Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (127)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best with Bon
Highway to Hell is considered by many to be AC/DC's best work. I agree that it is their best with Bon Scott but not their best overall.
AC/DC again explored some bluesey riffs on Walk All Over You and Night Prowler but they had honed the skill since 1976's Dirty Deeds. Don't get me wrong this is a heavy album. One of their heaviest. The songwriting is excellent...
Published on July 17 2004 by roamer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't believe the hype -- I'm a fan, but this album is weak!
Sorry, I just don't get the hype surrounding this album. Maybe it's because it was Bon's last-- so fans are being overly sentimental, but it is not the strongest of the Bon era material. I love early AC/DC -- but this album pales in comparison to High Voltage and Dirty Deeds. Yeah, the song "Highway to Hell" is a classic -- and a couple of other songs are merely...
Published on April 16 2004 by Jack J. Mooring


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best with Bon, July 17 2004
By 
roamer (Odenton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Highway to Hell is considered by many to be AC/DC's best work. I agree that it is their best with Bon Scott but not their best overall.
AC/DC again explored some bluesey riffs on Walk All Over You and Night Prowler but they had honed the skill since 1976's Dirty Deeds. Don't get me wrong this is a heavy album. One of their heaviest. The songwriting is excellent the Young brothers' guitar work is crisp and clean and Scott's vocals are delivered with his trademark snarl.
This is an outstanding album and should be a staple in any hard rock/metal fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still BON as Lead Singer!!!, Dec 13 2009
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
This is one of AC/DC's CDs where Bon Scott is STILL lead singer. Heaven knows how many fans dumped "AC/DC", after Brian took over the lead singer reigns. If you did stop buying their stuff after Bon died, it's a shame, since their music is just as good or better, with Brian at the helm. However, only YOU may make that choice! Van Horn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Farewell to Bon 25 years on, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Australian hard rockers AC/DC released their album Highway to Hell in July of 1979. This was the first of three albums that AC/DC would work with producer Robert John Mutt Lange and coincidentally the band's first Top 20 charting and Platinum selling album here in the US. Ironically, Highway was the last album with the late Bon Scott before he died in February of 1980 after a long night of drinking. The album is pure AC/DC. Every track is great. You get the rock radio staples of the title cut, Girls Got Rhythm and Shot Down in Flames. Other highlights include If You Want Blood(a song named after their live album from 1978), Shot Down in Flames and Walk All Over You. One of the best song's on the album is Love Hungry Man which is somewhat of an overlooked gem in the AC/DC repertoire. The last track is the spooky Night Prowler which caused controversy when an AC/DC hat was worn by "the Night Stalker", a murderer who used AC/DC as a scapegoat for his evils. The song, ironically enough, was about what teenagers used to do, sneak out of their windows to their boyfriend/girlfriend's house whilst the parents were asleep. Bon was at his best on his last album. You really have to listen to whats not played on the radio to understand how great he was. Today, the album still sounds competent in 2004 with its digitally remastered edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AC/DC was on the Highway to Hell, May 27 2004
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
AC/DC's final effort with singer Bon Scott, and their 4th album release (not counting the Australian versions of T.N.T. and High Voltage) is AC/DC's finest album of all time. What makes it so good is new producer John "Mutt" Lange, who improved Bon Scott's vocal sound, making it raw and raspy. He really took a leap above Vanda and Young's producing with this album- he really made the "gang" choruses sung by Malcolm and Cliff more prominent. This is what made a great album even better, in my opinion. The slick production. The songs are great, too, including their radio hit "Highway to Hell", and others such as "Shot Down In Flames" and "Girls Got Rhythm". "If You Want Blood (You've Got It)" is also a great tune with a nice chorus. Not really a weak track on here. All killer, no filler. AC/DC sounds their wildest on this album and Bon sounds like a madman! His lyrics on here still haven't lost any of their bite. And soon after this album Bon died, which is a sad thing, because even though AC/DC was great with Brian Johnson, they were even better with Bon. It was a sad and dissapointing thing, his death. And for this new Digipak reissue and remaster, it is great. I have the LP version and this sounds just as great, if not better. The sound is crisp, with good bass and drum sounds. It also comes with a 16 page booklet with liner notes and rare photos from the band. It's too bad the booklet dosn't come with lyrics for all the songs, but you can easily find them on the internet. for the digipak, it wears easily, but looks nice and is very attractive. This album is a excellent first choice for those new to AC/DC, and a must own veteran fans of the band (who most likely already have it in some form or another) Happy listening, and Malcolm rocks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bon's fond farewell 25 years on, May 13 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Australian hard rockers AC/DC released their album Highway to Hell in July of 1979. This was the first of three albums that AC/DC would work with producer Robert John Mutt Lange and coincidentally the band's first Top 20 charting and Platinum selling album here in the US. Ironically, Highway was the last album with the late Bon Scott before he died in February of 1980 after a long night of drinking. The album is pure AC/DC. Every track is great. You get the rock radio staples of the title cut, Girls Got Rhythm and Shot Down in Flames. Other highlights include If You Want Blood(a song named after their live album from 1978), Shot Down in Flames and Walk All Over You. One of the best song's on the album is Love Hungry Man which is somewhat of an overlooked gem in the AC/DC repertoire. The last track is the spooky Night Prowler which caused controversy when an AC/DC hat was worn by "the Night Stalker", a murderer who used AC/DC as a scapegoat for his evils. The song, ironically enough, was about what teenagers used to do, sneak out of their windows to their boyfriend/girlfriend's house whilst the parents were asleep. Bon was at his best on his last album. You really have to listen to whats not played on the radio to understand how great he was. Today, the album still sounds competent in 2004 with its digitally remastered edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING ALBUM, April 30 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Highway to Hell (Audio CD)
Bon and Angus and the rest of the gang at their finest. Mark my words: I may be an ignorant, stupid, 14 year old girl... but I know what's good. This is better than good.
1) Highway to Hell - Excellent song, a classic. Of course, you have Angus' guitar to thank for that.
2) Girls Got Rhythm - What a coincidence! Another great song!
3) Walk all Over You - What can I say?! It's great!
4) Touch too Much - I must think of more positive adjectives. Angus is God.
5) Beating Around the Bush - Superb guitaring... THIS is why Angus should be revered as a GOD!
6) Shot Down in Flames - If they play this song in public, you have to suppress the urge to humiliate yourself playing air guitar.
7) Get it Hot - I don't know why this song reminds me of the Rolling Stones. Maybe it's the tune. Great tune by the way. Why did Bon have to die?
8) If You want Blood - Oh my this song is great. Splendid splendid splendid. You have to sing along to the chorus in a Bon-like voice. ("BLOOOOD on the streets, BLOOOOD on the rocks, BLOOOOD in the gutter, EVERY LAST DROP!!!!!!")
9) Love Hungry Man - I don't see why they were so love-hungry. They could easily pay for a lifetime of debauchery. OH WELL! At least it inspired them to create a great song.
10) Night Prowler - This is THE song. An excellent stalking song if there ever was one. A grand finale... and a grand album indeed.
This album is too short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest hard rock albums of all time!, Feb. 17 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
Highway To Hell by AC/DC has got to be one of the greatest hard rock albums of all time! Its load, its raw, and its heavy! Its the perfect album, well almost.
Highway To Hell was AC/DC's last album with front man Bon Scott, because he died like right after it was released. Besides Back In Black this is AC/DC's best album. Its there most raw and powerful. Its bluesy as well. The first four songs are the best on the record with the amazing title track, 'Girls Got Rhythm' 'Walk All Over You' and 'Touch Too Much.' All of which are classic AC/DC songs. The opening title track sets the pace for the rest of the amazing album. 'Beating Around The Bush' is goodd but nothing to brag about. 'Shot Down In Flames' is classic. 'Get It Hot' and 'Love Hungry Man' are both decent songs. 'If You Want Blood (You Got It)' is a classic, killer AC/DC song. 'Night Prowler' is one of AC/DC's best songs. Its a bluesy track and its heavy. This is AC/DC's most contraversal song because some guy stalked some chick and wore an AC/DC hat around the time this was released.
This is Classic, its among AC/DC's best albums. As far as Bon Scott goes this was his best album so dont miss out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get your kicks on Rt 666, Feb. 8 2004
By 
Tim Brough "author and music buff" (Springfield, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
This album was the atomic bomb that moved AC/DC to the top of the mushroom cloud of Heavy Metal music. Producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange absolutely understood AC/DC. Prior to this, the band was guitar heavy and concert honed, but hadn't quite found the proper sound in the studio to match their antics onstage. Lange fattened up the sound, made them concentrate on songwriting, and the band delivered the goods. The first four songs on "Highway To Hell" were classic rock with the boxing gloves loaded with horseshoe sized hooks.
As soon as the public heard it, there was chaos. Parents covered their ears, church groups had seizures and the little boys really understood. The twin guitars of Angus and Malcom Young were a declaration of war on everyone that dared stand in the band's way, and Bon Scott sang like a demon unleashed. There were no fancy concepts or mythic storylines to be found on "Highway To Hell," just the testosterone blues of frustrated males around the world captured perfectly. Along with Aerosmith's "Rocks" and "Toys In The Attic," this is seventies rock at its pinnacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect. A great hard rock/party album., Oct. 4 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
This isn't a very deep album, but I hate to say it, I like alot of music like that (be it pop, rock, anything). Why can't it be cool to make a song with a guitar solo, and/or about partying anymore? Practically every song was/is a hard rock radio staple.
The title track is a mid-tempo great party anthem about life on the road, and shouldn't be taken literally. My favorite song here is the fast paced, somewhat melodic speed rocker 'Girls Got Rhythm'. If Bon Scott-led AC/DC had gone into the 80s, I think this is a precursor to how it would've sounded.
Next comes the bluesier but still similar, heavy 'Walk All Over You', which alternates tempo slightly throughout the song. 'Touch Too Much' is a more cooled down (for them) catchy rocker, which is the song that got me into them to begin with. 'Beating Around the Bush' is a frantic, raw, almmost punk sounding rocker. I'm not that big on it, but many people like it.
The other half isn't as good, but don't let that fool you. 'Shot Down in Flames' is another great girl story song sung only as Bon could. It's very sililar to 'Girls Got Rhythm' just a little harder. 'Get It Hot' is a short, blues based, almost southern sounding hard rocker. If metal had existed before the late 60s, I think it would sound like this.
The next two songs are a little pale IMHO, but not bad. 'If You Want Blood' is a throwback to their earlier, even more raw days. A fair, but unmemorable rocker. 'Love Hungry Man' is just okay. A mid tempo album track. The last song 'Night Prowler' is another standout. Not a ballad, but slower and almost creepy. It's about Halloween and sneaking into bedroom windows. Unlike some may believe, this has NOTHING to do with committing murders. It's just a harmless, make believe song.
Simply put, I like this album because it has a more polished, (very slightly) pop tinged, arena rock sound. get 'Let There be Rock' if you're into the more raw AC/DC. Get this, especially if you like 'Back In Black'. This is a little heavier than what I usually listen to, but it's so catchy, how could you not love it, unless you're a rapper or something?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Reissue, Aug. 29 2003
By 
Luis C. Diaz (Mason, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Highway To Hell (Audio CD)
I was noy very interested when I first heard that a new record label was going to reissue the AC/DC Catalog. I said to myself that this would be another "REMASTERED" album with nothing much added.
I was quite surprised and impresed with this reissue work. Each CD is filled with pictures relevant to the time the album was recorded. The sound is quite good. Therefore, It provides an enjoyable experience.
Highway to Hell was the results of years of dedication. The band developed their style on years of touring and recording. In this occasion the band made match with a new producer (Robert Lange) that provided a new perspective and enhanced the sound making the collection of songs on this album truly memorable. This is a masterpiece of blues infected hard rock. The title track only is a rock and roll gem for ages to come.
It had to be an intense time for the band as it was followed by the dramatic death of their lead singer. Few times in rock hitory a record name has been more representative of the people who mad it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highway To Hell
Highway To Hell by AC/DC (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews