countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
43
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 20, 2003
I have become a big fan of buying concert DVDs as opposed to movie DVDs. Yes everyone should buy the 4 or 5 DVD version of Fellowship of the Ring because it is to date the masterpiece and standard for what DVD movie releases can be. But really how many times can you watch a movie? How many movies are even worth watching more then once? Isn't a good movie best seen in a theatre anyway?
Concert DVDs are a different story all together. They can be viewed multiple times, shared at friends' houses, used as background or foreground. They are by far the best value for your DVD money. And this DVD is one of the better concert DVDs I have seen. The track Covered in Rain is almost worth the price by itself, where John's musicianship really shines through. As a whole, this DVD displays his voice, guitar playing, his band, and his personality. There is enough just plain good music on display that you will hear something new every time you listen. If you have a halfway decent sound system, for sure by this DVD if you even like Mayer's music a little. If you like his music more then a little, no matter what sound system you have, this will be a fun acquisition. The extras are quite nice. I have yet to listen to the commentary but the interview was interesting and the photos are surprisingly well done. The photos are shown in slideshow presentation and are a combination of color and black and white. They are a lot of fun. For the price this is a great value that you will enjoy again and again. It is what DVD players where meant to play.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2004
If you love the eccentric, amazing, & personal things that are John Mayer, you have to buy this! I have watched and rewatched this DVD, and rewatched it many more times with the commentary by John and Scotty Crowe. The set (as only 'Room For Squares' and 'Inside Wants Out' had been released at the time) is very good and you should definitely see it if you like John Mayer. If, as a previous review suggested, you do not enjoy watching John live, then buy the live CD. I personally believe the music is quality, which is hard to find these days. John Mayer is totally live with no annoying lip-syncing, lengthy costume changes, overdone pyro, etc. It's refreshing to see an artist like this on stage. His unique "guitar faces" (as JM himself says on this DVD) and "dances" could be unpleasant to some I suppose. But appreciate the fact that it is a live show! No editing of the vocals has been done, etc. His guitar skills are amazing! I strongly suggest going to see John Mayer on tour, because you get to see even more impressive things than this. The DVD does do a good job of showing what he is like. He talks/rambles in the show which is extremely funny with his wit. He also (I believe) sings beautifully. He covers The Police's 'Message In A Bottle' and then Stevie Ray Vaughan's 'Lenny' before going into his older and unreleased song 'Man on the Side'. Make sure you listen to the commentary! His sense of humor is great, and it provides you with a greater appreciation for him as a person.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2003
I would highly recommend "Any Given Thursday" to any John fan, or music fan for that matter. In a world full of Britneys, with their elaborate sets and costume changes, it's very refreshing to watch and listen to John. Clad in a t-shirt, guitar in hand, John delivers the best tracks off of his debut "Room For Squares", as well as a handful of extra (amazing) songs such as "Man on the Side" and "Covered in Rain". In my opinion, John really shines live on stage. I think nearly every song he plays far surpasses the studio version on his album, and it's fun to watch his boundless energy and crazy facial expressions. What makes concert DVD's so nice is that you can watch the show all the way through, or jump right to the songs you want to listen to. So whether you have 2 hours or 2 minutes, you'll have plenty to keep you entertained. John's "morning after" interview is nothing too spectacular, but it's interesting to hear his reaction to the night before (and see how he reads USA Today- the boy's funny!). This DVD is simply amazing; a great addition to anyone's collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2003
To watch the passion of a young artist like John Mayer in " Any Given Thursday" is truely an appreciation of music/ great song writing/ delivery/and pure enjoyment. Is there really a bad song on here....NO... but with all the great songs I still go back to listening to 83 and John talking about his previous life and his brother. This is not one for glitter and glitz on the stage although John does get animated at times which is a plus. And of course "Your body is a Wonderland" will go down as a all time favorite. I did not like his version of this on the Grammys but who am I to judge. I always have a few songs in the am as I go to work if I am not listening to talk radio that get me going and "No Such Thing" will always get you going.. There is no disappointment in this DVD and I highly recommend it for the pure pleasure.. I can't give a 5 because for me "Hell Freezes Over" to this day has set the current benchmark for me. If his career goes continues to go the way of a Don Henley in terms of a songwriter and delivery to "passion" for the delivery... look out.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2003
Boyish good looks go a long way, but its the "from the heart" performance and the buzz of the concert experience that carries John Mayer in his newly released concert DVD. Filmed in Birmingham Alabama on his latest tour, the DVD captures all cool things that make for a great concert... The cheering crowds, the kibbitzing between songs and of course JM's passionate, expressive and sometimes funky performance. Mayer who is known for his introspective lyrics and whispery voice comes through loud and clear in a style that's uniquely his own, but has been often compared to Dave Matthews and Jack Johnson. The DVD comes with bonus materials include a behind the scenes look at the concert, an interview with John and a collage of pictures put to his music. This is a MUST OWN for JM fans who I'm sure are all too familiar with his studio recordings. The renditions here carry far more punch and some fun and unexpected alternative lyrics. For hardcore JM fans the audio commentary that runs through the concert gives an added insight to his quasi philosphical, regular guy life. JM fans will absolutely NOT BE DISAPPOINTED and the uninitiated may discover a new passion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2003
FOR ALL OF YALL JM FANS OUT THERE DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND BUY THIS DVD. I was actually at the show and it was spectacular. It was one of the best shows that i have ever seen and I have been to a bunch. Just imagine how excited i was when Guster blew the suprize and told us that it was being recorded for DVD. I knew then that it was going to be a great show and that John would give it his all for us. My ticket stubs will go along with the DVD just great, i can't wait to relive this magical night. The concert was great the seats were great and the date was gorgeous, how much more of a perfect night could i have had?
John is great to listen to but there is nothing that can compare with being there as he puts on a wonderful show. Pelham Alabama, the Oak Mountin AMP. is a wonderful outdoor venue and the temp was just right that day. Even though it did sprinkel a little there was no rain that could have ruined that show. i can't wait to see the DVD and i cant wait to go to another one of his shows. Do yourself a favor and experience this show for yourself, buy the DVD there is no way you could go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2003
I bought RFS last summer and absolutely fell in love with John. I also bought IWO and fell in love all over again. I had heard a lot of fans talk about how he's even better live, and I just couldn't believe them. It couldn't be possible. Ah, but it was. I recently bought this DVD and was absolutely blown away. My respect and admiration for his talent is through the roof. His performances are passionate and moving, and his amazing guitar playing and off the wall humour will make you a fan for life. The commentary and morning after interview are really great in letting you see John's captivating personality. Now, I'm a poor unemployed high school student, and yet after watching this DVD about 20 times and hating that I couldn't just pop it into my discman, I went ahead and bought the CDs as well. I can't get enough of this guy. He's just so amazing. Do yourself a favour and buy this DVD or pick up the CD. ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
Recorded live at the Oak Mountain Amphitheater in Birmingham, Alabama, on September 12, 2002. The CD, "Any Given Thursday," will also be available as a 2 CD collection.
John Mayer performs live songs from "Room For Squares," and "Inside Wants Out" -- as well as previously unreleased new material.
SET LIST
1. Program Start
2. 3x5
3. No Such Thing
4. Back To You
5. City Love
6. Something's Missing
7. Lenny/ Man On The Side
8. Message In a Bottle
9. Love Song For No One
10. Why Georgia
11. Your Body Is A Wonderland
12. My Stupid Mouth
13. Covered In Rain
14. 83
15. Comfortable
16. Neon
17. Credits
SPECIAL FEATURES
--Audio Commentary by John Mayer (revealing the many facets of himself and his music)
--Any Given Soundcheck
--The Next Morning
--Photo Gallery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2003
The DVD features live versions of songs from "Room For Squares," and "Inside Wants Out" -- as well as previously unreleased new material.
Recorded live at the Oak Mountain Amphitheater in Birmingham, Alabama. The music will also be available as a 2 CD collection.
SET LIST
1. Program Start
2. 3x5
3. No Such Thing
4. Back To You
5. City Love
6. Something's Missing
7. Lenny/ Man On The Side
8. Message In a Bottle
9. Love Song For No One
10. Why Georgia
11. Your Body Is A Wonderland
12. My Stupid Mouth
13. Covered In Rain
14. 83
15. Comfortable
16. Neon
17. Credits
BONUS FEATURES
--an AUDIO COMMENTARY by John Mayer (revealing the many facets of himself and his music._
--Any Given Soundcheck
--The Next Morning
--Photo Gallery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2003
If youre a John Mayer fan, than this DVD is an amazing investment. It contains so much live concert and displays so much of his talent- its amazing. It also contains Bonus Features, like the 'Morning After' segment. Its an interview with him inside of his hotel room, and it really gives you a better view of him as not only a musician- but as a down to earth person. You get to know him as a person (what sections of the newspaper he reads... what he likes about performing etc.)John is performing in CT on August 20, and I couldnt get tickets. This DVD allowed me to see what a great artist John is, and just how talented he is as a musician. It truly gives you the concert experience. If youre considering buying it- I say go for it! You wont be let down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$29.07