun to watch, July 20 2010
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
As always Pixar has good movies. I liked the story and think it was really worth the price, and fun for someone of any age to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun New Classic From Disney, July 11 2004
By 
Liz "LoftyKitten" (Colorado Springs, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Bug's Life (VHS Tape)
As always, Pixar delivered a breath taking experience when they brought us A Bug's Life. While not overly realistic, the animation is bright and rich and incredibly detailed. The colours and textures suck you into their world.
The movie features a nice mix of humor and excitement. Some moments are full of suspense and tension.
The voice actors do a great job, particularly Kevin Spacey as the villain Hopper. He's truly menacing! When the voice talents are combined with Pixar's fabulous job of giving natural movements and mannerisms to each different species of insect the mix creates very believable characters.
As per usual Disney style there is a great moral to be learned through the story, about the importance of standing up for yourself, and how one small person truly can change the world.
The only drawback of the movie is that the characters are relatively shallow and underdeveloped when compared to Disney's usual level of complexity. However, when you consider that this film is based off of the fable "The Ant and the Grasshopper" it puts things into perspective and you appreciate how much imagination and creativity actually went into this project. The end result is highly entertaining and sure to be a classic in generations to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Children will Love it, July 5 2014
Very good feature for young children and enough adult humor to keep parents entertained for the length of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Might be the best animation movie ever made!, Aug. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this when I was about 6 years old. That movie marked my childhood and I can't wait to show this to my future children. This is clearly worth the money. Blu-ray + DVD package is perfect. Nothing else to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bugs life, March 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Bugs life DVD Arrived in time for birthday, a couple of scratches, but works just fine. Thanks a bunch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars XMAS Gift, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Garth Curwin "Read: It's good for you." (Moncton, New Brunswick Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this for my grand daughter as a gift and i watched it myself.I had previously watched it and found it to be very well done and it really hit my funny bone.I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bug's Life, Sept. 7 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Many people forget about the bugs, but this little remembered gem was actually Pixar's second release. The folks behind the camera decided to switch focus from toys to insects, with remarkable results. And it is far better then that dreadful movie Antz.

The Story:
Flik, a loner ant in a colony, inadvertently causes the destruction of the food offering to a gang of bully grasshoppers. He then sets off to right his mistake by trying to recruit warriors to help his colony. And by accident, he gets circus insects instead. Chaos and drama follow.

The Voices:
Canada's own Dave Foley brings Flik to life in so many ways, making me forgot it was him. Denis Leary plays the best ladybug ever, with nary a bleeped word in existence. And Phyllis Diller is well, Phyllis Diller. Actually she is the Queen Ant, and no that is not typecasting. Maybe.

Where It Came From:
Two very different stories influenced A Bug's Life. Aesop's The Ant and the Grasshopper is one of the strands referenced in the beginning. I have read some of Aesop, but my recollection of this one is hazy at best. After the plots kicks in, the movie transforms into Akira Kurosawa's Seven Samurai. I have heard much about this classic film, but to my shame have never seen it. Just leave it to Pixar to mix two such disparate elements and have them harmoniously blend together.

If you like bugs. If you like Pixar. If you like a good time. Then pop A Bug's Life into your dvd player and cherish this forgotten classic.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta love them bugs, July 12 2004
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Those Pixar folk are amazing. Not only do they make an excellent movie, but they complement it with a first rate package of extras, especially the outtakes and the movie short "Geri's Game". The two-disc Collector's Editions are worth waiting for, and you will find yourself playing the second disc as often as the first.
This innovative take on the old fable "The Ant and the Grasshopper" teaches us a few important lessons:
1. There's a clumsy nerd who wants to be a hero in every colony
2. Phyllis Diller is an old queen
3. David Hyde Pierce is stiff
4. Julia Louis-Dreyfus is neurotic and can't dance
5. Grasshoppers live it up in Mexican joints during the Summer
6. German caterpillars are funny, and so are pill-bugs.
7. Ladybirds may not be ladies
8. Birds can be flammable
9. An ant may look at a queen
10. Don't stir up an ants nest
To maintain good family relations, you should allow your kids to watch this movie too.
Amanda Richards July 13, 2004
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just a Few Notches Below Finding Nemo, July 10 2004
By 
S. Hedberg (Topeka, Kansas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This film was originally released in 1998, but I didn't actually see it until a few months ago. Simply put, it's Pixar doing what they do best. A widely caried and excellent cast of characters, a simple but elaborately executed plot, and of course, the rendition of a half a dozen themes that run universal throughout our lives.
Essentially, a mild and nerdy ant known as Flic accidentally destroys the entire food supply of his ant colony. Of course, the food was not for them; it was their yearly offering to the grasshoppers. As a result, the grasshoppers decree that the ants can spend the remainder of summer gathering it all again. Hopper, the ingenius and menacing leader, notes that Flic stands up to him for one brief moment, and this becomes pivotal later. I won't say any more past there, only that there are plenty of intriguing twists to keep things interesting.
Overall, this movie bears an obvious resemblance to Finding Nemo. First of all, both movies involve the creation and manipulation of a natural environment and its inhabitants. Second, they both involve unlikely heroes (A bumbling ant and a fearful clownfish). Third, both are at a standard of quality that the animation world has never before seen.
Honestly, Kevin Spacey's portrayal of Hopper is reason enough to see A Bug's Life. (I could say the same thing about Albert Brooks' portrayal of Marlin in Finding Nemo.) However, the movie offers much more in the long run, and the special features are deep and surprisingly un-boring. The director's commentary of this movie and other Pixar films is much, much more entertaining than most movies. I credit a lot of that to Andrew Stanton, but the guys just have a creative knack to them that makes their ideas and comments brilliant.
Recommended to all fans of animation, all lovers of Pixar, and all those with good taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Bug's Life (2-Disc Collector's Edition) (Widescreen/ Full Screen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews