Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent RPG
This is one of the best RPGs out for the Game Boy today. The only game that can rival it is the original Golden Sun. "The Lost Age" has some beautiful graphics and incredible fight sequences. Although the learning curve on it can be rather difficult, if you go to some of the eb sites out there about how to use your summoned monsters, you can figure it out after awhile...
Published on April 29 2004 by Scott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WIZ KID IS HERE
HI everybody well im back the wiz kid and i played the first part of this terffic game. I would give this game 5 stars but i dont now yet how the game would be like. The first part was great good fighting good grahcis what more you want o yea and good story line. i will reset the stars when i get to play this game in japan or in...
Published on April 18 2003 by yakov


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Suffers from middle child syndrome, June 19 2004
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
Well, I have finished "The Lost Age" (although I haven't defeated Dullahan or...er, I'll let you find these yourself!), and I have to say that the experience was quite good, but not perfect (and sorry, but 5 stars is reserved for the truly great).
First, let me praise this little data animal. Golden Sun's graphics are top notch, improving (im my opinion) drastically over its predecessor. The summon spells look great, although they seem useless, and in fact I think that using them can HINDER your chances to win big battles, but they do look great. The number of hidden secrets is incredible, ranging from optional superbosses to top-notch summons to weapons dropped only by monsters. For the fun factor, this game ranks up there with the best - as far as the puzzles go, I would rank them with those found in Zelda and Lufia.
So, where's the problem? Well, unfortunately, GS2 is obviously not the end of the story, a fact which becomes painfully obvious early in the game. Whereas the first GS introduced us to this incredible new RPG universe, and the surely-upsoming GS3 will resolve the conflict for good, this game trudges along story-wise, simply playing through events in order to lead to the bolckbuster finale. I would liken this to the recent "Attack of the Clones"; this game's story is here merely to deliver events until the third game can be released. And for that, I knock off a star.
Oh, but maybe I'm nitpicking. I honestly haven't enjoyed PLAYING an RPG like this in a long time, and here's hoping that we get a few more like this. Even with the flaws, GS2 is a worthy sequel and is certainly worth your money (get it now, though, before it disappears like its predecessor!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent RPG, April 29 2004
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
This is one of the best RPGs out for the Game Boy today. The only game that can rival it is the original Golden Sun. "The Lost Age" has some beautiful graphics and incredible fight sequences. Although the learning curve on it can be rather difficult, if you go to some of the eb sites out there about how to use your summoned monsters, you can figure it out after awhile. I do think you will have trouble with it though if you don't do your own research, as the in game help and the manual do not really explain the fighting system well enough.
When I first got this game, I thought that I needed to play the original in order to understand it. While it does follow a storyline directly from the original, this game is perfectly capable of holding up as a standalone game, especially since the original storyline doesn't make much sense anyway. This game does not really improve on the gameplay of the original in any way, and it's more of a continuation. The graphics, gameplay, and strategies are virtually identical. One problem I had with it though, is that it is fairly linear. You won't be able to advance much if you start exploring and wandering off. Also, when you are asked a question, many times you are given two different choices for an asnwer you can give, however there is only one correct answer, and you will basically get the same response regardless of which answer you give. For instance, if a character asks you if you want an apple, you can say A. Yes or B. No. If you say yes, he'll say something like "great, I knew you would!" If you say no, he'll say "What? That's crazy, of coure you want an apple, take it!" It pretty much makes this option pointless.
Lastly, some of the dialogue canbe REALLY long. You can't save your game during the dialogue and sometimes you'll have to sit through ten minutes of speech. It doesn't detract much from the game play however.
Overall, this game provided MANY hours of game play, unlike a lot of games that you can finish in a few hours. I found "The Lost Age" to be the best RPG I've played since the original Final Fantasy for Game Boy came out about 15 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another point of view., Feb. 25 2004
By 
dem_3 (everywhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
In the last game, you were left off sailing in Babi's boat after the lighting of Venus lighthouse, and the death of the fusion dragon. Your role in the last game was to prevent the lighthouses from being lit, for fear of world destruction. You find in this game however, you must light those same lighthouses for that very same reason. The switching of roles was a great idea for this rpg series.
In this game you take up the role of the former 'enemy' Felix. You travel the world trying to do the very thing you were trying to prevent in this game's predecessor. The swap in characters is hard to get used to at first, but is a nice twist in the game's already intricate plot. And even tho you are not Isaac any more, you do meet up with him later in the game. (he TALKS!!)
You can start the game as if you've never played before, or you have the option of transferring your data via code. I'll tell you, typing in that horribly long code is harder and more frustrating than ANY cave, monster or boss in the entire game!!! The upside is that you can remain at the same level you were at when you ended the game. Plus you'll have a ridiculous amount of money, items, and dijinni--and that's always good!
The story of the first game was indescribably magnificent, but as you learn the other side, it gets even better. Through the entire game your filled with the wonder of this really awesome world, and in the end your left craving more. And did you ever wonder why the game is called 'golden sun'? Well, you find out in this game, but it leads you to believe there will be a new game in the near future featuring Isaac as the main character. (yay!) Buy hey, ya never know!
All the original glamour and charm is left perfectly intact in this game. Unlike most game sequels out there, you find that this one actually improves on the original instead of ruining it. This is probably the best sequel I've played since LUNAR 2, and that was one GREAT game!! And as for as rpgs go, this one is definitely a classic in the making. The brilliance and beauty that you witness in this game is a rare occurrence, and you won't find any other games like it, certainly not on game boy advance.
This game provides you with the wonderful opportunity to break away form the boring reality of everyday life. No school, no homework, just some monster killing fun!! With the beautiful graphics and backgrounds, and the amazing story, golden sun is an excellent game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best game to hit the GBA, Golden Sun: The Lost Age, Feb. 22 2004
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
After completing the game, I find myself ready for the sequel that is currently up in the air. Golden Sun the lost age is hands down the best game to come to the gba. It's graphics are unparalled. Camelot keeps the style of gameplay similar to that of it's predecesor.
Graphics: Once again I reiterate, this game has excellent graphics. In the game various summons and powerful attacks are available to use. When used the game uses the gba's 16 bit proccesor to the max and displays stunning images and screens.
Gameplay: The geniuses at camelot use the same techniques as employed in the first game(before playing the second I strongly recommend you play the first). For those of you who haven't played the first game... during the game you as felix are able to move around the world either on foot or in a boat which is obtained later. In the world you pass through multiple caves, dungeons, and passes to get items, important tools or to procede in the game.
Difficulty: This game is deffinitely more difficult than the first. Personally I required a guide during certain points of the game. Despite that the game is relatively straight forward.
Story: The story summed up a lot is the following: You are on a quest to light the elemental light houses to restore the power of alchemy to the dying world of weyard. pursuing you are the main characters from the first gs and karst and agatio whom I won't reveal. You traverse the lands finding different opinions of what will happen when all the lighthouses are lit.
Battles: The battles in this game are incredible. Unlike early rpgs the characters move and strike using an arsenal of psynergy, weapon special effects, djinn, and or summons. An added bonus that will make veterans of the first gs jump for joy are two improvements. The first are summon tablets found in caverns throughout Weyard. These allow one to summon a monster of two elements i.e Zagan, 1 fire djinn 1earth djinn. The other is that as you near the end of the game you join up with isaac's party giving you eight characters.
Special features: You can transfer your old data from gs1 to gs2. There is also a two player head to head battle mode that requires a link cable, 2 gbas, and two gs2s.
Music: The soundtrack is excellent and fits every dungeon or lighthouse or town or whetever perfectly.
Recomendation: And finally I will say that this is once again the best game. Despite some difficult areas the game's best parts shine through and really make it phenominal. I would like to thank Nintendo for publishing it, Amazon for hosting this review, and last but most definitely not least Camelot programers and stotywriters. Camelot you've done it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweetest RPG eva!!!, Feb. 13 2004
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
Gameplay: Awesome. all the controles here feel great on the gba. I can evan play with the GBA in my pocket at school. You're new Djinn bring out the best of you're party, and the new summons look awesome!
Graphics: Just about all the graphics in this game are recycled from the it's prequel. A bad thing? NO! The graphics from GS1 were and still are some of the best on GBA.
Sound: The Sound here is great. Pleanty of variation in SFX. The musical score here sounds better and gives a better effect to the area than just about another game.
Replay: Think you've beaten Lost Age after you've beaten Doom Dargon? Wrong. With new summons in side quests and hard mode, you'll be drooling for more.
Multiplayer: Think you're party's the best there is? Test you're metal agaist friends via GBA link cable. Don't beat you're friend to bad though, just cuase you're game's mean you can beat him in real life.
Overall: This is a must have for the GBA. If you're an RPG fan withough Lost Age, you're not an RPG fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, perfect sequel to the first., Jan. 24 2004
By 
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
My GAWD, I love this game. I simply cannot get enough of it. The storyline, the amazing graphics, and best of all the characters. Oh, how I love the characters.
While the first game was rather short, this game nearly doubles the time--it takes much, MUCH longer to finish. Which is for the better, of course.
Graphics are as stunning as ever. Golden Sun continues to lead the way in graphics for the GBA. Tiny pixilated characters never looked so good on my screen before. They're cute, too.
The Djinn system has been updated, as most probably know--you can now COMBINE Djinn in your summons and produce awesome new dudes to lay the smackdown on those enemies. You can gain these new combination summons through "Combo Tablets", which are scattered throughout the land and obtainable throughout your journey. This is by far my favorite addition to the second game. Can we say WOW, people?
There are, of course, a few disappointments. The battle system is the same, and they failed to reprogram it so your character attacks another enemy if the one you told them to attack has fallen (which irks me to no extent). A few of the mysteries from the first game that are revealed are a bit disappointing, too, but the game makes up for it by throwing in more plotlines and all that jazz.
A personal complaint that probably doesn't apply to everyone: no romance develops. Man, I was looking forward to a few charries getting paired off by the end, but no. I am left in the dark, forever to only imagine such relationships. Le sigh.
Ahh, there are so many things I could mention, but every one of them would spoil the game in some way or another. ^_^ It's that good, and there are that many plots/subplots/conflicts, everything.
Gotta play again. And again. And again.
I truly wish a third installment would surface out of the depths of Camelot's genius (for multiple reasons--believe it or not, there are still several questions left after the game ends. ARGH), but alas, I can only pray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second-best game ever made., Jan. 10 2004
By 
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
If anything's a good game, this is. Even though a lot of the story and characters are a little vague without the first Golden Sun, it's still a good. As always, I recommend you get the first one first. But this is still a terrific game.
Pros-
-EVEN MORE DJINN!! If you thought that the 28 Djinn you got in the first game was enough, you'll get a headache getting the rest of them for a grand total of 72. Scared yet?
-New summons. Unlike the first game, you have to find them. The power of the summons comes in tablets found all around Weyard, from the beast-man Zagan to the ultimate Iris. It is hard to find them all. You also keep the 16 summons from last game for over 40 summons.
-New characters. Even though you play a little Jenna at the beginning of the first game, you keep her the entire game in GS:TLA. You also get to play Felix, a slight-antagonist in the 1st one. Also Sheba, who's futured in the very end of GS. Also a new guy, named Peirs, is your water adept from Lemuria.
-New cartload of Psynergy. You've now got a cartload of psynergy, including an advanced form of Ragnarock, the ultra-awsome Odyssey (not to be confused with Ulysses, the summon). Also, there's a party-healer called Aura that Jenna has.
-New classes. Can't say much as I usually stick with the same elements, but there are more.
-You can transfer data from GS to GS:TLA as Isaac's party joins yours. Though you can't have all eight fight at once, you can create your own group of four fighters.
-When you're fighting with only four out of the eight in your party, all members gain experience.
-The legendary Birds (Fire, Wonder, etc) give you major exp. points. Expecially if you encounter two of them and you kill one, the other calls for renforcments, you kill one, another comes, and so on.
-A SHIP!!!!! Be prepared to go to places that you cannot access on land.
-Ancient city of Lemuria!!
-The best thing in the game: the Teleport Lapis. Think Weyard is to big? It's a small world after all with the Teleport Lapis, with will Teleport you to any city in Weyard!
-After you beat the game, you can choose Easy, Normal, or Hard levels.
-In the Battle Arena, you can talk to a girl while holding R to listen to ALL the songs in both GS and GS:TLA. This is very neat as you don't need to be in a dungeon or cave to listen to the utterly terrific music.
Cons-
-GS veterans will be missing the brave Isaac, the thick-headed Garet, the lonely Ivan, and the trustworthy Mia as they sail around with the silent Felix, the impatient Jenna, the prodding Sheba, and the mysterious Peirs.
-Instead of getting the summons once you get enough Djinn, you have to find the tablets.
-One word: Dullahan. Not only is he an optional boss that will whip your fanny several hundred times over, but he also gaurds a summoning tablet. If the TO BE CONTINUED at the end of GS didn't discourage you, then this guy will.
-Can't return to Angara. North of the Karagol Sea is Angara, where you usually are in GS. But in GS:TLA, there is only two cities on Angara: Champa and Loho.
All-in-all, GS:TLA is a great game to add to your collection. Even though GS veterans will long for the fairly-peaceful world of Angara, they will not regret continuing the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars YOU SHOULD BUY THIS GAME, AND THE FIRST GOLDEN SUN, TOO!, Dec 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
I bought this game a while ago, as soon as I saw it on the shelfs.
If you buy this ggame, you should really buy the first game (also Golden Sun) because it gives you a whole other half to the amazing plot.
Both the games are THE BEST GAMEBOY ADVANCE GAMES I'VE EVER PLAYED!
Graphics are utterly amazing. Music is great - hearing it through earphones adds alot to it as well!
Gameplay is great. The begining of both games is simple, so that you can get an idea of what's going on. The game soon becomes a complex game, challenging and fun. It has great replay value because you can always try to get all the Djinn, elemental creatures, weapons, and summons to get more powerful. Each step is an attempt to get into and solve the lighthouses, and you go through many challenges. (Note: if you REALLY get stuck or just want to make sure you haven't missed anything along the way, look up the game on the internet)
The battle scenes are great, and the summons in particular have AMAZING graphics.
I can't tell you how much fun this is. It's the best game I've ever played, BUY IT!!! MAKE SURE TO GET THE FIRST ONE TOO, TRUST ME THE MONEY IS WELL WORTH IT.
REVIEW: Picks up perfectly from where golden sun ends. Great graphics and music. Engaging plot. Three save files. Visit numerous new areas, including Lemuria. Great of replay value.
cons: you can't go to the place you went to in golden sun at all. (note: you can still get the djinn.)
IT GOES BEYOND A STAR RATING... 10/5 stars+ !!!!
I'm serious ... this game is a must have for an adventure game lover, or a great way to introduce someone to GameBoy Advance! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS GAME IS A MUST HAVE!!! READ TO FIND OUT MORE!!!, Dec 11 2003
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
The first time I saw Golden Sun was when the first version came out, and I thought that the game would be plain stupid...but you have no idea how wrong I was! After playing the first version "Golden Sun" I was in love! The graphics for these games are absolutly stunning and clear, as well as bright and colorful! I would say this game is definitly not a dissapointment.
The only problem is that if you want to play this game, you have to play the first one first, or else you will have no idean what the heck you are doing. Anyway, the story for this game is really great and characters have some pretty amazing personalities. I like it how all the different characters have different attitudes about their experiences in the game, and it really makes it a whole lot more interesting. I like how in the beginning you leave off in the last dungeon of the first game, only you're different characters instead of being Isaac, where in this game you play as Felix, Jenna's brother. Even though I recommend to buy and play the first version, some of the text does go back to the othe game so that you're not totally lost.
Ok, now back to the game! This game has so many amazing dungeons and enemies, and I would say that they are way more challenging than the first game. As you get farther in the game the enemies begin to get really strong, but it's really fun to battle them. And don't worry Golden Sun fans you do get MORE Dijnn, yeah thats right MORE Dijnn. Now for those of you who don't know what Dijnn are, they're elemental allies that help boost your magic, and character stats such as attack strength. There are also some really cool NEW attacks in this game, even for the characters from the last game. Just wait until you learn about the hidden summoning tablets that you have to find.
The summoning tablets able you to sommon very powerful monsters that can cause so much dammage that it can kill a whole party of enemies in one blow. (Yes you need Dijnn to be able to summon these awsome creatures!) Although it is very challenging to find these tablets, but it is way worth the wait. There are also 2 special summoning tablets that you can only get if you have all the Dijnn inlcuding the ones from Isaac's party. I almost forgot! You can transfer your data from the first Golden Sun game to the new game, so make sure that you have all the Dijnn in the first game or you will not be able to receive the 2 special summoning tablets, and trust me, you don't want to miss out on these! Especially because one of them gives a lot of damage as well as reviving any downed allies and restoring their HP.
Now more info about the battle! Even if you don't transfer data from the first Golden Sun Game you will be able to meet up with Isaac and co. Anway, when you have Isaac's party with you, you are able to switch out characters if their magic or HP is low, the only problem is that you can only switch out one character at a time. This means you need more strategy than ever! But do not take this special treat to your advantage. That's basically the only new stuff about the battle scences, otherwise everything is basically the same. Although there is new battle music depending on who's in your party at the time.
Like I mentioned before the dungeons are more challenging. If you're not a patient person then I recommend that you buy the guide book, because some of these places are very tedious. When I played, there was this one dungeon and it drove me crazy because it was almost like a maze. But I do have to admit that it was quite challenging and fun! You will also have to collect pieces of a trident in the game, and even though it may sound easy it is not, because all the pieces are in different places, so don't give up hope if you cannot find them...because they're out there somewhere.
Back to the characters. Now for those of you who thought that Felix is some evil person you are totally wrong. He plays a really great role in this game, and it's really cool to see Jenna and Felix battleing side to side. You also get to know more about the mysterious Sheba and about her past. A new character in this game is an allie named Piers, who comes from Leumuria. You also get to know more about his life and what the mysterious Lemuria is really like. There are so many mysteries about each character, but no worries, you find out everything in the end. And for those of you who wondered "Does Isaac ever talk?" well yes, in matter of fact he does! So this is really exciting for some, and believe it or not Felix has a few lines as well.
For those of you that like the villians, then you should definitly keep reading. Just like the last game there are two main enemies. There names are Agatio and Karst, and you DO NOT face them only once, which is really exciting.
There is really so much more to tell but I don't want to give away all of the amazing details and secrets hidden in this game. I would have to say that ending is very amazing and this game is definitly not a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST HAVE GAME!!! PLEASE READ!!!, Dec 11 2003
This review is from: Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance (Video Game)
The first time I saw Golden Sun was when the first version came out, and I thought that the game would be plain stupid...but you have no idea how wrong I was! After playing the first version "Golden Sun" I was in love! The graphics for these games are absolutly stunning and clear, as well as bright and colorful! I would say this game is definitly not a dissapointment.
The only problem is that if you want to play this game, you have to play the first one first, or else you will have no idean what the heck you are doing. Anyway, the story for this game is really great and characters have some pretty amazing personalities. I like it how all the different characters have different attitudes about their experiences in the game, and it really makes it a whole lot more interesting. I like how in the beginning you leave off in the last dungeon of the first game, only you're different characters instead of being Isaac, where in this game you play as Felix, Jenna's brother. Even though I recommend to buy and play the first version, some of the text does go back to the othe game so that you're not totally lost.
Ok, now back to the game! This game has so many amazing dungeons and enemies, and I would say that they are way more challenging than the first game. As you get farther in the game the enemies begin to get really strong, but it's really fun to battle them. And don't worry Golden Sun fans you do get MORE Dijnn, yeah thats right MORE Dijnn. Now for those of you who don't know what Dijnn are, they're elemental allies that help boost your magic, and character stats such as attack strength. There are also some really cool NEW attacks in this game, even for the characters from the last game. Just wait until you learn about the hidden summoning tablets that you have to find.
The summoning tablets able you to sommon very powerful monsters that can cause so much dammage that it can kill a whole party of enemies in one blow. (Yes you need Dijnn to be able to summon these awsome creatures!) Although it is very challenging to find these tablets, but it is way worth the wait. There are also 2 special summoning tablets that you can only get if you have all the Dijnn inlcuding the ones from Isaac's party. I almost forgot! You can transfer your data from the first Golden Sun game to the new game, so make sure that you have all the Dijnn in the first game or you will not be able to receive the 2 special summoning tablets, and trust me, you don't want to miss out on these! Especially because one of them gives a lot of damage as well as reviving any downed allies and restoring their HP.
Now more info about the battle! Even if you don't transfer data from the first Golden Sun Game you will be able to meet up with Isaac and co. Anway, when you have Isaac's party with you, you are able to switch out characters if their magic or HP is low, the only problem is that you can only switch out one character at a time. This means you need more strategy than ever! But do not take this special treat to your advantage. That's basically the only new stuff about the battle scences, otherwise everything is basically the same. Although there is new battle music depending on who's in your party at the time.
Like I mentioned before the dungeons are more challenging. If you're not a patient person then I recommend that you buy the guide book, because some of these places are very tedious. When I played, there was this one dungeon and it drove me crazy because it was almost like a maze. But I do have to admit that it was quite challenging and fun! You will also have to collect pieces of a trident in the game, and even though it may sound easy it is not, because all the pieces are in different places, so don't give up hope if you cannot find them...because they're out there somewhere.
Back to the characters. Now for those of you who thought that Felix is some evil person you are totally wrong. He plays a really great role in this game, and it's really cool to see Jenna and Felix battleing side to side. You also get to know more about the mysterious Sheba and about her past. A new character in this game is an allie named Piers, who comes from Leumuria. You also get to know more about his life and what the mysterious Lemuria is really like. There are so many mysteries about each character, but no worries, you find out everything in the end. And for those of you who wondered "Does Isaac ever talk?" well yes, in matter of fact he does! So this is really exciting for some, and believe it or not Felix has a few lines as well.
For those of you that like the villians, then you should definitly keep reading. Just like the last game there are two main enemies. There names are Agatio and Karst, and you DO NOT face them only once, which is really exciting.
There is really so much more to tell but I don't want to give away all of the amazing details and secrets hidden in this game. I would have to say that ending is very amazing and this game is definitly not a disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance
Golden Sun: The Lost Age - Game Boy Advance by NINTENDO OF CANADA (Game Boy Advance)
Used & New from: CDN$ 34.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews