Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic
How can you go wrong with the Duke. I am a huge fan and want the movies on DVD prices were right and the selection was great the more the better is the way I look at it.
Published 6 months ago by Allen Patterson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Why no widescreen?
This a great later Wayne movie with a rather Bond like approach - meglomaniac villain bent on world domination (well Texas anyway),one liners and great action. It is also one of the great sixties Cinemascope westerns, with spectacular Utah locations, so why is it being released in full frame only?
This is available on Laserdisc in widescreen, stereo and with a good...
Published on April 17 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Comancheros, Nov. 7 2013
By 
George Dohn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
Supporting actors Steward Whitman and Nehemiah Persoff were good. The different portrayal of cowboy and Indian relations was very appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, Oct. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
How can you go wrong with the Duke. I am a huge fan and want the movies on DVD prices were right and the selection was great the more the better is the way I look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, Aug. 5 2013
By 
Michael B. Neuman - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
vintage john wayne combined with good casting. While the formula is rather old, for the western and john wayne lovers, this movies is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Entertaining John Wayne Western, Nov. 26 2003
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
THE COMANCHEROS is one of John Wayne's most entertaining Westerns. It has a great cast, story, photography and one of Elmer Bernstein's best scores. The widescreen DVD looks incredible. John Wayne and Stuart Whitman play off each other brilliantly. Lee Marvin as Crow has a small but effective and outrageous character part. There's plenty of action and heroics to go around in this great outdoor adventure. I wish they would make movies like this today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING TRANSFER!!, July 25 2011
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
The Comancheros has always been a very sentimental western for me,it was the first time I seen John Wayne on the BIG Screen,I must have been 10 years old maybe,and seeing Duke up there onscreen has always stayed with me.
I,ve had the dvd for a WHILE,and I thought it was very good picture quality,nothing prepared me for seeing The Comancheros on blu-ray,this is a MUST-BUY for ALL Duke/western fans,the picture quality has to be seen to be believed,audio is very good too.
This blu-ray is,virtually, up there with The Searchers/Zulu/How the West Was Won/Josey Wales as a reference disc for the blu-ray format!!!!!!
Do not hesitate "Pards",go out and buy The Comancheros blu-ray,Stunning/Pristine picture quality.
Davy Cairns,Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Crowing about, June 17 2003
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
Wayne as in any of his other great movies is larger than life. As a Texas Ranger his methods are not to be denied. Lee Marvin although only having a brief part plays it to the hilt as Crow, a hard as nails gun trader. Stuart Whittman is excellent as Monseur Paul Regret. We can understand why he was chosen to play in the TV series Cimarron Strip. He plays a credible Louisianan of class. Ina Balin does a fine job as the daughter of a wealthy outlaw. Several cameos including Patrick Wayne, the dukes son. The story, cast, and music add up to a sprawling western well worth owning. The DVD picture quality and sound are superb. I especially noticed how sharp the red credits are on the DVD since on most VHS or TV viewings they bleed like the bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, but don't look for accuracy, June 13 2003
By 
F. Hughes "jeop86" (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
A wonderful film, lots of fun, but do your best to ignore the rampant historical problems. Set around 1840, yet everyone carries weapons from the 1870's and 1880's, and dresses like 1920. And Texas sure looks like Utah.
A full version of the wonderful Elmer Bernstein score is available from Filmscoremonthly.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No regret, May 28 2003
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
Good thing the Duke kept Mr Paul Regret around! This is a great JW movie with a tremendous supporting cast. This one falls in and out of my top ten John wayne movies, so i still haven't bought it. Instead, I have to watch it with the commercials on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic western, May 27 2003
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
Finally, "The Comancheros" is released on DVD. This is one of Wayne's best, and most enjoyable westerns(that says a lot, because the Duke's westerns were always classic). The acting is superb, Stuart Whitman turning out one of his best performances, and John Wayne underrated as usual. Lee Marvin also makes a powerful, short performance. That cast alone makes for a classic. Michael Curtiz's("Casablanca"-1942) last film, he creates one of the better 1960's westerns. Several people have mentioned the guns in the film. Historical facts are often changed to create entertaining films. This film is not a history lesson, it is an example of classic hollywood at it's best. A well crafted, fun, classic western. Recommended for both fans of classic westerns, and classic films in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, but strictly Hollywood, May 25 2003
By 
Karl Spence (San Antonio, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Comancheros [Import] (DVD)
I first saw "The Comancheros" as a kid at one of Houston's downtown movie palaces. I loved it and still do, as sheer entertainment. It's perhaps the greatest horseman's stunt extravaganza ever, with more falls per minute than any other movie I know. I'm glad to have it on DVD (and in widescreen, too). But BEWARE of thinking it is true to actual Texas history!
The film is set in 1840, during the days of the Texas Republic. Among its rampant anachronisms and inaccuracies:
* It shows a Texas Ranger arresting a fugitive from Louisiana. The Rangers in 1840 were not policemen. They were a frontier militia set up to fight Mexicans and Indians.
* The Winchester repeating rifle did not exist in 1840. Ditto the Army Colt "peacemaker" revolver.
* Texans in 1840 lived almost entirely in the eastern part of the state, not in the semi-arid West. They raised crops, not herds of cattle. There was as yet no such thing as a "cowboy." Hence the film's costumes and ranch-house sets are wrong.
* The Comancheros were not an outlaw band of Anglo renegades who rode along with Comanches on their raids and took vacations on Louisiana riverboats. They were virtually the entire population of what is now New Mexico, separated from the Texas settlements, never mind Louisiana, by the Comanches' impassable domain. They survived by staying on the Comanches' good side, and they did that by trading with them and ransoming the captives the Comanches brought up from Old Mexico. As T.R. Fehrenbach notes, the Comanches bragged that they allowed these people to live on the fringes of Comancheria only so that they might raise horses for them.
* Speaking of riverboats, those vessels kept to their rivers, and did not ply the Gulf of Mexico between New Orleans and Galveston as one does in this movie.
Enjoy "The Comancheros" for its action, scenery, music, star turns, humor and ripe dialogue, but if you want a more realistic portrait of a Comanchero, see Antonio Moreno's character in "The Searchers." He's the Spanish-American gentleman who guides Ethan and Martin to Chief Scar's camp. For a more realistic portrayal of an Indian raid and settler's pursuit, get the recently released Disney DVD "Savage Sam," starring Tommy Kirk, Kevin Corcoran, Brian Keith, Jeff York and Slim Pickens. It's a sequel to "Old Yeller," and very nicely done (if you can get past its hokey title song).
And for a thrilling history of the Comanches and their 40-year war with the Texans, get Fehrenbach's book "Comanches: The Destruction of a People."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb555315c)

This product

The Comancheros [Import]
The Comancheros [Import] by Michael Curtiz (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews