Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Tupelo 's finest disc
I love this album. Most people are familiar with the story of Uncle Tupelo, and how they branched off to form two of the best bands of the nineties, Wilco and Son Volt. This disc captures Tupelo at thier finest. The whole disc has a live type feel to it. It is a mystery why this disc has not been elevated to classic status. Maybe if the music industry wasnt so concerned...
Published on June 8 2004 by Train

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my uncle
who's uncle is it. Obviously someone in this band has been heavily influenced by "50 cent" but that's my opinion. This recording didn't sound like it is good.
Published on June 22 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Tupelo 's finest disc, June 8 2004
By 
Train (Richmond, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
I love this album. Most people are familiar with the story of Uncle Tupelo, and how they branched off to form two of the best bands of the nineties, Wilco and Son Volt. This disc captures Tupelo at thier finest. The whole disc has a live type feel to it. It is a mystery why this disc has not been elevated to classic status. Maybe if the music industry wasnt so concerned with the flavor of the week, this disc would be more widely played. If your a fan of music with some heart and soul to it, you will like this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet Side, May 7 2004
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
Uncle Tupelo went unplugged on their brilliant third album, March 16-20, 1992. Produced by R.E.M. guitarist Peter Buck, the album features six cover songs of mostly traditional folk music. The band's signature sound is stripped down to the skeletal remains of acoustic guitars with a dash of percussion and strings. The songs have on overt political nature and the band throws in some religion as well. The overall starkness of the album recalls Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska. Unlike that album which found Mr. Springsteen singing from a first person point of view, Uncle Tupelo act as troubadours, telling the tales of the downtrodden. The album shows the band's versatility and Mr. Buck's subtle production is first-rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Tupelo's best, April 10 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
This is by far my favorite Uncle Tupelo album because this is the album that best shows Uncle Tupelo's folk influence. This album has a perfect blend of original songs, and traditional songs the band learned from a Missouri folk compilation tape they heard. Its also good to see a CD that has worthwhile liner notes. The liner notes explain the band's background and the inspirations for the album, which makes for interesting reading for any Uncle Tupelo fan. Out of all the Farrar/Tweedy albums, I rank this one second only to "Trace".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for all alt country fans, April 9 2004
By 
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
yep !!! bye it right now!!! you're missing out if it's not in your collection. destined to be as classic as any of bob dylans albums. a great collection of acustic music from the band that put alt counrty in the music vocabulary....to bad it it's their last album. while you 're at it you should just get all the uncle tupelo music you can find here....then start buying up the drive by trucker stuff too!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strange, Beautiful Music, Sept. 17 2003
By 
Adam J. Whittemore "The Critic" (Arbutus, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
If you have never heard Uncle Tupelo, all I can do to explain it is punk rock meets country. I can't explain it better than that, but it is really really heart-ful music. I can't say that the trio is overly talented, or that any of the music they make are masterpieces. But, for some reason, they make very good music. It seems to grow on you the more you listen to it and this album is the prime example of that.

This is not an album to get if you haven't heard or you're not a Tupelo fan. I would recommend either their anthology or Still Feel Gone. But, if you are already a fan, most agree this and Still Feel Gone are their prime albums. This seems to take the aura surrounding the band as a blue-collar, steel working group into new heights. Songs like Moonshiner and especially Coalminers seem like an honest testament to the lower class American workers, holding all the heart and soul of the people within the music. Like I said, it is probably the hardest album of theirs to get into, but if you are a Tupelo fan and you don't have this album, with the new release of the remastered version, there is just no excuse not to own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly great CD just got better, July 11 2003
By 
J. Polsgrove "tucson_deadhead" (Uh, Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
There was absolutely nothing wrong with the original March 16-20, 1992, which gets its title from the five days it took to record this acoustic UT CD in John Keane's Athens, Georgia, with REM's Peter Buck producing. It's as if all the forces in the universe came together at the right time to create an album that mixes old Louvin Brothers classics and other "old-timey" songs, with new material by Jay Farrar and Jeff Tweedy. The magic is the old "hillbilly" classics and the new material blend together so well. Buck truly did a majestic job of sequencing this CD! The remastered version contains material that was not recorded during that 5-day period in March 1992, but rather in 1991 or 1993. Still, it does not detract from the original material so much as add a slightly different perspective at the end. In my book, this is one of the 5 best albums of the 1990s. If you are just discovering UT, I also highly, highly recommend the "best of" "89/93," which does a fine job of presenting an overview of their career, including a killer version of CCR's "Effigy." The new March clocks at out about 63 minutes and I've had it in my computer's CD player for the entire week. It's Friday as I write this, so I'll probably bring it home and play it all weekend. It's just such a great blend of old-timey music and new music. In the liner notes Buck says that by the middle of the week he knew he was working on a classic album. He hit that nail square on the head! This truly is classic acoustic alt.country/No Depression/Americana, and sets a high standard that, IMHO, has yet to be equaled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary., May 13 2003
By 
"spanishjohnny" (Sydney, Australia.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
Watershed release from seminal rockers come crooners come whatever. Produced by R.E.M' s Peter Buck, March... sees Jay and Jeff respectively trading blows of genius. Highlights include Farrar's protest ditty "Grindstone" and Tweedys brooding "Black Eye" but perhaps most significantly the two combine on this record for unbelievable results. Most notably the breathtaking "Moonshiner" and the instrumental "Sandusky". A classic in every sense of the word. The re release features early demos of "Grindstone" and "Atomic Power" as well as a live version of "Moonshiner".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Finally re-released, April 15 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
This is definetly the most movin Uncle Tupelo album of all 4!
Listen to Moonshiner and you'll find out what Tweedy and Farrar were together-- just imagine, Jay would be with Wilco now!! Sure, they would have more Country than Pop, but his voice is so incredible....
If you want only one UT-CD, get this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my uncle, June 22 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: 1992 March 16-20 (Audio CD)
who's uncle is it. Obviously someone in this band has been heavily influenced by "50 cent" but that's my opinion. This recording didn't sound like it is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1992 March 16-20
1992 March 16-20 by Uncle Tupelo (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews