Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is my third password (q to secret p.w.) Hope u like it
Queen Bird 73081602 Queen of Autumn Leaves 04179849 Queen's Double 05901497 Raigeki 12580477
Raimei 56260110 Rain Of Dark Magic 27827272 Rainbow Flower 21347810 Raise Body Heat 51267887 Rare Fish 80516007 Ray & Temperature 85309439 Reaper of the Cards 33066139
Red Archery Girl 65570596 Red Medicine 38199696 Red-Eyes Black Dragon 74677422
Red-Eyes Black...
Published on March 6 2004 by Cool Dude!

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty face but brainless
The AI for this game is lame. Anyone old enough to read Yugioh cards will have no problem winning most of their games. The challenge level is decided by the computer opponent that you face. Mokuba is the easiest and always plays straight up attack mode with no magic or traps. Ishizu and Kaiba are the toughest and may win up to a third of their games. Their decks are...
Published on Sept. 10 2003


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is my third password (q to secret p.w.) Hope u like it, March 6 2004
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
Queen Bird 73081602 Queen of Autumn Leaves 04179849 Queen's Double 05901497 Raigeki 12580477
Raimei 56260110 Rain Of Dark Magic 27827272 Rainbow Flower 21347810 Raise Body Heat 51267887 Rare Fish 80516007 Ray & Temperature 85309439 Reaper of the Cards 33066139
Red Archery Girl 65570596 Red Medicine 38199696 Red-Eyes Black Dragon 74677422
Red-Eyes Black Metal Dragon 64335804 Reinforcements 17814387 Relinquished 64631466
Remove Trap 51482758 Respect Play 08951260 Restructer Revolution 99518961 Reverse Trap 77622396 Rhaimundos of the Red Sword 62403074 Right Arm of the Forbidden One 70903634
Right Leg of the Forbidden One 08124921 Ring of Magnetism 20436034 Riryoku 34016756
Rising Air Current 45778932 Roaring Ocean Snake 19066538 Robbin' Goblin 88279736
Rock Ogre Grotto #1 68846917 Rogue Doll 91939608 Root Water 39004808 Rose Spectre of Dunn 32485271 Royal Decree 51452091 Royal Guard 39239728 Rude Kaiser 26378150
Rush Recklessly 70046172 Ryu-Kishin 15303296 Ryu-Kishin Powered 24611934 Ryu-Ran 02964201 Saber Slasher 73911410 Saggi the Dark Clown 66602787 Salamandra 32268901
Sand Stone 73051941 Sangan 26202165 Sea Kamen 71746462 Sea King Dragon 23659124
Seal of the Ancients 97809599 Sebek's Blessing 22537443 Sectarian of Secrets 15507080
Senju of the Thousand Hands 23401839 Seven Tools of the Bandit 03819470 Shadow Specter 40575313 Share the Pain 56830749 Shield & Sword 52097679 Shining Fairy 95956346
Shovel Crusher 71950093 Silver Bow and Arrow 01557499 Silver Fang 90357090 Sinister Serpent 08131171 Skelengel 60694662 Skelgon 32355828 Skull Dice 00126218 Skull Mariner 05265750 Skull Red Bird 10202894 Skull Servant 32274490 Skull Stalker 54844990 Skullbird 08327462 Sleeping Lion 40200834 Slot Machine 03797883 Snake Fang 00596051 Snakeyashi 29802344 Snatch Steal 45986603 Sogen 86318356 Solemn Judgment 41420027 Solemn Wishes 35346968 Solitude 84794011 Solomon's Lawbook 23471572 Sonic Bird 57617178 Sonic Maid 38942059 Sorcerer of the Doomed 49218300 Soul Hunter 72869010 Soul of the Pure 47852924 Soul Release 05758500 Sparks 76103675 Spear Cretin 58551308 Spellbinding Circle 18807108 Spike Seadra 85326399 Spirit of the Books 14037717 Spirit of the Harp 80770678
Stain Storm 21323861 Star Boy 08201910 Steel Ogre Grotto #1 29172562Steel Ogre Grotto #2 90908427 Steel Scorpion 13599884 Steel Shell 02370081 Stim-Pack 83225447 Stone Armadiller 63432835 Stone Ogre Grotto 15023985 Stop Defense 63102017 Stuffed Animal 71068263 Succubus Knight 55291359 Summoned Skull 70781052 Supporter in the Shadows 41422426 Swamp Battleguard 40453765 Sword Arm of Dragon 13069066 Sword of Dark Destruction 37120512 Sword of Deep-Seated 98495314 Sword of Dragon's Soul 61405855
Swords of Revealing Light 72302403 Swordsman from a Foreign Land 85255550 Swordstalker 50005633 Tailor of the Fickle 43641473 Tainted Wisdom 28725004 Takriminos 44073668
Takuhee 03170832 Tao the Chanter 46247516 Temple of Skulls 00732302 Tenderness 57935140 Terra the Terrible 63308047 The 13th Grave 00032864 The Bewitching Phantom Thief 24348204 The Bistro Butcher 71107816 The Cheerful Coffin 41142615 The Drdek 08944575 The Eye of Truth 34694160 The Flute of Summoning Dragon 43973174 The Forceful Sentry 42829885 The Furious Sea King 18710707 The Immortal of Thunder 84926738
The Inexperienced Spy 81820689 The Little Swordsman of Aile 25109950 The Regulation of Tribe 00296499 The Reliable Guardian 16430187 The Shallow Grave 43434803 The Snake Hair 29491031 The Stern Mystic 87557188 The Thing That Hides in the Mud 18180762 The Unhappy Maiden 51275027 The Wandering Doomed 93788854 The Wicked Worm Beast 06285791 Thousand Knives 63391643 Three-Headed Geedo 78423643 Three-Legged Zombies 33734439 Thunder Dragon 31786629 Tiger Axe 49791927 or 40907090 Time Machine 80987696 Time Seal 35316708 Time Wizard 71625222 Toad Master 62671448 Togex 33878931 Toll 82003859 Tomozaurus 46457856 Tongyo 69572024 Toon Alligator 59383041
Toon Mermaid 65458948 Toon Summoned Skull 91842653 Toon World 15259703 Torike 80813021 Tornado Wall 18605135 Torrential Tribute 53582587 Total Defense Shogun 75372290 Trakadon 42348802 Trap Hole 04206964 Trap Master 46461247 Trent 78780140
Trial of Nightmare 77827521 Tribute to The Doomed 79759861 Tripwire Beast 45042329
Turtle Tiger 37313348 Twin Long Rods #2 29692206 Twin-Headed Fire Dragon 78984772
Twin-Headed Thunder Dragon 54752875 Two-Headed King Rex 94119974 Two-Mouth Darkruler 57305373 Two-Pronged Attack 83887306 Tyhone 72842870 Tyhone #2 56789759
Type Zero Magic Crusher 21237481 UFO Turtle 60806437 Ultimate Offering 80604091
Umi 22702055 Umiiruka 82999629 Unknown Warrior of Fiend 97360116 Upstart Goblin 70368879 Uraby 01784619 Ushi Oni 48649353 Valkyrion the Magna Warrior 75347539
Vermillion Sparrow 35752363 Versago the Destroyer 50259460 Vile Germs 39774685
Violent Rain 94042337 Violet Crystal 15052462 Vishwar Randi 78556320 Vorse Raider 14898066 Waboku 12607053 Wall of Illusion 13945283 Warrior Elimination 90873992Warrior of Tradition 56413937 Wasteland 23424603 Water Element 03732747 Water Girl 55014050
Water Magician 93343894 Water Omotics 02483611 Waterdragon Fairy 66836598 Weather Control 37243151 Weather Report 72053645 Whiptail Crow 91996584 White Hole 43487744
White Magical Hat 15150365 Wicked Mirror 15150371 Widespread Ruin 77754944 Windstorm of Etaqua 59744639 Wing Egg Elf 98582704 Winged Cleaver 39175982 Winged Dragon,Guardian of the Fortress #1 87796900 Wings of Wicked Flame 92944626 Wingweaver 31447217 Witch of the Black Forest 78010363 Witch's Apprentice 80741828 Witty Phantom 36304921 Wodan the Resident of the Forest 42883273 Wood Remains 17733394 World Suppression 12253117 Wow Warrior 69750536 Wretched Ghost of the Attic 17238333 Yado Karu 29380133 Yaiba Robo 10315429 Yamatano Dragon Scroll 76704943 Yami 59197169
Yaranzo 71280811 Zanki 30090452 Zoa 24311372 Zombie Warrior 31339260 Zone Eater 86100785 Jam Breeding Machine 21770260 Revival Jam 31709826
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is my second password ( i to p) hope u like it, March 6 2004
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
Ice Water 20848593 Ill Witch 81686058 Illusionist Faceless Mage 28546905 Imperial Order 61740673 Insect Armor with Laser Cannon 03492538 Insect Queen 91512835 Insect Soldiers of the Sky 07019529 Inspection 16227556 Invader from Another Dimension 28450915 Invader of the Throne 03056267 Invigoration 98374133 Jam Defender 21558682 Jar Of Greed 83968380
Jellyfish 14851496 Jigen Bakudan 90020065 Jinzo 77585513 Jinzo #7 32809211 Jirai Gumo 94773007 Judge Man 30113682 Just Desserts 24068492 Kagemusha of the Blue Flame 15401633 Kageningen 80600490 Kairyu-Shin 76634149 Kaiser Dragon 94566432 Kamakiriman 68928540 Kaminari Attack 09653271 Kaminarikozou 15510988 Kamionwizard 41544074 Kanikabuto 84103702 Karate Man 23289281 Karbonala Warrior 54541900 Kattapillar 81179446
Key Mace #2 20541432 Killer Needle 88979991 King Fog 84686841 King of Yamimakai 69455834 Kiseitai 04266839 Kojikocy 01184620 Kotodama 19406822 Koumori Dragon 67724379 Krokodilus 76512652 Kumootoko 56283725 Kunai with Chain 37390589 Kurama 85705804 Kuriboh 40640057 Kwagar Hercules 95144193 La Jinn the Mystical Genie of the Lamp 97590747 Labyrinth Tank 99551425 Lady of Faith 17358176 LaLa Li-oon 09430387
Larvae 94675535 Laser Cannon Armor 77007920 Last Day of Witch 90330453 Last Will 85602018 Laughing Flower 42591472 Launcher Spider 87322377 or 80703020 Lava Battleguard 20394040 Left Arm of the Forbidden One 07902349 Left Leg of the Forbidden One 44519536
Legendary Sword 61854111 Leghul 12472242 Leogun 10538007 Lesser Dragon 55444629
Light of Intervention 62867251 Lightforce Sword 49587034 Liquid Beast 93108297 Little Chimera 68658728 Little D 42625254 Lord of D 17985575 Lord of the Lamp 99510761
Lord of Zemia 81618817 Luminous Spark 81777047 Lunar Queen Elzaim 62210247 Mabarrel 98795934 Machine Conversion Factory 25769732 Machine King 46700124 Magic Cylinder 62279055 Magic Jammer 77414722 Magic Thorn 53119267 Magical Ghost 46474915 Magical Hats 81210420 Magical Labyrinth 64389297Magic-Arm Shield 96008713 Magician of Faith 31560081 Maha Vailo 93013676 Maiden of the Moonlight 79629370 Major Riot 09074847
Malevolent Nuzzler 99597615 Mammoth Graveyard 40374923 Man Eater 93553943 Man-Eater Bug 54652250 Man-Eating Black Shark 80727036 Man-Eating Plant 49127943 Man-Eating Treasure Chest 13723605 Manga Ryu-Ran 38369349 Marine Beast 29929832 Masaki the Legendary Swordsman 44287299 Mask of Darkness 28933734 Masked Sorcerer 10189126
Master & Expert 75499502 Mavelus 59036972 Mechanical Snail 34442949 Mechanical Spider 45688586 Mechanicalchaser 07359741 Meda Bat 76211194 Mega Thunderball 21817254 Megamorph 22046459 Megazowler 75390004 Meotoko 53832650 Mesmeric Control 48642904
Messenger of Peace 44656491 Metal Detector 75646520 Metal Dragon 09293977 Metal Fish 55998462 Metal Guardian 68339286 Metalmorph 68540058 Metalzoa 50705071 Millennium Golem 47986555 Millennium Shield 32012841 Milus Radiant 07489323 Minar 32539892
Minomushi Warrior 46864967 Mirror Force 44095762 Mirror Wall 22359980 Misairuzame 33178416 Molten Destruction 19384334 Monster Egg 36121917Monster Eye 84133008Monster Reborn 83764718 Monster Tamer 97612389 Monstrous Bird 35712107 Moon Envoy 45909477
Mooyan Curry 58074572 Morinphen 55784832 Morphing Jar 33508719 Morphing Jar #2 79106360 Mother Grizzly 57839750 Mountain 50913601 Mountain Warrior 04931562 Mr. Volcano 31477025 Muka Muka 46657337 Mushroom Man 14181608 Mushroom Man #2 93900406 Musician King 56907389 M-Warrior #1 56342351 M-Warrior #2 92731455
Mysterious Puppeteer 54098121 Mystic Box 25774450 Mystic Clown 47060154 Mystic Horseman 68516705 Mystic Lamp 98049915 Mystic Plasma Zone 18161786 Mystic Probe 49251811 Mystic Tomato 83011277 Mystical Capture Chain 63515678 Mystical Elf 15025844
Mystical Moon 36607978 Mystical Refpanel 35563539 Mystical Sand 32751480 Mystical Sheep #1 30451366 Mystical Sheep #2 83464209 Mystical Space Typhoon 05318639 Needle Ball 94230224 Needle Worm 81843628 Negate Attack 14315573 Nekogal #1 01761063 Nekogal #2 43352213 Nemuriko 90963488 Neo the Magic Swordsman 50930991 Nimble Momonga 22567609 Niwatori 07805359 Nobleman of Crossout 71044499 Nobleman of Extermination 17449108 Numinous Healer 02130625 Octoberser 74637266 Ocubeam 86088138 Ogre of the Black Shadow 45121025 One-Eyed Shield Dragon 33064647 Ooguchi 58861941 Ookazi 19523799 Orion the Battle King 02971090 Oscillo Hero 82065276 Oscillo Hero #2 27324313
Painful Choice 74191942 Pale Beast 21263083 Panther Warrior 42035044 Paralyzing Potion 50152549 Parasite Paracide 27911549 Parrot Dragon 62762898 Patrol Robo 76775123
Peacock 20624263 Pendulum Machine 24433920 or 20404030 Penguin Knight 36039163
Penguin Soldier 93920745 Petit Angel 38142739 Petit Dragon 75356564 Petit Moth 58192742
Polymerization 24094653 Pot of Greed 55144522 Power of Kaishin 77027445 Pragtical 33691040 Premature Burial 70828912 Prevent Rat 00549481 Princess of Tsurugi 51371017 Prisman 80234301 Prohibition 43711255 Protector of the Throne 10071456 Psychic Kappa 07892180 Pumpking the King of Ghosts 29155212 Punished Eagle 74703140
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Game-Must Buy To Believe, Jan. 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
This was the first Yu-gi-oh! cartridge I bought, and it was worth the money! I was so hooked on it, my deck in the game became strong within hours!
It is worth the money cause it also comes with three ultra rare cards. They are Harpie's Feather Duster, Valkyrion The Magna Warrior and Sinister serpent. You need the three magna warriors to summond Valkyrion but I found the other two cards very useful!
As you become more powerful, new duelists will appear. They include Marik, his sister, Peagues and even the Ghouls... But look out! If the Ghouls surprise attack you(which they somethings do) and they win, a rare card will be taken away from you! Something will happen at a stage of the game(the time you will see Marik)......but you have to buy the game to find out what! You can also type in the passwords(found on the bottem right hand corner of a card) to make your game deck more powerful!
You can even get to duel with the other self of Yu-gi, Marik and Bakura.They are a little better then the normal self ... so be careful! Look out for traps by Marik Yami , Valkyrion will sometimes be summonded by Yu-gi Yami and Destiny board by Bakura Yami!
If your deck in the game becomes too powerful, don't be proud... Cause that might not be the case in real life! So...Duelists out there...Get Ready To Duel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Carry the best card dueling game around in your pocket!, Nov. 14 2003
By 
"lawbear22" (Kalamazoo, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
I have never played Yu-Gi-Oh the card game or any previous Yu-Gi-Oh game. I am 29 years old and played pokemon extensively with my newphews during one crazed summer of their youth as well as have dabbled in "Magic: The Gathering" and previously the pen and paper role playing games as a kid.
About 1 month ago I purchased a Gameboy Advance SP and bought Wolfenstein (3-D Shooter), Shining Soul (like the first Diablo only with nes/snes anime graphics). My games quickly exhausted I went backwards to Pokemon the Trading Card game for gameboy color which also sticks out funnily in a gameboy sp. If wasn't too bad but I found the challenge and depth of real play fairly lacking. SO I READ AND RESEARCHED THE NET, READ REVIEWS CALLED MY NEPHEWS AND BOUGHT THIS GAME. Now I play almost too much.
I left off the sound used the passwords for certain cards to make a respectable deck based on the 20 monster 10 magic 10 trap card reccomendation and still preceeded to lost most of my starting games. Frustrated I almost sold the game. I figured a 29 year old should clear any kids game instantly. Well without resorting to outright cheat codes to get multiple copies of the best cards I continued to play and learned the game on the fly. I now can read the different behaviors or card play from the many different duelists and am winning 90% of my games two weeks later. There are also some excellent cards I have gotten from won matches that have no codes and have helped my deck alot. This game has become very addictive yet challenging if you face the tougher duelists. While I doubt any Yu-Gi-Oh tournament expert would struggle, this game has already paid for itself in challenge, fun, and replayability many times over. If you buy it and think its too easy keep playing till you get the unlocked characters, if it seems to hard keep playing some of the easier players. A couple dozen matches in and you'll start feeling like an expert. (If you don't play card games like this in real life I would reccomend the game for 12+). Till I find a better card game I can carry around, play by myself and save thousands versus holding all these cards in my hand I'll be burning up the lithium-ion batteries of my SP hoping the cartridge will come out one day when I finally bore of it. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty face but brainless, Sept. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
The AI for this game is lame. Anyone old enough to read Yugioh cards will have no problem winning most of their games. The challenge level is decided by the computer opponent that you face. Mokuba is the easiest and always plays straight up attack mode with no magic or traps. Ishizu and Kaiba are the toughest and may win up to a third of their games. Their decks are stacked with ultra rare cards. Not only that, the AI cheats! This was the only way that the programmers could get their AI to win any games. Basically, the AI knows your face-down monster cards. Do not bother playing Magic Hats because the computer will guess right every time. The top computer opponents will only attack face down cards with a lower defense value. For challenge, I only play with weak decks to avoid overpowering the computer. Some deck themes like Gravity Bind are beyond its ability to counter. This will not help you to beat humans. I was disappointed that some standard cards like Ring of Magnetism or Last Will were dropped with this version. There are several bugs in its implementation of specific card rules (ie Ameba with Mystic Box, Sangan with Change of Heart). On the bright side, the included promo cards, Harpy's Feather Duster and Sinister Snake, are excellent additions to anyone's deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best US Yu-Gi-Oh game, but a bit disappointing....., July 19 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
World Wide Edition (WWE) is the English version of, in my opinion, the best Yu-Gi-Oh! game, Duel Monsters 6 Expert 2 (DM6). It's based on Battle City and you go around dueling familiar characters from the anime and WWE follows the official TCG rules. WWE also comes with 3 promos: Valkyrion the Magna Warrior, Harpie's Feather Duster, and Sinister Serpent. If you got the Japanese version (Duel Monsters International), you received: Immense Stone Soldier of Obelisk, Winged Dragon of Ra, and Saint God Dragon of Osiris. I was a bit disappointed though. WWE has 1082 cards, but DM6 has 1111. Konami removed some cards like the God Cards, Death Guardius, Scapegoat, Lord of D., The Flute of Summoning Dragon among others. The difficulty level was also toned down a bit. I remember Kaiba using the One Hit Kill combo: Harpie's Feather Duster/Raigeki/Cyber-Stein/Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon + Megamorph. But now, he rarely clears the Field. DM6 also came with Gilford the Lightining, Death Voltgurst, and Ixarion Universe, but I was pleased with WWE's promos. Also, switching to Japanese, all the card art is still edited (Graceful Charity doesn't have a halo, Water Omotics isn't naked, some female cards have their cleavage covered up, etc.). WWE is still a great game, but I'd rather get DM6 if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way to Learn Duelling, July 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
First of all, I'm an adult woman in her 40s. Every summer, my nephew asks me to learn about something new. Last year it was Bionicles, the year before it was Pokemon. This year? Yup! Yu-Gi-Oh!
I found this game to be a wonderful way to learn about duelling. If you're new to playing the Yu-Gi-Oh TCG, I'd definitely recommend this game AND the Prima Guide. The guidebook explains the background, storyline, and rules of the game, and also gives the passwords to all of the cards (which can be helpful when the random draw doesn't produce the Vorse Raider or Gemini Elf that you're looking for!)
For those who are new to Yu-Gi-Oh: don't be put off by the apparent complexity of the game (especially if you're evolving from a simpler game such as Pokemon). It doesn't take long to learn how to duel, especially since this game offers helpful hints and reminders based on the cards in your hand. I found this feature to be especially useful for me.
Midway through playing this game, I had to loan my Gameboy to my nephew, whose unit had broken two days before he was scheduled to be locked up in an SUV with his family for a long trip. I went into immediate Yu-Gi-Oh withdrawal! This is a wonderful game for the beginner, because it teaches the TCG according to the official tornament rules, and is challenging enough to serve as a practice arena for more experienced duellists too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This game is the best!!, June 20 2003
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
Well to start, when I bought this game I knew it was going to be good and it was. First of all with the game comes 3 limited edition rare cards, Harpies Feather Duster-destroys all of your opponent's magic cards, Valkrion the Madnet Warrior- compined all 3 magnet warriors to form him with 3,500 ATK and 3,800 DEF, last is Sinister Serpant- when he goes to the graveyard he is sent back to your hand at the next stander base any time you whant. All 3 cards are really good and if you what to buy them separated they cost [a lot] so you saved money...Well now to the game. This game has a battle city map where you go and duel many characters. I liked it because it's like the real thing in realy life. For example, theres a map and you see people to fight to and you do also days past by and theres tournaments. I liked it because you can get all 3 God cards but it is so hard to get them, I still didn't get not even one but at least I know I can get one. I recommend this new game for everybody and it is tons of fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Step Up From EDS, June 9 2003
By 
Aaron D. Sanders (Rochester, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
This game is a step up from Eternal Duelist Soul (EDS). In general, the AI for opponents is much better (for example, they put monsters in defense position when in trouble). As others mentioned, some opponents are easy to beat, but that is by design. After all, the easiest way to get cards in the game is by beating opponents, so there have to be some that are easy since the starter decks aren't overly strong.
It definetly reinforces the basic ideas behind object oriented programming, because it's obvious that certain modules/objects were reused from EDS. Most (if not all) of the music is the same, and some of the graphic sequences are the same (like paper/rock/scissors, and most of the game play sequences, such as dealing, playing cards, and when monsters battle). Also, your opponent's comments before and after duels are very limited compared to the first game (not that it is a real concern).
The graphics are better in many respects. The cards are much more detailed in this game than in EDS. Opponents are also slightly more detailed.
The biggest reason to get this game is the move to Battle City, and the small gameplay tweeks. For example, you can duel pretty much anyone at the very beginning, including Kaiba, Yami Bakura, and others. Also, many more booster packs are available at the beginning, and booster packs seem to rotate depending on what opponent you beat. Should be interesting to see how the story/gameplay develops and if it keeps the game interesing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Game!!!, June 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
This game is a must. Konami takes the wonderful Eternal Duelist Soul up a notch. In Eternal Duelist you dueled in the town of Domino for plain fun. Here, it's Battle City. Duel new characters like Yugi's Grandpa, Bandit Keith, an improved Tea, and a new rare hunter: Odion.
Plus, Stairway to the Destined Duel has zones. You can move from zone to zone, challenging duelists and finding an occasional random tournament here and there. And you can do all this in French, English, Spanish, Italian, German, or Japanese.
The cards from Eternal Duelist Soul return, but there's a new addition!(drumroll please!) Behold! Labyrinth of Nightmare Cards!
Your favorite cards like Destiny Board, Torrential Tribute, and Bell of Destruction can now be used!
This is a pretty cool game. It is a good game to get if you don't have any other Yu-Gi-Oh games, but if you have any others (besides Dark Duel Stories) this game isn't REALLY worth buying. For you collectors, there's Valkyrion The Magna Warrior, Sinister Serpent, and Harpie's Feather Duster in the game box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yu-Gi-Oh! Worldwide Edition: Stairway to the Destined Duel - Game Boy Advance
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews