Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This was better than the original campaign
After completing the official campaign from NWN (hereafter, OC), I was left wanting something more. I was disappointed with the OC in that it was a little too easy -- there were too many opportunities to run back to the temple and stock up, even in the middle of combat situation. As a result, the OC was very unbalanced, although the storyline was good.
Shadows of...
Published on Aug. 25 2003 by Matthew K. Morgan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Underntide
Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide adds a little of everything. There is the addition of Prestige Classes that allow your character to specialize in more unique areas. Again, there are new feats that allow a character to more in a very specific or very general direction. Additionally, new skills and spells were added as well (although the skills were focuses...
Published on March 29 2004 by kniteflux


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Underntide, March 29 2004
By 
"kniteflux" (Maple Grove, MN United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide adds a little of everything. There is the addition of Prestige Classes that allow your character to specialize in more unique areas. Again, there are new feats that allow a character to more in a very specific or very general direction. Additionally, new skills and spells were added as well (although the skills were focuses primarily on rogues and many will argue that mage classes are still "inferior" to other classes).
Shadows of Undrentide also adds a new set of official modules with the expansion. The plotline is interesting and the game makes use of new tile sets, but ultimately it is quite short and not as challenging as would be expected after finishing the official quest that came with the original Neverwinter Nights.
Shadows of Underntide has maintained the playability of the game while adding the new content. Whether you play single or multiplayer, the new modules and rule set integrates nicely into the game.
If I were to say that Shadows of Underntide has one problem, it would be that it did not add as much content relative to the price of the expansion and that of the original game (or the next expansion in the series). Because all the material that was added was so specific for a single play style, many players will most likely never experience even all the Shadows has to offer.
For players that desire to play the latest play/fan-base mods or just really have enjoyed NWN, Shadows of Underntide is an average expansion for a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Does not really feel like an Add on..., Jan. 5 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I got this game as part of Neverwinter Gold. I have heard nothing bad about Neverwinter and with a second expansion coming out I bought Neverwinter Gold since it was the same price as Neverwinter. I finished Neverwinter Night last weekend. It was a great game. I love every part of it. It is the best representation of D&D in a computer game since the early days.
But....Shadow of Undrentide is seriously lacking. First, you start out being "trained" as an adventurer. My character was twenty second level by the time I start this add on so I would hardly say that a player of that level would be in that situation. It seemed like the creators wanted this to be a separate game using the same game engine, but decided on an add on instead. This can be the only reason for the next flaw, which is they dump the hench men from the original for a new set which are seriously lacking the depth of the original ones. I only raise this issue b/c Bioware brings back the original Henchmen for the next add on; Hordes of the Underdark. So why else would they make this change in the middle?
So in short, this is a fair enough game if you buy the Neverwinter Gold edition, but do not waste you money on buying it on its on. It is simply not worth the money. I gave it two stars since this add on has my favourite prestige class, the Blackguard. Buy it from the bargain bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better story, better puzzles, better characters, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Gene Koo (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
The Neverwinter Nights (NWN) game engine represents what I hope to be a new era in computer gaming: platforms that invite users/players to create their own games with near-complete access to the game engine.
Sadly, while the NWN platform itself was a major breakthrough, the included gameplay was routine, uninspired, and sometimes even silly. Shadows of Undrentide (SoA) shows that the Bioware crew can not only create a great technical product, but also deliver a solid story.
Unlike the original NWN storyline, SoA has a coherent plot that, while short of "compelling," kept me interested. The fact that it was written for single-player mode meant the storytellers could focus on developing non-player characters rather than try to have the story work with lots of different players (not an easy task!). While many have complained about the lack of multi-player support, personally I've been unable to commit to that kind of gameplay anyway, and the few experience I've had were disappointing.
The fact that NWN is both a generalized toolset and a game means a lot of tradeoffs: one is that the graphics and environments become pretty uninspiring after a while because they re-use the same assets over and over again. To me, this is almost a blessing, as it forces story developers to focus more on the story rather than dazzle players with graphics.
Toolset enhancements and expanded assets (monsters, spells, etc.) make this expansion essential for those of us creating content.
Although not approaching the peaks of the Infinity Engine series of games, the NWN platform still has a lot of room for growth, whatever the power-gamers who want shiny graphics instead of good stories might say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement over original game, Sept. 2 2003
By 
Robert R. Veith (Redmond, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I'm one of those people who, having loved the Baldur's Gate series, was REALLY excited about NWN. When NWN finally came out, the graphics already looked dated and the official campaign (OC) was, franky, silly. Still, the power of the toolset--and the fact that there are thousands of modules freely available (many of which are MORE entertaining than the OC) kept me playing.
I wasn't expecting too much from SoU and my worst fears appeared to have been realized when the adventure starts with your adventuring school is attacked and you have to recover the four artifacts that were stolen (that sounded a bit TOO close to the OC). After that, though, the story picks up. The henchmen and villains are much better written; Drogan is a more compelling mentor than angst-ridden Aribeth. You have more control over your henchman (including the desperately needed inventory management).
The toolset expansion is welcome as well. While it's still not as easy to use as I would want, they've incorporated a lot of small improvements that make it feel a bit more like (to steal another reviewer's image) Leggos and less like object-oriented programing. The new tilesets are useful as well, though they're only "just as good" as fan-created content available for download.
Really, ultimately, what makes this a 4-star game (and one I keep coming back to) is the fan-created content. While the OC stuff is pretty much hack-and-slash D&D (the kind I liked when I was 13), you can download old-style adventure gaming (full of challenging puzzles--it's like Riven with a sword), PvP deathmatch (Rune with a wizard), and even online social servers (like those MMRPGs without the MM part). There are even scripts to allow players to create full-size parties. It's exciting to have a game where the official releases are only a jumping-off point for users to improve upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was better than the original campaign, Aug. 25 2003
By 
Matthew K. Morgan (Ruther Glen, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
After completing the official campaign from NWN (hereafter, OC), I was left wanting something more. I was disappointed with the OC in that it was a little too easy -- there were too many opportunities to run back to the temple and stock up, even in the middle of combat situation. As a result, the OC was very unbalanced, although the storyline was good.
Shadows of Undrentide (SoU) is *not* a continuation to the OC, but rather is a parallel storyline, taking place at roughly the same time. Completely new characters, completely new setting, completely different storyline (although, roughly the same premise).
This expansion pack does not have some of the same flaws as the OC. The game is more balanced, with no teleports in combat situations and limited teleports overall. The puzzles are harder, and the rewards for completing quests are not unbalancing either. Further, SoU adds a few new abilities and character classes, as well as new creatures, that would have been welcome in the OC. This is more along the lines of what the OC *should* have been.
SoU is shorter than the OC, and for some that's disappointing. It's also a lot harder and takes more time to wade through, which makes it equal out to about the same amount of investment in time. It takes a good little while to work through the puzzles and side quests, which add positively to the game.
One negative -- the game's ending is very anticlimatic. Once you finish the final battle, you are led to a cut scene with a vague ending that is resonant of the "...to be continued..." cliche at the end of a bad movie. In spite of a great game and a wonderful final encounter, the player gets a disappointing epilogue, resulting in "Bummer, what a letdown" instead of "Wow, that was great!"
In spite of the ending, I still max the rating for this expansion pack. Had the OC been more on the difficulty level as SoU, the OC would have been great. SoU takes a good game, builds on it and makes it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I hope the other expansions have more than this..., Aug. 10 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
This expansion will give you A) five new classes, only two of which are worth playing (the Blackguard and the Arcane Archer are fun). The other classes are inferior to most others.
B) A handful of new monsters. The madusa and the basilisk were a good addition, but I was hoping for a lot more.
C) A handful of new spells, most noteworthy are the bigby's giant hand spells. When will prismatic sphere be added? It's the best spell for wizards and sorcorers!
D) A few minor rule changes, such as the removal of level requirements for the use of magic items (This never should have been added into the game in the first place, and is right out of Diablo 2).
E) A new campaign, which is much better than the original campaign. If you like playing solo, it's fun, but not as fun as playing online.
F) The editor has been upgraded. Secret doors, and simular objects, are much easier to add into your dungeons.
It would be nice if these fixes and add-ons could be gotten in a free patch, rather than a $... game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent, Aug. 7 2003
By 
Forrest B. Crock (norfolk, va United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
well, i got it to run on my computer no problems, so i didn't encounter that problem, but i imagine that others may be having similar problems to what someone else wrote in their review of the game. i thought the game was just ok, only two henchmen to choose from a dwarf rogue/cleric, which is just alright....the rogue portion of that character is not good enough to take care of all the traps or all of the doors....and then a half-orc sorcerer, which is just about the worst race-class design possible, and although i do like the idea for its orriginality, it would have been nicer to have had as many potential henchmen as there were in the original neverwinter nights. the story line is similar to that of neverwinter nights, in that a couple artifacts have been stolen you have to recoup them, and save the day. i found the game to be harder than the original, so it did get a little frustrating at times from that stand point, but it didn't take as long to get to the conclusion. overall, it was alright, nothing to scream about. i thought what it added for the toolset and the ability to now add things to your henchmens inventory and have a little more control over which weapons they use to be very useful. the one thing i would like to see added to a future expansion is the ability to get your henchmen to use their move silently/hide skills, that way you and your henchmen can sneak up on enemies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars SecuRom...more like Suck-U-Rom, July 25 2003
By 
T. Mead (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Like others, I'd like to put a disclaimer up front that BioWare seems like a good company and the people there seem to care about their product.
Atari, on the other hand, clearly does not. I am one of the many people who are unable to use this game with my cd drive. I tried everything under the sun (checked that drivers were current, updated firmware, etc.). There is no fix for this on the BioWare or Atari site (as of 7/25/03). I emailed Atari's tech support (after going through their troubleshooting maze) TWO WEEKS AGO and I have received NO RESPONSE.
As some(probably most) people's cd drives work with the SecuRom, one could say that it is MY problem that it doesn't work and I should just go out and buy another cd drive so I can play this game.
The question is, "Do you want to gamble with your time and money?"
Alternate Review:
This game is great. Unlike the previous NWN, this expansion revolves around the exciting world of computer troubleshooting and technical support. You play an unwitting dupe of the Atari game distribution company who has been suckered into buying a game that won't run on your computer despite the fact that your system meets the requirements printed on the packaging and that there was no disclosure of the known hardware incompatibility issues. Your pulse will race as you search for new drivers. Your heart will pound as you update the firmware for your cd drive. Will the firmware work? Or will this be the end of your drive? On-line play is great to, as you post to discussion threads and share your frustration with other "users". The high level of realism makes this title "one not to miss".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for an expansion, July 24 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Shadows of Undrentide doesn't do much to change the way Neverwinter Nights is played, and this is generally for the best. The main changes in terms of characterization are five new prestige classes, a scattering of new feats and skills, and a few new spells for each spellcaster type. New creatures have been added as well, including two new familiars. Lastly, several new tilesets have been added: snow, desert, and Netherese ruins.

The new campaign isn't as long as BioWare's infinity engine game expansions (Heart of Winter, Throne of Bhaal) but isn't too short either. There's enough new things to see to make it interesting, and the roleplaying aspect is significantly improved over the original NWN campaign. For one, you really have the chance to act evil and still get through the game, which until now- in the general universe of D&D computer gaming- has been difficult at best. The plot is a pretty standard artifact hunt, but it does take some interesting turns. Fans of the Forgotten Realms D&D setting will appreciate this especially, but it's easy enough to follow that those who can't tell Elminster from Gandalf should be able to make sense of it.
As for the campaign difficulty, it is pretty tough. Whether out of some perverse humor or just because the original campaign was too easy, the developers seem to be baiting players to their doom. The prestige classes are the cool new thing about Shadows, but none of them (with the probable exception of Arcane Archer) are spellcasting classes. However, I found it extremely difficult to play single player without a spellcasting character [if it matters, I thought Baldur's Gate, Icewind Dale, and the original NWN were all fun, but too easy]. You will often run into masses of enemies that individually are no match for your combat prowess, but taken in whole will make hay out of your warrior or rogue. When this happens, there's really no substitute for a good fireball. Of course, this can be remedied if you get all your friends online to help you out, which I heartily recommend.
You can bring along one of several potential allies- a dwarf rogue/priest, a half-orc barbarian/sorcerer, or a kobold bard. I found the spellcasting AI to be abysmal- the priest won't heal you when you're almost dead unless you ask her to, and the sorcerer seems to have nothing but ray of frost in his repertoire- and uses it even when he would do far better just meleeing the enemy up. The good news is you can now manage their inventory, so if you have an extra set of armor or weaponry (another plus in not being a warrior) you can give it to them. The pathfinding and trap handling AI seems to be improved as well. NPCs will no longer charge over a trap when they spot another one beyond it, and will finish disarming one before attacking an enemy.
New items in the expansion include grenade-like weapons such as alchemist's fire and acid flasks. These are useful early on, and in large quantities can duplicate that much-needed fireball effect, but are oddly expensive and don't do that much damage individually. New weapons, loot, and armor are of course available, though these generally don't have a new look. Some new potions and assorted artifacts can be found, some of which are quite interesting. For example, there is a bag that summons creatures depending on what ingredients you put inside it.
The new prestige classes available are the Arcane Archer, Assassin, Blackguard, Harper Scout, and Shadowdancer. This is where I have a bit of a gripe with Shadows. Save for Arcane Archer, these classes are, frankly, worthless. They were already pretty bad with the core rules, but some of those rules require things that NWN can't do (e.g. crafting Harper Pins as a Harper Scout). The developers overcame these problems by changing some abilities and, in my opinion, the computerized versions are even worse than the pen and paper ones. Also, as I mentioned earlier, there aren't spellcasting classes (arcane archer is far less arcane than archer). I was hoping they'd add the archmage or loremaster at least, but no luck there so you'll have to settle for the new familiars and spells. The familiars are the pseudodragon and fairy dragon, both of which are very cool. Spells include such notably absent ones as Shield, the Bigby's Hand series, Inflict Wounds spells, and Earthquake.
Of course, perhaps the best thing about Shadows is the potential fan content. The new tilesets look great, and the complex interactions in the new campaign show what can be done with the engine. Once the mod community sinks its teeth into the expansion, there will no doubt be plenty more adventures to share. This has always been the best part of Neverwinter Nights, and will surely be the best part of Shadows of Undrentide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Has Turbotax like copy protection that locks your computer, July 6 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
First I'd like to say that Bioware is a great company that has released a lot of good stuff, and this problem is not their fault. The only thing they did wrong is to pick Atari as their publisher.
You see Atari put copy protection on the CD by Securom, that pretty much either 1) locks up your computer after 5 min of play everytime, or 2)won't allow you to install the game. (Just go to nwn's forums to see how many complaints there are about this - nwn.bioware.com) I don't even understand why this is even on the cd since NWN is mainly an online game, it already verifies your game keys when you go online. Furthermore any pirate can bypass this with stuff like Alcohol Software. The only people this hurts are people like me who were stupid enough to buy this game. All the good reviews in the world won't help this game if you can't play it - all you'll do is hurt your wallet.
Bottomline: unless you want to play russian roulette with your time and money (for some cdrom drives - it does work fine), buy any other game at Amazon - like Warcraft III's expansion instead; their copy protection doesn't lock up your computer. Trust me, you don't want to pay money to be an unpaid tester of alpha quality software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack
Neverwinter Nights: Shadow Of Undrentide Expansion Pack by Atari (ATBB9) (Windows 98 / Me / XP)
CDN$ 49.99 CDN$ 7.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews