summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars90
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 14, 2001
I just wanted to put in my two cents about the Australian version of "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap". Despite its rather hefty price, it offers some bonuses not available on the U.S. or English versions.
1) The artwork is noticeably different, and almost gives the album an "underground" or "independent" feel.
2) The remastered version sounds terrific. Granted, this is probably not substantially different than the U.S. remastered edition, but it puts the two versions on similar sonic ground.
3) The song "Dirty Deeds" on the Aussie edition is a slightly longer version than on the U.S. release; you'll notice it toward the song's end where Bon sings the line "Dirty Deeds" a couple more times and also adds in a little extra squeal.
4) The Aussie version includes all of the song lyrics in the CD booklet. Nice to know for sure what Bon was saying!
5) Maybe most significantly, this album includes the killer song "Jailbreak" in lieu of "Rocker" (an excellent song in its own right, which is found on the Aussie album "T.N.T." or the U.S. "Dirty Deeds"). "Jailbreak" was the reason I bought the Aussie vinyl album back in the early 80's instead of the U.S. version. Great anthemic album closing track and delivers all of the goods you'd expect from the Bon-era AC/DC. (I realize that the "'74 Jailbreak" EP was released in the U.S., it's just kind of cool to have that song on the actual album from which it was originally taken.)
To sum up, the Aussie CD is a worthwhile purchase for the diehard AC/DC-Bon Scott fan, who is looking for the version as it was originally released Down Under, which includes some noteworthy bonuses. I strongly recommend this CD. (This version is also included in the Aussie 6-CD Box Set No. 1, if you've got the $$). Whatever version you have or buy, enjoy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2004
Let me start by saying that I am a big AC/DC fan, and I really like Dirty Deeds. That said, it is a good album. It is not great. There are flashes of brilliance (Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap, Problem Child, Rocker). There are also some mediocre songs. For instance, Big Balls is a funny song, but really not a good song. Squealer is ok at best, and There's Gonna Be SOme Rockin' is forgettable.
This album is much more bluesey than their later work (Highway to Hell, Back in Black, etc) and also more lyrically provacative.
If you are an AC/DC fan you will like this album. If you are looking for a more representative album of AC/DC pick of Highway to Hell of Back in Black.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2004
Originally released in 1975, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap did not hit the U.S. until 1981, when AC/DC became rock icons the previous year and fans were growing hungry for more material featuring the band's late singer, Bon Scott. Overall, the record is worth the wait, even if there is absolutely no reason to place "Problem Child" on the album since it was placed on Let There Be Rock. The title track became a concert staple for the band, but Dirty Deeds's most well-known track is arguably "Big Balls," a sleazy, ambiguous number that would become one of the band's most well-recognized songs. The album's greatest artistic moment, however, comes in the form of "Ride On," where AC/DC experiments with a slow, rhythmic blues ballad. The song, highlighted by the Keith Richards-inspired licks of Angus Young and the haunting, melancholy lyrics of Bon Scott, shows AC/DC in a rare sensitive form yet manages to retain the raw power that has since become the band's trademark ("Ride On" would be the only Bon Scott-era song to be placed on the 1986 compilation Who Made Who). On the whole, Dirty Deeds is a fine album with some nice treats for diehards. Though it may not be as well-crafted as the in-memory-of-Bon classic Back in Black, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is another fitting eulogy to one of hard rock's most influential vocalists.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2004
This album is the pinnacle of what rock and roll is supposed to be; filthy, raw and arrogant. AC/DC have always been very good at doing this and this album is their highlight of being exactly that.
It did take me some time to eventually buy this album because listening to the 5 thirty second downloads on the Dirt Deeds main page on amazon I was put off by the song 'Big Balls'. I did eventually buy this album and began to wonder what my problem was. After a few listens I have come to the conclusion that Dirty Deeds is the best album ever done by AC/DC, IMHO. The track 'Big Balls' does grow on you and it is a great laugh on the first few listens.
The track 'Ain't No Fun Waiting Round to be a Millionaire' had me in fits of laughter with Bon's use of lyrics. Hearing him shout 'get your f*cking jumbo jet off my airport' should bring a smile to your face.
All in all, Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap is a dirty, but great, album. If, however, like me, you didn't thing highly of the album on the first listen then give it time. It should soon become one of your favourite AC/DC albums.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2004
This has gotta be my all-time favorite album created by any band, artist, or singer, ever. And that's saying something.
Dirty Deeds starts off with it's title track. In this song, frontman Bon Scott gives you some reasons as to why you might hire him as your hitman. That's Bon for ya.
First time AC/DC listeners might not warm up to "Love At First Feel" right away, but after two or three times around it will definitely earn a spot on your AC/DC top ten. "Big Balls" is an example of one of Scott's wittiest songs. Whether it's about ballroom dancing or not is for you to decide. "Rocker" can easily become an AC/DC fan's theme. I know it's mine.
"Problem Child" went on to become a staple in AC/DC playlists. Mad guitar riffs and well-fitting lyrics make up this favorite of mine. "There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'" is all about what one might experience at an AC/DC show. "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Rouind To Be A Millionaire)" is another classic, though it might take a few tries to like it. "Ride On" is my favorite song of all time. Bon Scott displays his vocals on this mellow piece. "Squealer" has catchy lyrics and will definitely keep you comin' back for more hard rock sounds of AC/DC.
I guarantee that there is not one song any AC/DC fan will not enjoy on this album. It will become a favorite of yours after just one play through of the tracks. If it doesn't, you might as well dust of those old albums and get back into good ole rock 'n roll, 'cause this is what it sounds like.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2004
This is a 5 star album! But I rate it one less because seeing as how this is a re-issue they should have rectified there mistake they made with this album in 1983!
DDDDC was first released in 1976 in Australia. It did not contain the same tracks! The Oz version contained "JailBreak" "Rock In Peace (R.I.P)" & "Problem Child"
The album was banned from beeing released in the US in 76 and it never saw the light of day untill 1983 in the US after the succsess of Highway To HEll and Back In Black , and releasing 74'jail break which prooved the people still wanted Bon...so they released a new version of DDDDC in 1983! tho somebody made a mistake, because they added the track "Problem Child" again which already appeared on the world version of LTBR! (not the australian one) and seeing as how they had put Jailbreak on an album of its own, they added a new song not released on the Australian album called "love at first feel" and i beleive that they made a mistake of adding "Rocker"(which was on the australian TNT) accidently and confusing that with "rock in peace"..... these errors should have been fixxed... and this remaster should have contained "Rock In Peace" despite the other errors they made when re-releasing it in 83!
Rock In Peace is still missing! and Jailbreak should have been included like it originally was!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2002
If you listened to American rock radio in the mid 1970s, there is a very good chance you remember the first time you heard the growling menace of Dirty Deeds' title track. Although not AC/DC's first U.S. release, nor the best of the bands' Bon Scott incarnation (undoubtedly 1979's "Highway to Hell"), this album served notice on the rock world that AC/DC would become a staple of hard lock lore.
Never a band to overwhelm the listener with musical complexity, AC/DC nevertheless managed to pump out a long string of rock and roll that could drive fans into a frenzy (sadly, the band seems to have lost that edge, as 1983's "Flick of the Switch" was probably the last memorable contribution).
The title track, "Problem Child" (also found on "Let There Be Rock") and "Squealer" all demonstrate the band's ability to tap into something primal, while "Rocker" harkens back to an almost supercharged '50's feel. "Love at First Feel" and the perennial "Big Balls" provide the album's requisite smirk. There are definite flaws to the release, however, seen in the tedious "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round to Be a Millionaire)" and the downright monotonous "There's Gonna Be Some Rockin'." Despite this, the majority of the selections make this a "must have" for any fan, and "Ride On" certainly strikes a ghostly chord for anyone familiar with the death of Scott.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2000
Excellent and in my mind one of their best releases. DIRTY DEEDS DONE DIRT CHEAP Showcases Bon Scott`s vocal range and talent in creating one of hard rock`s most memorable recordings. ROCKER, THERE`S GONNA BE SOME ROCKIN, PROBLEM CHILD, and the band`s only slow song i know of RIDE ON all are memorable. Even though when Bon Scott died tradgically in 1980 and Brain Johnson took over and and was a suitable replacement you still cannot forget the fact there will never be another Bon Scott. The man`s voice is ledgendary and unique and was instanley recgonizable everytime you heard one of his songs. It`s a shame DIRTY DEEDS DONE DIRT CHEAP didn`t get noticed until five years later with the massive sucess of BACK IN BLACK(1980) This is AC/DC at The starting point of their musical power after this strong effort they haven`t slowed down even to this day their still rocking, even if their hard rock sound is a bit tedious now. Great rock album considered to be one of rock`s all time best and the front cover is an interesting idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2003
A great album! I wish that they had kept the song "Jailbreak" on the American version, but nevertheless, excellent! You can go out and buy '74 Jailbreak for that song and some other great ones. Every song on here is excellent! Ive noticed that a lot of people dislike "Squealer" and I dont know why. Give it a fair listen! The first time I heard it I quickly skipped it, but then I thought I would actually listen to the whole thing! And after Bon's quiet singing, Cliff's bass rythem, and Phil's drums(which are all good), the song picks up and Angus and Malcolm play hard chords and get to be really good. My favorites on here are the title track, the hilarious "Big Balls", "Rocker", and "Problem Child". Also, listen to the line Bon says in "Ain't No Fun (Waiting Round to be a Millionaire)".
It happens at around 5:50 of the song, its hilarious!!! Another great album, what else is new?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2001
I am surprised how many people in this forum think this album is anything less than excellent--especially if they are AC/DC fans. Of course it's not "Back In Black"; nothing is! This effort is the ultimate in raunchy, rude, classic hard rock--the epitome of vintage AC/DC. Of course the leadoff title track is famous--how can AC/DC fans listen to that song without getting a wicked grin on their faces? "Big Balls" is a simply hilarious song that can be taken one of two ways. "Problem Child" flat out rocks. "Squealer" just growls with lust. And for sure, "Ride On" is the closest thing to a ballad this band ever did--a very heartfelt and sad bluesy anthem of a great song. All in all just a fantastic effort that defines as well as any early album what this band was all about. To me this is a must-have for fans of this legendary band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse