Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superstar Soars above the rest!
There's only one word to describe this game.......Wow!! Definitely the most fun game in the series the sims superstar finally allows you to follow your sims through a career in music, fasion, and acting. And when your not hard at work earning star power take a break at one of the many fabulous spas in studio town and drop your name. I've been playing this game for over...
Published on June 8 2003 by Jackson Wyatt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes up a lot of memory
This game is really cool. The news studio town is a lot of fun and there are a lot of cool new things to wear and decorate with.
The bad part is the amount of memory these expansion packs take up. I suggest to only buy the expansion packs that you want and not to buy them all because of the incredible amount of space they take up. They also cost a lot of money for...
Published on Jan. 6 2004


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superstar Soars above the rest!, June 8 2003
By 
Jackson Wyatt "Student" (Menasha, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
There's only one word to describe this game.......Wow!! Definitely the most fun game in the series the sims superstar finally allows you to follow your sims through a career in music, fasion, and acting. And when your not hard at work earning star power take a break at one of the many fabulous spas in studio town and drop your name. I've been playing this game for over almost a month and I still am not bored of it. Most of the games in the series have became old and not as exciting after a few days but this one keeps the fun coming. It's also more difficult than any other expansion pack in the series to date.Definitely worth your hard earned money. This game sets the new standard for all games. Pick it up today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superstar gets super stars!, Feb. 6 2004
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
What's inside the game:
You of course get a new place to visit: Studio Town, a new career to chose from: become a singer, actor, or model (I refer to it as a career since you get paid for it), new objects like a skydiving simulator, a skuba diving tank, or a satellite dish, hire a butler to handle EVERYTHING in your household, and you have new celebrity social interactions.
What you can do in Studio Town:
There are many things to do in Studio town, but the most fun things you can do are interacting with famous stars, the paparazzo (aka paparazzi) and devoted (and sometimes, obsessed!) fans of yours. You can preform on stage (singing/acting), and as your fame increases, you can pose for professional pictures, model on the runway, make albums, star in a soap opera, or even star in a movie.
Playing the game:
Your fame is rated from zero to five stars. You must preform often to increase your fame, but also to keep it from falling (just like relationships). Skills in the body, charisma, and creativity area are a must if your sim doesn't want to get boo'd off the stage, so I suggest working on these BEFORE trying to become famous. Your success also depends on who you know famous wise; if you're talking to a has-been, stop befriending them and start rubbing elbows with the top ten list! The top ten list fluctuates daily, but mainly, most of the people on the list stay there only in different positions (*Note: You can find out who's hot and who's not by reading the new news paper that will be delivered to you daily along with your regular paper). Increasing your fame through stars isn't as hard as it sounds; a 3 star top ten friend will count as 3 stars, not one!
Overall:
As other reviewers have said, it is a bit hard to become a superstar but not impossible, and it's fun becoming one too! Even if you don't make it to becoming a superstar, it's still fun being at other levels of fame; people treat you differently, and you get obsessed fans! Now who could pass that up? The game is fun to play no matter what level of fame your at. I give it 5 well deserved stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Takes up a lot of memory, Jan. 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
This game is really cool. The news studio town is a lot of fun and there are a lot of cool new things to wear and decorate with.
The bad part is the amount of memory these expansion packs take up. I suggest to only buy the expansion packs that you want and not to buy them all because of the incredible amount of space they take up. They also cost a lot of money for an expansion pack. Some games don't even cost as much as these expansion packs. They are running out of new ideas and should stop making new expansion packs!
Don't get me wrong the game is great but be prepared for The Sims to overtake your hardrive! If you are new to the wonderful world of The Sims, I would suggest to you to buy the newer expansion packs and just skip the old ones. The first two really don't have that much new stuff in them. This one however has a whole new Studio Town area. The only problem with this new area is that the directors won't let you have a part. They say you need experience but no one will give that to you. Another problem is that when you return to your house after you have been to Studio Town (or any other area for that matter) your sim is tired from being out of the house but the time at the house hasn't changed and it takes forever to get them sleeping at night again instead of in the middle of the day.
So, get the game if you are a die hard fan and don't mind The Sims taking over your hardrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of "The Superstar", Dec 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
When I first purchased this, I played it for hours. My opinion, this is my least favorite expansion pack.
The objects are excellent! I think one of the reasons to purchase this pack is for the great objects. The new location offers poster and clothing shops, spas, movie sets, music studios..etc. The celebrity Sims are all right, as well (athough I disagree with some of the celebs Maxis has chosen to 'sim'"). What's funny is if your Sim earns a few star points, you get an "obsessed fan" who follows you everywhere.
So what are the bad things about this game? Well, it just gets pretty repetitive. Earning star points at first can be easy if you are close to maxing out your abilities, like charisma..etc. When you finally reach stardom (but not super stardom), making music videos and walking down the runway can be quite annoying. you don't really know what the directors want. you can be fully refreshed and you have maxed out your skills, but it gets annoying when they disagree with what you're doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SuperStar- not that hard!, Dec 17 2003
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I was very suprised to find that many reviewers were saying how hard it is to gain one star, and to make famous friends. Just make sure your sim is all greened up when they head to stuido town, and since the first few levels don't require skill, it should be easy! As for getting famous friends, find a sim who has a lower or about the same star level as you. Talk to them, compliment them, whatever, just get a few social points. Then head home and invite them downtown! We all know it doesn't take much to make friends there. In no time you'll have famous friends and some star levels. Once you get to the more advance photo shoot, and from that point, don't make the same mistake I did at first. They'll give you 3 ways to do the shoot (or song, or soap opera, whatever). Randomely pick one way, and choose it three times (you dont have to find the sequence the three go in like I thought). The director will either have you in a thought bubble or you in a thought bubble with an X through your sim. Use these indicators to switch what you need to. You get three tries, so it isn't too bad. Just make sure in between visits to studio town you work on charisma and creativity. Use a piano for creativity because they'll gain fun at the same time. Overall, this is more challenging then the previous expansions (and makin magic) but if you work at it, it's quite fun!
p.s. if your sim is good friends with a celeb, go into the celeb trailer, and invite that person in, and see what happens ;)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of The Sims best expansions, Dec 15 2003
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
The long wait of a new expansion is over. The games have stopped flying off the shelfs. And now, their computers are slow.
In "The Sims: Superstar" your Sims can embark on the jorney to become famous. When I heard this I was extremely excited, thinking of all the fun it would be to have famous Sims and trophies and gold toilets. I was very wrong.
In reality, The Sims Supterstar has a new Studio Town wear you can pose for tabloids and eat sushi. You can meet real movie stars such as Avril Lavinge, Cameron Diaz, etc. But really, I dont think its worth the money.
Pros:
- New Stuff: The new game has great stuff, including statelites, wallpaper and carpets.
- New Actions: You can blow Star Kisses and ask people what it is like being famous.
Cons:
- Speed: Sims has always been slow but this is rediculos! When I go to load Studio Town, it takes up to ten minutes. By then, my sims have laready thought of something to do!
- Diffculty: I know The Sims is supposed to be hard, but it is near impossible to make it oast Stepping Stone unless you have the startagy guide...which costs alot of money!
- Errors: When you go to move your mouse, it leaves a trail. The little white mouses pop up all over the screen! Now *that* is annoying.
Okay, as you can see the Cons outweigh the pros but only by one. This may seem like a good buy but I seriosly would not recomend it to who loves The Sims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Sims Exspansion Pack.., Nov. 5 2003
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
Yet another Sims exspansion pack. In this one you can now live out your Sims fantasies of fame and fortune. They can pursue being a supermodel, a rock star or a movie star. It's also the first time you can follow your Sims to 'work'.
I found the game mildly entertaining. I guess I found it just a little to time consuming working my Sims up to superstardom. It does take some work, and the obsessed fan does get annoying at times, especially when he can steal your Sims awards from their house! And the social interactions were pretty limited when you first start out by trying to make friends with other star sims, I mean you can only gush about someone's superstardom so many time before they get annoyed (and they do!)
But I do give it a 4 out of 5. Mainly because it is fun going to Studio town, and the new objects are neat as well. Also because to become a star it posesses a bit of a challenge and that can be fun at times.
All in all if you are a hardcore sims fan, you'll most likely love this exspansion pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best add-on yet, Sept. 17 2003
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
This has to be the best expansion pack yet for The Sims. This time your sims can try to become superstars. There is a whole new area to visit (Studiotown) where your Sim can mingle with such legends as Marilyn Monroe and Andy Warhol or try and make friends with the local stars....not always an easy task.
Budding stars have to develop their skills in singing, acting and modelling as well as keeping their fans happy by chatting to them regularly and signing autographs. Woe betide the Sim who neglects his fans as he will quickly be stalked by the 'obsessed fan' who will not only prove a nuisance in Studiotown but will also plague him at home by leaving dead flowers around and rummaging in bins etc.
There are plenty of new walls and floors etc as well as lots of new items to keep your Sim happy...try the new oxygen bar or have a relaxing massage. Outdo the Jones's by being the first in your neighbourhood to employ a butler.
if you are only going to buy one expansion pack for The Sims then this should be the one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth it., Sept. 10 2003
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I love The Sims and all its subsequent expansion packs, so don't get me wrong; Super Star is excellent, especially compared to other other games out there. -But compared to the other Sims expansion packs? Well, in my opinion, its the black sheep of the family.
The whole premise of this pack is that your Sims get to go to Studio Town and pursue fame, instead of having a humdrum, everyday job. This sounds good, but in practice its highly annoying. In order to stay in good standing with the public and avoid a fame demotion, you have to take your Sim into Studio Town practically EVERY DAY, and stay there in real time (no more fast forward mode while Daddy is at work!) It gets incredibly tedious. In addition, in order to advance, you not only have to keep your Sim's happiness level high and supply him with the appropriate friends and skills, but now you have to suffer through little guessing games, where you choose the right sequence of buttons or get demoted. What's worse is these sequences are random, so there is no way to memorize them and breeze through it! This is not right, Maxis!
Then there's the Obsessed Fan; a non-playable character that follows you around if you don't pay attention to your adoring public enough. While a cute idea (he goes through your trash can and takes pictures!), it can quickly get annoying, and I have not yet figured out how to get rid of him.
All in all, I'd say skip this expansion pack. Its not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making Famous Sims Not Easy Work, Sept. 7 2003
By 
Erka16 (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack (CD-ROM)
I couldn't wait for this lastest expansion pack for The Sims to be released so I preorder it and tracked my package online from work to see when it would arrive at my house. Since buying The Deluxe Edition I have become totally addicted to The Sims. So when I finally installed Superstar I was very impatient to see what this so called "Studiotown" was like.
First off if you what your Sim to become famous they must first have an agent...I was so impatient that I didn't read the booklet that came with the game and had to go back and actually read the thing. I digress, your sims get agents by looking for one in the entertainment magazine that is delivered everyday with the newspaper. If you chose not to make your sim famous they can still visit Studiotown, but they will have to pay for it. By way of making your sim famous I recommend that you use a sim that is living in a rather large household(5+ sims) and has a lot of points for Charisma and Creativity. Heading through the road of Sim stardom is no easy task, they have to make famous friends in order to climb the Studiotown ladder, and their energy runs down a lot faster. One problem I exprienced is that I had one Sim be in a good mood one second and the next in a horrible mood that she got bumped down on the Star scale for her bad behavior.
The 150+ additional items are excellent, my sims especially love their own scuba tank, and having an energy massage in their house. Having the Butler feature is nice especially for your hard working Sims that don't want to risk losing their job over raising a baby. One thing I noticed about the butler is that eventhough you might have already hired a maid and a gardener, once you hire the butler they stop coming to the house so the butler calls to hire them. The only good thing about the butler is that he does feed the baby while the sims are at work other then that he is expensive and lets the maid, gardener, and repairman do all of the work. So after having the baby for three days when it turns into a child I fire the butler.
This expansion pack makes a nice addition to the rest of The Sims collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack
The Sims Superstar Expansion Pack by Electronic Arts (Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / NT / XP)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews