Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best For Last
First let me start off by saying im not a huge Police fan. Im a huge music lover and it is very rare for me to like only the hits. Im not a huge fan of their early white raggae style i find the songs boring, silly and forced. So when did The Police come into their own??? on 1981's Ghost In The Machine. As far as song writing goes Invisible Sun and Spirits In The Material...
Published 10 months ago by Rocky G

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars They have better ones out there
The Police : at times made some really good songs but this album contains just 2 that are worthy. Get them off iTunes or something.
Published 5 months ago by Jonathan Duguay


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars They have better ones out there, Feb. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The Police : at times made some really good songs but this album contains just 2 that are worthy. Get them off iTunes or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best For Last, Sept. 9 2013
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
First let me start off by saying im not a huge Police fan. Im a huge music lover and it is very rare for me to like only the hits. Im not a huge fan of their early white raggae style i find the songs boring, silly and forced. So when did The Police come into their own??? on 1981's Ghost In The Machine. As far as song writing goes Invisible Sun and Spirits In The Material World are excellent and two of my favorite Police songs. the general consensus is that Synchronicity is The Police's best album and i totally agree. Synchronicity is also their most consistant album im actually glad Sting wrote all but two of the songs. I havent read all of the reviews for this but i hope some people arent rating this their best album because of the three huge hit songs that have been all over the radio since 1983. Of the three hits i hope to never hear Every Breath You Take Again. King Of Pain and Wrapped Around Your Finger havent gotten tiresome for me yet. As far as filler is concerned im not crazy about Walking In Your Footsteps i like the message behind it but some of the lyrics are laughable. As a humor junkie i think Mother is a great tune (except for Andy's over the top vocals). My all time favorite Police song is the upbeat rocker Synchronicity Part 2. This albums is softer and granted it does not have the energy of previous albums but Synchronicity 2 makes up for that. Tea In The Sahara and Murder By Numbers are both excellent tracks and both very well written. Synchronicity is a more mature album in the playing and songwriting department that is why most fans recognize it as their best. Some of the songs here would have fit right in on Sting's first solo album Dream Of The Blue Turtles. If you only need to own one Police album make sure it is this one, the other albums are pretty weak outside of 1 or 2 hits. (Pardon my poor grammer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synchronize Your Music Collection With This Amazing CD, July 16 2004
By 
"xkrelianx" (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
While Synchronicity may not be The Police's most musically technical album, it is their best. The songwriting on here is nothing short of amazing, even the non-single songs. "Every Breath You Take" is an ultimate classic, "King of Pain's" upbeat melody and melancholy lyrics are amazing, and "Wrapped Around Your Finger's" intense groove will all blow your mind. As previously stated, there's real jems here that weren't singles, such as "Synchronicity I & II," "Murder by Numbers," and "O My God." The technical production on the album is also fantastic, with a clear, punchy sound, a stark contrast to the bloated deep rumble of late 70's rock and disco. This album is essential for any fan of The Police and/or 80's music, and should be required listening for anyone trying to start their own power trio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes a nice coaster!, Oct. 11 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Although it is the most commercially successful of all the Police albums, it is their worst. None of the dark meanderings or social commentary on modern life as found on earlier albums is here. It is not a concept album like Ghost. What it is, is Pop mixed with forgettable songs that falls flat. Get the first four, avoid this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums from the 80s, June 5 2008
By 
Ryan Adams (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
The Police were one of the biggest (if not the biggest) bands in the 80s. This album had many chart topping hit singles as well as chart topping album sales. It's safe to say that the band will never record again, but this album is definitly no disgrace as an end to their recording career.

The opening track, Synchronicity I starts things off with a bang. Catchy melody, excellent vocals and informs you of good things to come. Walking in Your Footsteps is a song about the dinosaurs and has a very African sound to it. The song is about how humans are following the path of dinosaurs towards extinction. Going back the sound on Ghost in the Machine, O My God is heavy on syth and horns and is a very underrated track in the Police catalog. Mother is a bizarre change of pace with Andy Summers taking the lead vocal and is also quite humorus at the same time. One of their most entertaining songs. Going back to their reggae influences, Miss Gradenko is a fun, catchy song and is a great singalong. Though it could have been a little longer.

The second half of the album starts strong with Synchronicity II, by far the bands most aggressive track. Sting is at his absolute best on this song with the "woaaahhhh" parts and will have you moving your head along with the beat in no time. Andy and Stewart also have excellent performances on this track. Every Breath You Take, by far the bands most popular song is very nice but dark at the same time. Many people see it as a love song, but it's a song about obsession. Just read the lyrics closely with that in mind. King of Pain is the best song performed by the band and nobody overpowers one over the other, all 3 deliver a perfectly smooth performance. Wrapped Around Your Finger, like King of Pain was another track where all 3 band members are shining. The keyboards are amazing aswell. Tea in the Sahara is very jazzy and is a blueprint for what Sting would be doing after the Police. Murder by Numbers is the albums weakpoint, but it's still a great song. Like the previous, this song has a very jazzy vibe to it and is very relaxing.

All 5 of the Police's studio albums are nothing short of amazing, but Synchronicity captures the band at it's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars police's best album, June 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
wow!i am unable to get enough words to shower praise on this great album featuring my best songs every breath you take and wrapped around your finger.highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Police's almost farewell album, June 9 2004
By 
andy8047 (Nokomis,Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Between 1978 and 1981,Gordon "Sting" Sumner,Andy Summers and Stewart Copeland,aka The Police put out an album,one per year. SYNCHRONICITY,the band's 5th and final of all-original material,spawned four Top 20 hits. Oddly,there is SYNCHRONICITY I and SYNCHRONICITY II,the latter being a hit. EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE was one of 1983's biggest hits and would become part of the band's 1986 compilation,simply entitled EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE-THE SINGLES. Other hits from the album also appearing on the compilation are KING OF PAIN and WRAPPED AROUND YOUR FINGER. The LP doesn't have the 11th track,MURDER BY NUMBERS. The cassette has that song though. "Weird Al" Yankovic would later use the KOP music for his recording of KING OF SUEDE(lyrics were written by Yankovic). After this album and until the recording of DON'T STAND SO CLOSE TO ME '86 on the compilation,the Police would disband and Sting would record his solo debut,THE DREAM OF THE BLUE TURTLES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why?, June 3 2004
By 
Melting_Pot (Shreveport, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Why am I the first one to review this album? This is a hailed as a rock classic everywhere, so why am I the first to review this? Well anyway, this is one of my favorite albums ever. When Every Breath You Take came out, it was my favorite song. And this classic album will surely stand the test of time. Sting sings up a storm here, with the classic bass. I love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their best album, May 26 2004
By 
pnotley@hotmail.com (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
Less predicatble than Ghost in the Machine, more coherent than Zenyatta Mondatta, more tuneful than Outlandos D'Amors, and more emotional than Regatta da Blanc, Synchronicity is the best album by The Police. It starts off with the title track which is startling for being the best thing ever inspired by Carl Jung. (The contrast with Margaret Atwood and Robertson Davies is particularly noteworthy.) Then we have the eerie, nervous and always timely "Walking in our Footsteps," although now we have environmental disaster more to fear than nuclear war. The next song starts a tendency we will see on Sting's next two albums, in "Love is the Seventh Wave" and "We'll be Together," making a slight reference to a song in the previous album. There are few admirers of Andy Summer's "Mother," but as a portrait of hysterical neurosis, it has few echoes. Then we have Stewart Copeland's "Miss Gradenko," a nice nasty little portrait of a police state that had a lot less time than anyone would have thought in 1983. And finally on the first side we have "Synchronicity II," which was the third American single and one of Sting's more radical songs. This is a bitter song about modern life ("the secretaries pout and preen/like cheap tarts on a red light street...") full of pollution, madness, abuse of power with a supernatural undercurrent.
But of course it is the second side that has made this album's reputation. The last one, not originally on the record, is "Murder by Numbers," a sardonic little ditty and more subtle than later Sting songs like "History teaches Nothing." There is the genuinely strange "Tea in the Sahara," about unearthly sisters. And then, of course, there are the three songs about the collapse of marriage and love that are perhaps the Police's three most famous singles. It helps immensely that the object of "Wrapped Around Your Finger," is not a magus but a lover. And then there is the simplicity of "King of Pain." This is one of the best songs of the 1980s, or ever, but it is obviously overshadowed by its predecessor. Sting himself has commented on how people have thought "Every Breath You Take" is a love song. On one level this sounds alarming since the song is obviously about a stalker. But this is more than just the well-known phenomenon of not paying attention to the lyrics. There is a genuine sense of loss and feeling in the song which, while not love, is passionate enough to be confused with it. Passion and ambiguity, alone with all of The Police's special talents, make this one of the best five songs of the eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB POLICE ALBUM, May 12 2004
By 
terrific guy (somewhere on this planet) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Synchronicity (Audio CD)
PLEASE IGNORE ALL ONE STAR REVIEWS FOR THIS FANTASTIC POLICE ALBUM FEATURING ONE OF THE MOST MEMORABLE SONGS IN EVERY BREATH YOU TAKE.VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Synchronicity
Synchronicity by Police (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews