Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars I KNOW THE SONG
dear writer from NY,
I was looking for the Name of the song myself.I finally found it!
It's called "Don't dream it's over" from "Crowded house".
Here are the lyrics. I hope we were talking about the same song.
There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup
There's a battle ahead,...
Published on Feb. 2 2003 by M Hum

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Feel good CD - but short compilation mix
Here is the low down on the songs, judge for yourself:
1. "Somebody Like You" [Radio Remix] (Urban, Keith)

2. "Good Day" (Luce)

3. "Feels Like Home" (Kreviazuk, Chantal)Have always liked this song, was on Dawson's Creek.

4. "Who Do You Love?" (Thorogood, George & The Destroyers)...
Published on Feb. 12 2003


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars How to Have a Good Soundtrack in 11 Tracks., Oct. 3 2003
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
This is a fun and eclectic collection of tracks, and includes all the songs you would expect to see from the film, except one obviously glaring exception, the Crowded House cover, 'Don't Dream It's Over', by Six Pence None The Richer. I don't know why they included 'Kiss Me' instead, when the other song goes better with the movie. But I suppose it's too hard to make the perfect soundtrack, and we should be grateful for what we get, ha ha!
In spite of that little omission, the soundtrack is almost as entertaining a listen, as the movie was to watch. It's full of great pop songs, in a mix of styles to cover most of the pop spectrum, from a great classic cover like 'L.O.V.E.' to a rockin' 'Who Do You Love', to the Country-flavored theme songs of the main characters, -- and two of the standout songs, -- Keith Urban's 'Somebody Like You' and the wonderful Chantal Kreviazuk's heartbreaking 'Feels Like Home'. Along with her heartfelt second track, 'Weight of the World', these songs alone are worth buying the cd for. Overall, this is a purchase that won't disappoint fans of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I know the song, Feb. 2 2003
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
Don't Dream It's Over from Crowded House
Written by: Neil Finn
There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup
There's a battle ahead, many battles are lost
But you'll never see the end of the road
While you're travelling with me
Chorus
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
We know they won't win
Now I'm towing my car, there's a hole in the roof
My possessions are causing me suspicion but there's no proof
In the paper today tales of war and of waste
But you turn right over to the T.V. page
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
We know they won't win
Now I'm walking again to the beat of a drum
And I'm counting the steps to the door of your heart
Only the shadows ahead barely clearing the roof
Get to know the feeling of liberation and relief
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
Don't ever let them win
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I KNOW THE SONG, Feb. 2 2003
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
dear writer from NY,
I was looking for the Name of the song myself.I finally found it!
It's called "Don't dream it's over" from "Crowded house".
Here are the lyrics. I hope we were talking about the same song.
There is freedom within, there is freedom without
Try to catch the deluge in a paper cup
There's a battle ahead, many battles are lost
But you'll never see the end of the road
While you're travelling with me
Chorus
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
We know they won't win
Now I'm towing my car, there's a hole in the roof
My possessions are causing me suspicion but there's no proof
In the paper today tales of war and of waste
But you turn right over to the T.V. page
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
We know they won't win
Now I'm walking again to the beat of a drum
And I'm counting the steps to the door of your heart
Only the shadows ahead barely clearing the roof
Get to know the feeling of liberation and relief
Hey now, hey now
Don't dream it's over
Hey now, hey now
When the world comes in
They come, they come
To build a wall between us
Don't ever let them win
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Final song as credits start--answer, March 2 2003
By 
John P. Hallee (Walpole, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
Someone wanted to know the name of the song that was played at the very end of the movie. The lyrics you gave have your answer right in them. The song is called "the weight of the world" and is the last track on the soundtrack. I disagree with the 'official' review on this page that says the two tracks by Chantal are 'bland contributions'! They are two of the most poignant selections that come from key scenes in the movie!! 'Feels like home' shows us exactly what Andie is feeling as she leaves Staten Island. The song was also featured in the movie Michael and sung by Bonnie Raitt on that soundtrack. It was the perfect song for that scene and one of the major reasons I plan to buy the soundtrack!! I guess reviewers don't know everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Feel good CD - but short compilation mix, Feb. 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
Here is the low down on the songs, judge for yourself:
1. "Somebody Like You" [Radio Remix] (Urban, Keith)

2. "Good Day" (Luce)

3. "Feels Like Home" (Kreviazuk, Chantal)Have always liked this song, was on Dawson's Creek.

4. "Who Do You Love?" (Thorogood, George & The Destroyers)

5. "Let's Stay Together" (Green, Al)

6. "Follow You Down" (Blossoms, Gin)

7. "You're So Vain" (Simon, Carly)

8. "Kiss Me" (Sixpiece None The Richer)

9. "L-O-V-E" (Fisher)

10. "Catch Me If You Can" (Beu Sisters)

11. "Weight of the World" (Kreviazuk, Chantal)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, even better soundtrack!, Feb. 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
How to Lose a Guy in Two Days was one of the best movies I saw in a long time. It made me laugh and realize that ture love can be imperfect. As soon as the movie ended, I turned to my best friend Erin and said, "I have to buy that soundtrack!" After I raced to the store and got, I was escatic. As I listened to it on the way home, I realized how good the songs were. My original intention was to kind of "relive" the movie moments, but this soundtrack allowed me to appreciate the artists and the songs that they perform. This cd is perfect mix of great music with meaningful lyrics. I highly recommend it and assure you that it is the perfect purchase for any holiday!! Thanks for taking the time to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great song!, Feb. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
This is for the person wondering who sings the song in the promo. If it's the song that goes "hey now, hey now" then it's Sixpence None The Richer. It's called "Don't Dream It's Over". I actually don't believe this song is on the soundtrack, unfortunately. But usually the main promo song never makes the soundtrack for some reason. I still remember "Crush" by Jennifer Paige being the main promo song for "Simply Irresistible" yet that song was not on the soundtrack. I know I've gone on too long and this review is only help to that one person, probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why do they use songs in promos but not on the soundtrack?, March 17 2003
By 
K. Alley "Mermayd" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
This film has not opened in the UK (where I live) but the trailer has started airing. The song from the trailer, Don't Dream It's Over, written by Neil Finn from Crowded House, is a cover version by Sixpence None the Richer and is available on their album, (I think called divine inspriration or something like that). So if you want that song, find that album.
The other songs look like pretty standard fare to me. Kiss Me has been on a dozen soundtracks it seems, as well as the Dawson's Creek soundtrack. Carly Simon jazzes up any album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars song in the promo: crowded house song: must have it, Feb. 9 2003
By 
Alan O. Weeks "drmojave" (riverside, ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
song in the promo is "don't dream it's over" (hey now hey now) by crowded house, an excellent band from australia. buy all their cd's, they are great. i do not know who the singer is in the promo but i like it and i must have it. it sounds similar to emmie who covered bryan ferry's roxy music: more than this. any one else please help. by the way i am looking for a girl singer similar to this: opportunities abound, structure is available. i play, you sing, we record/perform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Sixpence song, Feb. 6 2003
By 
Mike D (Harrisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (Audio CD)
The Sixpence None the Richer song heard in the promo is "Don't Dream It's Over", a cover version of the classic by Crowded House. Strangely enough, this song is NOT, repeat NOT, on the soundtrack; they used "Kiss Me" instead. "Don't Dream It's Over" can be found on the Sixpence album titled "Divine Discontent" and the original version is found on the self-titled album "Crowded House".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days
How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days by David Newman (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews