Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have war movie for the serious buff.
I liked everything about this movie, a great viewing experience. The story flows well and is easy to follow, it has you cheering for the Brits all the way through. I would recommend it to anyone who is serious about collecting factual war movies. It's a keeper.
Published 1 month ago by watson's mom

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction not as gripping as reality!
Having studied this famous naval battle, I found the movie a bit disappointing. They have drawn the storyline away from the search for the Bismarck and on to a fictional character (More) in naval command headquarters in London, and his love interest (Wynter). The actual naval battles take up less than half of the movie, and when they are done they are not done in a...
Published on June 13 2000


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have war movie for the serious buff., March 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
I liked everything about this movie, a great viewing experience. The story flows well and is easy to follow, it has you cheering for the Brits all the way through. I would recommend it to anyone who is serious about collecting factual war movies. It's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic British War Movie., Sept. 29 2013
By 
Bootsy Bass (Winnipeg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
I remember seeing this on TV ( way before colour TV) and have always loved it. I decided to purchase it as I could then view it when I wished. Very classic rah rah story again based on real events. BTW it is in B & W A colour TV would not have helped me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fiction not as gripping as reality!, June 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sink the Bismark (VHS Tape)
Having studied this famous naval battle, I found the movie a bit disappointing. They have drawn the storyline away from the search for the Bismarck and on to a fictional character (More) in naval command headquarters in London, and his love interest (Wynter). The actual naval battles take up less than half of the movie, and when they are done they are not done in a very stimulating way. They are basically just bathtub models of battleships. The sinking of HMS HOOD is particularly disappointing. In reality, the sinking of the Hood (the greatest battleship in the Royal Navy) by a single shot from the mighty Bismarck is what enraged the British people to such an extent that Churchill dispatched the entire British fleet to hunt her down, and avenge the Hood. Very exciting in reality, but very underdone in the movie.
Although the naval battles could have been better done, the movie is still somewhat entertaining, and interesting from a historical perspective. So I would still (marginally) recommend it. (And if you buy it, here is a hot tip! Read the lips of the Captain of the Sheffield after he is accidentally mistaken for the Bismark and attacked by British torpedo planes. Very amusing! (And very avant-garde for a 1960 film!) I can only assume that the censors in 1960 were not proficient lip readers.)
If you are looking for a better naval battle movie I would recommend "That Hamilton Woman," with Jean Simmons and Lawrence Olivier (Emma Hamilton and Horatio Nelson). Lots of naval battles for us little boys and lots of sappy, star-crossed lovers' croonings for the little girls. Excellent family entertainment, with accurate historical content. How could you ask for more? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic movie about a British Naval engagement in World War II, April 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
I chose this rating because of the great performance given by the leading actors, as well as the good portrayal of the naval action. The movie brings this desperate time for the British, into sharp focus. I liked the closed captions and wide screen format as well, and would recommend this product for any one who lived through this period and is interested in a good World War II action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice movie, Dec 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
it was nice to see thios old favourite of mine with actors who look the part and a story which was based on facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling British War Story, Nov. 15 2013
By 
Lava1964 (Cambridge, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
Sink the Bismarck is a compelling, factually accurate story of the British Navy's pursuit of the famous German battleship during the Second World War. The special effects in the movie are clearly dated but the story is good. Any war buff ought to like this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bad Guys Down!, Aug. 30 2013
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
The actors do a fine job of pre-saging reality TV by hunkering down and selling whichever accent they were assigned. Determination, grittiness, the prospect of a bad, bad world, and sveral drownings are all portrayed with panache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sink The Bismark, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
A good old black and white movie, very well done. One would think they were really sinking her. Good job for the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good history Film, July 11 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
Found it to be a very good was history movie.
There was some information that I saw when I watched it on TV and should have been in the DVD that wasn't.
Mainly about two of the actors that served in the war that were connect to this invent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great show, May 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sink the Bismarck (DVD)
it was entertaining to watch, and explain how they actually got the Bismarck, plus it also explained the German side as well,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa93b19a8)

This product

Sink the Bismarck
Sink the Bismarck by Lewis Gilbert (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews