Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars OVA discription...
I love this series! the ova's are amazing, BUT, yes there is a but, everywhere i have read for the OVA 1 description, says something about Sage going to america, NYC, and Kento winning the lottery, and it;s called Gaiden...well this isn't the same DVD you get, you get the NEXT OVA, which is about the Inferno Armor. this sorta peeves me, cuz i really REALLY wanna see...
Published on Feb. 19 2004 by jill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Waiting a long time to see this, unfortunatly
I originally saw these in their orginal japanese format, unsubbed at all. So when they came out on dvd I was excited.
First off, the voices are different, which is to be expected. But the differences are not just there. Names are pronounced differently, the 5 virtues are different, and a number of smaller things have changed. Also, the subbing is very hoaky on Gaiden...
Published on April 15 2003 by Rowen Matthew Gunn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars OVA discription..., Feb. 19 2004
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
I love this series! the ova's are amazing, BUT, yes there is a but, everywhere i have read for the OVA 1 description, says something about Sage going to america, NYC, and Kento winning the lottery, and it;s called Gaiden...well this isn't the same DVD you get, you get the NEXT OVA, which is about the Inferno Armor. this sorta peeves me, cuz i really REALLY wanna see Gaiden...but i can't find it anywhere! ahh, but this is a great DVD, a must have. and yes i am a little peeved a the voice changes, and Ryo's name change, but it;s different, like they evolved or something...oooh the best thing to do, when watching the english dubbed version, is put on the subtitles, Totally different dialogue...=)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long-time Ronin Fan!, June 3 2003
By 
Victoria Candy "Victoria Candy" (Cincinnati, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
This is an EXCELLENT DVD! I loved the ideas! I can't wait for the second one!
This is the story of how Sage has gone missing when he went to New York. The fact that he doesn't show up for Ryo's 16th birthday party worries the other four. When they go to New York, Kento and Rowen go head to head against Sage's armor! But the odd thing is, Sage isn't in it!. They meet a girl named Runa, and together, the six have to find Sage and rescue him without falling victim to the same thing!
The Legend of the Inferno armor is the best. (I love both of them, but this one is just amazing)The five armors are pulling the five Ronins to battle. The Ronins face off against the warroir Mukala. He is without armor and wields only a large boomerang, but he still whipps the all four of them,and then kidnapps Ryo and Sage! Cye seems to have lost the will to fight and leavs, so it's up to Mia, Kento, Yuli, and Rowen to find Ryo and Sage and bring them home safely. Which is harder than it sounds. The clash of the Inferno armors is going to be more difficult than anyone could have imagined.
The voices have all changed in their own way, not much on some, a lot on others. Ryo, Rowen's and Cye's all are pretty much the same. Kento and Sage, well, that's another story. Michael Donnovan only voices Cye in this. Sage is voiced by someone else and I personally like it! :) Kento sound way different. It's kind of hard to explain. He still speaks the same way, but his voice has changed incredibly. Everything that they messed up on the TV sieries has been fixed(ie. Sage's kanji is now grace, and Rowen's is now Wisdom). It's an excellent DVD, and I think all Ronin freaks, like me, should see it!:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long-standing Ronin Fan..., April 26 2003
By 
"kaze_no_shinshia" (White River Junction, Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
First off, I LOVE THIS DVD!... I've been waiting a long time for this one. *grins happily*
Now, my little review of it.
First: The voice casting. Considering this series originally came out in the early 80's, the voice casting isn't half bad. Cye, Ryo, and Rowen all have the same voices, though Rowen's is a little different (sounds older). Sage and Kento on the other hand... ayi. Kento just doesn't sound goofy enough and Sage... I won't even go there. The voice actor of Dais?! Come on, guys...
Good Point!! Cye has a TON of dialog in 'Inferno'!! Which I *ahem* am profoundly grateful for. :) Even if he does go berserk on Rowen and Kento.
Bad Point!! Changing Ryo's Name, Surekill and switching the original virtues from the series. Okay, I know it makes it more correct... But, if it's been wrong the whole 39 episodes, after 20+ years.... LEAVE IT WRONG!! Please!! It just doesn't sound right after being so used to hearing it the other way! 'Rio'? 'Fury of Wildfire'?? (And Mukara's name too... 'Mukala'??)
Good Point!! BEAUTIFUL ANIMATION!... Whoa. I think it's even better then the series animation...!! The guys just look so much nicer! (Not so blocky.) These stories have a lot more depth then just "Enemy appears= Fight= Ryo has mental break down= Ronin's win= Happy Ending". It's goes more into their lives.
Semi-bad Point!! If you're used to the Japanese version of these movies, the English versions seem to have a much slower pace.
Great Plots, Cool Bad Guys, Great Animation, Cye has more then half a dozen lines.... I think Bandai did I really great job on this DVD!! Many thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RW fans are fools, for the true way is the way of YST..., April 25 2003
By 
Kather Riett (Chattanooga, TN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
[see title] In other words, quit complaining about the virtue changes, the pronounciation changes and those other minor details. The reason I say this is because those details that "changed" are actually truer to the original, Yoroiden Samurai Troopers. American dubbing rarely lives up to the actual anime, but I was glad to see that this time the voices were fitting. So, they switched from Michael Donavan to Rajura's (Dais's, for you NA dub watchers) voiceactor. It's actually a more fitting change, when you think about it.
The plots are excellent, the dubbing is excellent (the translation is poor at times, but the voice acting itself is wonderful), and it's got all the quality one would expect of Sunrise. I'm not sure I agree with their packaging (why in the world would you put the first and second OAVs on the same disk), but that's a truly minor concern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One serious Ronin Fan..., April 24 2003
By 
"kaze_no_shinshia" (White River Junction, Vermont, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
I'm willing to bet the main question on anyone's mind who is thinking of buying this OAV is: What about the english voices?! Well, here's the thing- if you are a Cye/Shin, Rowen/Touma, Ryo fan, you're in luck, my friend! Cye voice is exactly the same! Ryo's is the next best and while Rowen's is just a tad off, it's still Rowen! Sage and Kento, on the other hand... Ayi. *shudders* They're not bad voices, but for the characters, or if your used to to old voices, they just don't work.
I think this OAV is absolutely fantastic! (even if it's a little chessey in the dialog department)The Inferno series animation is BEST I have seen throughout the entire series! Absolutely beautiful. Cye/Shin has some serious talking-time in this series as well, which I, *ahem* greatly approve of. :)
My only beef with this series is the changing of the Virtues, and the pronunciation of Ryo's name and Surekill,('Fury of Wildfire'? 'Rio'?) *shudders* Makes me grind my teeth every time I hear it. I understand changing Ryo's names, his surekill, and their virtues probably makes it more correct, but if it's been said wrong in 39 episodes, from 20+ years ago, KEEP IT WRONG!! Please!
And they call Mukara 'Mukala'? What's up with that?
All in All- Fantastic series!!! Recommended to any Ronin/YST fan with high marks!! And Bandai did a really good job. :)Many thanks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the Money, April 19 2003
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
The only thing I don't like about this series is that they changed the prnounciation of Ryo's name.
With that out of the way, I think this series is great! I mean some poeple complain of different voice actors, but there's a different voice actor for Mia in the second episode of the origianl series than the rest of the series and nobody complained baout that. It'd hard to get the entire cast back together for any series, so I don't blame them.
Anyway, I think this DVD is definately worth your money. It comes with a whopping 6 episodes, which os more than any other anime title i've seen. Also, the story is great, the plots have been gone over enough so I won't do it here, i'm just gonna say that's it's as good as everyone says they are.
If you like the series, you'll love the OVA, I gurantee it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Waiting a long time to see this, unfortunatly, April 15 2003
By 
Rowen Matthew Gunn "zenithangunn" (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
I originally saw these in their orginal japanese format, unsubbed at all. So when they came out on dvd I was excited.
First off, the voices are different, which is to be expected. But the differences are not just there. Names are pronounced differently, the 5 virtues are different, and a number of smaller things have changed. Also, the subbing is very hoaky on Gaiden sometimes.
The 2nd series on the disk is much better and a bit clearer on what's going on. All in all it's not a bad DVD, just produced poorly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Waiting a long time to see this, unfortunatly, April 15 2003
By 
Rowen Matthew Gunn "zenithangunn" (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
I originally saw these in their orginal japanese format, unsubbed at all. So when they came out on dvd I was excited.
First off, the voices are different, which is to be expected. But the differences are not just there. Names are pronounced differently, the 5 virtues are different, and a number of smaller things have changed. Also, the subbing is very hoaking on Gaiden sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And I wonder why they cancelled the series..., April 12 2003
By 
WarrioroftheWind (Houston, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
Though I promised myself I'd wait till a sale, this was just an itch I had to scratch, and I'm glad I did. This was so ripping funny, including the part where Ryo is getting the snot kicked out of him and even the scene where Cye's having his midlife crisis. Though I am glad some of the original cast participated, I would like to know whose bright idea it was to have Dais' voice actor do the voice of Sage, and Kento's actor just doesn't have the same goofiness as the original(some parts he sounds smarter than in the series). Still, the stories are excellent in both plot and putting a bit of normalcy into the Ronins lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At long last...the adventure continues, April 3 2003
By 
Casey Snider (Norfolk, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 (DVD)
Finally, Bandai continues the saga of the Ronin Warriors! The OVAs were made especially for video, so they weren't shown on American TV after the original series ended. Which is a shame, because these new stories are definitely worth seeing. Volume 1 consists of "Gaiden" and "Legend of the Inferno Armor" (Kikoutei Densetsu in Japan). In "Gaiden", the team travels to New York City in order to discover the truth behind the sudden and deadly appearance of Sage's Halo armor --- minus Sage. They find themselves drawn into a battle with the demon sorcerer Shikaisen and his (unnamed) scientist cohort, with Sage's life hanging in the balance. "Legend of the Inferno Armor" takes our boys to Tanzania, where they have to fight not only the fierce (and remarkably nonverbal) warrior Mukala, but their own armors as well! It doesn't help matters that Cye has decided to relinquish his Torrent armor and turn pacifist. Can the warriors reunite in time to save the world?
As much as I enjoyed this DVD, I only gave it four stars because of a little problem with the voice casting. In the original series, Sage and Cye were both voiced by Michael Donovan. Donovan returns for this outing, but for some inexplicable reason the casting people decided to use someone else as Sage's voice. The unfortunate result is that the "new" Sage sounds almost exactly like the "old" Kento, right down to the valley-boy verbal mannerisms. Some of the other voices sound a bit off (it has been several years, after all), but this one is glaringly bad. Still, the stories are well done and dramatically powerful (watch the scene in "Legend" when Cye tells the guys he's tired of fighting). RW fans should definitely add this one to their collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadaad9b4)

This product

Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1
Ronin Warr.Ova Vol.1 by Masashi Ikeda (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 139.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews