Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars21
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$17.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 23, 2008
I am a big John Wayne fan, and frankly, he is the only good thing about this movie. However, even John Wayne looks like he is going through the motions in this film. When I decided to see this film, I had high hopes, but was sorely dissapointed. This is not one of Howard Hawkes' best directorial efforts.

The major problems with this film are two fold. One, the acting for many of the leads is painfully bad, and the script is absolutely unbelievable, even for a western. The dialogue is painful to listen to at times, and often seems forced. The fact that Jennifer O'Neil and Jorge Rivero cannot act only makes it more painful. Even the great character actor Jack Elam is dissapointing in his role, since his over the top performance makes his character more suitable to a comedy than to a western that seems to want to be taken seriously. In some ways, this is another problem, since this film doesn't seem to know what it wants to be, a comedy western or a serious western exploring typical western themes.

This film is only bearable entertainment for the true John Wayne fan. I personally watched the whole film simply because I enjoy watching John Wayne perform. If you are not a big John Wayne fan, this film is a waste of time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 25, 2001
This movie is hardcore John Wayne at his finest, and terribly authentic. The movie begins with Union Colonel Wayne nervous (with good reason) about a gold shipment during the latter stages of the civil war. He is only nervous about sending it through territory where he knows the famous 1st Louisiana Cavalry is lurking. What follows is absolutely the greatest train robbery in movie history in my opinion. You are left breathless when the hornet nest is sent flying into the boxcar holding the gold. Then John Wayne picks up the chase. Great photography, and it posesses all the ear marks of a Wayne-Hawks western. The plot later in the movie follows along the same lines as previous Wayne-Hawks classics "Rio Bravo" and "Eldorado". Do yourself a favor and add this one to your western collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 7, 2003
OK, it's not the best western ever produced. It's more of a full color film in the style of the old Republic westerns of the 30s and 40s. What it does have is a pretty fast moving story line, scene stealing character actors, and very pretty music (except for Jack Elam's mouth harp...).
John Wayne is moving from leading man with love interest to lovable old coot. Jorge Rivera takes over as the hunk. This is early in his acting career and very early in his English, but he's a doll to look at and OBTW, he does an outstanding leap over a fence. Christopher Mitchum looks very much like his father, and the chemistry between him and Wayne is similar to that of his father and Wayne (see Bob in El Dorado and Chris later in Big Jake).
This was Jennifer O'Neal's first movie, and it shows. But Wayne was famous for introducing new actors, even when it was clear they needed practice. Must have been because of the way Wayne himself was mentored in the 30s by John Ford, et. al. Watch his early work and see his own improvement.
Sherry Lansing was sexy and later vengeful. In the latter role, she, too, chewed up the scenery. She could have had a respectable acting career, but chose to shatter the movie mogul glass ceiling instead, and more power to her.
Then there's the scene stealers. David Huddleston can steal one just by being in it. Victor French is both scary and a coward simultaneously, a hard combination, but he can certainly pull it off. Hank Worden only had one scene, but he's as neat as ever. And finally, Jack Elam was a scenery chewing, crazy eyed loonie, with some of the funniest lines in the whole movie.
No, it's not the best, but I like it. It will always be in my personal movie stash.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon April 1, 2011
I'm a die hard John Wayne and director Howard Hawkes fan. If you own Rio Bravo don't waste you money on this one even in blu ray. It may be pristine quaity, but it's still a lame film. I own Rio Bravo, the first in the series, w/ JW, Ricky Nelson's first and only decent performance, Angie Dickenson and Dean Martin (who sings a lovely cowboy's lament) as well as a great performance as a reformed drunk and fast gun. That one is five stars. If you're a Robert Mitchum fan skip this and buy El Dorado (5 stars) -- they're the same movie w/ Robert Mitchum replacing Dean Martin. Luckily Ricky Nelson disappears since he was only added as box office attraction as a teen idol. Rio Lobo is a poor repeat of the first two films w/ only JW giving a decent performance. The rest of the cast is so memorable i forget who plays JW's sidekick. Waste of time and money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2001
Though cut from the same narrative cloth as "Rio Bravo" and "El Dorado," Howard Hawks' "Rio Lobo" (1970) remains a solid Western and a fitting end to the veteran director's career. With a "comfortable" John Wayne back in the saddle, the film is highlighted by impressive action sequences and splendid comic relief from Jack Elam. Admittedly, the younger actors are a bit weak -- and it's a shame that Robert Mitchum was unable to co-star with Wayne as originally planned. "Rio Lobo" may not represent Hawks' best work, but it's a lot of fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
All of JOhn Wayne movies are good. He was a terrific actor and we will never see the "likes" of him again. THere are many good actors but John Wayne portrait many characters throughout his years and all were well acted. I recommend all of his movies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2013
This DVD was rated low as it would not work on my machine.This DVD is for the wrong zone and would not work in North America even though they sold it here.It came from Italy and is for their zone not ours
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2015
When I tried to play this on my DVD player, I got the message, "not authorized for your region". Such items should not be sold in regions where they are not authorized.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2014
I'm a John Wayne fan I have watch just about all his movies and enjoy everyone of them, You have to watch them in order to really enjoy what a great actor this man was.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
If you order this, check the package. If the seal is missing from the top of the Blu Ray box, save yourself the trouble and send it back. It will not play.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Rio Bravo (Sous-titres français) [Import]
Rio Bravo (Sous-titres français) [Import] by John Wayne (DVD - 2010)
CDN$ 16.80

El Dorado (Bilingual)
El Dorado (Bilingual) by John Wayne (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 7.99

True Grit
True Grit (DVD)
CDN$ 15.84