Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, PERFECT DVD transfer!
First I would like to applaud Lion's Gate Home Entertainment for the perfect job they did with transferring this film to DVD. Having never seen this movie (gasp) before I bought it on DVD, the first thing I noticed was that they not only kept the original "VistaVision" opening sequence, but that the transfer was so flawless as to make it appear that I was...
Published on April 6 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Jailhouse Rock
This movie is a lot more fun than Jailhouse Rock and Viva Las Vegas. I could almost say it's better than Wild in the Country. They're definitely in competition.
This was before Wild in the Country and he's a better actor in this. Sad Wild came later. Elvis wasn't that good of an actor but he was an entertainer and he succeeds on that level in this movie.
Unlike...
Published on Aug. 28 2003 by Beth


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, PERFECT DVD transfer!, April 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (DVD)
First I would like to applaud Lion's Gate Home Entertainment for the perfect job they did with transferring this film to DVD. Having never seen this movie (gasp) before I bought it on DVD, the first thing I noticed was that they not only kept the original "VistaVision" opening sequence, but that the transfer was so flawless as to make it appear that I was watching it from a projector onto the silver screen. Splendid, wonderful, perfect transfer that I could not forget to mention. Sound is awesome as well, 5 stars to YOU, Lion's Gate.
Onto the film. It is true what people say here about the film being almost biographical about Elvis' early years. It is also very dramatic and is a wonderful mix of fun and drama. Here Elvis is still the young, wild stallion, the rebel King. He is lean and mean, and I think he knows it. Set in a smallish town, he is called up on stage to do a number spontaneously and the rest is history. A talent scout in the audience eventually coaxes him to leave behind the world of automobiles to become a musical legend. Trust is a main theme in this movie with Deke Rivers (Elvis) confused about his loyalties, or even if he should trust his own manager. Wow - very biographical come to think of it!
Did I mention how visually stunning the movie is? How beautiful and perfect the color is? Yes I did, but I can't stress it enough. This movie is ear and eye candy, with a great story to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small town girl, big star boy!, July 30 2003
By 
Erin E. Hubbard (Dallas Metro, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (DVD)
"Loving You" is based on a story written by Mary Agnes Thompson from the magazine Good Housekeeping. At the time she wrote the story, the young Oklahoma girl had no idea it would be transformed into the wonderful big screen sensation starring one of the biggest stars in the world. Even though the story seems biographical regarding Elvis, Mary Agnes Thompson knew nothing about him aside from hearing a couple of his songs on the radio. This movie is a must see for all, not only Elvis fans. If you're lucky enough to find a copy of the story, it is worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forget Jailhouse Rock, Aug. 28 2003
By 
Beth "bethiejw2" (Mesa, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (DVD)
This movie is a lot more fun than Jailhouse Rock and Viva Las Vegas. I could almost say it's better than Wild in the Country. They're definitely in competition.
This was before Wild in the Country and he's a better actor in this. Sad Wild came later. Elvis wasn't that good of an actor but he was an entertainer and he succeeds on that level in this movie.
Unlike Wild, this movie moves at a good pace. It is loaded with songs, lipsynced but it's still fun to watch them. Elvis plays a troubled country boy whose talent is discovered by Lizabeth Scott. Even in 1957, Lizabeth was still beautiful. She plays a half villian type role. The noir movies in the 40's were more suited for her but she pulls this off okay. Dolores Hart, who later was cast in "Where the Boys Are", gives a nice performance also as a pretty innocent country girl.
Wild in the Country is unintentionally funny all the way. But if you want a movie more closer to the definition of good I would go for this one. The last ten minutes are quite silly though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley's second film might be the story of his life., May 3 2001
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (VHS Tape)
Elvis Presley stars in his second film, and this is a fictionalized version of how he became a star. Deke Rivers (Elvis Presley) is talked into doing a song on stage by a press agent Glenda (Lizabeth Scott).
Her ex-hushand named Walker "Tex" Warner. He is the bandleader. He is played by Wendell Corey. Deke is a truck driver. Glenda wants him to join her ex-hushand's band. And she calls his boss and gets him fired.
Deke does join. He falls for another young singer named Susan (Dolores Hart). But is aslo drawn to Glenda. And soon Deke is booked for a one-man show. Glenda pulls a trick, she buys Deke a car and telling him it is from an anonymous rich widow.
And to do that Glenda fires Susan. Deke drives Susan to her house, and Susan thinks he did that because she thinks that Deke found out that she was fired.
But Deke doesn't know that. Glenda has to fire Susan to pay for the car. Deke sings Loving You to Susan and her family. After that, Glenda shows up with the car. But when Deke finds out that Glenda and Tex used to be married, he takes off. When Glenda finds out she goes out to look for Deke, finding him she makes him go back, and rips up the contract. Elvis's parents show up at the final concert as extras in the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' best musical and portrayed like his early career., Nov. 1 2002
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (VHS Tape)
"Loving You" could have almost been called "The Elvis Presley Story" since it revolves around a young truck driver who reluctantly gets his start in the music business by just singing for the locals at a picnic in a small Texas town. He reluctantly gets started and tours with a country/western band through every town in Texas and becomes a rock'n'roll superstar. It's the story of Elvis all over! The film doesn't get any better and very enjoyable. Look for Elvis' mother and father, Gladys and Vernon as cameo parts in the televised concert finale. Gladys can be clearlty seen on the right when Elvis dances in the aisle. Years after Gladys died, Elvis never wanted to see this picture again, even though that was the only appearance she was in. A good visual aid to the person who is just discovering Elvis. This is what he is REALLY like. "Loving You" comes so close to the beginning of the true story of Elvis Presley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Elvis, Oct. 8 2001
By 
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (VHS Tape)
I suppose some folks feel that " Jailhouse Rock" was Elvis, best film. Other prefer "King Creole" ( A Stone for Danny Fisher) , myself I prefer this 1957 entry because it was his first color film..and much more.
We are aware that Elvis, mom was in the audience during the filming in that theater scene. I suppose this was one reason why Elvis didnt watch this film much after the passing of his mom.
There is nothing special abut the story ( its really his). The cast of Wendell Corey and Lizabeth Scott make it happen and adds some real character to the plot line. The songs , I think are Elvis, best. That includes the bridge " Hot Dog" and " Cowboy"
Finally, this film has one of the few performances of Dolores Hart. Even the sweet Judy Tyler couldnt match Ms. Hart,s sincerity in performance. The original sound track on vinyl is worth big dollars. This is the way I like to remember Elvis.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Elvis Fan Loves This Movie, Feb. 12 2014
By 
Harold J. Sharon (Windsor Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Loving You (DVD)
My favourite Elvis movie of all time. Inspired me to learn how to play the guitar. Everything about this transaction was perfect. Elvis was my childhood hero and I still love him these many decades later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELV1S IS SHOWN ROCKING, July 24 2003
By 
Steve Fair (Watauga, Tn United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Loving You [Import] (DVD)
This very pleasant film is very enjoyable to watch. It is almost an early biographical film showing "how " ELV1S was discovered and then marketed. The only difference is in real life after ELV1S was discovered he was taken advantage of by his real manager who took 50% of the earinings , an unheard amount which ended up in court after the death of the "King". But back to the film, the most enjoyable part of the film is seeing ELV1S on stage rocking with several great numbers, however one of my favorite songs of all time is the beautiful ballad called "Loving You" a simple ballad song with feeling and a wonderful voice that many dont remember ELV1S for. This film shows ELV1S can rock as well as sing some of the most beautiful ballads in the world. The song "Loving You" is worth the price as it is sung in a couple different settings and sung at 2 different tempos,( I prefer the slow one) . ELV1S wasnt just the "king of rock and roll" but one of the best ballad singers in history.One enjoyable bit of trivia, is to watch and see the real parents of ELV1S in the crowd as ELV1S sings a rocking song and goes down into the cheering crowd. Keep your eyes open and you will see his dad and the mother that he adored and cherished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loving You, July 1 2010
By 
Marlene Conte "Phyllis" (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Loving You (DVD)
I was very pleased with this DVD... It is excellent quality. It is also the only place that
I have seen it for sale. A-One transaction!!! A great addition to my collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blueprint for A Hard Day's Night, April 25 2010
By 
SYIU (Richmond, BC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Loving You (DVD)
Loving You to Elvis is A Hard Day's Night to The Beatles. Need we say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Loving You
Loving You by Hal Kanter (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: CDN$ 75.88
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews