Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great
No problems, the service and product was great. I would buy from this person again.
Published on Dec 20 2009 by Donna Byrne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Slick City guy returns to the west.
Billy Crystal is looking marvelous in the amusing comedy that is fun to watch. I actually like the sequel just slightly better than the original. Billy crystal is charming and funny and Jack Palance is great.
Published on July 4 2003 by JediMack


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Dec 20 2009
By 
Donna Byrne "Donna" (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
No problems, the service and product was great. I would buy from this person again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Sequel That Is Good!, July 17 2004
This review is from: City Slickers II (VHS Tape)
City Slickers is a very good movie and though sequels often pale in comparison this sequel was actually pretty good and Billy Crystal, Daniel Stern and Jack Palance were still in top form and I liked the addition of Jon Lovitz as Billy's lazy freeloading brother but I wish that Bruno Kirby was in this sequel too reprising his roll from the original but it's still a good movie and I highly recommend it and I hope to buy this and the first movie on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Let's get that gold!", April 7 2004
By 
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
This is a very funny movie, with an A+ cast, and script. With quirky one liners and beautiful scenery, you really do feel like your in a western.
It was fun seeing the cast again in this sequel, except for Bruno Kirby, who was replaced by Jon Lovitz.
The commentary for the movie is also quiet good. It's fun learning about what went on behind the scenes and such.
I personally think this is one of the better sequels. Very nicely done. 
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why no City Slickers III? (3.5 stars), Oct. 6 2003
By 
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
This sequel is at least as good as its precursor. It combines solid (if unspectacular) humor, with a feel-good message. But the director got it right. You need to start with the humor, to engage the viewer, before bringing in the heavier themes. Otherwise it's too easy for the uninvolved and sarcastic viewer to write the film off as corny or too sincere. It can be said that there is nothing truly innovative in this film; in some respects it aims for the common-denominator, but it hits it. The fact of the matter is, this is the level at which a lot of guys interact and bond. The treatment of westerners and women aren't great, but that's not what this modest movie is about. It's about male bonding.
Other pluses include the strong acting and the well-defined characters. Palance and Lovitz prove interesting muses for Crystal, albeit in very different respects. And even if we've heard it a million times before, it's good to be reminded that what you learn along the way is often more valuable than the what you are pursuing in the process.
So while this film is no great work of art, unlike the main characters in their quest, the moviemakers fully achieve what they set out to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to CJ! It's a great sequel!, Aug. 26 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
One of the few sequels that live up to the original. Yes there are a few gags repeated from the first movie - it's called CONTINUITY, CJ - look into it.
Other than that, it takes the likeable characters from the original and puts them in a brand new adventure. This isn't a retread of the original plot. Scenery is beautiful, Lovitz is a riot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Slick City guy returns to the west., July 4 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
Billy Crystal is looking marvelous in the amusing comedy that is fun to watch. I actually like the sequel just slightly better than the original. Billy crystal is charming and funny and Jack Palance is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY! FINALLY! FINALLY![.], Feb. 6 2003
By 
"jarule1992" (anywhere you want and more) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold (DVD)
OK i was so excited when I saw ...that they were releasing this on dvd! I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS FOR SO LONG! EVERYONE SHOULD ORDER THIS AND THE FIRST ONE! THERE PROBABLY WON'T be ANY special features, but still.....THE MOVIE!
PEACE OUT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy the damn movie !, May 27 2002
By 
This review is from: City Slickers II (VHS Tape)
This is one of my favorite comedies and just awesome follow up to the 1st part. Jack Palance is brilliant and so is the rest of the crew. If you think the 1st part is better; you need to have your head examined ! I only hope they'll do another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slicker is Quicker, Sept. 21 2001
By 
Jerroden (Lubbock, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City Slickers II (VHS Tape)
I reaqlly love this movie. Why? Because I love treasure movies, that's why! This one's even better than The Treasure of the Sierra Madre for many reasons, not the elast of which is SIerra Madre is such a downer. Sorry, Bogey. ALso I love comedy and yes, I even love cattle being mistaken for the opposite sex. Great locations, good writing and Jack Palance, the man you just can't stop listening to. I enjoyed the cameo appearances in the end and the sappy parts. It's all good entertainment! The Ending always gets me jumping and cheering.
Mooo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Deja vu!, March 20 2001
This review is from: City Slickers II (VHS Tape)
Why do they have to do it? OK, I admit, "City Slickers" was great, but why do they have to try to capitalize on the success of a fist novie and make these sequels. And why do you, yes YOU the people who go and see them and rate them so highly, give them the encouragement. Witht he exception of the "Star wars" trilogy and "Indiana Jones" trilogy sequels never fail to disappoint! This is the same old garbage withthe same old gags. "He's behind me isn't he?" Phil nods "Yes!" with a vacant and stupid grin on his ugly mug. Oh please. We haven't heard THAT one before have we? That was incedibly annoying! Even moreso when we are expected to laugh at it! "City Slickers" was a self-contained movie. It didn't need a sequel. So why do it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbffc0810)

This product

City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold
City Slickers 2: The Legend Of Curly's Gold by Paul Weiland (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews