Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go With The Original!
I just wanted to put in my two cents about the Australian version of "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap". Despite its rather hefty price, it offers some bonuses not available on the U.S. or English versions.
1) The artwork is noticeably different, and almost gives the album an "underground" or "independent" feel.
2) The remastered...
Published on March 14 2001 by mjmithen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, but not great.
Let me start by saying that I am a big AC/DC fan, and I really like Dirty Deeds. That said, it is a good album. It is not great. There are flashes of brilliance (Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, Problem Child, Rocker). There are also some mediocre songs. For instance, Big Balls is a funny song, but really not a good song. Squealer is ok at best, and There's Gonna Be...
Published on July 17 2004 by roamer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go With The Original!, March 14 2001
By 
mjmithen "mithen" (Redwood City, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I just wanted to put in my two cents about the Australian version of "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap". Despite its rather hefty price, it offers some bonuses not available on the U.S. or English versions.
1) The artwork is noticeably different, and almost gives the album an "underground" or "independent" feel.
2) The remastered version sounds terrific. Granted, this is probably not substantially different than the U.S. remastered edition, but it puts the two versions on similar sonic ground.
3) The song "Dirty Deeds" on the Aussie edition is a slightly longer version than on the U.S. release; you'll notice it toward the song's end where Bon sings the line "Dirty Deeds" a couple more times and also adds in a little extra squeal.
4) The Aussie version includes all of the song lyrics in the CD booklet. Nice to know for sure what Bon was saying!
5) Maybe most significantly, this album includes the killer song "Jailbreak" in lieu of "Rocker" (an excellent song in its own right, which is found on the Aussie album "T.N.T." or the U.S. "Dirty Deeds"). "Jailbreak" was the reason I bought the Aussie vinyl album back in the early 80's instead of the U.S. version. Great anthemic album closing track and delivers all of the goods you'd expect from the Bon-era AC/DC. (I realize that the "'74 Jailbreak" EP was released in the U.S., it's just kind of cool to have that song on the actual album from which it was originally taken.)
To sum up, the Aussie CD is a worthwhile purchase for the diehard AC/DC-Bon Scott fan, who is looking for the version as it was originally released Down Under, which includes some noteworthy bonuses. I strongly recommend this CD. (This version is also included in the Aussie 6-CD Box Set No. 1, if you've got the $$). Whatever version you have or buy, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album, but not great., July 17 2004
By 
roamer (Odenton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
Let me start by saying that I am a big AC/DC fan, and I really like Dirty Deeds. That said, it is a good album. It is not great. There are flashes of brilliance (Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, Problem Child, Rocker). There are also some mediocre songs. For instance, Big Balls is a funny song, but really not a good song. Squealer is ok at best, and There's Gonna Be SOme Rockin' is forgettable.
This album is much more bluesey than their later work (Highway to Hell, Back in Black, etc) and also more lyrically provacative.
If you are an AC/DC fan you will like this album. If you are looking for a more representative album of AC/DC pick of Highway to Hell of Back in Black.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want some Dirty Deeds...You got it!, Nov. 26 1998
By A Customer
This is the original version of Dirty Deeds, the best one!It features the superb rock track "Jailbreak" that would have a worldwide release only in '84...it also includes the instrumental "Fling Thing" and "R.I.P.(Rock in Peace)both unreleased, and classics like "Problem Child","Ride On" and "Big Balls".This is one of the best AC/DC stuff you can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, June 12 2004
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1975, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap did not hit the U.S. until 1981, when AC/DC became rock icons the previous year and fans were growing hungry for more material featuring the band's late singer, Bon Scott. Overall, the record is worth the wait, even if there is absolutely no reason to place "Problem Child" on the album since it was placed on Let There Be Rock. The title track became a concert staple for the band, but Dirty Deeds's most well-known track is arguably "Big Balls," a sleazy, ambiguous number that would become one of the band's most well-recognized songs. The album's greatest artistic moment, however, comes in the form of "Ride On," where AC/DC experiments with a slow, rhythmic blues ballad. The song, highlighted by the Keith Richards-inspired licks of Angus Young and the haunting, melancholy lyrics of Bon Scott, shows AC/DC in a rare sensitive form yet manages to retain the raw power that has since become the band's trademark ("Ride On" would be the only Bon Scott-era song to be placed on the 1986 compilation Who Made Who). On the whole, Dirty Deeds is a fine album with some nice treats for diehards. Though it may not be as well-crafted as the in-memory-of-Bon classic Back in Black, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is another fitting eulogy to one of hard rock's most influential vocalists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another solid effort by AC/DC., April 24 2004
By 
Darrell B (Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
This album is the pinnacle of what rock and roll is supposed to be; filthy, raw and arrogant. AC/DC have always been very good at doing this and this album is their highlight of being exactly that.
It did take me some time to eventually buy this album because listening to the 5 thirty second downloads on the Dirt Deeds main page on amazon I was put off by the song 'Big Balls'. I did eventually buy this album and began to wonder what my problem was. After a few listens I have come to the conclusion that Dirty Deeds is the best album ever done by AC/DC, IMHO. The track 'Big Balls' does grow on you and it is a great laugh on the first few listens.
The track 'Ain't No Fun Waiting Round to be a Millionaire' had me in fits of laughter with Bon's use of lyrics. Hearing him shout 'get your f*cking jumbo jet off my airport' should bring a smile to your face.
All in all, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is a dirty, but great, album. If, however, like me, you didn't thing highly of the album on the first listen then give it time. It should soon become one of your favourite AC/DC albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dirty Deeds ain't worth Dirt Cheap, March 22 2004
By 
Goo (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
This has gotta be my all-time favorite album created by any band, artist, or singer, ever. And that's saying something.
Dirty Deeds starts off with it's title track. In this song, frontman Bon Scott gives you some reasons as to why you might hire him as your hitman. That's Bon for ya.
First time AC/DC listeners might not warm up to "Love At First Feel" right away, but after two or three times around it will definitely earn a spot on your AC/DC top ten. "Big Balls" is an example of one of Scott's wittiest songs. Whether it's about ballroom dancing or not is for you to decide. "Rocker" can easily become an AC/DC fan's theme. I know it's mine.
"Problem Child" went on to become a staple in AC/DC playlists. Mad guitar riffs and well-fitting lyrics make up this favorite of mine. "There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'" is all about what one might experience at an AC/DC show. "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Rouind To Be A Millionaire)" is another classic, though it might take a few tries to like it. "Ride On" is my favorite song of all time. Bon Scott displays his vocals on this mellow piece. "Squealer" has catchy lyrics and will definitely keep you comin' back for more hard rock sounds of AC/DC.
I guarantee that there is not one song any AC/DC fan will not enjoy on this album. It will become a favorite of yours after just one play through of the tracks. If it doesn't, you might as well dust of those old albums and get back into good ole rock 'n roll, 'cause this is what it sounds like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Damn It, March 17 2004
By 
This review is from: Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (Audio CD)
This is a 5 star album! But I rate it one less because seeing as how this is a re-issue they should have rectified there mistake they made with this album in 1983!
DDDDC was first released in 1976 in Australia. It did not contain the same tracks! The Oz version contained "JailBreak" "Rock In Peace (R.I.P)" & "Problem Child"
The album was banned from beeing released in the US in 76 and it never saw the light of day untill 1983 in the US after the succsess of Highway To HEll and Back In Black , and releasing 74'jail break which prooved the people still wanted Bon...so they released a new version of DDDDC in 1983! tho somebody made a mistake, because they added the track "Problem Child" again which already appeared on the world version of LTBR! (not the australian one) and seeing as how they had put Jailbreak on an album of its own, they added a new song not released on the Australian album called "love at first feel" and i beleive that they made a mistake of adding "Rocker"(which was on the australian TNT) accidently and confusing that with "rock in peace"..... these errors should have been fixxed... and this remaster should have contained "Rock In Peace" despite the other errors they made when re-releasing it in 83!
Rock In Peace is still missing! and Jailbreak should have been included like it originally was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bon was the master, but this isn't his finest work, Jan. 24 2003
By 
"cds84glory" (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Bon Scott was the epitome of what AC/DC was/should be. His work on such albums as High Voltage and Let There Be Rock is wonderful, you couldn't ask for a better one-two punch than the Young brothers' guitar work and Bon's raucious singing. However, I feel Dirty Deeds was a slight slip, and probably the group's weakest work until the Brian Johnson era. Here's my breakdown of each song:
1. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap: fantastic song, a classic and the only song off this album that gets really any airtime, and for good reason. As a whole, it's probably the best song on this album not named Ride On. Great opening riff, and a song with a bunch of attitude, which was Bon's forte when he brought it to the fore.
2. Love at First Feel: another typical song enhanced by some reserved guitar playing and a little injection of Bon Scott charisma, makes it a much better song than it normally would have been.
3. Big Balls: an absolutely hilarious song if you take notice of the double entendres which are so blatantly there. Other than the humour, it's just a terrible song.
4. Rocker: GREAT song. This and Beating Around the Bush from the Highway to Hell album are in my eyes, two of the most energetic songs imaginable. Great guitar work, a real "jive" feel to the song. The only reason this song isn't better than Dirty Deeds is that it's extremely short, but for the 2:49 tornado that is Rocker, you'll appreciate every second of it.
5. Problem Child: one of the bands early signature anthems, and it really is a fine song, except that Let There Be Rock has the better version.
6. There's Gonna Be Some Rockin': this and Squealer are the album's weak points by far. Something is just wrong with this song, it's tough to pinpoint what.
7. Ain't No Fun (Waiting 'Round to Be a Millionaire): kind of a strange ode to working to the top, although according to the story, it would be "working". Nonetheless, this is a key example of Bon Scott being the character he was. His wit made this song a good song. The line at the end is priceless.
8. Ride On: amazing. One of the best songs AC/DC has ever crafted, and it shows they could not only put together a frenetic masterpiece (see:Rocker) but also manufacture a damn fine slow song too. The only problem with this song is that it was tragically prophetic of Bon Scott's demise, and thus the slow demise of the finest band to ever rock the earth...
9. Squealer: as I said earlier, this is one of the album's weakest links, although it is ever so slightly better than There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'.
Overall, I'd take this album over any Brian Johnson album, but it wasn't Bon's finest work. Some of the songs, like There's Gonna Be Some Rockin', Squealer and Big Balls after awhile are just tedious to listen to, which is strange for early AC/DC work, it had a lot more feeling and energy than there later songs where efforts like these are more commonplace. Nonetheless, between Dirty Deeds, Problem Child and Rocker, you've got a fairly good album as it stands. Then, to top it all off, throw in the mighty Ride On, a classic blues song about broken hearts and busted dreams, like all blues songs are, and you've got another above average effort from the boys at AC/DC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PROBLEM CHILD, Feb. 22 2002
By 
Michael Courtney "exiled01" (San Antonio, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of 5 albums by AC/DC where everything goes right! If there are any lapses of what we have all come to expect from the band, I don't know where they're at! This is the boisterous sound that came to be expected from AC/DC from the late 70's through the early 80's. Bon Scott's vocals and the power guitar chords of Angus Young drive the listener through a land where anything is possible and juveniles are in charge. There's no preaching in the disc, just lots of fun!
Starting with the title track, we learn these guys will do anything for a buck. From there we fall in love instantly with "Love at First Feel". All of the songs here show how fun it should be to be young and full of mischief. Now I get to say "Big Balls", just because it's the third great track on the disc! Finishing out, what I consider to be the best parts of DIRTY DEEDS is "Rocker", "Problem Child", and "Squealer".
If you want to be a kid again, play this for your Mom! It's guaranteed to get you two slaps up side the head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Shining Work in the Face of '70's Disco, Feb. 15 2002
If you listened to American rock radio in the mid 1970s, there is a very good chance you remember the first time you heard the growling menace of Dirty Deeds' title track. Although not AC/DC's first U.S. release, nor the best of the bands' Bon Scott incarnation (undoubtedly 1979's "Highway to Hell"), this album served notice on the rock world that AC/DC would become a staple of hard lock lore.
Never a band to overwhelm the listener with musical complexity, AC/DC nevertheless managed to pump out a long string of rock and roll that could drive fans into a frenzy (sadly, the band seems to have lost that edge, as 1983's "Flick of the Switch" was probably the last memorable contribution).
The title track, "Problem Child" (also found on "Let There Be Rock") and "Squealer" all demonstrate the band's ability to tap into something primal, while "Rocker" harkens back to an almost supercharged '50's feel. "Love at First Feel" and the perennial "Big Balls" provide the album's requisite smirk. There are definite flaws to the release, however, seen in the tedious "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round to Be a Millionaire)" and the downright monotonous "There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'." Despite this, the majority of the selections make this a "must have" for any fan, and "Ride On" certainly strikes a ghostly chord for anyone familiar with the death of Scott.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews