Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that actually succeeds on action and special effects alone
I'm not a huge fan of action movies, and I really didn't have high hopes for this one, but The Transporter turned out to be a pretty enjoyable flick. The story, the action, and the characters are all held together by the cinematic equivalent of Crazy Glue, but somehow that doesn't really matter all that much. This movie is really all about the action, which comes at you...
Published on June 24 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth One Viewing & Only One
I made the mistake of watching this more than once. In the theater, on a huge screen in a dark room, the action scenes are incredible and the story reasonable enough. On repeated viewings, numerous mistakes in continuity, logic and possibility become obvious. For our hero to have accomplished a few of his feats, he would have been blessed with either x-ray vision or...
Published on May 9 2004 by J


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A film that actually succeeds on action and special effects alone, June 24 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm not a huge fan of action movies, and I really didn't have high hopes for this one, but The Transporter turned out to be a pretty enjoyable flick. The story, the action, and the characters are all held together by the cinematic equivalent of Crazy Glue, but somehow that doesn't really matter all that much. This movie is really all about the action, which comes at you almost non-stop. It pushes the envelope of realism to the breaking point a few times, but it's unusual and therefore interesting. Jason Statham is basically a one-man wrecking crew, and he has a style all his own (which lies somewhere in between traditional martial arts and basic street thug tactics). It's quick and intense and, most of all, purely entertaining. I've never seen a fight such as that waged on an oil-covered surface by Frank and an assembly of goons. It's just one example of a slight comic touch that seems to define much of the action and special effects -- you will witness several "oh, come on!" moments in this film.

We don't learn a whole lot about Frank Martin (Jason Statham). We know he is ex-military and that he currently earns his living transporting dubious goods. He's a meticulous perfectionist who lives by a few simple rules -- or at least he did, until his current job came along. It should have been simple -- pick the bag up here, drive it to there, deliver it, and go home 40 Gs richer. A flat tire changes all that, as he can't help but notice the bag resting atop his spare tire in the trunk is moving. Enter Lai (Qi Shu), undoubtedly the most attractive piece of cargo he's ever transported. Now you might expect Frank to let the girl go -- but Frank always honors his deals. That would have been the end of the story if his client hadn't double-crossed him in the end. They really shouldn't have made Frank angry.

As luck would have it, though, Lai seems to have established some sort of bond with Frank. Coming to the aid of a damsel in distress isn't really part of his nature, but Lai shows no compunction to flee from this man who was himself less than kind to her. She tells him a story of Chinese citizens being shipped via packing crate for lives of slavery, and he eventually gets involved in the whole mess -- but only after those same guys come calling in a most direct fashion. There's a weird dichotomy between Frank and the local police investigator that moves the plot along to its conclusion, which is actually a good thing since the slave trade story tends to meander a bit on its own.

Frankly, I don't find Jason Statham charismatic at all, although he's certainly efficient at what he does. Qi Shu, on the other hand, breathes the only signs of life into a film that would pretty much stagnate without her. This really is quite an unusual film. It makes clear from the very start that you can't take it seriously, and the basic story is a rather muddled affair, yet it succeeds largely in terms of its action alone. That isn't how things are supposed to work -- yet I can't deny that I found The Transporter quite entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Worth One Viewing & Only One, May 9 2004
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
I made the mistake of watching this more than once. In the theater, on a huge screen in a dark room, the action scenes are incredible and the story reasonable enough. On repeated viewings, numerous mistakes in continuity, logic and possibility become obvious. For our hero to have accomplished a few of his feats, he would have been blessed with either x-ray vision or clairvoyancy. The movie takes great pains to repeatedly tell and show the viewer what an "I" dotting "T" crossing exacting professional our hero is. That Mr. Self Control spends the vast majority of the movie behaving with the self control of a ten year old with ADD seems incongruous. Also, word to the unwise, never establish yourself in an extremely dangerous business and deliberately place yourself in the position of having to trust extremely untrustworthy strangers who might not have your best interests at heart. Rule number three should really be: I always get to know what's in the package because, when I'm out there driving, its my butt on the line, not yours and, after all, it might be a bomb. Luc Besson's fingerprints are all over this movie. Its another one of his damsel in distress vehicles. Both the 5th Element and The Professional are along the same lines and are much better movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Car chases, things that blow up and lots and lots of action!, Feb. 27 2004
By 
Linda Linguvic (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
This 2002 film is action all the way. So much action, in fact, that the story doesn't matter. It plays like a young man's fantasy - fast cars, things that blow up, and a pretty girl to decorate the scene. The English actor, Jason Statham, is cast as the cooler than cool hero. He lives is opulent splendor on the French Riviera and is supposedly a former soldier with the British Special Forces. He now makes a living by transporting packages and/or people in his luxury BMW car. For example, the beginning of the film shows him pulling up at exactly the right moment at a bank heist. Four bank robbers in masks rush to get picked up. "The agreement called for three," he says. There is no time to argue as the police are closing in and so they shoot one of their members and throw him out of the car. Of course there is a car chase, with dozens of police cars falling off cliffs or banging into each other as the transporter's car leaps over barriers and is totally immune to all the bullets being shot at him. And that's just the first five minutes.

The transporter's next job consists of delivering a small suitcase to a location. All goes well until he gets a flat tire, opens the trunk and sees the suitcase moving. When he opens it, he finds the lovely Qi Shi, a pretty young Chinese actress who manages her role well, in spite of the fact that she speaks very little English. No problem though because there is very little dialog anyway. Mostly, things blow up, including our hero's luxury house and the pair are forced into a daring underwater escape. There is more and more action and more and more people getting killed and some sort of redeeming value in the plot about saving Chinese slaves from a cargo container. The most important thing in this kind of film, however, are special effects and the martial arts of the hero who can knock out a dozen armed men with a few well-placed kicks.

This is a film targeted to teenage boys. So what is it that kept the eyes of a mature lady like me so glued to the screen? Perhaps its because the action was so intense and outrageous that it just locked in my attention in a way that wound up to be totally relaxing. By all my generally standards I should have hated this film. But sometimes I like to take a mini-vacation from anything meaningful. Hence, I cannot help but recommend The Transporter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Another bad Luc Besson Presents...., Feb. 5 2004
By 
OverTheMoon (overthemoonreview@hotmail.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
My expectation was that this vehicle was going to be better than your average "B action monthly movie" from Van Damme or Seagal. Unfortunately it's pretty much the same stuff and by choosing this one over the aforementioned you are not really going to be seeing that much better.
The packaging of this movie has one or two things you should know about. First of all this is a LUC BESSON produced movie. Yeah, that's right, it is a Luc Besson presents "The Transporter" but is not labelled as such because most "Luc Besson presents" movies are really bad in plot, structure, story and dialogue in favor of big explosions and car chases. In essence, The Transporter is the exact same sort of hokum, except for Jason Statham showing us that he can do some stunts and in fairness he does them well.
If you did not like "Taxi" then you will not like this one. If you liked Taxi then you can expect pretty much the same thing - terrible plot that is just there as a convenience to show some car chases, punch-ups and shoot outs. It was good to see Statham doing the action hero thing although he does lack a bit of charisma and the hard man side does not come through as well as it should because of various scenes that give him a heart.
The plot is really full of obvious holes with totally unbelievable scenes (especially with the detective) and has something to do with a mafia dealing in slaves and Statham being double-crossed on one of his transporting jobs. Cue various set pieces involving Statham doing some stunts, beating up the bad guys and saving the day. In terms of storytelling it is a way below average for its type, but the action is not bad and at least the fun fight sequences and odd laugh help save this one from being as bad as the one star screenplay.
Only watch this one if all the good rentals are out. Older teenagers or young adults will probably like it and although there is a lot of violence it is not generally bloody and is played out more as a display of martial arts and stunt work than for graphic shocks making it somewhat family entertainment on par with the latest Bond flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Fun Action/Adventure., Jan. 3 2004
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
An Ex-British Soldier (Jason Statham) turns himself into a Delivery Man, who has Rules that he brings in or pick up with no Questions ask. Then he gets involves with his latest package (Qi Shu) that unexpectedly gets in his way but when those people hired him that turned on him, then they try to kill him & the package, who got into him. Now he has to protect her.
Directed by Louis Leterner made a entertaining action-packed thriller that has an amusing sense of humor. Which is Written by Luc Besson (The Fifth Element, The Professional, Subway) & Robert Mark Kamen (The Karate Kid, Kiss of the Dragon) makes this film slick & surprisingly engaining. Statham is amusing in his first lead role. DVD`s has a terrific anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1) transfer (also in Pan & Scan) and an strong-Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound. DVD has an Commentary Track by the Director & Actor:Statham. DVD Extras has R-Rated Three Extended Scenes with the Film`s Score but with no sound effects & dialogue with/without commentary & more. The Plot isn`t great but It`s so much fun that it`s makes up for the film`s flaws. Besson is also One of the Producers of the Movie. Super 35. Grade:A-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Takes you back to the old days of beat-em up movies........, Jan. 1 2004
By 
Elite14 (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
While watching 'The Transporter', I was reminded of the days of Jean-Cladue Van Damme & Steven Segal movies. The late 80's & early 90's was a time in movies when one man could take on a whole crime syndicate by himself and win. I mean look at the similarities in place here: One white guy takes on an asian bad guy with a cool, tough talking henchman. He gets the asian girl and he uses kicks and punches more than he uses guns. I mean it's like I was watching a Van Damme movie made in the year 2002.
That's not to say this is a bad movie. Just don't go into this expecting great acting or a drama filled plot. Jason Statham plays a Transporter. Basically he will transport anything to any location for a fee & no questions asked. He has certain rules that have to be abided by. He ends up breaking one of his own rules by opening a package that he was paid to transport by a rather bad man (Matt Schulze). He finds a young asian girl (Shu Qi) inside the bag. To make a long story short, the bad guy tries to blow up the transporter. He gets pissed. Goes back to bad guy's house and preceeds to kick everyone's ass. And so the movie starts.
Like I said, this will not win awards for writing or acting. It's a fun action movie. That simple. Jason Statham makes it better than it should be by being a decent actor. This is a Van Damme movie with a WAY better lead actor. He shows that he can be a lead in an action film and make it work. I would love to see more of him in this genre. The rest of the cast is rather average. Statham definately owns this movie. And that's the way it should be in a action beat-up movie.
I would check this out if you like mindless action flicks. This tries it's hard to be a Hong Kong martial arts action movie. It doesn't get to that point, but it's definately worth owning if you can find it for cheap.
The DVD itself is pretty good. I can't complain about the picture or the sound. The extras aren't great, but they are passable. There is a commentary track, some deleted scenes, a making of featurette, and a trailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for non-stop hilarity., Dec 7 2003
By 
Alexander L. Belikoff (NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
I have been a bit concerned recently about the lack of RRDMs (Really Really Dumb Movies). I love RRDMs - some of them offer so much fun it is a crime to miss. Well, I finally hit a jackpot with "Transporter."
There are movies where plot is built upon a single stupid idea. "Transporter" is not that kind of a movie - each stupid plot idea is followed by the next one that makes this one look like a gem of a human culture. I am confident they used one of the big soap opera scenario writers to write a scenario for this one. Too bad they weren't allowed to put one of the characters in a coma...
You know, criminals are apparently really bad when it comes to driving. Most of them tried many times but failed to pass for a driver license. That's the basic premise of the movie. What, you are not rushing to buy or rent it yet?! Read on. Now, since the crooks cannot drive, they need a driver for hire to drive/transport them. The kind of driver that can transport a briefcase or a bag from one French town to another without asking questions. The one that is able to drive the bank robbers for some half an hour in a small town completely surrounded and followed by police cars and not get caught and/or identified (note to myself: move my bank accounts from small French coastal towns back to US on Monday).
So everything goes fine: the crooks get same day delivery without giving in to FedEx, the cops are happy because even though they suspect the protagonist to be the transporter, they cannot prove it (not a single scratch on his car - his driving instructor must be a happy man). It all goes downhill however, when he manages to look into a package during one delivery.
I will not delve further into the plot as I don't want to spoil your fun. The premise discussed here is nothing compared to the rest of the film. I especially liked the girl's father (Ric Young). He looked so unnatural (in Michael Jackson kind of sense) that I was sure that he would reveal himself as a woman at the end of the movie. All in all, the actors fit the plot perfectly: there is no Cannes or Oscar kind of performance here. Oh, and you actually get 2-in-1: a movie AND an endless BMW commercial, which makes "standard" product placement employed in other films nowadays pale in comparison.
To conclude: run, don't walk, to rent this movie: you will have so much fun it will hurt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Run-of-the-mill action flick, Nov. 18 2003
By 
Dave Capo "nighthawk86" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Action films always (well, almost always) follow the same basic pattern: Thin plot, flat characters (except the star), just action. Well that basically sums up "The Transporter". There's nothing too original or groundbreaking here. It just follows the typical action film formula of guns, explosions, and a hero who is practically immortal. Speaking of the hero, Jason Statham makes a great action film star. He has all the ingredients of one: he's strong, tough, quite handsome, and has a cool personality. He may have a very good future in the genre (look for him in other films such as "The Italian Job"). But beyond Statham, "The Transporter" doesn't have a whole lot going for it. Still the action sequences can be pretty entertaining. Things start off with a bang in an entertaining car chase, with Statham zooming around in a BMW. There's another good scene, which has Statham facing off against ten other villains. The one scene I didn't think was very well thought out was the truck chase, which looks very similar to the one in "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Another thing I ddin't think was very good was the chick of the film. She wasn't a good actor and isn't even the beautiful most Asian babe out there. Perhaps this aspect of the story just wasn't too high on the filmmakers priority list. And the plot? Well, as I mentioned there really isn't much of plot and therefore is not worth going on about. If all you're looking for is some mindless fun, this movie should be enough but otherwise go for an action film with a better script.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Quiet Man, Nov. 14 2003
By 
MICHAEL ACUNA (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
If the world were a different kind of place, Jason Statham would be a huge star. But as it is, despite strong showings in this film and in "The Italian Job," he's not.
Actually, Statham has all the right stuff: he's athletic, intelligent,sexy, honest (to a point)and physically imposing for a short guy. You know the kind of guy you'd share a bottle of Tequila with, let your sister go out with, have beside you when you go to beat up your brother-in-law or drive your Mom to the mall. He's a guy's guy and a woman's guy. He harkens back to the Gables, Stewarts, Fonda's of the world. He's the strong/silent type with extras. I'd really like to see him as a romantic lead, maybe in a film with Drew Barrymore or Jude Law.
This film is nothing new plot wise but it's done with style and grace and the scene of Statham and a bunch of bad guys and a drum full of motor oil is a classic.
If there is any justice in this world, Statham will be the next James Bond. But being that there isn't much, let's hope he has a long, brilliant career instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but a heck of a ride with great style, Nov. 12 2003
By 
Beau Yarbrough (Between Disneyland and Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transporter (Widescreen) (DVD)
Like an exotic sports car, "The Transporter" is a triumph of style, with some great things going on under the hood, but not a few rough edges.
The film has a very non-American look and feel to it, which is alternately part of its charm and a bit off-putting. Jason Statham is a winning action hero, strong, sexy and cool, and doing his own stunts in a fashion more bruising and bone-jarring than even a young Jackie Chan ever achieved.
The story moves along at a rapid clip, and if the logic is sometimes entirely absent -- especially the lack of a response to some of the violence and explosions in the streets and in sleepy French hamlets -- the action set pieces are so good, it's hard to argue.
Statham's combat scenes in particular are nothing short of amazing. While they sometimes stray into the overly stylized fighting style in this post-"Matrix" film industry, the danger and outright pain of the fight sequences is convincing and thrilling.
"The Transporter" feels like the first Statham-starring film BEFORE his inevitable breakthrough film. Catch him here and be first in line for whatever that huge action hit will turn out to be.
Highly recommended for action movie fans looking for the next great action star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transporter (Widescreen)
Transporter (Widescreen) by Corey Yuen (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 25.98 CDN$ 15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews