Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars The adventures of a slacker
Set in the Icelandic capital 101 REYKJAVIK follows the life of underachiever and slacker Hlynur: he's unemployed, in his 30's, and still lives at home with his mother. What's more, he has absolutely no ambitions for his life, hardly gets up before noon, and loves porn. He certainly didn't have good role models; his absent father is a drunk and his mother smokes hash with...
Published on April 21 2004 by S. Calhoun

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing novel about this movie
I've seen many Foreign Films lately, and I've noticed that most of the ones I've seen are extremely simplistic, and focus the entire story on an average character and his/her daily routines.
The problem with this movie is that the main character is an underachiever, and his life is less than entertaining. True, a character's life CAN be boring, but the story can't...
Published on March 21 2004 by Lightning V


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nothing novel about this movie, March 21 2004
By 
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
I've seen many Foreign Films lately, and I've noticed that most of the ones I've seen are extremely simplistic, and focus the entire story on an average character and his/her daily routines.
The problem with this movie is that the main character is an underachiever, and his life is less than entertaining. True, a character's life CAN be boring, but the story can't. A dull life and dreary routine can make for a good movie (i.e "400 Blows"), but for the movie to succeed, it's got to be shown in an entertaining way.
I seriously felt swindled out of $20 by the time the credits rolled. There was nothing fresh about this movie at all. The characters were not intriguing to say the least. And just looking at the scenery was sending me to an early nap.
And so, visually, this movie also disappointed me: all the audience gets to see of Iceland is the main character's house, a Welfare office, a nightclub, a bazaar, and a few shots of apartment interiors. If there was more scenery in this movie, it didn't leave any memorable impressions.
To sum up, I watched this movie for three reasons:
1) to be entertained by the main character's lifestyle
2) to listen to the Icelandic language
3) to get a colorful glimpse of Iceland
In conclusion, the only good thing I can say about this movie is that most of it is in Icelandic. That said, I seriously doubt anyone will be enthralled by the movie's story. And people hoping to see Iceland or even just Reykjavik in all its glory will be disappointed by the film's choice of locations. The movie does not do Iceland justice, and it does not do the movie industry justice. At its very best, this movie is less-than-average.
Aside from this movie, I've only see one other Icelandic movie, "The Sea." And if you have to pick between "101 Reykjavik" and "The Sea," I definitely recommend the latter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The adventures of a slacker, April 21 2004
By 
S. Calhoun "rhymeswithorange" (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
Set in the Icelandic capital 101 REYKJAVIK follows the life of underachiever and slacker Hlynur: he's unemployed, in his 30's, and still lives at home with his mother. What's more, he has absolutely no ambitions for his life, hardly gets up before noon, and loves porn. He certainly didn't have good role models; his absent father is a drunk and his mother smokes hash with him. At first I don't have any sympathy for Hlynur, but there's something about his interactions with the other characters that kept me engaged to keep watching. There are indeed some very funny scenes that certainly made me laugh out loud. As the story progressed I couldn't help but be drawn into Hlynur's predicaments, pathetic as they seem. Though most scenes were filmed indoors the cinematography of Reykjavik and the surrounding areas was gorgeous. This film was entertaining and funny. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Nordic delivery!, July 14 2004
By 
Roger I. Camara Lemarroy "macacox" (monterrey, nuevo leon Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
What do you get in a coming-of-age movie when the leading character is 30 years old?
Lets just say you get an excellent movie, where the comedy is driven by the way of life of a slacker in the small and cold town of reykjavik, iceland's biggest city. The drama and motif in the characters rise when Hilmir finds out he's just gone to bed with his mom's partner.
It's a great funny story of similar to films brought by Spanish director Almodovar, without the dramatic gloom and heavy atmosphere.
And to top it off it features and excellent music soundtrack, by Damon Albarn of Blur, which is also a great buy.
All in all, this film is definetively a must see.
Also, if you liked this film, i also recommend looking for "Noi Albinoi" (iceland), and "F***ing Amal" (sweeden).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Nordic delivery!, July 14 2004
By 
Roger I. Camara Lemarroy "macacox" (monterrey, nuevo leon Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
What do you get in a coming-of-age movie when the leading character is 30 years old?
Lets just say you get an excellent movie, where the comedy is driven by the way of life of a slacker in the small and cold town of reykjavik, iceland's biggest city. The drama and motif in the characters rise when Hilmir finds out he's just gone to bed with his mom's partner.
It's a great funny story of similar to films brought by Spanish director Almodovar, without the dramatic gloom and heavy atmosphere.
And to top it off it features and excellent music soundtrack, by Damon Albarn of Blur, which is also a great buy.
All in all, this film is definetively a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Iceland? Who would guess...?, July 5 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
I mean, a movie set in Reykjavik, Iceland???
Well, it's terrific, and filled with some of the most hilarious, memorable lines ever to come from the screen. My personal favorite was: But I've never cheated on my mother before!
101 Reykjavik focuses on the life of a chronic welfare recipient who lives his depressed life with his mother in a small apartment where the bathtub is 3 feet from the kitchen table. Enter: another woman, but both mother and son want her. Sit back, laugh, and enjoy this film of urban angst and aimlessness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, April 2 2013
By 
Dwight Brown (Stittsville, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 101 Reykjavik [Import] (DVD)
Got us prepped for the Iceland trip we took in 2009. Funny story, a tale of young love etc. Hooray for Iceland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Reykjavik [Import]
101 Reykjavik [Import] by Baltasar Kormákur (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 152.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews