Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Review
I have gotten a sneak peak at ALL of the Animatrix episodes and each one of them is AMAZING. They are really a work of art and you finally see that things are not as black and white as they may seem. And you ask yourself who the real bad guys are, humans or the machines. This is really a must own for all anime lovers and all those that have seen the matrix. And just for...
Published on May 5 2003 by Sanel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Range from great to terrible
The Animatrix is a collection of 8 anime films ranging from 9-17 minutes in length based on the universe of the hit The Matrix.
Last Flight of the Osirus - Doesn't add much to the Matrix storyline but is the most visually stunning piece of film I have ever seen. It is made by the creaters of Final Fantasy but with animation ever better. Thats awsome considering how...
Published on Feb. 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Owning for Any Matrix Fan, But..., March 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
...The case was damaged when I received it. I ordered new, but when it came I received the DVD in a separate little DVD package in the case, since the clasp for unknown reasons was snapped off. This is the first time I received a 'new' DVD that had a damaged case, and obviously the shippers knew this, hence the little blue package.
Other than the horrid condition of the case, I was pleased to have finally received this to add it to my collection, since I'm re-purchasing the Matrix series due to an incident that lead to me losing a lot of good movies, the Matrix Trilogy included. Hopefully the Matrix Reloaded and Matrix Revolutions DVDs will arrive in the expected 'new' condition.
The highlights of this DVD are 'The Second Renaissance', 'A Detective Story' (directed by Shinichiro Watanabe, director of my favourite anime Cowboy Bebop), and 'Final Flight of the Osiris'; though the other shorts are good too. One of the things I liked about these shorts was the dark tones each one of them conveyed. Another thing was the variety in animation styles--absolutely awesome! It's no wonder that this film's style of individual story-telling inspired greats like Batman: Gotham Knight and Halo Legends (both of which I also own), although all three of these films contain at least one short that wasn't very good.
All in all, this is worth owning for any Matrix fan. Just be warned that this film (especially 'The Second Renaissance') are absolutely NOT for kids. They'd get nightmares from this stuff, unless Grand Theft Auto and Resident Evil raised them from infancy.

I rate it **** out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great companion for Matrix fans., May 7 2003
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
Normally not one to review an item that isn't out yet, I've seen half the shorts on here so my opinion is at least somewhat educated. You too can see four of the shorts by visiting the Animatrix website. Amazon doesn't usually allow URLs in their reviews but I'll give you one guess as to what it is.
The Animatrix was conceived by the brothers Wachoski (the guys who made the original films). Four of the nine shorts were also written by them. One unfluential medium for the movie The Matrix was comic books, and the brothers successfully used this medium to not only tell parts of the story but introduce the world of the Matrix to the world (you can find the free online-comics on the Matrix website). Now, another highly influential medium to the brothers, anime (or Japanese animation) is being used to tell other parts of the grand story (and introduce the second film).
For casual fans of the movies, it is not necessary to buy this DVD. It has extra, but not intregal, story material. It's more of a bonus for people who want more (three films isn't nearly enough for many fans). What you get in this are nine anime short films directed by top names in their field. For anime fans this alone makes it worth buying. For Matrix fans it means you're getting quality. All the films are supervised by the brothers and four were written by them to ensure their proper place in the Matrix continuity.
Since this review is for American audiences, it's important to note something. This is NOT for young children! The reason this is important to note is because Americans seem trained to associate animation equals kids. Some of the shorts portay gruesome violence (even more so than the films thus far). Indeed, much like the film, the stories are very intellectual and not written for a child's mindset anyway.
In all, if you are a fan of the films, you need to check this out. It's really well done, and gives a lot of insight into how the world as we know it developed into the future world that Morpheus describes. Don't expect it to be better than the films, but it is a worthy addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Full Review, May 5 2003
By 
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I have gotten a sneak peak at ALL of the Animatrix episodes and each one of them is AMAZING. They are really a work of art and you finally see that things are not as black and white as they may seem. And you ask yourself who the real bad guys are, humans or the machines. This is really a must own for all anime lovers and all those that have seen the matrix. And just for the record this is my first anime I have seen, since I don't ever watch them or like them, but this truly is a great movie.
Picture: It's great, you can't expect too much. It's perfect DVD quality, doesn't get better than that.
Sound: Very good. You're not getting 5.1 but it's still very good.
Features: None that I have seen, so I can't rate it at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Animatrix, May 7 2003
By 
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I've seen a good chunk of this on the web and other places, and all I can say is WOW.
What is the Animatrix? In a nutshell, it is a collection of short Matrix stories that are animated. And the cool thing about it is that they're all mostly animated in different ways. (A few are done in anime, another in full CG, some just plain old animation, and others a mix of 2 or a mix of three of the above.)
The DVD will have nine (9) episodes to watch. Here's a quick overview of the ones I know a lot about and/or have seen:
1) THE SECOND RENNAISANCE, PARTS 1 and 2: This is a 2-parter that fills is all of the backstory that happened before the first Matrix film. It chronciles how the machines were made, how they took control, the war between the humans and the machines, and the creation of the Matrix. (Made in plain animation)
2) PROGRAM: Most of this one is fashioned and made like an Akira Kurosawa film. It's basically a duel between two samuari-like warriors in a matrix program where the setting is ancient Japan. (Made in anime)
3) WORLD RECORD: This one is basically about an extremely fast runner that can "run out of the Matrix and in to the real world" just because of pure strength/speed.
4) DETECTIVE STORY: This story, animated in black and white, fills in the critical backstory of the Trinity character from the movies. Includes voice acting by actress Carrie-Anne Moss.
5) FINAL FLIGHT OF THE OSIRIS: Basically, this is a 9-minute completely CG animated story that serves as a prequel to "The Matrix Reloaded" and "Enter the Matrix (GAME)." It begins as a blindfold sword duel and then escalates in to a ship chase with sentinels. This one has great action and great plotting, as well as convincing animation (Think "Final Fantasy," except 10 times more realistic.) I saw this one in the theatre. WOW!!!
There are a few more, entitled KID'S STORY, MATRICULATED, and BEYOND.
JUDGING FROM THE TRAILER, MATRICULATED is an extremely wierd episode with a mix of CG animation and regular animation.
BEYOND follows a group of kids in to a "haunted" house. Agents find them and capture them because of they're too close to finding out something secret.
KID'S STORY is about a boy running from agents. (That's all I could gather from the trailer.)
For more information, watch the trailer on the web. Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fill in the blanks and new concept for programmers, July 8 2004
By 
Aristarco J. Palacios L "Book Worm" (Jalapa Veracruz, México) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
This is a great DVD for Matrix fans and non-fans. I found the rennaisance stories worth the entire DVD. Final flight of the Osiris took my breath away. Kid's Story, if no one has noticed, is the story of the kid that appears giving ammo to the robots defending the deck in "Revolutions". Finally, Beyond is THE story that'll change your mind if you, like me, are a programmer. Is this how bugs look like inside a program? How many times have you tested modules and then left them in the hard disk? When a system accesses a defective set of subroutines, do they look like this? When your OS repairs a defective function, do the deletion leaves other programs without a place to find solace, amusing? If you want your brain scrambled like the eggs in your breakfast, buy this one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than I Expected - Helps Fill In Some Blanks., July 1 2004
By 
KiWiSouP "kiwisoup" (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I figured this was just another spin off of the Matrix series. Around the time Reloaded was released, there was so much publicity and overexposure that with the video game and everything else, that I never took this seriously enough to actual watch. Now, about a year later I decided to give it a chance. I was suprised when some of the stories from this collection were actually good and explained some things that the movie didn't.
Final Flight Of The Osiris:
Explains what happened to the Osiris fleet while delivering the message about the machines digging to Xion. Amazingly lifelike 3D animation.
The Second Renaissance (Part I & Part II):
Explains the history between man and machine leading up to the creation of the Matrix and humans being used for an energy source.
Kid's Story:
Explains how "Kid" from Reloaded got freed from the Matrix. He is the one in the movie that carries Neo's bags.
Program:
A girl is forced to choose between returning to the Matrix with her love or death if she does not cooperate.
World Record:
Kinda confusing, but what I gathered from it is that a runner learns to break the laws of the Matrix to break a world record and is being watched by agents to make sure he doesn't figure anything out.
Beyond:
A story that shows how a possible bug in the Matrix relates to a seemingly haunted building and how it gets covered up while a girl is searching for her lost cat.
A Detective Story:
A detective is hired to catch Trinity, but may find out too much.
Matriculated: My personal favorite. People capture a robot and try to get in to convert to their side using a Matrix-like virtual reality. I can imagine that being under the influence would add to this story.
Almost all of the stories are open-ended and leave you somewhat unsatisfied and right when you get involved in a story it ends as just about every one is under 10 minutes long. All of the stories have their own animation style and use an interesting blend of 3d and 2d animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be true., June 22 2004
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
The Animatrix, in my opinion, has done far more for Japanese animation in the US than Cartoon Network and its "Toonami" ever have and probably ever will. The Wachowskis never tried to hide the fact that the look and feel of The Matrix was greatly inspired by years of watching anime. This collection was born out of a meeting with producers at the famous Studio 4oC in Japan. The idea was to bring in a collaboration of some of their favorite anime directors to further explore the world of The Matrix. The result was The Animatrix, a collection of brilliant side-stories that expand upon the normal moviegoing experience.
-Final Flight of the Osiris: This short was written by the Wachowskis and animated and directed by the same team that did Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. Taking place directly before The Matrix Reloaded and even alluded to by Niobi in the beginning of said film. Here we follow the hovercraft, The Osiris, as its crew are the first to discover the method of the machine army's final attack against Zion. This short was actually shown in theaters in front of Dreamcatcher (ugh). To be completely honest, I went and saw Dreamcatcher just to see Final Flight of the Osiris. No regrets, it was worth it.
The Second Renaissance I & II: Written by the Wachowskis and directed by Mahiro Maeda (co-founder of Studio Gonzo of Blue Submarine fame), this is the complete origin of the relationship between mankind and the machines and how the war began. This alone is worth the price of the DVD.
Kid's Story: Kid, an important character in Revolutions, debuts here in a short written by the Wachowskis and directed by Shinichiro Watanbe (Cowboy Bebop). Great insight into Kid's character. Find out here why he's so obsessed with Neo in Reloaded and Revolutions.
Program: Written and directed by my favorite anime directer, Yoshiaki Kawajiri (Ninja Scroll, Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust, X: TV Series). Program is a short depicting two freedom fighters sparring in a training program designed around a feudal Japan theme.
World Record: Can a mind free itself through intense training and concentration? Find out here in Takeshi Koiki's story about a track star who just won't give up.
Beyond: Written and directed by Koji Morimoto. Beyond shows us a glitch in the matrix perceived as a haunted house. Here anything is possible and the laws of physics are completely re-written....that is until agents show up to correct the "problem".
A Dectective Story: It's noir! Another by Watanabe, this black and white short portrays a detective hired by agents to track down the ever-elusive Trinity in a story that takes place before the original Matrix.
Matriculated: A short by Peter Chung (Aeon Flux, Dark Fury: The Chronicles of Riddick, Reign), this story focuses on a team of surface dwellers that have an interesting way of dealing with the machines that reside there. When something goes terribly wrong with one of their robots, prepare yourself for a total mind-job that only Peter Chung can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Varied and enjoyable, June 5 2004
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
The Animatrix is a set of nine short animations, all very different in look and in story, loosely set in the world of The Matrix.
There's a lot to like in this set. The opening piece, 'The Final Flight of the Osiris,' is the best super-realistic animation I've seen to date. Later, 'World Record' uses its hard-edged graphic style almost in praise of its central figure, an athlete. Realism could never convey the human physical power shown here. The final piece, 'Matriculated,' uses a more fantastic style, creating almost a sense of a war between gods.
Each piece ends on an ambiguous note; there's always more story to come. I will be interested to see more, if it holds to the standard set by the best of these pieces. There is a real danger of downward sequel creep, though. Even within this collection, some pieces lacked the energy of others.
This is an enjoyable and varied set of animations. They are loosely federated under the Matrix banner, but you don't need to have seen (or even have enjoyed) The Matrix to like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE thing to buy for those anime fans who love The Matrix., May 27 2004
By 
Christopher J. Stone (Woodstock, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I'm an anime geek, nerd, dork, otaku, whatever. I'm a member of my school's anime club. When I first heard that the Wachowski Brothers were anime fans as well and were planning to release a DVD of Matrix-inspired anime, I jumped up and down with happiness! I bought it the day it came out. I was not disappointed. Many people do not like The Animatrix for one reason or another, but if you're like me and love both anime and The Matrix very very much, this is a must buy! The DVD features nine Japanese- and/or CG-animated short films. Final Flight of the Osiris is an American CG-animated film from the creators of Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. This is the favorite among most. My favorites are Kid's Story and A Detective Story because they are both directed by Shinichiro Watanabe, director of Cowboy Bebop. Other short films include The Second Renaissance: Parts 1 and 2, Program, World Record, Beyond, and Matriculated. As I said before, if you LOVE anime and The Matrix, this is a MUST-BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More enjoyable then the theatrical sequels to The Matrix, May 26 2004
By 
J. Ruth "jsruth" (Piscataway, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
It is rather chilling to see how much more entertaining and dynamic the Matrix storyline is in the hands other film makers. Thou direct connections to the theatrical movies of the series are sparse, the Animatrix takes the Matrix concept to those risky limits we caught a glimpse of in the original. These self-contained stories give the audience different views of the Matrix, showing how it can be an interesting medium for a variety of stories. If there is any effort to further the Matrix series, I hope the producers have the sense to put it in the hands of one of these filmmakers instead of the Wachowskis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Animatrix
The Animatrix by Yoshiaki Kawajiri (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 15.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews