Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and authentic....hardcore John Wayne
This movie is hardcore John Wayne at his finest, and terribly authentic. The movie begins with Union Colonel Wayne nervous (with good reason) about a gold shipment during the latter stages of the civil war. He is only nervous about sending it through territory where he knows the famous 1st Louisiana Cavalry is lurking. What follows is absolutely the greatest train robbery...
Published on July 25 2001 by Vincent H. Hoyt

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You Need a Lobotomy to Enjoy Rio Lobo
I am a big John Wayne fan, and frankly, he is the only good thing about this movie. However, even John Wayne looks like he is going through the motions in this film. When I decided to see this film, I had high hopes, but was sorely dissapointed. This is not one of Howard Hawkes' best directorial efforts.

The major problems with this film are two fold. One, the...
Published on Sept. 23 2008 by Moodywoody


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars You Need a Lobotomy to Enjoy Rio Lobo, Sept. 23 2008
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (DVD)
I am a big John Wayne fan, and frankly, he is the only good thing about this movie. However, even John Wayne looks like he is going through the motions in this film. When I decided to see this film, I had high hopes, but was sorely dissapointed. This is not one of Howard Hawkes' best directorial efforts.

The major problems with this film are two fold. One, the acting for many of the leads is painfully bad, and the script is absolutely unbelievable, even for a western. The dialogue is painful to listen to at times, and often seems forced. The fact that Jennifer O'Neil and Jorge Rivero cannot act only makes it more painful. Even the great character actor Jack Elam is dissapointing in his role, since his over the top performance makes his character more suitable to a comedy than to a western that seems to want to be taken seriously. In some ways, this is another problem, since this film doesn't seem to know what it wants to be, a comedy western or a serious western exploring typical western themes.

This film is only bearable entertainment for the true John Wayne fan. I personally watched the whole film simply because I enjoy watching John Wayne perform. If you are not a big John Wayne fan, this film is a waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting and authentic....hardcore John Wayne, July 25 2001
By 
Vincent H. Hoyt (Corry, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rio Lobo (VHS Tape)
This movie is hardcore John Wayne at his finest, and terribly authentic. The movie begins with Union Colonel Wayne nervous (with good reason) about a gold shipment during the latter stages of the civil war. He is only nervous about sending it through territory where he knows the famous 1st Louisiana Cavalry is lurking. What follows is absolutely the greatest train robbery in movie history in my opinion. You are left breathless when the hornet nest is sent flying into the boxcar holding the gold. Then John Wayne picks up the chase. Great photography, and it posesses all the ear marks of a Wayne-Hawks western. The plot later in the movie follows along the same lines as previous Wayne-Hawks classics "Rio Bravo" and "Eldorado". Do yourself a favor and add this one to your western collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9 2014
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rio Lobo, Feb. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (DVD)
I enjoyed the dialogue between the main characters. The sound clarity was very good and the colour was excellent. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Jan. 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
I'm a John Wayne fan I have watch just about all his movies and enjoy everyone of them, You have to watch them in order to really enjoy what a great actor this man was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Zone for DVD, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio Lobo (DVD)
This DVD was rated low as it would not work on my machine.This DVD is for the wrong zone and would not work in North America even though they sold it here.It came from Italy and is for their zone not ours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good!, Sept. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
All of JOhn Wayne movies are good. He was a terrific actor and we will never see the "likes" of him again. THere are many good actors but John Wayne portrait many characters throughout his years and all were well acted. I recommend all of his movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rio Lobo, July 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (DVD)
Good classic movie, John Wayne does great movies and I like his westerns a lot. There should be more like him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Defective, June 25 2013
By 
James W Brown (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you order this, check the package. If the seal is missing from the top of the Blu Ray box, save yourself the trouble and send it back. It will not play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, but entertaining, June 7 2003
By 
R. K. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
OK, it's not the best western ever produced. It's more of a full color film in the style of the old Republic westerns of the 30s and 40s. What it does have is a pretty fast moving story line, scene stealing character actors, and very pretty music (except for Jack Elam's mouth harp...).
John Wayne is moving from leading man with love interest to lovable old coot. Jorge Rivera takes over as the hunk. This is early in his acting career and very early in his English, but he's a doll to look at and OBTW, he does an outstanding leap over a fence. Christopher Mitchum looks very much like his father, and the chemistry between him and Wayne is similar to that of his father and Wayne (see Bob in El Dorado and Chris later in Big Jake).
This was Jennifer O'Neal's first movie, and it shows. But Wayne was famous for introducing new actors, even when it was clear they needed practice. Must have been because of the way Wayne himself was mentored in the 30s by John Ford, et. al. Watch his early work and see his own improvement.
Sherry Lansing was sexy and later vengeful. In the latter role, she, too, chewed up the scenery. She could have had a respectable acting career, but chose to shatter the movie mogul glass ceiling instead, and more power to her.
Then there's the scene stealers. David Huddleston can steal one just by being in it. Victor French is both scary and a coward simultaneously, a hard combination, but he can certainly pull it off. Hank Worden only had one scene, but he's as neat as ever. And finally, Jack Elam was a scenery chewing, crazy eyed loonie, with some of the funniest lines in the whole movie.
No, it's not the best, but I like it. It will always be in my personal movie stash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import]
Rio Lobo (Widescreen) (Bilingual) [Import] by Howard Hawks (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 14.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews