Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmorizing classic!
this movie is amazing from beginning to the end. It's even better when you watch it for the 2nd or even the 3rd time because you see clues you didn't see before and appreciate the stylish and the artistic film and also understand the film better. the story is great and clever and never slows down to the end. I was totally mesmorized. many people didn't like this...
Published on July 6 2004 by J. floyd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another De Palma gem!
First and foremost, I have to admit to myself that I am a Brian De Palma fan. I don't like all his stuff (Scarface, Mission Impossible, to name a few) but, if you want gratuitous eye candy, this film has it all. A lot of people that I have spoken to complained about Femme Fatale's ludicrous plot twists. Of course it's ludicrous! The excessive plot falls right in line with...
Published on May 8 2004 by Charles Scott Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Come Closer......Closeeeeer......the closer you look, the more fun it is, Nov. 8 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
Thanks to R.A. Bean aka:Depalama's #1 I have the opportunity to wrap myself around this wonderful film. Femme fatale seems to be in vogue and a fascination with so many contemporary filmmakers. And when connected with heists and sexual acts, Brian DePalma does have a great flair for making his `femme fatale' intriguingly stylish and mysterious - especially when she slips into two personalities with a touch of Hitchcockian appeal.

DePalma's cinematic approach is incredibly baroque and surreal. He skillfully dabs some stolen moments from his many past films into his plot and sub-plots to create this modern thriller. Yep, he sets the mood, with a `50s classic film, to introduce his femme fatale. Then he glamorizes her, letting her blend in with the spirit and the festive mood of Cannes. From there, he lets the viewers' imagination run wild, as if watching her inch her way through some of the memorable scenes of some past movies. There's the presence of warped dreamlike moments, not so different from David Lynch's Mulholland Drive (yes I also finally seen it this week) - dark, cold and sort of going nowhere until the last half-hour when the puzzles begin to fit. The uncanny twist, plugged into the film to disentangle the web of confusion, carves out a pleasingly and surprisingly ironical ending - as if one is seeing Run Lola Run all over again. Call it an erotic, twisted psychological thriller - if you wish - but I truly had fun connecting the dots. In a way, rather suspenseful! And there are loads of playful teases in the film to allow the viewers to struggle with illusions and disillusions! There's just no telling what's real or unreal; or who is supposed to do what. It's like saying everything, witnessed by the eye, is possible.

The story is visually and stylishly narrated with great focus on De Palma's ravishing and praiseworthy filmmaking techniques - camera movement, timing, split frames, frame editing etc. I must admit the visually accentuated and explicit sex scenes - 'striptease' and lesbo exposures included, are rather artistically filmed! Beware prudes, just cover your eyes! But don't forget - that's to be the expected draw whenever a noir seducer gets on screen! After all, a `femme fatale' is never meant to be a housebound angel! As someone once said `women are compartmentalized; her legs and a** identify a supporting character until the finale explains her identity.' You can bet, the film has a lot of torso sections of Rebecca Romijn-Stamos' to offer some cinematic thrills! Great dramatic sounds from the music scores to create excitement. The song, "Sexe" - by the French singer, Damien Saez - beautiful being!

A mesmerizing cast of principle actors. Rebecca Romijn-Stamos who is brilliant in her roles. Who cares whether her two characters are developed well! Men are likely to fall under the spell of Laura/Lily! Charismatic Antonio Banderas in his paparazzo role offers some very funny moments. And the moods of both the Cannes and Paris surroundings delightfully trigger off the appeal of glamour and romanticism on screen.

"Femme Fatale" is fascinating with a touch of French film noir! DePalma always does well in mesmerizing the viewers with stylistic takes from one frame to another and so far he has not prove me wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sparkel22 watch it again and learn!, July 9 2004
By 
J. Colburn "germanyjon" (Tulsa, OK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
No offense intended towards the reviewer name "Sparkel" but he/she needs to WATCH the movie, in its entirety to KNOW why the woman in the bathroom stall 'allowed' her diamonds to be stolen. ...went right over your head i guess.
loved the film, and was suprised that i waited over a year to see it and was refreshingly suprised with what i saw. EVEN if you disagree with depalma's style or the overall quality of the film, you'll (provided you're breathing) will love the visuals and how stunningly beautiful rebecca and her french 'freind' are.
sit back and enjoy this one!
j
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A mesmorizing classic!, July 6 2004
By 
J. floyd (pac nw) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
this movie is amazing from beginning to the end. It's even better when you watch it for the 2nd or even the 3rd time because you see clues you didn't see before and appreciate the stylish and the artistic film and also understand the film better. the story is great and clever and never slows down to the end. I was totally mesmorized. many people didn't like this movie. It'll be one of those films that people either didn't like or missed that will be a total classic in the future. It's one of the best movies I've seen in the past 5 years. It's totally non-hollywood so if you like that kind of movie, you won't like this, which is very intelligent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars little hit&alot of miss, June 20 2004
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
this film was interesting for a minute then it lost me.the story writing was a bit under developed on a whole&after a while the pacing of the film got fragged down.it had a few moments but not enough to maintain my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ZZZZZZZ......, June 4 2004
By 
C. Avery "sparkle22" (Houston, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie was ridiculous. I absoutely do not believe that the woman at the film festival was so enthralled in making out that she did not notice her jewels were being stolen. Considering the ensemble she was wearing, that is highly unlikely. On top of that, what fool would make out with a stranger in a public bathroom??? I'm not getting it...I didn't "get" the rest of the movie either because I fell asleep...It was slow and boring; make better use of your time and watch something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars rebecca saves it, May 23 2004
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
I think it is fairly obvious to everyone who watched this movie that the plot is not very original at all. What I do not understand is why people complain about it in their reviews??? For those reviewers who crave for complicated story lines, I suggest Agatha Christie. For the rest, there are enough number of details in Femme Fatale for an erotic-thriller that almost anyone would like to watch it for a second time to absorb what is really going on. Also, Rebecca Romijn Stamos' performance is outstanding. It is worth to see this movie to witness that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another De Palma gem!, May 8 2004
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
First and foremost, I have to admit to myself that I am a Brian De Palma fan. I don't like all his stuff (Scarface, Mission Impossible, to name a few) but, if you want gratuitous eye candy, this film has it all. A lot of people that I have spoken to complained about Femme Fatale's ludicrous plot twists. Of course it's ludicrous! The excessive plot falls right in line with the excessive camera work and excessive editing. I can't remember the last time I had so much fun watching a movie. There will be a lot of Hitchcock comparisons, but what director of thriller films, isn't influenced by him these days?
Here's the skinny. The film stars Rebecca Romijn as the Femme Fatale, and Antonio Banderas stars as one of her victim/lover/blackmailer. Eriq Ebouaney is impressive as an ex-con seeking revenge. He is constantly surprising me with his incredible range. Peter Coyote plays another dull and wooden character (he really sucks.) Hey Pete! I know you have to make a living, but please give it a rest. The good thing is that he's only on the screen for about 10 minutes.
I would have given the movie 4 stars, but I had to deduct one for Sakamoto's blatant rip-off of Ravel's Bolero for the film score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars more like Femme Fatality, March 15 2004
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
maybe my expectations were too high but this movie just didn't get my attention very much the movie is slow and deary throughout as well as confusing, one word to describe it is well uninteresting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sexy, Smart & Provacative, March 11 2004
By 
D. J. Zabriskie "zabdart" (Park Ridge, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is a lot better than most reviewers thought. Besides
being stylish, sexy and beautiful to look at, it's far more intelligent than your usual Hollywood fare. It operates on more than one level at a time, and, because it gives you something to think about that is not issue-oriented, is really rather fascinating.
To discuss the plot is to give things away, so I will tell you rather what is so interesting about this picture.
If "Dressed to Kill" was DiPalma's tribute to Hitchcock, "Femme Fatale" is his tribute to Goddard and the rest of the French New
Wave directors of the 60's. The theme of this movie is actually a line from Edgar Allen Poe: "All that we see or seem / is but a dream within a dream." The film is dream-like in its pacing,
its juxtapositions and its imagery. It is also about dreams...
dreams as ambitions, dreams as aspirations and dreams in the Freudian/Jungian sense of symbolic communication between the
unconscious and the conscious mind. Music lovers will notice immediately that the music which accompanies the wonderfully
langourous and seductive opening scene is Ravel's "Bolero" with half the orchestration missing. Later in the film, Bartok's
"Concerto for Orchestra" gets the same treatment. That's a tipoff that there's something amiss with what you're seeing and following as a storyline. If the surprise ending strikes you as emotionally cheap and unfulfilling, well, so are most dreams.
Like the Paris locales in this film, Rebecca Romijn-Stamos is wonderful to look at... you can't take your eyes off her. She
is also given a part to play with real complexity, if not a lot
of emotional depth, and acquits herself very well indeed. This part should convince anyone who sees it that she is an actress
of some promise and deserves better and more varied roles. Likewise, Antonio Banderas always finds just the right note in playing the wiseguy papparazzi who soon finds himself in 'way over his head.
This may not be a great film, but it is an extraordinarily GOOD one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Trite, unbelievable, corny, March 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Femme Fatale (Widescreen) (DVD)
All that refers to the climax. Despite what all people say in their reviews, there is only one reason the opening sequence is watchable (I'll leave it to you to find out, but you'll hardly notice the robbery taking place). The film develops, and develops, but the end is one of the corniest, most contrived ones I've ever seen. Are we supposed to BUY this (as in, accept the ending, not buy the movie...although it still applies)? Again, if you still want to see it, I won't ruin it...the end does a fine job of that on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2b22760)

This product

Femme Fatale
Femme Fatale by Brian De Palma (VHS Tape - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 10.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews