Customer Reviews


280 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Animatrix
I've seen a good chunk of this on the web and other places, and all I can say is WOW.
What is the Animatrix? In a nutshell, it is a collection of short Matrix stories that are animated. And the cool thing about it is that they're all mostly animated in different ways. (A few are done in anime, another in full CG, some just plain old animation, and others a mix of 2...
Published on May 7 2003 by J. F. Cramer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Range from great to terrible
The Animatrix is a collection of 8 anime films ranging from 9-17 minutes in length based on the universe of the hit The Matrix.
Last Flight of the Osirus - Doesn't add much to the Matrix storyline but is the most visually stunning piece of film I have ever seen. It is made by the creaters of Final Fantasy but with animation ever better. Thats awsome considering how...
Published on Feb. 15 2004


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Animatrix, May 7 2003
By 
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I've seen a good chunk of this on the web and other places, and all I can say is WOW.
What is the Animatrix? In a nutshell, it is a collection of short Matrix stories that are animated. And the cool thing about it is that they're all mostly animated in different ways. (A few are done in anime, another in full CG, some just plain old animation, and others a mix of 2 or a mix of three of the above.)
The DVD will have nine (9) episodes to watch. Here's a quick overview of the ones I know a lot about and/or have seen:
1) THE SECOND RENNAISANCE, PARTS 1 and 2: This is a 2-parter that fills is all of the backstory that happened before the first Matrix film. It chronciles how the machines were made, how they took control, the war between the humans and the machines, and the creation of the Matrix. (Made in plain animation)
2) PROGRAM: Most of this one is fashioned and made like an Akira Kurosawa film. It's basically a duel between two samuari-like warriors in a matrix program where the setting is ancient Japan. (Made in anime)
3) WORLD RECORD: This one is basically about an extremely fast runner that can "run out of the Matrix and in to the real world" just because of pure strength/speed.
4) DETECTIVE STORY: This story, animated in black and white, fills in the critical backstory of the Trinity character from the movies. Includes voice acting by actress Carrie-Anne Moss.
5) FINAL FLIGHT OF THE OSIRIS: Basically, this is a 9-minute completely CG animated story that serves as a prequel to "The Matrix Reloaded" and "Enter the Matrix (GAME)." It begins as a blindfold sword duel and then escalates in to a ship chase with sentinels. This one has great action and great plotting, as well as convincing animation (Think "Final Fantasy," except 10 times more realistic.) I saw this one in the theatre. WOW!!!
There are a few more, entitled KID'S STORY, MATRICULATED, and BEYOND.
JUDGING FROM THE TRAILER, MATRICULATED is an extremely wierd episode with a mix of CG animation and regular animation.
BEYOND follows a group of kids in to a "haunted" house. Agents find them and capture them because of they're too close to finding out something secret.
KID'S STORY is about a boy running from agents. (That's all I could gather from the trailer.)
For more information, watch the trailer on the web. Thanks for reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much Better Than I Expected - Helps Fill In Some Blanks., July 1 2004
By 
KiWiSouP "kiwisoup" (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I figured this was just another spin off of the Matrix series. Around the time Reloaded was released, there was so much publicity and overexposure that with the video game and everything else, that I never took this seriously enough to actual watch. Now, about a year later I decided to give it a chance. I was suprised when some of the stories from this collection were actually good and explained some things that the movie didn't.
Final Flight Of The Osiris:
Explains what happened to the Osiris fleet while delivering the message about the machines digging to Xion. Amazingly lifelike 3D animation.
The Second Renaissance (Part I & Part II):
Explains the history between man and machine leading up to the creation of the Matrix and humans being used for an energy source.
Kid's Story:
Explains how "Kid" from Reloaded got freed from the Matrix. He is the one in the movie that carries Neo's bags.
Program:
A girl is forced to choose between returning to the Matrix with her love or death if she does not cooperate.
World Record:
Kinda confusing, but what I gathered from it is that a runner learns to break the laws of the Matrix to break a world record and is being watched by agents to make sure he doesn't figure anything out.
Beyond:
A story that shows how a possible bug in the Matrix relates to a seemingly haunted building and how it gets covered up while a girl is searching for her lost cat.
A Detective Story:
A detective is hired to catch Trinity, but may find out too much.
Matriculated: My personal favorite. People capture a robot and try to get in to convert to their side using a Matrix-like virtual reality. I can imagine that being under the influence would add to this story.
Almost all of the stories are open-ended and leave you somewhat unsatisfied and right when you get involved in a story it ends as just about every one is under 10 minutes long. All of the stories have their own animation style and use an interesting blend of 3d and 2d animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to be true., June 22 2004
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
The Animatrix, in my opinion, has done far more for Japanese animation in the US than Cartoon Network and its "Toonami" ever have and probably ever will. The Wachowskis never tried to hide the fact that the look and feel of The Matrix was greatly inspired by years of watching anime. This collection was born out of a meeting with producers at the famous Studio 4oC in Japan. The idea was to bring in a collaboration of some of their favorite anime directors to further explore the world of The Matrix. The result was The Animatrix, a collection of brilliant side-stories that expand upon the normal moviegoing experience.
-Final Flight of the Osiris: This short was written by the Wachowskis and animated and directed by the same team that did Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. Taking place directly before The Matrix Reloaded and even alluded to by Niobi in the beginning of said film. Here we follow the hovercraft, The Osiris, as its crew are the first to discover the method of the machine army's final attack against Zion. This short was actually shown in theaters in front of Dreamcatcher (ugh). To be completely honest, I went and saw Dreamcatcher just to see Final Flight of the Osiris. No regrets, it was worth it.
The Second Renaissance I & II: Written by the Wachowskis and directed by Mahiro Maeda (co-founder of Studio Gonzo of Blue Submarine fame), this is the complete origin of the relationship between mankind and the machines and how the war began. This alone is worth the price of the DVD.
Kid's Story: Kid, an important character in Revolutions, debuts here in a short written by the Wachowskis and directed by Shinichiro Watanbe (Cowboy Bebop). Great insight into Kid's character. Find out here why he's so obsessed with Neo in Reloaded and Revolutions.
Program: Written and directed by my favorite anime directer, Yoshiaki Kawajiri (Ninja Scroll, Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust, X: TV Series). Program is a short depicting two freedom fighters sparring in a training program designed around a feudal Japan theme.
World Record: Can a mind free itself through intense training and concentration? Find out here in Takeshi Koiki's story about a track star who just won't give up.
Beyond: Written and directed by Koji Morimoto. Beyond shows us a glitch in the matrix perceived as a haunted house. Here anything is possible and the laws of physics are completely re-written....that is until agents show up to correct the "problem".
A Dectective Story: It's noir! Another by Watanabe, this black and white short portrays a detective hired by agents to track down the ever-elusive Trinity in a story that takes place before the original Matrix.
Matriculated: A short by Peter Chung (Aeon Flux, Dark Fury: The Chronicles of Riddick, Reign), this story focuses on a team of surface dwellers that have an interesting way of dealing with the machines that reside there. When something goes terribly wrong with one of their robots, prepare yourself for a total mind-job that only Peter Chung can create.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Varied and enjoyable, June 5 2004
By 
wiredweird "wiredweird" (Earth, or somewhere nearby) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
The Animatrix is a set of nine short animations, all very different in look and in story, loosely set in the world of The Matrix.
There's a lot to like in this set. The opening piece, 'The Final Flight of the Osiris,' is the best super-realistic animation I've seen to date. Later, 'World Record' uses its hard-edged graphic style almost in praise of its central figure, an athlete. Realism could never convey the human physical power shown here. The final piece, 'Matriculated,' uses a more fantastic style, creating almost a sense of a war between gods.
Each piece ends on an ambiguous note; there's always more story to come. I will be interested to see more, if it holds to the standard set by the best of these pieces. There is a real danger of downward sequel creep, though. Even within this collection, some pieces lacked the energy of others.
This is an enjoyable and varied set of animations. They are loosely federated under the Matrix banner, but you don't need to have seen (or even have enjoyed) The Matrix to like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE thing to buy for those anime fans who love The Matrix., May 27 2004
By 
Christopher J. Stone (Woodstock, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
I'm an anime geek, nerd, dork, otaku, whatever. I'm a member of my school's anime club. When I first heard that the Wachowski Brothers were anime fans as well and were planning to release a DVD of Matrix-inspired anime, I jumped up and down with happiness! I bought it the day it came out. I was not disappointed. Many people do not like The Animatrix for one reason or another, but if you're like me and love both anime and The Matrix very very much, this is a must buy! The DVD features nine Japanese- and/or CG-animated short films. Final Flight of the Osiris is an American CG-animated film from the creators of Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within. This is the favorite among most. My favorites are Kid's Story and A Detective Story because they are both directed by Shinichiro Watanabe, director of Cowboy Bebop. Other short films include The Second Renaissance: Parts 1 and 2, Program, World Record, Beyond, and Matriculated. As I said before, if you LOVE anime and The Matrix, this is a MUST-BUY!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, but enjoyable, April 11 2004
By 
David Bonesteel (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
A collection of nine short animated features set in the world of the Matrix films. They provide some backstory and texture to the trilogy, although most of the stories are completely separate from the action of the films. The animation is uniformly excellent, making it a pleasure to watch on that level alone. Many of the stories lack much in the way of substance, but because they are short and the animation is so good, I was not disturbed.
"The Final Flight of the Osiris," which serves a direct prelude to the action of "Reloaded," is a highlight. There is nothing to the story-a session in the training simulator, followed by the discovery of the drilling machines beginning their journey to Zion and then a lot of fleeing and fighting. The computer animation, however, is absolutely stunning, so photo-realistic that there were a few moments when I wondered if they were mixing live action and animation. "World Record" raises the intriguing possibility that a pushing oneself to the limits of endurance could trigger a spontaneous awakening from stasis. "Beyond" presents a surreal glitch in the Matrix. "The Second Renaissance," which tells the story of how machines ascended and the Matrix came to be made, features some powerful and disturbing visuals, but seems very implausible.
The films do not work together to become more than the sum of their parts, but they remain very entertaining nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not just eye candy, and not only for matrix junkies!, March 25 2004
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
Don't be put off the the negative reviews!
First up this isn't directly relating to the Matrix films, it is a collection of animated short films set in the Matrix universe or setting.
Each is by a different animator/director and each is very different. This is it's strongest point, not a weak point.
The first is a computer gen'd short that most directly follows the matrix movies, but do be honest its more eye candy than story. On this point it is ABSOLUTELY STUNNING, the quality of animation is incredible, going beyond the realism of the Final Fantasy movie computer animation.
From here there are two shorts in traditional animation explaining the truly epic history that led to the creation of the matrix and the war. It is presented as a historical report, with news like footage of different stages and events. This is the disturbing highlight because it is very logical and plausible, and quite damning of human nature. Some might not like these two because of the savage imagery but they warn us to not assume that just because we are in a "modern" and "civilised" world we are above the mistakes of oppression made previously.
The remaining are very varied, and each is strongly stylised. One is from the animators of Aeon Flux, with the same surreal and disproportioned style that makes Aeon Flux fascinating to watch. Another is a detective story with an almost 1960's black and white style, in which a private eye is recruited in the hunt for Trinity. Read the above review for a rundown on each.
Each one for me was fascinating and I've watched this dvd a few times over already. There are more tie-ins to the movies than you'll realise at first, but at the same time the stories are independant of the movies, free to explore an idea to its end without limit like any good short story or film should.
By the way I'm no Matrix freak or even a massive Anime fan, this is just genuinely fresh and fascinating veiwing, presented with heaps of eye candy and an awesome soundtrack to boot. Perhaps other reviewers were looking for straight matrix bulls**t fight scenes and action, and were disappointed with it having some actual depth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Fanboys Need Only Apply, March 6 2004
By 
Sophie Earp-Fulton "geek extraordinaire" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
Okay, I didn't mind the first Matrix film, but hated the other two. I thought I might enjoy Animatrix, as I quite like anime and I hoped knowing more of the backstory would bring me a little closer to enjoying the live-action (if you can call it that, ahaha) trilogy.
Animatrix was an overall waste of my time (the first film 'Final Flight...' isn't even anime, and is basically a ridiculous attempt at non-pornographic pornography), 'A Detective Story' being the only real standout for me. 'The Second Renaissance' is kinda neat, but really it's nothing new if you know anything about anime film. There are interesting little bits every now and then, but you have to sit through the dross to get to them.
Mostly, it's very nice to look at, graphic and disturbing at times, but would probably be cooler to have playing mute on your bigscreen TV at a geek party with some Aphex Twin or ATR in the stereo.
I was disappointed (although not surprised) but I'm sure it's a necessity for the fanboy crowd. Everyone else, keep your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Range from great to terrible, Feb. 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Animatrix (DVD)
The Animatrix is a collection of 8 anime films ranging from 9-17 minutes in length based on the universe of the hit The Matrix.
Last Flight of the Osirus - Doesn't add much to the Matrix storyline but is the most visually stunning piece of film I have ever seen. It is made by the creaters of Final Fantasy but with animation ever better. Thats awsome considering how photoreal Final Fantasy was. Again visually stunning.
The Second Renesannes - God whoever made this must have a low opinion of the human race. It is animated very well done hand drawn. It is a historical documentary on the 200 year period between the events in the Matrix movies and modern times. It shows how the machine and human war started. It includes disturbing images of historical tragitys Vietnam, holocost, with humans slaughtering machines. It makes the war in the movies almost all the humans fault. Not just for creating the machines but it turns out those streams of murderous machines were once peaceful and racional before the humans stupidly attacked them. Disturbing, graphic, and thought provoking an interesting peice of information for Matrix fans.
Kids Story - Heres where it gets lacking. Kids Story is mostly boring. It explains the story of that kid in Reloaded. I don't think anyone cared about his story. There is also little dialog. The animation is terrible fuzzy and bad. It looks like it was drawn by 5 year olds. At the end the kid commits suicide to get out of the Matrix. Not a positive message just a pretty forgetable segement.
Program - I liked this segment more then most. It is done in a more typical anime then any other of the segments. It is a samerai fighting trainning program. Its a story of temptation a girl tempted to go back to the Matrix. To ignore reality or continue the war. It is a very intriging question that different individuals would make different descigns. Good segment
World Record - God I hated this segement. Everything about it we are subjected to terrible overdone animation in slo-motion. Little dialog at all and what we have is crappy. We basically see a guy running and breaking free from the Matrix by running. Terrible horrible one of the worst peices of garbage ever made.
Beyond - This segment deals with a glitch in the Matrix first seen in the first movie. It is a huge improvment over World Record and has Twilight zone feel to it. Whats cool is even if you have never seen The Matrix is still can work a bit. It has a look of many recent animes. Its easily the most family friendly of the series probably would only get a PG rating. It deals with kids playing in house full of Matrix glitches. The kids don't ask how they just have fun defying gravity and phsyics until the agents fix the glitch. Good in its own way but not great.
Detective Story - This is done to look like an old detective movie but in a Matrix storyline. I wish they did it in color I don't like the black and white other then that I like its animation. Its looks more like American then Japanese hand drawn animation. It involves a dective who is called by a client (probably Smith) wanting him to find Trinty. He goes on case only to lose his life. It doesn't add much more to the Matrix story but it is different and pretty fun. Good segment.
Matriculated - This is a combination of hand drawn and CGI animation. While the Matrix movies are machines plugging humans into a virtual world here we have humans plugging a machine into a virtual world to convince it to fight for them. There are a lot of bizzare images with a couple action sequences. Average really and confusing.
That sums it up. All 8 are presented in 2.35 anamorphic widescreen and 5.1 sound and it looks and sounds very good. It has plenty of extras a making of for each segment. Overall a good DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE FOR MATRIX FANS, Feb. 10 2004
This review is from: The Animatrix (VHS Tape)
....First of all , i'm writing this review cuz i did enjoy that movie..and certainly that means i'd recommend it for you people to see .
so, The Animatrix was released parallel to the Matrix Reloaded ...it's an Animation movie made of 9 Chapters All separated from
each other.each has it's own style of drawings and animation .Except for 2 chapters..
THe Plot or the motive for the events of the Matrix reloaded is found in the Animatrix's first chapter..(the last flight of osiris )..as the
machines are found to be digging 4000 meters above Zion ( the home of revolutionists ) to reach them..and it happened that Osiris
which is another Craft like that in matrix ( nubukhadnasser ) has reported it before it crashes..which leads us to matrix
reloaded..also a young man who newly appears in matrix reloaded , you'd find his story in chapter 9 ( a kid's story )
...but all the above doesn't mean that The two movies completes each other..
more you'd find in the Animatrix.. a historical archive about the reason of the Matrix..the reasons that led to Machines overtaking
Earth and demolishing people's awareness of life..
you'll find explaining some paranormal phenomenon like Ghosts on the behalf of the philosophy of the Matrix (in the chapter :
Beyond )..Trinity's tries to find Neo ( a detective's story )..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Animatrix
The Animatrix by Yoshiaki Kawajiri (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 3.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews