Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (27)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST GAMES TO DATE!
Enter the Matrix redefines the action genre. It has mind-bending special effects, awesome move, and of course, that alwways loved slow motion effect. Put it all together, and you have one of the coolest games around.
This game has to main characters: Ghost and Niobe. In the beggining, you can choose which character you want to play as. Both characters do different...
Published on July 3 2003 by John Mazza

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars On foot missions are great
ONFOOTMISSIONS
The onfoot missions are great, I was shocked with a preview trailor and I was going to get the game whatever the outcome. All you do is run through levels and beat up or shoot anyone that stands in your way. There are 3 buttons to press, punch, kick and disarm, that's the buttons for hand to hand combat. When pushing any of the buttons the game...
Published on May 13 2004 by bone thug!


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars On foot missions are great, May 13 2004
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
ONFOOTMISSIONS
The onfoot missions are great, I was shocked with a preview trailor and I was going to get the game whatever the outcome. All you do is run through levels and beat up or shoot anyone that stands in your way. There are 3 buttons to press, punch, kick and disarm, that's the buttons for hand to hand combat. When pushing any of the buttons the game randomly selects a move and it might be depending in which way your facing. If you played Dead to Rights, hand to hand combat is rubbish in it, dissarms in it are awsome(better than Enter the Matrix), so I think they're as good as each other.
There're some ausome moves like running up a wall then doing a stylish spin off it then kick them in the face. Shooting is ausome for owning the game for 10 days because slowmo is used to a great exstent, as good as the original Max Payne. You can do cartwheels to dodge bullets and forward dives whilst spinning when shooting. There's variaty and you'll be playing this non stop for 10 days. The graphics are bland and there are alot off glitches in the game and that's why the game doesn't last as long as GTA 3/VICE CITY, that knocks 1 star of.
DRIVING or RIDING SHOTGUN(knocks 1 star off)
Driving as Niobe is below average, all you do is drive forward and turn corners and the 2 or so levels look the same. You can send Ghost out to lean out of the car window to fend of cop cars.
Riding shotgun(as Ghost)is when instead of driving, you lean out of the window to shoot cop cars or the Agents. If someone is shooting you from behind you can shoot ongoing trafic to block thier way. Also when shooting cop cars they fip over you. That part of the game is rubbish to me.
Is it worth bying? yes if you're a Matrix fan. This is a perfect rent because you're in for a treat playing this for 10 days or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor gameplay and a terrible ending doom this game., Feb. 20 2004
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
This game was so disappointing that it is the reason that I will not buy a video game based on a movie again. I know that this game was made by the Wachowski brothers while making the last two films, but the game feels pasted together. You play as wither NIobbe or Ghost an attempt to complete certain missions. rather than being in the mode of a first person shooter or a side stroller you are positioned above the player ala Grand Theft Auto 3, but the movements are not as fluid as in GTA 3. After a few missions they become mundane. I played this game for a few weeks and just had enough of it. My kids started playing it and I watched them pass the game, I was slightly excited to see what kind of a ending a game based on the Matrix , and all I got was a preview for Matrix 3. What a disappointment. Also, you may have heard that if you play this game you will understand the Matrix trilogy better, this is not true. Everything you need to understand the matrix is in the 3 films, this game was just a way for the creators to milk $50 out of us.
T
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the matrix, Jan. 13 2004
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
OK, when I first got this game i was amazed at how fun it was, then, i realized how repetitave it got.
The "bullet-time" or w/e is a pretty cool thing, and the levels are big. The only thing wrong? Everything Else.
The moves you can pull are very limited and repetitive. Guns keep appearing the same too.
In the game you can play as two charectors, Ghost and Niobe. It seems, they only worked on Niobe's levels, and they arn't even that great. The in-game videos are just ghost/niobe doing the same exact thing.
They give you lots of extra matrix footage, which, is good. But nothing exciting, just extra 3 second sceens of people talking.
Again, the biggest problem with this game, if nothing else: LIGHTING. I dont care about realism of shadows and darkness and lightbulbs, IM NOT GOING TO KNOW WHATS GOING ON IN A PITCH BLACK ROOM. Even with the brigtness up, the lighting still sucks. And its very, VERY fustrating.
Matrix Fan? Go ahead, buy it, just dont expect anything special. Just looking for a good game? STAY AWAY. There are many other games better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent game - a great concept, Oct. 19 2003
By 
M. Moroneso (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
This game is really only "OK." It can at times be a lot of fun, especially to execute moves in bullet time, but the game play can also drag on, and get a little absurd (the car chasing stuff for example.) What s really cool about this game is how well the story weaves in an out of Reloaded. The feel is straight up "Matrix" and you get let in on a lot of neet little charachter moments you don't see in the film (especially Persephone & the Oracles interactions with the two player characters.) there are a few scenes in Reloaded that actually seem to have a different feel to them when you see the actions taken in this game (especially regarding Niobe's relationships.) Additionaly the hacking is alot of fun - especially for peole who actually used to work in DOS.
But the biggest down side is that it is really short. I finished the game in a weekend - and I am not a serious "gamer" - for reference it took me over a month of on and off playing to finish Splinter Cell, about a week to finish the first Buffy, and about 8 days to finish KOTOR. Because of that, I would seriously recomend that people who play alot just consider renting this game - you will probably easily finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Where's the Gameplay?, Oct. 18 2003
By 
M. Netzley (California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
I'll be completely honest with you, the only part I enjoyed is the 'hacking' section, which doesn't last long. I just found the rest of the game to be dull, or positively boring.
First off, the graphics are horrid. Remember that great scene in the first Matrix where it was the first time you ever saw an agent dodge bullets? Remember how cool that looked? In the game he just kind of leans to one side while a shiny rock thuds against the wall next to him. Remember seeing Morpheus get digitized into the phone in the subway? Well in the game there are 'power outages' when the characters exit the Matrix, meaning they're standing there with the phone, the lights go out, and then they're gone. Not only does that happen in the live action footage, but in the CG as well.
I found the hand-to-hand combat engine to be completely off the mark. It's anything but intuitive (as once promised); rather its just a collection of moves that get repetitive after awhile. Plus the collision and clipping errors were anything but far and few between. The 'focus,' ie bullet time, was OK, but I had a lot more fun with it in Max Payne. Running up walls was great fun, along with doing the one handed cartwheel.
I won't say anything about the, ahem, 'driving' levels.
However, my biggest gripe with this game is that there is no game. Here's the typical level:
introduction movie, run through the level (following an ARROW, for pete's sake, which takes all the joy of discovery out of it), kill a couple of people, cutscene plays, repeat.
The game almost seems like an excuse to watch scenes which SHOULD HAVE BEEN in the movie!
I'm a MAJOR Matrix fan, and buying the game and then seeing the movie literally the next day really killed my spirts. I found them to both be very disappointing. Perhaps the movie would've been the least bit more interesting if the scenes in the game (which all involve characters that are only featured in the film for several minutes) had been put in the film.
It almost seems as if the Wachowski Brothers had a great idea that would fit into one movie, so they did several things - break it up into two movies, the first of which is pure fluff for the second; make a game featuring cutting room floor footage (ya ya, I know, the footage was specifically shot for the game, humor me); and take one of the most integral parts of the backstory, turn it into a CGI anime, and play it in front of, of all movies, Dreamcatcher?
Sounds like a shattered dream, to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DEFINETLY flawed, but great for Matrix fans, Sept. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
I'm torn with this game. It delivers a great backstory that connects to the movie "The Matrix Reloaded". It also has about an hour worth of footage that was shot just for the game. It has a great little mini mission that lets you hack into the game and unlock several different things, such as cheats for the game and a multiplayer mode. There's even a trailer for the third Matrix movie "The Matrix Revolutions". But even with all these things going for it (and a girl-on-girl kiss between Jada Pinkett and Monica Belluci), its really a pretty [bad] game. You can slow down time with the bullet mode feature, but this gets old pretty fast. Games that ripped this feature from the first Matrix movie (i.e. Max Payne) use it in a much better way. The combat consist of about two buttons which again, gets tiring REALY,REALY FAST! Its also obvious that the developer didn't take the time to polish the graphics, they just rushed it out so the release date would coincide with the movie. There are alot of glitches in the game,such as getting stuck in walls and the game freezing (it didn't happen that often with me, but I've heard it happen to other people). It's also pretty short. I beat it within a weekend. An added bonus though, you can play as both Niobi and Ghost. I just don't see the point of putting Ghost in. He doesn't have ONE line in the entire movie!!! Yet he is the main character of the game? I don't get that. I, like many Matrix fans, would have rather played as Neo or Morpheous or Trinity. But as much as I trash this game I've gotta say, if your a Matrix fan, as I am, you will eat up every minute of the extras. If not, I wouldn't pick this one up. There's rumor of another Matrix game that is connected with the third movie and an online PC game (soon to be XBOX game) called "The Matrix Online". Look at this as a bonus interactive DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Cut scenes and decent graphics, nothing more, Aug. 15 2003
By 
Alexander Perseus (West Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
The good:
if you absolutely love the matrix universe, this game has some material about the events of Matrix reloaded and the upcoming matrix revolutions.
The graphics are pretty cool, they used a nice graphics engine and definately gave a dark and sinister look to most of the game.
The concept of intermixing movie and game plotlines and having two characters doing different things on the same missions is great. Unfortunately they failed on the execution of this good concept.
The Bad:
Bad gameplay, the gameplay is just an excuse to get to the cut scenes it seems. Some of the "levels" are nothing but running around and following the "arrow" and then get to a cut scene which is done with great mediocrity.
Crummy storyline, yes I know the Warchowski brothers wrote the game scenario but there isn't much in the story that "reveals" anything unique nor is the story that important.
The game is overall not challenging nor stunning in concept. It's a mediocre franchise. Rent it if you absolutely have to see the cut scenes but otherwise, just see the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars You'd think it would be better., July 18 2003
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
I've played this on PS2 and XBOX and have yet to try GCN (but trust me only having one of them is fine.) Essentially every game looks the same on each system and has the same storyline, extras etc. Therefore there is no "best" version that you can get.
To start off the game has nice graphics and sound....and that's about it really. Gameplay is nice but it gets VERY repetetive and therefore eventually gets a tad big boring. It's nice to see all those slow-motion videos and such when you want to but that loses its value. Especially when everything you can do combat wise has already been done to its full content in the movies alone. I gave the game three stars because its not really bad, but I didn't have much fun with it.
I'm not usually one to play games based on movies, or are a spin-off a movie for that matter. But everywhere I looked these gaming magazines had given the game a pretty favorable review...so what the hell right?
The only reason to really get this game now is if you were interested in the plot of the Matrix movie series and if you didn't fully understand "The Matrix Reloaded." Other than that there isn't much more to say. The gameplay gets more repetetive than your average action/adventure game. It's insanely easy to beat (until you get chased down by six agent Smiths). The only reason its so easy is because should you get low on health you can easily avoid enemies and your health gauge will gradually restore itself which, I don't know about you, but for me completely takes the challenge out of the game.
Overall, not a bad game but I really can't say it's the worth forking over the money to buy. It's another overhyped game that we were tricked into buying. RENT this game first before you choose to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Take the Blue Pill and Skip It, July 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
After playing Enter the Matrix and watching the movie, I found myself asking, "Why, oh why, didn't I take the blue pill?" Preliminary press for this game promised cutting-edge graphics--it delivered ordinary visuals with marionette-like motion capture. While some of the fighting moves are unique (especially using Focus, your in game bullet-time effect) and very true to the movie, ordinary movements like climbing a ladder look stilted and almost comical. On top of that, some of the best choreographed movements are hindered by awkward camera angles that, while cinematic in large rooms, make it impossible to see your character during combat in tight spaces. If you thought the camera was awkward, wait until you try any of the three control schemes....Ah, you say, what about the compelling full-motion video, filmed with the movie's actors; directed and written by the Wachowskis themselves? Sadly, all are used to merely rehash some of the same story elements in the movie itself--sometimes ad nauseum. While there are additional plot points, they are clearly material for the cutting room floor and not worthy of [the] price of admission. One bright spot in the game amidst gloom: Hacking. This minigame proves that groping one's way around a DOS menu can be an entertaining way to unlock cheats, view concept art, and get even more story. All in all, while offering some entertainment value, Enter the Matrix suffers from sub-par graphics, awkward controls and full-motion video storytelling that offers little new information. Rent it, if you want to decide for yourself how deep this rabbit hole really is(n't).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST GAMES TO DATE!, July 3 2003
By 
John Mazza "GameAverage.com" (Valley Center, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Enter the Matrix - Xbox (Video Game)
Enter the Matrix redefines the action genre. It has mind-bending special effects, awesome move, and of course, that alwways loved slow motion effect. Put it all together, and you have one of the coolest games around.
This game has to main characters: Ghost and Niobe. In the beggining, you can choose which character you want to play as. Both characters do different things during the game, so it's like two games in one.
The controls are relatively easy. To attack: Y and B. To dodge bullets: A and X. Like I said, easy. Shooting a weapon is a little bit harder than running up to a person and knocking them out, put it is easy to master. The XBOX version is, in my opinion, the best version, because of the placement of the joysticks, and the graphics are the best.
It also has over one hour of footage from the movies, and after you beat the game, it shows a trailer for: The Matrix Revolution (which by the way looks awesome).
Overall, this game is one of the best games you can get for your money (and did I mention that it is incredibly long?). It is well worth it. Graphincs are state-of-the-art. Mind bending special effects. Kick [butt] kicks and punches. All-in-all, a great game well worth your time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enter the Matrix - Xbox
Enter the Matrix - Xbox by Infogrames (Xbox)
CDN$ 69.99 CDN$ 35.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews