Customer Reviews


288 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (77)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game
This game is hot, its based on the movie"The matrix Reloaded".There is even an agent smith...but im not going to tell u much more of that. I suggest u get this game. it has fairly good grapics and good AI.
Published on June 30 2004 by km2good2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not without its flaws, but still great fun.
Videogames based on movies are nothing new, though they have in many respects come a long way from the adaptations of ET and RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK that appeared on the venerable Atari 2600 platform. ENTER THE MATRIX, part of the media blitz surrounding the release of THE MATRIX RELOADED, is part of this videogaming trend. Like many such games before it, ENTER THE...
Published on June 11 2003 by James Kosub


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Not without its flaws, but still great fun., June 11 2003
By 
James Kosub (Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Videogames based on movies are nothing new, though they have in many respects come a long way from the adaptations of ET and RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK that appeared on the venerable Atari 2600 platform. ENTER THE MATRIX, part of the media blitz surrounding the release of THE MATRIX RELOADED, is part of this videogaming trend. Like many such games before it, ENTER THE MATRIX falls short in terms of gameplay, but it breaks new ground, too.
The first idea with which one must grapple is that ENTER THE MATRIX isn't meant to stand on its own. Most movie- or television-based games try to restage the action of the films - often with mixed results, though exceptions like EA's THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE TWO TOWERS do exist - or simply shoehorn familiar characters into awkward videogame frameworks like platforming or cart-racing. ENTER THE MATRIX is instead an integral part of THE MATRIX RELOADED, connecting with and being informed by that film in an unprecedented fashion.
This relationship to the filmic source material is paradoxically ENTER THE MATRIX's greatest asset and its most severe flaw. While those watching THE MATRIX RELOADED won't need any of the hour of new, DVD-quality material filmed specifically for the game, footage that fills in background action for the movie, ENTER THE MATRIX players simply can't derive much enjoyment from the game without a thorough familiarity with the film. ENTER THE MATRIX makes no attempt to stand alone, and unless a player has seen THE MATRIX RELOADED, oftentimes the sequences portrayed with make little to no sense.
At the same time, those who have seen THE MATRIX RELOADED will have a blast. ENTER THE MATRIX has issues in terms of control, sometimes glitchy sound and occasionally awkward graphics, but the sensation of being in the movie has never been so strong when playing a videogame as it is here. Players who know THE MATRIX RELOADED will thrill to execute crucial behind-the-scenes missions, the success of which carries the fate of MATRIX heroes Neo, Trinity and Morpheus in the balance.
The aforementioned flaws in the game's design are a problem, even though the "you are there" sensation of ENTER THE MATRIX is so powerful. Released on the same day as THE MATRIX RELOADED, ENTER THE MATRIX probably could have used another two or three months of fine-tuning to bring the game's disparate elements of running, shooting, driving and martial arts combat into better alignment. The extraordinary synergy between the production of THE MATRIX RELOADED and ENTER THE MATRIX makes for some stunning moments, and players can't help but cheer themselves on when executing a slo-mo kung fu takedown rendered with exquisite motion-capture. However it's high points like those that only serve to draw attention to the game's flaws. ENTER THE MATRIX breaks new ground in media tie-in videogames. Unfortunately, like most pioneers it's rough around the edges. Players willing to overlook those imperfections are in for a great time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If your a die-hard Matrix fan, you'll probably want to expand the story with this game., Feb. 2 2008
By 
S. Bouley "Derelict" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I loved the first Matrix movie. This game is much like the 2nd and 3rd movies were to me; it would've been better if it didn't have the Matrix name attached. There's just so much to live up too.

The story of the game takes place before and during the Matrix: ReLoaded. You play as Ghost or Naiobi. You don't get to play as any of the main characters, and you don't switch back and forth throughout the game. Instead you pick which character you'd like to be at the beginning, and take their story through the whole game. The story helps add to the story of the movies in an attempt to add more depth to both the plot, and the characters.

The combat is sufficient, complete with martial arts, guns, and bullet time. None of which really evolve a lot as you go alone.

There's a few driving levels in the game to help mix things up a little bit as well.

The graphics are also, sufficient, but very dark. If I don't want to have to crank up the brightness, I have to wait until night and turn off every light, or else I'll have trouble seeing what's going on.

Overall, there's nothing really terrible about the game, but I also wasn't blown away with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, June 30 2004
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is hot, its based on the movie"The matrix Reloaded".There is even an agent smith...but im not going to tell u much more of that. I suggest u get this game. it has fairly good grapics and good AI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good fighting game, June 21 2004
By 
"cheezy88" (Syracuse, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Ive always loved action adventure games but the reason I never buy them is because there usually way to short even if they are good games. This game has you playing a million different missions. You can be Niobe or Ghost and both play different missions but they also intertwine with each other. The gameplay is exactly like the movies. You can slow stuff down and do the impossible move like wall running by using the focus button. The gun variety isnt that bad either. The only thing I cant figure out is the hacking thing. Overall though this game rocks and you'll spend hours playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Darn great game, June 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I think this is one of the greatest games I've ever played I just can't stop playing although at times it can be boring because I have completed the game so many times it is still fun to grab a grenade launcher and watch a smith fall to his death or grab dual automatic pistols and blast away.Also it's fun to put in cheat codes and simply walk up to an agent and throw him off a roof.Personally I love to put in the cheat Infinite focus and jump, leap, roll, flip etc. 69E5D9E4 (infinite focus).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Game ever!, June 10 2004
By 
Jae Yoon (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I rented this game first and I had to go buy it because it is just too good. If you didn't like the Matrix movie, don't buy this game, but if you did -- Definitely want to keep this one along with your the Matrix movie collection. This game contains the Naobi/Goast side of the movie. So if you want to see the whole version of the Matrix Reload movie, GO BUY THIS ONE!
Story 10/10
Control 10/10
Graphic 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going Beyond the Rabbit Hole, May 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I am a COLOSSAL fan of the Matrix films.They are some of the best films of the century, and in my opinion, the only possible contender agianst LOTR as the greatest action epic ever. The trilogy started good, and while it went out with a fizz instead of a bang- oh, anyway- The Game. This was the first game I ever bought for the PS2- and is better than the LOTR video games. You can slow down in to " Bullet-Time" as Niobe or as Ghost, both whom had only cameos in the movies. You can take out enemies with Kung-Fu that would make Jackie Chan's head spin. Our, you can search for a minute, grab a gun, and dish out swift justice to an Agent. Oh, yeah and a hint for the " Hacking section" enter " Cheat.exe" their and then press ENTER and you unlock the ability to discover cheats- you'll have to figure this A+ game out from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix IS EXCLUSIVE, April 29 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
You all might think just that just, because this game has a few glitches that the game is bad. The thing is that YOUR game might be the one with glitches. Go back and ask for a new one. This is how I rate the game.
Gameplay- 9/10
Controls- 9/10
Graphics- 10/10
Overall, this gets a 29/30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great game, April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I like this game i had bought it a few days ago and i love it is easy and fun to play you can move in slow motion and run on walls and also use a varity of diffrent guns also your health goes up tell it is full witch i like because i have problems with in diffrent games with health but it is to short and multi players is a cheat thats pretty stupied and you can only be ghost or niobe what about neo. anyway if you dont have lot of spare time and like action packed games go and buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, terrible, and then some., April 13 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game was one of the worst, most faulty PS2 games I have ever played. I eventually had to return it because it didn't work.
The only reason I gave it a 1 is because being able to fight in "bullet time" (using Focus) was amusing.
Don't waste your money on this. I'm a hardcore Matrix fan, and even I didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2
Enter the Matrix - PlayStation 2 by Infogrames (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 34.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews