Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Since when did reviews become a place for
people to discuss what colleges are good and what aren't, I'm glad that you went to Yale man, It is a great school, I'm sure you worked really hard through many obstacles to get there, or, you pulled it off Bush style, whichever way, it really doesn't matter, what matters is what you think about the music on this CD, I personally enjoyed this very much, it is one of my...
Published on July 12 2004 by moksha69

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars that music fan is stuck up artsy loser
hey pal you say "berklee" like its actually worth something.... i think youre confused- cause its worth nothing... maybe if you had a brain in that inflated head of yours, you could get into a real BERKELEY and actually go somewhere you can actually be proud of. oh yeah and there's only CAL and its in Berkeley- not LA, not SF... BERKELEY.
Published on Feb. 14 2004 by craig


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Since when did reviews become a place for, July 12 2004
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
people to discuss what colleges are good and what aren't, I'm glad that you went to Yale man, It is a great school, I'm sure you worked really hard through many obstacles to get there, or, you pulled it off Bush style, whichever way, it really doesn't matter, what matters is what you think about the music on this CD, I personally enjoyed this very much, it is one of my favorite in not my favorite score out there, to all the people who wanted the soundtrack, sorry, not here, this is perfect for people who have an appreciation for scores, it is very different from traditional orchestra scores, it has that certain jazzy/world music sound to it, every track on here is beautiful but right now, my favorite is the "Open Title", it just takes all the aspects of the entire soundtrack and places it into one song, give it a shot, but remember, this is not the soundtrack, this is the score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What the heck, since when did reviews become places for, July 12 2004
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
people to discuss what colleges are good and what aren't, I'm glad that you went to Yale man, It is a great school, I'm sure you worked really hard through many obstacles to get there, or, you pulled it off Bush style, whichever way, it really doesn't matter, what matters is what you think about the music on this CD, I personally enjoyed this very much, it is one of my favorite in not my favorite score out there, to all the people who wanted the soundtrack, sorry, not here, this is perfect for people who have an appreciation for scores, it is very different from traditional orchestra scores, it has that certain jazzy/world music sound to it, every track on here is beautiful but right now, my favorite is the "Open Title", it just takes all the aspects of the entire soundtrack and places it into one song, give it a shot, but remember, this is not the soundtrack, this is the scorevery different from traditional orchestra scores, it has that certian jazzy/world music sound to it, every track on here is beautiful but right now, my favoraite is the "Open Title", it just takes all the aspectes of the entire soundtrack and places it into one song, give it a shot, but remember, this is not the soundtrack, this is the score
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack?, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
Can anyone tell me the name of the song when Norton is first walking into the the club?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good soundtrack: dense, atmospheric, compliments the film..., May 17 2004
By 
Campbell Roark "tri-zeta" (from under the floorboards and through the woods...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
I don't get the beef from so many concerning this CD. The music is subtle mood film work and it deftly fills in the spaces and fleshes out the film in question, which- while far from being a 'great' film, or even one of Norton's or Lee's best- is a damn nice watch. Ok, it's not Troubleman or Superfly, but it's well constructed and taut. Good music to idle about the house to- or drive to. It's just a sweet lil soundtrack.
Ever get the feeling that Norton has a long list of 'Directors I need to work with,' and he's working his way down that sucker? Just me, eh?
OK- Now then, if you're looking for the DJ hits from the club scene and about half the hits in here seem to be digging for them... as everyone and their grandma has mentioned, you should go buy the Cymande CD- it's only about 13 bucks or so in here. Get the full-blown 'Cymande,' Cd. The song Bra is the one from the paquin/Hoffman kissing scene in the bathroom (and It's been sampled by damn near everybody- most notably in De la Soul's 'Change in Speak,' track 3 off their first album- 3 feet High and Rising). Dove is the song you can barely hear from the scene wherein Norton and the Ukrainian mobsters talk in the basement (most notably used as an interpolation in The Fugees 'Family Business' off their seminal album The Score...) And yes, The Message is in there too and it too has been done to def by the hip-hop community.
I give Blanchard a two-thumbs up for this understated work. So many soundtracks beat you in the head with pathos- soft tinkling sad pianos and lush swelling strings- they scream- YOU MUST CRY HERE!!!! YOU WILL BE HAPPPY NOW!!!! There's no subtlety and that bothers the hell out of me- I hate to feel like I'm being molested by a composer. Blanchard never panders, he whispers and insinuates- makes for a good listen and a nice watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Let's kill the Yale grad, Feb. 26 2004
By 
George (Missoula, MT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
Hey...Yale graduate. Nobody cares where you graduated from. I would be interested to know where you live so I could bury you. Before anybody even said anything to you, you write, "Anyone looking for the POP/Dance tunes within the film are looking in the wrong place, not that any respectable person would want to listen to them". Who the hell are you to say what is respectable or not? Go back to your coffee house, drink your freakin' cappuccino, and stop sharing your yuppie opinion with people who don't care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Craig's a moron., Feb. 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
I really don't care about the education system in CA...and I'm curious as to whether or not you attend any of the "prestigious" colleges your talking about. I already have a degree from a local college where I grew up, New Haven. The college is called...give me a minute...Yale. Last time I looked Yale was ranked higher than any college out on the West Coast, the runner up though is Stanford, not Berkeley at UCLA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars that music fan is stuck up artsy loser, Feb. 14 2004
By 
craig (Berkeley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
hey pal you say "berklee" like its actually worth something.... i think youre confused- cause its worth nothing... maybe if you had a brain in that inflated head of yours, you could get into a real BERKELEY and actually go somewhere you can actually be proud of. oh yeah and there's only CAL and its in Berkeley- not LA, not SF... BERKELEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The other reviews are WRONG, Feb. 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
Terence is a fantastic composer and the music is great. Anyone looking for the POP/Dance tunes within the film are looking in the wrong place, not that any respectable person would want to listen to them. One of my Berklee professors listened to it and loved it...and so did a myriad of other MUSICIANS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Totally did not fit the movie, Nov. 13 2003
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
The soundtrack seemed totally out of place to me. The music was just way too overdramatic and distracts trhe viewer from an otherwise good film. Don't bother to buy the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The club song, Nov. 12 2003
This review is from: 25th Hour Original Score (Audio CD)
Okay, so it looks like everyone wants to find out where to get the cool club song from this movie (played when Philip Seymour Hoffman kisses Anna Paquin in the bathroom). The name of the song is "Bra" (by Cymande) and the version you need to get is on a DJ mix CD called "Danny Krivit - Edits by Mr. K, The Original Rare Disco Mixes." None of the other versions will cut it (the version on the Grandmaster Flash CD isn't the right one). Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

25th Hour Original Score
25th Hour Original Score by Terence Blanchard (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews