Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (321)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BACK IN BLACK!
who DOESN'T own this album?!? man what are you waiting for? click add to shopping cart. why? let me explain :
a) this is known as one of AC/DC's greatest albums of all time
b) this is known as one of rock's greatest albums of all time
c) with songs like hells bells, shoot to thrill, let me put my love into you, back in black, shook me all night long, and...
Published on July 20 2003 by J. Jongeling

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Album - Poor Vinyl Sound
This review is concerning the sound of the LP version only.

I bought this album as part of my recent foray into the world of vinyl records. Although a lot of vinyl sounds superior their CD counterparts, this album does not. It sounds fairly lifeless, with a limited low end and a very bright, flat sounding high end.

In short, if you want this album,...
Published 9 days ago by matt


‹ Previous | 1 2 337 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great stocking stuffer gift for the die-hard fans!, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought 5 of these when they were for sale (5.99) as stocking stuffers for the guys in my family. Those die-hard fans loved it, and the non-fans didn't really understand there was a CD and a t-shirt inside. Anyways, a great gift idea...I ordered one for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the purchase, Dec 27 2012
By 
JAMES CHRISTISON (BRIGHTON, SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This may be part of my mid life crisis but having seen these guys 30 years ago it brought back happy memories. A very well presented Cd, excellent quality tee shirt and a tin box all my family want to take from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Dec 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
my dad loved this for christmas. he took out the cds and started playing them right away.
the tshirt is big but i guess thsts ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a deal!!!, Dec 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
You can't go wrong with this awesome CD. worth the cost of the music alone so the T-Shirt & nice tin are just a bonus. Definitely bang for your buck on this one & you can never go wrong with Back in Black. What a classic that never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best, Dec 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Hard-driving rock. The first album released after Bon Scott's death, Brian Johnson gives his all on this effortr, proving the group's hard-edged blues sound rocks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BACK IN BLACK- ONE OF THE BEST METAL ALBUMS OF ALL-TIME!!, Oct. 2 2006
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
Back in Black has to be considered one of the best metal albums of all-time with two of the best metal songs of all-time in Back in Black and You SHOOK ME ALL NIGHT. AC/DC shines with this album.

There aren't enough words to express how great this album is and every AC/DC fan should have this album!! ONE OF THE BEST METAL ALBUMS OF ALL-TIME. IT'S A CLASSIC!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC's comeback album., Jan. 31 2003
By 
Shotgun Method (NY... No, not *that* NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
The success of Back In Black was a real anomoly in the music industry. When a band loses its lead member, it usually guarantees the destruction of the band, or at least its gradual fading into obscurity.
When AC/DC lost vocalist Bon Scott to heavy drinking, few would've figured that the Australian hard rockers were going to come back at anywhere near their original power. But then the brothers Angus teamed up with new singer (er, screamer) Brian Johnson, and released the hard rock masterpiece Back In Black. Not only was it a tribute to their fallen leader, it announced their status as rock giants. To this day, Back In Black remains one of the best-selling albums of all time with over 20 million copies sold.
This is traditional AC/DC--in other words 3-chord, simplistic, raw, raunchy, anthemic and about as subtle as a ballpeen hammer to the temple. And I love it! This album rocks hard, with barroom standards such as Have A Drink On Me, You Shook Me All Night Long, the title track, and Rock 'N' Roll Ain't Noise Pollution. My favorite on this album is probably the ominous Hells Bells, though everything else is at a similarly high standard.
AC/DC have never made an album like this since. If you're new to AC/DC, buy this first. Then go after Bon Scott's albums--TNT, Let There Be Rock, Powerage, and the perennial classic of 1979 Highway To Hell. Also check out the underrated followup to Back In Black, Flick Of The Switch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars .....THE ABSOLUTE BEST ROCK BAND, June 22 2003
By 
nick (mississippi) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back in Black (Audio CD)
It is a fact!!! that AC/DC's album Back In Black is the sixth best selling album of all time in the world. That alone shows that this is the album to buy. With much respect to former front man Bon Scott (who died by choking on his vomit after a night of heavy drinking), this album is the greatest of AC/DC's entire career. And not too many would disagree. I personally like every single song on this CD. It is non-stop Rock N Roll through to the last one. The best songs on the CD would be "Hells Bells", "Shoot To Thrill", "Back In Black", and of course "You Shook Me All Night Long". There is also "Have a Drink On Me" which was a homage to Bon although they aren't direct with this in the song. And look for some really rockin' guitar riffs in "Shake a Leg" and "Given the Dog a Bone". "Rock N Roll Ain't Noise Pollution" was a great way to top off the album in the end with the phrase "Rock N Roll will never die!" Many critics have said that this album is crude and obnoxious, but that is why people have liked it. Also people say all their music sounds the same, but that is what makes them great. Explanation: throughout their entire career they have always played the same heavy metal music while so many bands explored newer, but crappier styles of music, and in the end they are admired for that. Did I mention that AC/DC is the #1 selling hard rock/heavy metal band. Although they have (finally) been inducted in the RNR Hall of Fame, I still think they are underated. They have always been overshadowed by bands like Led Zepplin and Guns N Roses (both are great bands though). This is a must have album. Then you should get "Stiff Upper Lip", "AC/DC Live"(Special Collectors Edition) and albums by the equally great front man Bon Scott ("High Voltage" "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap" "Highway to Hell"). I think Brian Johnson was the best person to replace Bon.
Other artists I like and recommend: Led Zepplin, Aerosmith, Jimi Hendrix, Guns N Roses, George Thorogood, "Slowhand" Eric Clapton, and any southern rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The start of the downhill slide starts here, March 31 2009
By 
Gerald B. Johnson (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I only feel compelled to write this review because of the tragic misconceptions being put forth by other reviewers. AC/DC was a great band when Bon Scott was the lead vocalist, but his contribution to the band was far greater than his limited vocal abilities. If you compare his singing ability with that of Brian Johnson, there's not a lot to choose from, neither is very good to put it bluntly. If you listen to the music however, it becomes obvious that he lent some creative spark and energy to the group that could not be replaced. The albums Let There be Rock, Powerage and Highway to Hell were milestones in the history of Hard Rock. Back in Black is the last whimper of a dying band. There are a few decent songs on it, but none that would even make the cut on prior albums with Bon Scott. It's a good album, probably the last good album AC/DC made, but to say it's one of the best Hard Rock albums of all time is a cruel joke, which could only be told by someone who simply doesn't know any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't compare to Bon..., Oct. 11 2003
By 
Googuse "googuse" (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Back In Black (Audio CD)
I loved this album when I was a freshman in High School, but can't hardly listen to it now. The songs are just silly. Bon's clever sneer is gone and Brian Johnson sounds like Rod Stewart with a hernia. Compared to Powerage (their best album)it hardly bears a second listen.
Get the early stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 337 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4008018)

This product

Back In Black
Back In Black by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews