Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This has to be one of John Wayne`s best roles
This movie has humour,drama and fun. Stuart Whitman went to John Wayne and spent 20 minutes convincing him that the role was right for him(whitman) and that he would do a good job.Mr. Wayne said okay-that was one of his best decisions
Published 3 months ago by jacqueline

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Why no widescreen?
This a great later Wayne movie with a rather Bond like approach - meglomaniac villain bent on world domination (well Texas anyway),one liners and great action. It is also one of the great sixties Cinemascope westerns, with spectacular Utah locations, so why is it being released in full frame only?
This is available on Laserdisc in widescreen, stereo and with a good...
Published on April 17 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This has to be one of John Wayne`s best roles, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
This movie has humour,drama and fun. Stuart Whitman went to John Wayne and spent 20 minutes convincing him that the role was right for him(whitman) and that he would do a good job.Mr. Wayne said okay-that was one of his best decisions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comancheros, Nov. 7 2013
By 
George Dohn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
Supporting actors Steward Whitman and Nehemiah Persoff were good. The different portrayal of cowboy and Indian relations was very appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Oct. 17 2013
By 
Allen Patterson (Umiujaq, Qc) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
How can you go wrong with the Duke. I am a huge fan and want the movies on DVD prices were right and the selection was great the more the better is the way I look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Michael B. Neuman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
vintage john wayne combined with good casting. While the formula is rather old, for the western and john wayne lovers, this movies is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Entertaining John Wayne Western, Nov. 26 2003
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
THE COMANCHEROS is one of John Wayne's most entertaining Westerns. It has a great cast, story, photography and one of Elmer Bernstein's best scores. The widescreen DVD looks incredible. John Wayne and Stuart Whitman play off each other brilliantly. Lee Marvin as Crow has a small but effective and outrageous character part. There's plenty of action and heroics to go around in this great outdoor adventure. I wish they would make movies like this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING TRANSFER!!, July 25 2011
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Comancheros has always been a very sentimental western for me,it was the first time I seen John Wayne on the BIG Screen,I must have been 10 years old maybe,and seeing Duke up there onscreen has always stayed with me.
I,ve had the dvd for a WHILE,and I thought it was very good picture quality,nothing prepared me for seeing The Comancheros on blu-ray,this is a MUST-BUY for ALL Duke/western fans,the picture quality has to be seen to be believed,audio is very good too.
This blu-ray is,virtually, up there with The Searchers/Zulu/How the West Was Won/Josey Wales as a reference disc for the blu-ray format!!!!!!
Do not hesitate "Pards",go out and buy The Comancheros blu-ray,Stunning/Pristine picture quality.
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Crowing about, June 17 2003
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
Wayne as in any of his other great movies is larger than life. As a Texas Ranger his methods are not to be denied. Lee Marvin although only having a brief part plays it to the hilt as Crow, a hard as nails gun trader. Stuart Whittman is excellent as Monseur Paul Regret. We can understand why he was chosen to play in the TV series Cimarron Strip. He plays a credible Louisianan of class. Ina Balin does a fine job as the daughter of a wealthy outlaw. Several cameos including Patrick Wayne, the dukes son. The story, cast, and music add up to a sprawling western well worth owning. The DVD picture quality and sound are superb. I especially noticed how sharp the red credits are on the DVD since on most VHS or TV viewings they bleed like the bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, but don't look for accuracy, June 13 2003
By 
F. Hughes "jeop86" (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
A wonderful film, lots of fun, but do your best to ignore the rampant historical problems. Set around 1840, yet everyone carries weapons from the 1870's and 1880's, and dresses like 1920. And Texas sure looks like Utah.
A full version of the wonderful Elmer Bernstein score is available from Filmscoremonthly.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No regret, May 28 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Comancheros (DVD)
Good thing the Duke kept Mr Paul Regret around! This is a great JW movie with a tremendous supporting cast. This one falls in and out of my top ten John wayne movies, so i still haven't bought it. Instead, I have to watch it with the commercials on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Comancheros
The Comancheros by Michael Curtiz (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews