Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
Just love the first season, Sarah Polley is so cute as well as the other children & I love the stories the best from the first season, loved the series when my children were little & am so happy to be able to see it again .
Published 14 months ago by Sara J. Harrison

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like the other guy said; "Great story, terrible quality !, "
The first DVD in this set was very clear, but the rest are of extremely poor quality. You can literally see each pixel on the screen, and after a while of squinting to see you start to get a headache. If you love Road to Avonlea, then these are the DVD's for you, just proceed with caution!
Published on Feb. 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like the other guy said; "Great story, terrible quality !, ", Feb. 15 2004
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
The first DVD in this set was very clear, but the rest are of extremely poor quality. You can literally see each pixel on the screen, and after a while of squinting to see you start to get a headache. If you love Road to Avonlea, then these are the DVD's for you, just proceed with caution!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, terrible quality !, March 17 2003
By 
Erik (Harderwijk, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Sullivan entertainment should be ashamed for delivering these series on DVD in this Quality. I bought this for my wife, she loves Anne of Greengables and she looked forward to see this serie on DVD. But a 100 times rented out VHS-tape is better quality than this. You can litterely see the pixels on TV !!
Come on Sullivan this could be digitally restored...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Feb. 4 2013
By 
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Just love the first season, Sarah Polley is so cute as well as the other children & I love the stories the best from the first season, loved the series when my children were little & am so happy to be able to see it again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT PURCHASE!, Nov. 11 2005
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
The 'analog film quality' for these discs is Atrocious! On VHS it would be bad but on DVD it is inexcusable, to be charging this much for what looks like a pirated tape should be criminal. I've e-mailed the official site looking for a refund. Even if the problem is analogue film over digital, it wouldn't look this bad and it doesn't merit the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wholesome Entertainment, Feb. 9 2014
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
It is very clean entertainment - no swearing - good moral values. The characters are likeable, normal and have depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 17 2013
By 
Carole (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
This series is an excellent purchase for young and old. I purchased this for my granddaughters they both enjoyed it. I would recommend this series Sarah Polley is outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best family show, Oct. 17 2012
Achat Amazon vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
Its the best family show and with titles and a scene from around here NB and PEI just great tv show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Happy to finally have RtA on DVD, Oct. 9 2003
By 
dsdawn "dawne3" (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
I was so excited to get the first season of my all-time favourite show on DVD. As always, I give top marks to the show, it's beautifully acted and filmed. The only reason I didn't give the DVD 5 stars was because I was a bit disappointed with the bonus features, and I would have liked to have seen it digitally restored. but in terms of the quality of the actual show, you can't get any better.
enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality now good, Jan. 13 2005
By 
Ken Lai (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
The season one version I have has excellent picture quality, and comes with some production features. I think the newer releases have the technical problems solved. The show is excellent and deserves to be seen by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series, Oct. 15 2008
By 
elfdart - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import] (DVD)
... i dislike when people review the quality of something rather than the content itself. i won't get into marshal mcluhan with... i just won't. but i guess note that the reviews are positive, people are just mad about how it's presented (honestly, how will reviewing that do anything).

this is a great series. i have watched and enjoyed anne of green gables before and was prepared for the world i was walking into, but i enjoyed it anew, as if walking into it for the first time. it's basically about a girl who gets sent off to live with her deceased mother's family for some time because her father is in some legal trouble. it's a fantastic period piece. to my knowledge the setting and costumes are spot on... but the sentiments of the time are also present, which is really refreshing. i mean i respect the fact that the present day takes pride in political correctness, but back in the day, women couldn't vote, a lot was placed on religion... and it's nice to see that history wasn't changed for the sake of present ideals.

at times the acting was somewhat contrived, but overall i'd say the actors did a great job. and where the actors didn't quite do it for for, the characters and plot stepped in and changed my mind. the characters are really compelling. they all have a story to tell, they all have fire and spunk, even the quiet ones or the ones who barely make their presence known. i really wanted to know more about all of the characters in the show because you could sense that they all had a story to tell. the main characters had very strong personalities. sarah is very proud and stubborn and little to nothing will get in her way enough to stop the course of action she's chosen... but at the same time she's reserved and thoughtful. aunt hetty (spelling?) is also very stubborn and strong (.. pretty much all of the women in this series has a strong voice, the plot is moved by them collectively). she doesn't like showing emotion and is at odds with several people because of the wrongs she perceives they have committed against her. she's very set in her ways. olivia is very whimsical and counteracts hetty's tough exterior. i won't go into all of the characters because there are a lot, but the two who aren't in the immediate family i'd like to mention would be felicity and peg bowen. felicity is sarah's cousin and is very spiteful and petty, but at the same time, when she's nice you can feel the force of her character utilized in a positive way and are grateful for it. she's an interesting character because you sometimes can't decide whether you should like her or hate her. and peg bowen is the town 'witch'. i really enjoyed this character because she's outside the norm and can be the voice of reason, i thought she was really strong.

the episodes are basically events that open up the community a bit in some way or another, and sarah's always the cause. it's kind of like that movie polyanna in that respect, but much more multi-faceted.

this series isn't half as well known as it should be, it's really well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb4002744)

This product

The Road to Avonlea: The Complete First Season [Import]
CDN$ 65.99 CDN$ 41.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews