Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mowtown
Absolutly a must to see if you love Mowtown and the Detroit Sound. Thes guys are great and what more can be said except Wow! Great DVD. Loved Joanne Osborne.
Published on March 11 2009 by Spike

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funk Brothers = 5 Stars, but 3 Stars for the Documentary
"Standing in the Shadows of Motown" tells the great and virtually unknown story of the Funk Brothers - a collection of talented jazz musicians who rewrote musical history by providing the music for many of Motown's greatest hits. The Funk Brothers consisted of 10+ very talented musicians, and they definitely deserve to have their stories told. Unfortunately, despite...
Published on May 23 2003 by Westley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mowtown, March 11 2009
By 
Spike (Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows of Motown (DVD)
Absolutly a must to see if you love Mowtown and the Detroit Sound. Thes guys are great and what more can be said except Wow! Great DVD. Loved Joanne Osborne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mesmerizing!, July 15 2004
By 
Kirk Alex - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i loved this eye-opening, behind-the-scenes look at the incredible musicians responsible for so many of those #1 Motown hits.
long overdue. it's too bad that some of the guys passed on before the film was made and hardly received the respect and glory while alive.
last, hardly least: joan osborne's version of "What Becomes of the Broken Hearted" just may bring tears to your eyes.
(Having been a great fan of music for many years) i am ashamed/embarrassed to admit that until this movie i had no real idea how gifted a singer this woman truly is.
i sat in awe as she belted out this song and could not stop myself from playing it a few more times after the initial viewing of the film.
i guess there is no alternative for me, but to go out and buy a CD or two by this great talent.
see this DVD. it's a gem. thank you, funk brothers, for enriching our lives through your magical gifts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, Oct. 1 2013
By 
Faith (London, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows of Motown (DVD)
Bought two copies..... One to give as a gift the other to keep. Best music and history if Motown out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motown is MoreTown!, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow! A wonderful bit of Rock ,N Roll History with a ton of stories, memories and Motown. The remaining Funk Brothers stand tall and have all the chops needed to make this documentary required viewing for everyone. Joan Osbourne executes an outstanding take on "What Becomnes Of The Broken Hearted" and this cut alone is worth getting this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funk Brothers, June 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows of Motown (DVD)
This DVD was an eye opener. Finally recognition for a group that had more hits than Elvis and The Beatles combined. Fabulous music and a history of Motown. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk Brothers at their best, March 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows of Motown (DVD)
Funk Brothers and the Guest Artists are absolutely AMAZING... DVD is well worth the purchase. A MUST BUY for enthusiasts of the Motown sound..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feeling the real sound of Motown, July 8 2004
By 
Patricia Humm "patty" (Port St. Lucie, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just view this DVD today and was totally blown away. Born and raised in Detroit area I grew up with Motown and loved everything connected with it. It is still one of my favorite music venues and brings back great memories. With all the stars up front like the Four Tops my (ultimate favorites) I was unaware of the backbone of Motown. Thank you for bringing me to light of the wonderful talent of the great Funk Band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Knew About Them, April 11 2004
By 
Randy Given (Manchester, CT USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With many of my favorite groups, I know they have stage hands doing backup on recordings and live concerts, but I did not know that such a group existed that did so much and lasted such a long time. Granted, my forte is not Motown, but I do like it. There has been a consistent high quality from many groups, but I was suprised at how much of it was based on the Funk Brothers. Certainly one of the best documentaries I have seen in the past two years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funk Brothers = 5 Stars, but 3 Stars for the Documentary, May 23 2003
By 
Westley (Stuck in my head) - See all my reviews
"Standing in the Shadows of Motown" tells the great and virtually unknown story of the Funk Brothers - a collection of talented jazz musicians who rewrote musical history by providing the music for many of Motown's greatest hits. The Funk Brothers consisted of 10+ very talented musicians, and they definitely deserve to have their stories told. Unfortunately, despite their talent and contributions, the Funk Brothers apparently received little glory and compensation. The story is inherently interesting, but the documentary ultimately falls a bit short of greatness.
First, their contributions to Motown are not given enough context. Most of the story is told by the remaining Funk Brothers, and very few Motown artists are interviewed. I guess that the documentary makers wanted the focus to be on the Funk Brothers, but praise from artists such as Stevie Wonder, Diana Ross, or some of the remaining Temptations would undoubtedly have added to the luster of the Funk Brothers. Second, the degree to which the Funk Brothers wrote the music they played was not addressed (at times, the doc makes it seem as though they wrote much of it). Third, some of the stories are told with cheesy re-enactments, which detract from their impact.
Perhaps the best part of the documentary is that the Funk Brothers re-unite to play several songs throughout the movie. When and where these live songs were recorded is not made clear, but many of them are very good. The Funk Brothers team up with several singers, such as Ben Harper, Joan Osbourne, Montell Jordan, Gerald Levert, and (best of all) Chaka Khan. Your enjoyment of these sections will likely correspond to how much you like these singers, but the performances are all pretty good. Ultimately, I think that the makers of the documentary were a bit too timid and deferential in their approach. They seem intent on avoiding angering Motown, even though many of the Funk Brothers seem to have been treated poorly by the label. The Funk Brothers deserve 5 stars, but sadly I can give the doc only 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Osborne and Mo-town rule..!, April 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing in the Shadows of Motown (DVD)
What a great singer (wasting time with junk like 'One of Us'). Fabulous songs and great concert footage. Must be seen to be believed. Stumbled onto the media on Youtube, and gladly laid out cash for the DVD (who says public domain footage doesn't sell product?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbbb7cc9c)

This product

Standing in the Shadows of Motown
CDN$ 12.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews