Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sir Humphrey and Hacker finally make it to DVD!, June 12 2003
By 
Super70s.com (South Beach, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
I love Fawlty Towers, but for my money Yes Minister/Yes Prime Minister is the funniest sitcom I have ever seen. While most of the humor is political in nature, you don't have to be a C-Span junkie to get all the jokes. You also don't need a background it the British political system (though it helps) as political corruption is universal. Indeed, this show was a worldwide hit and is being aired somewhere right now!
The U.S. video tapes for this series only included the first seven episodes of this series, so many of us will be seeing 14 "new" episodes! If you have those video tapes or have seen this show on public television, what are you waiting for? The video is of high quality and there are no gotchas; it's a wonderful set I'll keep mine for the rest of my life. If you are an anglophile who enjoys the likes of "To the Manor Born" or the Ian Richardson "House of Cards" trilogy (soon to be released on DVD as well), you will more than likely enjoy this set too. For the rest of you who have never seen this show, just know that it is an incredibly witty (though never silly) look into a well-meaning minister's (Paul Eddington) attempts to reform the civil service and an incredibly clever director of the civil service's (Sir Nigel Hawthorne) attempts to prevent any reforms. Don't let the subject matter fool you, it is never dull and will have you laughing throughout.
While there is a lengthy segment on Sir Nigel Hawthorne including an interview conducted shortly before his fatal condition was diagnosed, I wish there had been commentary on at least one of the episodes from the writers or producers (or even Derek Fowlds, who sadly is the only major surviving member of the cast) just to get a insider feel for the show. No matter; the quality of the video a great and the content is, of course, first rate.
I've checked with the BBC and the "missing" one hour "Party Games" episode, which came as a Christmas special the year after the final Yes Minister was aired, will be included on "Yes Prime Minister - The Complete Collection" scheduled for late August 2003. As this is the episode where Hacker ascends to Prime Minister and as it has never been released in the U.S., this is great news.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars too funny, June 12 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
This series is seriously funny. We watched it all and now have ordered Yes Prime Minister in order to follow it through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funny and physolophically sound, July 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
British comedy is so superb, funny and physolophically sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, June 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
Must see TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delivery of Yes Minister, Dec 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
Purchased as a Christmas present, Yes Minister will await opening on December 25. The package arrived promptly and in good order, as promised by the seller.

Assuming the DVDs are good quality, we already know this BBC series and Yes Prime Minister as well are superb!

Thank you for your good service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing writing, June 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
These episodes have to be watched many times as the witticism comes so fast much of the humour is not heard the first time through the loud guffaws of laughter.
I gave it 5 stars because the script and timing of the actors is second to none.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Way too pricy, why?, June 12 2013
By 
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
I have always liked this series, both of them, Yes Minister and Prime Minister and I am a great fan and still watch them on TV (PBS, God bless) every Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. waiting for the price to go down here, on Amazon. In the meantime I bought the book which is not the same and I don't really have time to read all those details of the characters' thought processes even if they are very funny.

From time to time I check the price and if I'm not mistaken (and I think I'm not), not too long ago the price for Yes Minister was 50 something and the one for Prime Minister was 40 something dollars, all in all making around $100. Looking at the prices now, because of a promotion of 40% for some BBC series, I thought I wasn't seeing straight: the Minister now is $85.61 (4 DVDs) and the Prime Minister is a bit cheaper, $64.37(3 DVDs). Well, this is 50% more for both, isn't it? I know that the ratio between offer and demand is never the same, but still...this is very discouraging.

On another hand, if I had waited for about 10 years and bought "Forsythe Saga" today instead of 2003 or 2004, I could have saved almost 50%. So, this time I'll be smart: I start counting: one...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Purchase!, Jan. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
DVDs were in great shape (no scratches or other problems). My husband loves this television show. It was his favorite Christmas gift this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of British comedy!, Feb. 29 2012
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
I bought this as a Xmas gift for my step-father who is English. It was very much appreciated but you don't need to be English to enjoy 'Yes Minister' - it's one of the great TV comedy classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Humour, Jan. 29 2012
By 
This review is from: Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks] (DVD)
Should be required viewing for all involved in government...but definately viewed by each and all who vote. A good laugh all around. Kudos to the writers and actors and all involved in making this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yes Minister: The Complete Collection [4 Disks]
CDN$ 74.98 CDN$ 52.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews